Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

MERMAID'S WAKE - Oceanfront Cottage - Pet Friendly

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Perfect house for the single family!! Come to MERMAIDS' WAKE!

Rents weekly Sunday to Sunday. Escape the Saturday traffic!

Four miles from end of paved road

Four Wheel Drive required

Pet Friendly w/fee

FOUR AND FIVE NIGHT STAYS AVAILABLE - Call or email for rates.

Swim, surf, kayak, surf-fish, enjoy the beach driving experience! Unobstructed ocean views and great ocean breezes make 'Mermaid's Wake' a fabulous place to spend your precious vacation time. This three bedroom, two bath home is secluded enough to be on the path of the Corolla Wild Horses, yet only minutes away from the quaint town of Corolla. Single level home with 3 bedrooms (1 is a master), 2 baths, laundry, kitchen and great room. This home also offers oceanfront sundecks for relaxing in the sun and sound side decks for spectacular sunset views! DIRECT beach access is only steps away. Enclosed outside shower with hot and cold water and a changing room.

Great Room - TV, DVD, Stereo w/CD player, DVD library, Book library

Kitchen - Fully equipped kitchen, dining table, breakfast bar

Bedroom #1 - Queen Master (private bath w/shower - no tub) with TV

Bedroom #2 - Queen with TV/DVD

Bedroom #3 - Pyramid Bunk (double on bottom, twin on top) with TV, Games

Hall Bath - Shower no tub

Decks - Oceanfront with deck furniture, soundside with gas grill

Starter Kit of paper goods provided, cleaning supplies provided, kitchen spices provided. Beach chairs and umbrella.

This property is managed by Carova Rentals which serves the 4WD area exclusively. We are a small local vacation rental company able to provide personalized concierge service, including a beach escort to your house if you are unfamiliar with driving on the beach and the off-road area. Bed and bath linens are provided in season, and you will find sufficient toilet paper, paper towels, soap, and drinking water to get you started.

Ten percent discount for Military/Law Enforcement.

Four wheel drive required. You must drive 3 1/2 miles on the sandy beach to access home. All wheel drive vehicles not recommended.

Keywords: Beach House, cottage, vacation rental, Mermaid's Wake, carova rentals, Carova Beach, Swan Beach, Four Wheel Drive

More Details

Property Manager
Karen Gregory
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
August 3, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Had a wonderful time at the beach. The dogs LOVED it, the weather was great, and it was the perfect getaway from our busy lives in DC. Everything was great for our 5 year wedding anniversary.

PS - Loved the selection of movies.
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Corolla Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Queen Master - toilet , shower , Shower only, no tub
    Hall Bath - toilet , shower , Shower only, no tub
    Outside shower - outdoor shower , Large private shower with hot water.
  • Bath linens provided April thru mid-October
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen Master - 1 queen , Private Bathroom Attached
    Queen - 1 queen
    Bunk Room - 1 bunk bed , Pyramid Bunk - Double on bottom, single on top
  • Bed Linens provided April thru mid-October
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Beach chairs, beach umbrella

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
17% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
MERMAID'S WAKE - Oceanfront Cottage - Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.470588 based on 18 reviews
5

Wonderful Cottage by the Beach!!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our time at Mermaids Wake. Place was clean and kitchen was fully equiped. Just a few yards away from the beach which is the best part. Though the water was too cold to get in, the kids and our dog enjoyed playing in the sand and by the shore. I dont know how i feel about about the trucks running up and down the beach (some drivers are a bit reckless and drive faster than speed limit, but it is off season after all, maybe better in the summer...) but it was definitely an enjoyable experience driving on the beach! ;) Mermaids wake was the vacation our family needed, away from "touristy" spots. A few dolphin sightings, and wild horses.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! Please come again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

We are enjoying out stay here. It's the closest to the beach you can get in this area for this price. The decor could be a bit better (have a more beachy feel), and it smelled like smoke when we first got here, but nothing a little cleaner can't fix. The location is perfect. The managers have been awesome. The house isn't too small for my husband, 7 month old and I. We were surprised with how roomy everything feels. WiFi is spotty, but we aren't here to browse the internet, so I can't really complain about that. Overall, we definitely plan to return many times. Definitely our new vacation spot.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Louisville, KY
5

Wonderful Get Away

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here in April of 2016. The owners were fabulous and checked in with us often to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The views of the ocean were spectacular. The house is not far away from the beach which makes taking a quick morning or evening walk easy and enjoyable. The amenities the house offered made it easy to relax and enjoy the stay. I would definitely return here for stay and can highly recommend it to anyone looking for a nice get-away.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Columbus, Ohio
5

Mermaid's Wake

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Mermaid's Wake was for a week. The owners were very hospitable and caring and provided everything necessary for a stress free vacation. The interior was well stocked and very clean. The exterior allowed for maximum enjoyment of both sun and beach with easy beach access and a deck that was spacious and allowed great views in all directions. The deck also had speakers attached and we were able to enjoy music through the sound system provided. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Pennsylvania
2

summer stay

  • 2 of 5

House is situated close to beach but be ready for trucks runnig up and down the beach all day/night. We waited entire week for the internet wifi to be fixed, and we were told repeatedly that someone was coming to look at it, but it still wasn't working when we left on Suday. We were offered a small refund, but check was smaller than stated when recieved.

House is well stocked with suplies, and we had frequent wild horse sightings.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a terrible situation with the Internet. After trouble shooting all week long it was finally determined that the line was cut out by the road. I thought the owners were very generous to offer a $50 refund for something that was totally outside their control. ~ Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Indiana
5

Wonderful Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We loved it!! It was a perfect vacation in a beautiful, cozy bungalow! Home was well equipped with everything we needed, comfortable beds, cleaning supplies to start with, a great variety of seasonings to cook with, plenty of space for a family. Home was clean and smelt like fresh sea air! It was very enjoyable! We had lots of visits from the horses right in the backyard, they loved the grass! Got some great pictures, can't wait to come back! We will definetly be staying at the Mermaids Wake again!!! Hopefully sooner then later!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow, thank you for the kind words! Most folks do find Mermaid's Wake a terrific spot for a quiet family get-away.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Carova Beach Volunteer Fire Department
Nearest Point of Interest
End of Paved Road
Nearest Point of Interest
Currituck Beach Lighthouse
Nearest Point of Interest
Food Lion Grocery Store

Wild horses visit the dunes surrounding the house.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100

THREE, FOUR, AND FIVE NIGHT STAYS AVAILABLE - Call or email for rates.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties