Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Recently Renovated - One Mile to Aquarium (PG #0048)

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

A few years ago, we asked our full-time tenants to leave, and hired professionals to help us start over and upgrade our 1600 sq ft vacation home. It took 10 months to redo everything, we ended up keeping only 3 pieces of sheet rock intact. So believe me, it's renovated.

The master bedroom/bath, TV viewing area & deck are upstairs. The 2nd bedroom/bath, living room, dining area and kitchen are on the first floor.

The deck is delightful. In fair weather you can catch some morning sun and the house acts as a shield from the prevailing breezes. It's a delightful place to breakfast, play on the computer or just feel like you're in a treehouse.

It's a very quiet neighborhood at night - so no barking dogs PLEASE. When there's ocean swells you can hear the buoys. And on really quiet nights you can hear seals barking.

And, yes, it's professionally cleaned right before your arrival!

Keywords: 2-story, house

More Details

Donna Schaffer
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018

About Donna Schaffer

We've lived in California since 1977. Scuba diving is a passion for both of us, we did lots of horseback riding at one point (but not so much now), Charlie sculls, I exercise/dance/cook, we love movies and read lots.

Donna Schaffer purchased this house in 1983

Why Donna Schaffer chose Pacific Grove

We bought this home a few months before the Monterey Bay Aquarium opened. We lived in Silicon Valley at the time and came to the area almost every weekend to scuba dive. Even then we knew we wanted to 'fix the place up' one day to be a vacation rental and our second home. Finally - that's a reality!

What makes this house unique

Very close to some of the most interesting diving in the world. And within 1 mile of the Aquarium. Sure, there's all that golf stuff - but we live for the sea!


Pacific Grove House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Shower in master bathroom; Combo shower/tub in downstairs 2nd bathroom.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (2) TempurPedic Mattress in Master Bedroom, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Located in Living Room
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Recently Renovated - One Mile to Aquarium (PG #0048)
average rating of 4.634146 based on 41 reviews
Sacramento, CA

Wonderful - beautifully renovated

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for comfort in a town of old world charm - look no further! We spent the first 1/2 hour just discovering the inside of this little place. Amazing renovation - so charming, so comfortable! Loved it!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! We love it too! - Donna
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Water Mil, NY

Family trip

  • 3 of 5

The House was easy to find, kept clean, and easy to contact. Only issue was the quality of the beds and bedding provided, needs some comfort and enhanced refinements. No sitting area to speak of. PG is beautiful.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pacific Grove feedback

  • 3 of 5

Although the location was very good, a five minute walk to the ocean and the center of town.

When we arrived the place was not cleaned, the owner gave us a one night refund, had someone clean it the next day, they simply forgot, no additional blankets, sheet were torn,

Overall it was not a great experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you were unhappy. Yes there was a fitted sheet that was torn on the corner seam. The cleaning lady has multiple sets of brand news sheet that she can use as needed. I am disappointed that didn't happen in this case and have asked her to be more diligent in the future. There are extra blankets in the house, they get moved around so can be difficult to find, again, sorry. Since you had booked the property only a short time in advance (compared to most VRBO rentals) I messed up in getting in on the cleaning schedule. My fault completely - first time I've messed up in that way, I blame it on the flu I had at that time. I thought I had my VRBO act together, but obviously not. Which is why you were credited with a free day and no cleaning fee (although I still had to pay her). Again sorry.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Hood River. Oregon

Kelp House - Delightful home with ocean ambiance

  • 5 of 5

We found Kelp House to be exactly what we needed for a three day winter stay. We appreciated the quiet neighborhood, the closeness to the aquarium and splendid coastline, and the beautifully equipped house. We enjoyed the vibrant paintings and the floor plan worked well for us - two couples and three well behaved dogs. It was the perfect setting to celebrate our daughter’s 40th birthday - We pulled off the surprise!!!! And were blessed with gorgeous weather.

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfectly Located

  • 5 of 5

Close to everything the area has to offer!

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice small house in quiet neighborhood

  • 4 of 5

Nicely remodeled two story with beautiful kitchen. Seating areas on the main floor are ackward but for a small group (3 or 4) upstairs tv area and outdoor deck work great. Nice bathrooms upstairs and down no real outside area to use and no place to comfortably use the barbecue good place for a short stay

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Monterey Bay Aquarium
Awarded as the Best Aquarium in the world by Trip Advisor. You MUST do this. We are 30 year+...
17-Mile Drive
If you like to look at golf courses and expensive homes this is the place to go. Other than...
Cannery Row
Tourist trap but picturesque -
Old Fisherman's Wharf
Tourist trap, but go on a whale watching trip! Well worth it,
Point Lobos State Natural Reserve
A "must do" when you are in the Monterey area. It is one of the most spectacular parks in th...
Monterey Bay Kayaks
Fun to paddle around near the wharf & aquarium, but if you want a paddling experience go up ...
Asilomar State Beach
Usually windy, but a lovely beach for strolling along. Lot of loose dogs there.
Pavel's Backerei
I've traveled all over the world and I think this is the best bakery in the world! The Farme...
Sustainable seafood, gourmet food. When we are feeling flush, or celebrating we go here.
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Pacific Grove Municipal
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Lover's Point
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties