Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Vintage Beachfront Cottage with Magnificent Ocean Views-Closest to the water!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 bedroom, 1/2 bathroom, ideal for 1-2 people, sleeps 4

This property is as close to the ocean as is possible. There are only a few other properties along the coast which are as close to the ocean. Fall asleep and wake up the to gentle, soothing sounds of the ocean!

Surf, swim and walk or jog on the beach from this coastal retreat in the harbor town of Oceanside. This is a one bedroom, one bath and is fully furnished with all amenities cable, Internet, phone and free laundry room. You can wake to the sound of the surf and have breakfast overlooking the blue Pacific. The unit is walking distance to the pier, harbor, shopping and dining with freeway and transit service minutes away. Local attractions such as Legoland, Zoo and Sea World are within 30 minutes from this 'Cottage by the Sea' Stay a week or a month and 'Make the most of the Coast'.

Closet property to the water!! : This unit is the closet property to the water, along the Oceanside beach. There are only a few properties/units that are as close.

The views are magnificent!! The sounds, smells and sensations of the ocean are a constant reminder that you are at the beach. Fall asleep and awake to the sounds of the ocean without having to open the door and go outside!!

More Details

Owner
Eric Platt
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, russian, italian, dutch, swedish, greek, czech, danish, norwegian, polish, hungarian, arabic, finnish, turkish, mandarin
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

Why Eric Platt chose Townsite

Beachfront with magnificent ocean views.

Amenities

Townsite Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower , Small bath
  • 3/4 bath
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Cozy unit
  • Futon Sleeper is in the living room area. Folds down to a double bed.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Gated Community
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Most often this Beachfront Cottage is a best fit for Vacationers who are younger and not retirement age or older

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(57 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
12% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Vintage Beachfront Cottage with Magnificent Ocean Views-Closest to the water!
average rating of 4.754386 based on 57 reviews
5

PERFECT PLACE FOR YOU NEEDS

  • 5 of 5

We wanted a traditional bungalow on the beach and that is exactly what we got. We enjoyed the sound of the ocean crashing on the rocks, the walk to the pier everyday. Also all the amenities offered at Oceanside.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

WOW!! What a host and Location!!

  • 5 of 5

Wow, what a host/owner and location!!

By the time our weekend was out we felt like had known these people for 20 years!! What a great team and location!!

We booked this Beachfront Cottage over the Internet and I couldn’t understand why all of the reviews were so great. However I contacted Eric and found out!! This guy spends his time on the phone communicating with his vacationers so much that I felt that I was family and not a renter. He asked if this was a special occasion and could they do something special for us. He wanted to know our goals so that they could assist. As it was, it was a special occasion for my wife and I. We coordinated our arrival with Arlene and Patrick – as Eric advised us. Arlene had a special “Welcome Package” for us including flowers, Champagne and candles!!

Wow, what treatment!!This team could teach Hotels a thing or two about how to treat guest!

Eric advertiser’s this is a Vintage Beachfront Cottage – older but well taken care of. The location could not be better, as close to the water as is legally allowed and three (3) large windows, (north, west and south) to view the ocean.

We might be older but this was a very romantic week for my wife and I.

We will definitely return and will happily recommend Eric’s Beachfront Cottage in Oceanside to anyone and everyone!!

Thanks for a wonderful Anniversary Celebration for us!!

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Munich, Bavaria
4

Location, location, location …

  • 4 of 5

It was very easy to communicate with Eric (via mail). We got all information needed to find the place and a parking spot. All questions were answered very fast.

When we arrived we were overwhelmed by the location – the sound, the smell and the view of the ocean – unbeatable.

Once arrived we started our discovery tour, as it was not too easy to find all amenities and utensils as well as the lighting.

One of the original bedside lamps – now in the living room – caused a power outage in the house and we were unable to locate the second fuse box outside the house. To call Patrick was not so easy (no Wifi for Skype, nor phone working because of the outage), so we needed to use our German phone to call him.

