Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Beach Front Log Cabin Next to Nature Preserve

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

One of a kind. This is a log cabin originally built in the 40s as a hunting lodge. It is on Lake Huron with gorgeous views of the straits of Mackinaw, Bois Blanc Island and on a clear day the Mackinaw Bridge. The sunsets are out of this world. We are surrounded on all sides by Nature Conservancy forest, and it is not unusual to walk the beach for a couple of miles without encountering a soul. The beach is largely sandy and the drop off is shallow with several sand bars. The swimming is excellent. We have a canoe and kayaks for exploring the area or even going out to Poe Reef lighthouse if you are adventurous.

The cottage itself is, in a word, rustic. We are unencumbered by modern conveniences, but that is not to say we are without comfort. The kitchen is basic but well outfitted with quality kitchenware. We have a washer and dryer. On the ground floor is a small bedroom and a larger "dormitory" style room with four beds. The living area is a combination dining/living room with a very large stone fireplace. There is a half upstairs with three single beds.

We are close to Mackinaw, Petoskey and the Upper Peninsula.

This was our cottage when we were children, and now our children have spent their summers here as well. We are looking for guests who will appreciate, and respect, the special qualities of this very unique cottage. We are more interested in getting the right "match" than the highest price, and we will give first priority to somebody looking to stay for three or more weeks, and hopefully come back year after year.

Please note: the cabin is not winterized and we close it for the winter in mid to late October, reopening in mid to late May.

IMPORTANT: OUR RENTAL WEEK IS FROM SUNDAY TO SUNDAY. IF YOU REQUEST A RESERVATION SATURDAY TO SATURDAY, IT WILL DELAY CONFIRMATION, AND WE CANNOT HOLD THE WEEK UNTIL WE RECEIVE PAYMENT.

Keywords: Log Cabin

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: french, spanish, italian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 3, 2018

Amenities

Cheboygan Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Ping Pong Table
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • swimming
Notes:
Peace and quiet

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Secluded Beach Front Log Cabin Next to Nature Preserve
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews
5

The cottage was as stated in the description and we had everything we needed!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful week in an magical setting!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charmingly rustic as described. Very comfortable with all the necessary amenities.

  • 5 of 5

It was the perfect get away. Exactly what 2 city people were looking for: peace and quiet. Many options for day trips if you can tear yourself away from the deck and the fabulous views. We could see Mackinac Island and the bridge and freighters passing in the distance. A family of wild turkeys made a few trips past the cabin during our stay. We saw a number of beautiful sunsets. We bought some delicious handmade sausage and smoked salmon in Rogers City. Even the overcast days were enjoyable.

Mike was very responsive to all of our questions before and during our stay. We loved the property and enjoyed exploring the area.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best vacation in years!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, son and I stayed on this beautiful property, with our two dogs in late July 2018. The property is exactly as stated with a private sandy beach that you can walk on for miles and the cabin has access to kayaks and a canoe if you wish to explore the water (which we did.). The cabin itself was perfect, very clean with plenty of room to spread out. It is rustic but that just adds to the charm. The kitchen is small but professionally stocked with anything you could possibly need to cook for a family. The bed linens are hotel quality and very comfortable and there are plenty of beds to choose from.

Mike was amazing and made sure we had everything we needed to make our vacation perfect. The cabin even has WiFi which was great because my son wanted to bring his X-Box and he was able to play every night (happy kid= happy Mom!) and my husband was able to check in with work so he could actually relax! It was a spectacular vacation that I look forward to enjoying again in the future!!

***I had the opportunity of reading the review written by the renters immediately preceding our trip and was astonished by their comments. We arrived on July 22nd and yes, the water was high this year so the beach was not as extensive as it would have been in years past but it was definitely generous enough for any sand activities. We even had a Badminton net set up near the water. We never had an issue with bugs inside the cabin. Outside, yes; the cabin is in the woods, by water, you're going to get a few mosquitoes but not once did any of us see them inside....which in my personal opinion is remarkable due to it being an actual log cabin!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Trip cut short

  • 3 of 5

I wish we would have read a previous review stating the massive amount of bugs and mosquitos that surround the property. So that is why I am sharing our experience. The property is very secluded, short walk to beautiful Huron lake, not much of a shoreline though. A short drive to near Cheboygan, and Mackinac city. The owner was some what attentive, did very little to get Internet service working, which was the only issue (besides the mosquitos) that we had with our stay. In the end, unfortunately we cut our week short, due to the overwhelming amount of bugs. We had a great time in Mackinac Island and we ended up taking a day trip to the UP. We have traveled to the Lake Michigan side of the state, which we have had much better experiences.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback, and I'm sorry your experience was not better. A couple of notes: the mosquito season is short and usually over before rental season, We had a late spring this year. This is obviously beyond our control. (And there are never mosquitos on the beach, or in the cabin if you keep the screen doors closed.) The lake level is very high again this year -- so everybody's shoreline is affected. Again, outside our control. I think your comment about the internet was unfair. I spent hours on the issue and I also gave you a partial refund because of the interruption in service, even though it turned out to be an area outage on Spectrum's part. I try to make clear that the attraction of our property is its unique location set in wild, pristine nature. Not a "short walk" to Lake Huron -- it is on the lake, with nothing between the cabin and the lake but about 150 feet of sand and wild grass. Where else can you have a mile of sandy beach all to yourself? Where else does the sun both rise and set over the horizon?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Seculded beach front log cabin just like the heading says!

  • 5 of 5

A rare opportunity to enjoy Lake Huron at its finest. Secluded ... peaceful ... miles of ever changing beach. The cabin is just like it is shown/stated. Our second time here and not our last.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Baltimore, MD
5

Solitude

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous rustic cabin. Basic, but had everything we needed. Gorgeous view. Surrounded by woods. Can not see any other houses unless you walk down the beach.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Pelston
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
I-75
Nearest Beach
30 Metres
Right out the front door!

Minutes to Mackinaw and perfect gateway to the Upper Peninsula

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $600

Discounts are available for multiple week rentals.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.