check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Private, Big Views, Near Beaches & Gardens

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
5 - 7 nights

Description

Hanalei House Rental Photos and Description

House, 1 Bedroom, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2)TVNCU -1037-TAT#04875984-01

Remarkable panoramic views fill generous windows and lanai of this serene plantation-style home; broad vistas of beautiful Wainiha Valley, 5,000-ft volcanic mountain peaks of Hanalei, misty ridges of Koke'e, early morning sunrises and evening moonrises. Wrap-around lanai overlooks 2-1/4 acre estate of koi ponds, palms, tropical flowers and fruits. 4 miles from Hanalei Bay, minutes from Lumahai Beach, Tunnels Beach, Haena Beach, Wainiha Beach, Ke'e Beach and the Na Pali Coast.

Vintage furnishings, hardwood floors, vaulted ceiling, lauhala mats, antique collectibles recall romantic Hawai'i. Details: 9-ft granite dining table, 2 bathrooms, laundry room, king-size bed and mirrored closets, CD and DVD players, cable TV. dsl/wireless. Sleeps 2. $1225 per week, $145 out clean, plus taxes, security deposit, booking fee. Christmas and summer high season rates are $1330/week.

Keywords: Modern, plantation-style home, amazing views, vintage furnishings

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Carol
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
50%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2016
Call Owner

About Carol

David was born and raised on Kauai and Carol has lived here for more than 30 years.

Carol purchased this house in 1992

Why Carol chose North Shore

We built this beautiful home for ourselves because we love Kauai, the beautiful views from this property and the community and beaches.

What makes this house unique

Enjoy the peaceful pleasure of this remarkable location and its wonderful views. Or, spend time touring Kauai's most beautiful beaches, hiking the trails or shopping and eating in Haena or Hanalei.

Wainiha Beach is about 250 yards away and after Wainiha, you can walk on the beach -- or drive or ride a bike -- all the way to the end of the road at Ke'e Beach and the Na Pali Coast where the Kalalau Trail begins.

Along the way, you will pass beautiful Tunnels Beach, Haena Beach Park and many more of the north shore's lovely beaches.

in the other direction from the house, you are about one-half mile from the large and beautiful Lumahai Beach.

Wainiha General Store is less than one-quarter of a mile away, with Sushi Girl right next door to the store.

the Mediterranean Gourmet restaurant and Na Pali Coffee and Art are about one-half mile away and right next to the beach.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Awesome!



Best ever on the North coast. Private. Beautiful. Close to all Hanalei + Best Beaches + Adventures. Strong "10," hope to return!

Thanks David and Carol for your hospitality (nice to meet you for a few short minutes; even better to see David's artwork in the house and on the grounds).

PS

(re: reports of barking; not a problem for me... I wore earplugs to sleep, but probably not a requirement... something you might want to consider anywhere on the island, with a nod to the rooster population)



PPS

Na Pali Properties... Excellent service!
Dec 2013
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Private, Big Views, Near Beaches & Gardens
average rating of 4.6 based on 14 reviews
5

Absolutely beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to Kauai and we were blown away by the spectacular views this place has to offer. You really get a feel for the vegetation with spectacular views of the clouds moving in and the rainbows after a mid-day rain. Extremely private..we never saw anyone while we were there. It is a wonderful space, very open, airy and clean. It had everything we needed for day trips to the beach and outings to the market. Yes, there are neighboring dogs who at times get excited and bark but it is not constant and is in no way a deterrent to the magic this place has to offer. Great location to Northern beaches, markets and town. We never wanted to leave and would highly recommend this amazing place!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Vancouver
4

Quite unbelievable

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I spent the last 5 nights of our honeymoon at Nohonani. We fell in love with the North Shore of Kauai and felt that we were truly able to relax once we arrived at the house.

The expansive property is amazing - lush, very private, and surrounded by beautiful mountains.

The interior of the house was very clean and tastefully decorated. The kitchen was perfect for us as we cooked many of our own meals and enjoyed sitting out on the lanai. The view from the hammock is not to be forgotten! Having a good supply of tupperware was great for leftovers and packing snacks for hiking/beach days.

We were really looking forward to hiking on the Kalalau Trail, so the proximity to Ke'e beach (and the trailhead) was perfect. We lucked out with weather while we were there, with a perfectly sunny day for our time on the trail.

Tunnels beach is also very nearby and a beautiful spot for snorkeling, we were even lucky enough to see a monk seal (at a safe distance). The trip into the town of Hanalei is nice and quick, with lots of shops, a grocery store, and tasty food options.

The only downside, as others have noted - the dogs. We sat outside on our first evening for a beautiful dinner together, only to be serenaded (in surround sound) by the kennels on both sides of the property. As awful as it was, it was actually quite comedic. Throughout our stay, we found that there were long stretches of time during the morning/day that we were able to spend at the house without hearing a peep from the dogs. The evenings were typically the worst for the barking, however at night time we closed all the windows and got the fans going - this kept us cool enough to sleep and kept out any noise from the dogs.

Lastly, we found the bed to be quite creaky and felt pretty unstable - the bed frame may be due for an update!

Overall, we would highly recommend Nohonani for your time in Kauai :)

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: aloha, thank you so much for your nice comments about Nohonani. your honeymoon sounds wonderful, just perfect with hiking Kalalau Trail and snorkeling at Tunnels, followed by relaxing in the hammock. we are very happy to know you enjoyed yourselves. we apologize for those pesky dogs. they belong to our Hawaiian neighbors who use them for hunting. we appreciate that they live in the traditional ways of hunting, fishing and growing taro but understand the dogs can be quite a chorus, especially when they are being fed or when rescue vehicles are passing on the one-lane bridges with their sirens on. we're glad you were able to embrace them -- and the roosters. we will check out the bed. it is a pretty new one but must need some bolts tightened. please come again! maybe first anniversary?!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Phoenix, AZ
5

"Our Most Favorite...."

  • 5 of 5

Beyond our expectations! We’ve been coming to Hawaii for over 10 years, and have spent time at all of the Islands; Kauai is by far our most favorite island – the North Shore being our most favorite area. We’ve stayed at one of the owners other properties a few years back, right up the road from this location and just loved being away from it all. The last time we were in Kauai we checked out this location on the housekeeper’s recommendation, and had decided right then that we would be staying here the next time we came back to the island. While the “Artists Cottage” that we had stayed at last time was very nice, this one, “Nohonani” ,blew us away! Extremely private, well appointed, and clean, the grounds and the views were beyond compare; a cross between Shangri-La and Jurassic park! The fruit trees, just about every variety of Palm, Orchids, etc. were the icing on the cake….when can we move in permanently?!? We love this area, being close to Tunnels beach and Lumaha’i beach (our favorite), and just 4 miles to our favorite little town of Hanalei with our most favorite restaurant – Post Card Cafe. Waking up to the stunning views of the mountains in the distance out of the sliding glass doors in the bedroom, and then having breakfast on the screened in lanai while gazing out over the property below was only the beginning of each of our awe inspiring days in paradise. A lazy day in the hammock on the lanai while the rain trickled down outside was just as nice as a bright and sunny day. The owners Carol and David are a pleasure to work with, as was the property management company, Na Pali Properties. Oh and yes….there are barking dogs, but with a property this outstanding, it was worth dealing with a little barking (OK…a lot of barking, we actually found it humorous the first night like someone was punking us!) but ear plugs easily solved that problem, and it would not stop us from staying here again in the future….seriously, when can we move in permanently!?!

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you, Ron! I am so happy you loved your stay. we love this house too! it is exceptional. with aloha, Carol
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Baton Rouge LA
5

Exceptionally beautiful

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed at Nohonani for 6 nights and I wish we'd had 6 more! The house (and it is a lovely home) is great. The pictures on the site do not lie. This is exactly what the place looks like. The view from the lanai is amazing. Nothing but beautiful mountains and an exceptional valley. The rooms are huge, the kitchen and baths are well equipped. So nice to have a laundry after almost two weeks without! Breakfast on the lanai is not to be missed. The owners were particularly friendly and helpful. Yes, we did have a problem with dogs barking the first night. However, I sent an email at approximately 9:30 p.m. about the dogs and had a reply by 10:00 a.m. the next morning. The owners talked to the neighbors (apparently some new dogs were the problem) and we never had the dog problem again. Yes, dogs bark every night but......they are hunting dogs and the owners use them for hunting purposes. They were never barked for as long a period as our first night again. It was obvious that the owners had talked to the neighbors and the neighbors made a real effort not to let it happen again. We appreciated that so much. Nohonani is located on the North Shore which is where we preferred to stay. Yes, it may be a drive but we toured the whole island every day and returned to our "little piece of heaven" early enough to relax with a glass of wine and enjoy the view every evening. We wanted privacy, seclusion and an amazing view. This is precisely what we found in Nohonani. There are roosters but you cannot go anywhere on the island (including beaches) without roosters. So.. as someone else suggested.....bring earplugs if you wish but do not miss the chance to stay in this amazing place. I haven't even mentioned the beautifully landscaped grounds and the huge U-shaped pond with koi as big as most I've seen. I hope you have the chance to talk with the owners. We happened to meet the husband and got the chance to tell him how much we appreciateed all the loving (and obvious) work he and his wife put into both the house and the grounds. I would like to take this opportunity to thank them for sharing their amazing house, gardens and oh my goodness their view!