Patrick came over very quickly and was very helpful and friendly. He showed us the second fuse box. He also showed us how to operate the light in the room where a “historic” washer and dryer could be found – the 3rd replaced bulb worked. After seeing them we decide not to use them…

Then we were able to settle in and enjoy the beauty of the location. We learned what vintage really means – not the rust (which we think is normal for a house that is exposed to salt water), but ancient dust and dirt in some areas, very clean in others. We also faced some little challenges, such as the shower handle – no broken fingers and no scratches – a wonder. And we needed to get used to the pilot light at the gas stove, as it is heating up the surface, so that we were afraid of burning down the cottage. 3 bbq’s to choose from – 2 of them unusable (you couldn´t even completely open them because of the rusty lid, inside with old ashes hard like stone), we could use the 3rd (less rusty but also not cleaned since ages) …

After we mastered all challenges, we enjoyed staying in the cottage - 5 days of great sunsets, the very good working wifi, the bbq’d dinners with the ocean sound and the tv with a good selection of channels.

It was really worth staying here 5 days, we can recommend this place also for people like us, being retired (referring to the note that this cottage is a best fit for vacationers who are younger and not retirement age or older) :-).

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. All of the issues raised by this Vacationer have been addressed. As the Vacationer noted we have staff available who live 1.5 blocks away and can be there quickly. Over the past 10 years we have had a couple of power outages - all caused and address by the local power company, e.g. SDG&E. This power outage was addressed by getting service via the electrical breaker box and later serviced by our Electrician. We replace all of the BBQ's in the spring, e.g. during our prime Spring season. Being so close to the ocean - the rust builds up quickly. There is less use and requests for the BBQ's from October till March - so that's why we replace them in the spring. Being so close to the ocean the rust builds up quickly and makes our washer and drying look older/historic - however, they function just fine. Glad to hear that you enjoyed staying at our Beachfront Cottage
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location. Property needs some work.

  • 3 of 5

Shower was not working correctly. No silverware in kitchen. MY teenager said Futon was hard. Laundry room had no light. Maintenance man was quick to comecwhem I had issue with shower. Place needs makeover

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. It is only by getting feedback from our Vacationers that we know what we can improve upon for our Vacationers. Re: The Silverware. There is and has always been silverware in this Beachfront Cottage. We wish you had called or texted our local people regarding where the silverware is located. However, I have instructed our local people to place a large sign with an arrow to where the silverware is stored - so that this won't happen again. Re:The light in the laundry room is on a timer switch so that after timing out - the light goes out. Note that this is not a traditional switch. But will also put a large note above the switch so that it will be more obvious. Once every 5-6 years someone makes this mistake. Re: The futon. Most of the time, Vacationers report back to us that it is very comfortable. However, most of the time, this unit is rented to families with young kids who have been playing at the beach all day till they are exhausted. Every once in while, e.g. once every 5-6 years, we get a Vacationer who reports back that the futon was not comfortable. However, most of our Vacationers report back that it is comfortable. Also, we have settled on this futon after trying most that are on the market - and this futon was reported as most comfortable by the majority of our Vacationers
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location and fishing out front. Close to everything.

  • 4 of 5

Sewer system needs flushed. The sinks and shower smells. Needs new pans to cook with.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and letting us know that several items need our attention. As noted in all of the emails that I sent to you - as well as our phone conversation, if anything did not meet your expectations - to please contact our team who takes care of our property in Oceanside. They only live 1 1/2 blocks away and these items would have been addressed. This was also stated in our Vacation Agreement that you accepted. We will address these issues immediately!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This little place is a gem!

  • 5 of 5

This little place is a gem. I stayed there for a few days with my 3 boys. It is right on the ocean, but not too busy with traffic. It was spotless and had absolutely everything we needed. The bed was super comfy. We loved it! Will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write your review!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
38 Miles
San Diego International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.33 Miles
3 blocks
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
.5
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
1 mile
Nearest Beach
6 Metres
18 feet
Car: recommended

This is a Vintage Beachfront property with magnificent ocean views. It is a Stand alone cottage without another tenant next to, below, above or behind. Many tenants report that it is quite romantic.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $70 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $80
Tax Rate 11.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.