check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Your Virgin Island Paradise.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
villa
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Slob Villa Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

The Toucan House at Villa Madeleine is nestled in the beautiful, tropical East End of the Island of St. Croix. The Villa is warm and welcoming and features Caribbean décor for a true island experience. The Villa features an open air concept with french doors that lead directly out to the pool so that guests can enjoy warm tropical breezes with a tantalizing Caribbean sea view.

The homeowners and guests have found that the best way to start the day is a plunge in the private pool, which can be accessed from both bedrooms. Each bedroom is specially appointed with West Indian style furniture that maintains the character of the island. The bedrooms are private from each other because they are located in adjoining buildings, but both have direct access to the lounge chairs, outdoor dining area and pool. Guests enjoy all the amenities of home, but maid service is available for an extra, nominal fee.

Guests can experience many of the wonderful activities that St. Croix has to offer. The Villa is located a short 15 minute drive from historic Christiansted, where one can charter a boat ride for a trip to Buck Island and neighboring dive and snorkel spots, or experience fine dining in one of the local restaurants. Sports and nature enthusiasts can hike in the rain forest, play tennis on the court located on the property, visit the tide pools on the North Shore of the Island, or rent a bike for a beautiful ride along the island shores. The island also offers a seaside village complete with charming shopping.

There are many pristine, beautiful beaches around the Villa that offer beach lovers sensational turquoise ocean views and soft, warm sand. One of the best beaches is only a short 5 minute walk from the Villa.

The Toucan House is perfectly situated between a nine hole golf course and the exclusive St. Croix Yacht Club, as well as the Divi Resort & Casino. Just a short drive down the hill is an international deli providing gourmet food and spirits.

St. Croix is a beautiful, peaceful and serene island with great weather and phenomenal outdoor activities, and the people and culture are sure to impress everyone who visits. The close proximity to the Mainland and Puerto Rico makes it very convenient for those traveling to this U.S. Territory.

The Toucan House owners and other guests have discovered many splendors and delights on St. Croix. Come down and see for yourself!

Keywords: Villa, pool, tennis, beach, private, beautiful, gated, garden, tropical, golf, romantic,

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible

Property Manager
Roger
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response rate:
0%
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2015
Call Manager

About Roger

We live in Maryland, but travel quite a bit. Our favorite destinations have always been islands, especially the Caribbean.

Our first visit to St. Croix was a business trip over Christmas and New Years in 2004. We had certainly not come to the island to buy property, but fell in love with the beautiful views, the sea, and the wonderful people. We decided that we wanted to make this island our second home, so the third day we were there, we looked at 3 properties. The Toucan House was the third one we saw, and we made an offer to buy it on the spot. We hope you love it as much as we do.

Roger purchased this villa in 2004

Guestbook comments from the manager

My wife and I had a fantastic time in St. Croix and at Toucan House in June. The island was quiet this time of year, but we never ran out of things to do, and the Toucan House really made us feel like we were on vacation. The private pool was a great way to enjoy those lazy vacation days when we didn't feel like venturing out. The house was very nicely decorated, very clean, and comfortable enough that we never felt like we had to leave be on vacation. The location was ideal for a quiet getaway - the East End is quiet in general, though there is plenty to do in the area immediately surrounding the house. We enjoyed a bunch of the quiet beaches near the house, scuba diving on the north shore, snorkeling on Buck Island, 4-wheeling near the rain forest, as well as the Divi Resort, which is close enough to walk to if you like gambling. Christiansted is only an easy 15 minute drive west, and almost everything on the island is nearby Christiansted. I don't think we had a single bad meal while on island - all the food was delicious, and generally fairly priced. We had that rare combination of near-constant rainy weather on our trip, and yet we still enjoyed ourselves enough that we're looking forward to getting back to explore more of St Croix and relax at the Toucan House. It's just a great place to relax with no shortage of entertainment.



-Matt
Jun 2010
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.5/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

Your Virgin Island Paradise.
average rating of 4.5 based on 5 reviews
Greenville, SC
4

Toucan House

  • 4 of 5

Stayed at Toucan House March 2015 for a week. Very good place to stay in St Croix. Good quiet location with no security issues. Great layout for a two bedroom unit - the teenager's bedroom was well separated from ours! The pool (and everything else) was very clean and well maintained. It's a 5-10 minute walk to the beach but with a multitude of beaches, all public access and all with their own unique attraction with respect to snorkeling, body surfing, etc. I think the non beachfront location is an advantage. Very close to Point Udall and the hiking path to Isaac's Bay and plenty of nearby great places to eat, drink, and bask in the island pace of life.