  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: aloha, Sharon, so good to hear from you! we enjoyed your visit and wish you could have stayed at least six days longer. thank you for your many nice comments about the house, the gardens and us. it makes us smile to read how much you liked the house and that you were happy to come home each evening. you are perfect guests. please come again soon! best regards, Carol
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Jurassic Park, minus velocirapators

  • 5 of 5

We've stayed at many places on all the islands and this was our favorite. The stunning view from the lanai rendered us immobile for our whole first day. As mentioned in a review there are barking dogs, but that is life in rural Kauai. They only bark at meal time and were not a problem for us. The house is beautifully designed and appointed, clean and well maintained. I only had two complaints: the absence of beach chairs and the bed. I don't believe that the bed is king size and is getting a little tired, it should be replaced. Even with those concerns, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: aloha, Pat, thank you so much for your kind comments. we are very happy to know that our house is your favorite of all the places you have stayed in Hawaii. we agree, the house and property are wonderful and the views are stunning. we too are mesmerized each time we are there. I apologize that the bed was not what you expected. you are right, it is a queen and not a king. we thought the memory foam topper made the bed especially luxurious, but maybe you enjoy a firmer bed and would prefer to remove the topper. also, there should beach chairs. perhaps they travelled to the beach with the previous guests and were left in the trunk of their car. we look forward to your next visit, and there will be beach chairs! with warm regards, Carol
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice stay but not without problems.

  • 3 of 5

My husband and I recently stayed at Nohonani for our honeymoon. For the most part we enjoyed our stay, but we wouldn’t stay there again if we return to Kauai. It was nice enough, but we weren’t prepared for the remoteness of the north shore. I would recommend arriving/returning to the property before night falls as there is absolutely no outside lighting around the property and it was eerie pulling up at night. Although the house was close to a beach, it wasn’t swimmable and I wouldn’t recommend walking on the roads in the north shore. There were several geckos and bugs that made their way in, but our least favorite part were the noises at night. There were noisy neighbors and a dog pound very near that made it hard to fall asleep at night. The neighbors seemed like they were yelling and screaming, and it made us very nervous at night. We had read reviews that warned about the dogs, I just didn’t think it would be as bad as it was. It may not bother some people, but it bothered us very much. BRING EARPLUGS! The roosters are everywhere and very vocal on Kauai, and that’s just how it is. Loved that they had snorkel gear for us and dishes to cook with. A very nice convenience. The view is beautiful though, and it’s even better than the pictures. It’s a very clean place and they have extra towels and linens which I liked also. There was no way it was really a queen bed, felt more like a double, and it was extremely squeaky. Some might not mind, but my husband and I took bed size in consideration when picking a house, so we were pretty disappointed. I very much recommend staying as close to tunnels beach as you can. It was our favorite place on the north, and I wish we had stayed in walking distance to this beach.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: aloha, Anita and Ross, thank you for your very nice comments about our house, its comforts, the beautiful views and surroundings. we were disappointed to learn you had some problems. we apologize and wish you had said something while you were here. our first priority is your comfort, and we would have made every effort to help. we are reacting quickly to your comments. our caretaker confirmed the exterior motion lights are working and suggested perhaps someone accidentally turned them off while you were here. from now on, our housekeeper will make sure the lights are on before she leaves the house after preparing it for each guest. we assure you the bed is queen-size; we are sorry it seemed smaller. there is not a dog pound in the neighborhood but a Hawaiian family with dogs they use for hunting back in the valley. the dogs are harmless, they bark when they are fed or when they hear an ambulance or fire truck passing by on the one-lane bridges to help with a hiking or beach rescue. Wainiha Beach is beautiful. waves can sometimes be bigger than everyone is comfortable with but all along the road before and after Wainiha are beautiful beaches, some with calmer waters, protective reefs and tide pools. of course, it is important always to be careful and check water conditions. we will reach out more to each guest after they arrive to see how things are going. we may also add ear plugs to the bedside items, in case they are needed for the chickens, dogs and the sometimes-noisy bullfrogs. thank you again for the positive things you said. we hope you had a wonderful honeymoon. at this point we can only apologize for your disappointments. we wish you well.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hanalei House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$190
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
 

Additional information about rental rates

booking fee $35
out clean $145
Refundable damage deposit $400
Tax Rate 13.42%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hanalei House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • king size Bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Spacious wrap-around lanai with big views of mountains toward Hanalei and Koke'e, many waterfalls when it rains

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties