Henry Hasse and his wife, Fredericka, emigrated from Germany and purchased this ranch in 1860. They built a log structure on the property and replaced it in 1883 with this stone farm house. The house is built in the style of German farm houses of the 1850s and is listed in the National Register of Historical Places because it one of the very few authentic German farm houses with their original structure intact. It has been completely modernized inside to make it comfortable for modern visitors.
The house is on Highway 29, two hours from Austin and San Antonio, and 6.9 miles east of Mason. It is 27 miles from Llano and 48 miles from Fredericksburg.
Guests at the house typically enjoy walking through the ranch on the two mile nature trail. The ranch holds a variety of wildlife, including deer, raccoons, migratory birds, and all the other native species of the Hill Country. The old field has a grove of native pecan trees. In the north end of the property (along Hasse Creek) is one of the few remaining groves of post oak trees in the country. The rest were cut down to build the original houses.
The fully equipped, modern kitchen allows guests to prepare meals in the house. The proximity to Mason allows driving easily into town for lunch or dinner as well as to visit museums and shops around the picturesque Courthouse Square.
The house and the ranch offer a romantic, charming weekend or getaway only a few hours from Austin or San Antonio.
Keywords: Stone Farm House