Everything from meeting at the airport (in spite of US Air costing us a day of vacation), orienting to the facility, and closing down at the end of the stay was handled superbly. I highly recommend Toucan House and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
4

Toucan review

  • 4 of 5

Description and photos were accurate regarding location and property. Property was clean enough but the place did need some repairs: cannot open all the windows, rotten wood around various windows/doors (which attracts ants), washing machine needs a new dial to select washing program (pliers were supplied but the setting is unclear without the dial), perhaps a new grill would be nice (left side did not function and the right side cooked erratically.) Being a homeowner, I know these things are easily fixed. If the friend or relative were not too fussy, I would definitely recommend this spot. I loved being able to sleep with windows and doors open with the fresh air blowing in and being able to pop into the pool whenever I felt like it. I also loved eating outside beside the pool at breakfast and dinner. The property manager was very nice and personable. We would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jeff Thanks so much for for staying at the Toucan House, and for your thoughtful review. We take great pride in the Toucan House, and always want our guests to have a great experience. Unfortunately, we do not live on-island and sometimes we aren't aware of issues until guests let us know. Here's an update on the items you mentioned: The doors to the guest room are being replaced to deal with the rotting wood around the handles. Apparently, the dial for the washing machine is some sort of hard to find rarity; our property manager has been searching for a replacement. I have been told that that has been sourced and replaced now. As far as the grill is concerned, it is a large custom model, and I'm disappointed that it didn't work well for you. I have left instructions for it to be checked and serviced. Again, thanks so much for taking the time to write your review, and for your kind words about your stay. We do offer returning guest discounts, so please think of us the next time you visit St. Croix. Best regards Roger
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Review of Toucan House at St Croix Villa Madeleine

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at Toucan House in Jan 2014. Very, very nice place. It's next to a fun golf course (the Reef) and one of the best restaurants on the island (Duggan's). It's also walking distance from the Casino (I'm not so inclined, but it's there). You can also walk to the beach if you like and the on-site tennis courts (nobody even used them while we were there) are close to Toucan House. It's also very quiet. There is not a lot of auto traffic going by and it's just steps from the parking, but you don't see the car park from the house which is good. The view is ocean and pastoral. There is also an impressive view of the side of a mountain from poolside. The house is really nice - 2 large bedrooms which are separated from each other, it's own pool (it's very clean), a gas grill with a full tank. Very clean and well maintained. We are frequent visitors to St Croix and have stayed in many places; I really don't think you can beat the Toucan House for value. Next time we go, this will be the first place we look at. The owner was very helpful and responsive. I always wonder if it's going be a struggle getting my deposit back, but it was sent back to me more quickly than ever expected. We were met at the airport and shown the way to the Toucan House and were shown how everything works (everything did work). It's also very safe there - security is pretty tight so you can sleep with the sliders open and enjoy the omnipresent, warm breeze. The sliders open to the pool area and view the ocean to the left and mountainside to the right. Lace curtains give you your privacy when the sliders are open but don't impede the breeze. Not a single mosquito or other biting insect during our stay. Every room is air-conditioned, but we don't like air conditioning so we never used it. The 2 bathrooms are very cool, too. There are two rooms to each. One with a very open, breezy shower and sink and the other with the toilet and sink. Toucan House is a really pretty place. It's not beachfront, but if you would like your own very private pool, your own grill, and quiet, then Toucan House is much better than a beachfront condo complex where you will need to compete for a chair by the pool, the grill, a place to park, and put up with the very annoying people that happened to rent the adjacent condo the same week you were there. There are lots of beaches on St Croix, all public and no problems parking, and you will probably want to go to different beaches for variety.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Maryland, USA
5

Mark - Oct 24th, 2009

  • 5 of 5

Well, full disclosure here. I am friends with the owners and write the web-page for them. I had a chance to come down while they were here (I'm writing this from the pool). What a great place! When you park and walk in, it is a classic Caribbean tropical landscaping along the sidewalk. The house is very private and in a gated-community. Walking into the living room, you are greeted by a tall room, with a wood-framed cathedral ceiling. All the comforts of home are here. There are very nicely decorated rooms and even a full kitchen stocked with all the dishware and utensils. The master bedroom is off the living room and opens onto the beautiful swimming pool. The floors are made from the typical Carribean big red tiles, so no worries about walking from the pool back inside while you are wet. The second bedroom is also off of the pool deck and you can only get to it from outside, so it is very private as well. The Toucan House is set up perfectly for two couples. If there are more guests, as there are on my stay, I am sleeping on the sofa-bed in the living room. It is comfortable with none of the ususal metal bars sticking through the matress, it feels just like a bed. The full kitchen has a coffee maker and grinder, an oven/range, and full refrigerator, so we've been cooking just like at home. There's no shortage of some of the coolest beachside bars I've been to either. Villa Madeline is on the Eastern end of the island, and it's climate reminds me of Brazil, without all of the rain. Enjoy your stay, I didn't want to leave! I didn't even think about work while we were there...

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Henry Rohlson International (STX)
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Divi or Duggan's Reef
Nearest Golf
0.1 Miles
The Reef
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Divi or Duggan's Reef
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Divi Beach
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Slob Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Standard 2015
Apr 16 2016 - Dec 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
$1,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Slob Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2) Each specially appointed bedroom features 4-poster queen size beds., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) The sofa in the great room becomes a queen size bed with thick mattress for extra sleeping quarters.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties