Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'Surf and Stay' Beach Front 1-bedroom ~ Chic Bali Style

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 6 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Queen size pull-out sofa, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)

Luxury beach front downstairs private apartment for holiday rental, located on Oahu's exclusive Niu Beach - just minutes from Hawaii Kai and a ten minute drive to Waikiki.

The luxury Bali Style one bedroom apartment has its own parking area, private entrance, and access to the beach, outdoor hot tub, outdoor shower, and BBQ, as well as use of the property's surfboards and washer/dryer.

Completely remodeled in Oct 2009 with gorgeous marbles and granites and custom mill work. The apartment has large flat screen TV's, DVD players, and surround-sound systems with indoor/outdoor speakers.

This one bedroom apartment is furnished in an exotic Bali surf-style with a stylish kitchen and bath, separate bedroom, sitting area, dining area, and its own private tropical garden lanai fronting the ocean. The Bali unit comfortably sleeps 2-4 with a queen size bed in the bedroom and a full size sofa sleeper in the living room. We also have an optional twin size trundle mattress available, upon request.

The Bali Apartment can be booked at $1,650 a week, plus cleaning, taxes and security deposits.

If you would like to reserve this apartment to include surfing lessons and/or North Shore surf safari please visit our website: www.tygurneysurfschool.com

We also have another apartment which is a Beach Studio next door (sleeps 2), the apartment is separately listed so if you are coming with a another couple or family please note that the 2 apartments can be booked together. VRBO number is 290820. Please contact owner for any queries.

Keywords: beach, studio, ocean, apartment, hawaii, honolulu, surf

More Details

Owner
Lisa Harrington
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2017

About Lisa Harrington

This property was purchased by the owners for personal/family use and also to create a luxury vacation rental space. The owners are passionate about surfing and Hawaii, and also own a surf school in Waikiki. The owners are delighted to combine 'surf and stay' packages for guests upon request. This rental property was designed to appeal to travelers who want the luxuries of home whilst exploring the island and feeling like locals.

Lisa Harrington purchased this apartment in 2009

Why Lisa Harrington chose Kuliouou - Kalani Iki

This property location in Hawaii is unique because you have the essence of island life and Hawaii on your oceanfront doorstep while being central to facilities and the heart of Honolulu, Waikiki. The best of both worlds!

What makes this apartment unique

Privacy, Luxury, Serenity, Bliss and a unique Hawaiian experience.

Amenities

Kuliouou - Kalani Iki Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Bed (1), Queen-size Sleeper-sofa (1) in living room *twin trundle mattress available upon request
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Guests have use of Surfboards

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
18% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
'Surf and Stay' Beach Front 1-bedroom ~ Chic Bali Style
average rating of 4.590909 based on 22 reviews
4

As advertised! Quaint little apartment ON the beach!

  • 4 of 5

great little spot on the beach, easy access to some near by conveniences. The only thing I would suggest to make this place absolutely outstanding, would be a portable AC unit! The fans did ok but it was HOT! Other than that no complaints, and no problems! Loved it! We'll rent again... and again!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect in every way

  • 5 of 5

The home is literally right on the ocean. Small sandy beach and the ocean. The home is in a more affluent neighborhood in Hawaii. Get there in the daytime as the home may not be very well lighted and that can be overwhelming. I recommend bringing your own towels and beach towels as they are very limited in the home. Perhaps the owner could add another tv to the bedroom for nighttime viewing. The home can also be a bit warm even with the fans that are included. Over all the studio is exactly as listed. Will easily sleep up to 6 people or more. Shops and scenic views are within easy location of the home. Lisa, the property manager is great and very attentive to any issues you may have. The owner also provides use of a kayak and laundry facilities with detergents. Everything you need is provided with many extras. Worth a stay with friends. The waves, the view from the lanai is amazingly breathtaking. I will definitely try to stay in this studio again whenever I visit. Mahalo!!

  • Submitted: May 11, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5

The place was perfect. Loved every minute of our time there. The owner is great!

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Good location. Nicely decorated.

  • 2 of 5

One step to the ocean which was a large calm bay with short sand beach. Bathroom shower was nice. The 7ft ceilings and poor lighting made it seem dark inside. Towels that were provided for showering should all be replaced as they were very worn. The mattress pad was stained and should be replaced as well and extra set of sheets provided as we were there for 10 nights. Cooking was difficult because there was very limited cookware. The manager was responsive when we requested a new coffee maker and blender because neither were in working condition when we arrived. Overall, the property should be maintained to a better standard.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Mary, Thank you for staying at the property last January. I just wanted to respond to your review for future visitors. The home is under new management and we have taken your review into account in updating the features of the home. We have replaced all mattress pads, pillows and towels and have added additional kitchen cooking items and spare sheets/blankets to the unit. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will visit us again! Best wishes!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

Beautiful Beachfront Getaway

  • 5 of 5

I had an amazing time staying out of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. The unit was clean and quirky - loved the decor. But the real attraction was the water literally feet from the patio. There is a reef a couple hundred yards offshore that protects the bay, so the water was always really calm. We could watch surfers out there from our patio and even gave it a go ourselves (the house has surfboards and a kayak you can use.) Morning walks along the beach and evening soaks in the jacuzzi are also a must. Overall a great place to stay and conveniently located to other fun activities (Hanauma Bay, Kona Brew Company). Plus the lady that checked us in was super nice! Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was nice to meet you too. Happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the house being that it is right between the hustle of town and the serenity of the ocean. Thank you for taking surf lesson with us at our shop…hope you were able to catch some goodies on your own out there. Hope to see you again soon. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Convenient location, minor upgrades would add value for money

  • 3 of 5

The great thing about this property is that it is truly on the beach which makes for terrific morning walks along a stretch of sand. There is no air conditioning so sleeping with the windows and doors open was a must - the nice thing about this, though, was hearing the waves lap onto the shore all night long. The water was calm (March) and we could very comfortably let our 5 and 7 olds play without the usual sort of supervision we are used to in surf. The beach itself is not terribly interesting though and certainly not the type of beach a tourist would stop to enjoy for its own sake - it's just nice by virtue of it being a part of the house ambiance, and the beach activities are quickly exhausted if one isn't interested in surfing in the breaking waves a few hundred yards off shore. The location is very convenient with great access to the usual attractions on Oahu. The fold-out sofa features a dilapidated wiry mattress that could very easily (and inexpensively) be replaced with a new one (in fact, when folding it open, there appears an inflatable mattress as a sort of acknowledgement of the state of the bed - the inflatable is fine but needs daily re-inflation). Fear not the dust bunnies for they are friendly and plentiful - we have definitely stayed at cleaner VRBO accommodations (though we have also stayed at less cleaner places too). The hot tub is a nice touch and very welcoming after an evening swim - nice to warm the kids up in after extended back and forth water play. There are a great many surf boards of various shapes and sizes available for use and if this is intended to be a surf vacation (it wasn't for us) then this would be a huge bonus. We did, however, avail ourselves of the discounted surf lessons at the associated Ty Gurney Surf School in Waikiki which was great fun and it was certainly extremely rewarding to see our kids really truly surf after minimal instruction. In summary, this accommodation is average - there are pluses and minuses and our stay on Oahu was neither augmented nor detracted by the accommodation. The add says "Luxury 'Surf and Stay' Beach Front Property Chic Bali Style" - this accommodation isn't luxurious nor chic - it is average. We wouldn't stay here again (though we don't regret we did), but only because there are lots of other average places to stay with different trade-offs to experience.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you or taking the time to leave us some feedback. This unit has been very popular, so I feel like we are always trying to keep up with any upgrades needed. We value you honesty and and your suggestions are helpful in helping us know what makes our guests a little extra happy. Glad to hear you had a great time and was able to enjoy the best of what Oahu has to offer. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Car: recommended

Just a short 15/20 minute drive to Waikiki and a 10 minute drive to the Hawaii Kai community

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties