Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakefront w/ Fabulous Views, Large Decks & Huge Dock for Outdoors Fun!

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 8 nights


About the property

3 Bed, 2 Bath with Lake and Mountain Views, Close to Everything

This two level house has large decks that enjoy water views of the lovely lake below. Steps take you down to a very expansive dock, boat house and roof deck right on the water. This is the perfect place to lounge, leap into the fresh clear lake water or to launch a boat from. It's a wonderfully private spot because the property is large.

The large open-plan living space on the upper level include living/dining/kitchen as one large space that opens onto the deck outside. A seating area and large dining table are comfortable for relaxation and dining. The upstairs bedroom (with new queen bed) is adjacent a bathroom with a large soaking tub.

The lower level sleeps 4 (2 full beds - a blowup twin mattress for anybody extra) with one bathroom. These accommodations open onto the lower deck/patio with a seating area and hammock. Steps lead down to the wonderful lakefront deck area.

Keywords: Lakefront, docks, boathouse, patio, views, tranquility, comfortable

More Details

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2017

About The Owner

Our family of four live in Miami. We try to get to the ocean every few weeks and love to swim and kayak. We set our sites on the Carolina's as a way of escaping the intense summer humidity. Lake Lure offered us beautiful scenery and a wonderful lake playground to enjoy during those escapes.

The Owner purchased this house in 2010

Why The Owner chose Blue Ridge Mountains

We discovered Lake Lure a few years ago while on a summer vacation. We spent a week just leaping off our dock into the beautiful water of the lake, swimming in the cove and canoeing all over the lake. When we weren't in the lake or looking at the lake we explored the area. Chimney Rock is stupendous, Black Mountain has wonderful restaurants and of course, the Blue Ridge Mountains offers endless sights. We knew we wanted to come back. We found the best site on the lake and have just finished renovations for your next vacation.


Lake Lure House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , The two downstairs bedrooms are interleaving !
    Bedroom 3 - Bedrooms and bathroom are interleaving.
  • New Queen Bed in Master, Comfortable Full Beds in Bedrooms 2 and 3.
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
We have 4 kayaks for your use and a few inflatable 'floaties' to leap on (we resupply these at the beginning of each season...they sometimes disappear). Paddle up to Larkins for lunch for one day!


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

Lakefront w/ Fabulous Views, Large Decks & Huge Dock for Outdoors Fun!
average rating of 4.5945945 based on 37 reviews

The property is fantastic. You will not be disappointed.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I have been going to the NC mountains for 5 years now to stay for a summer trip. This has been are favorite house yet. The lake is amazing. Highly recommended. And if you have any problems the owner is quick to fix.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I so appreciate this feedback. Many thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect location, tranquil, exactly what we wanted for our spring break getaway

  • 4 of 5

Gorgeous spot with million dollar view! Cozy and perfect for our family! We would stay again.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you do so much LuAnn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice location but house needs some TLC

  • 3 of 5

This is a beautiful location, right on Lake Lure, which is lovely. There are several nice restaurants around as well as nearby grocery shopping. We chose the house because we liked the lakeside location and the four kayaks, which we got a lot of use from. The house features lots of windows, a deep soaking tub, and an iPod dock with Bluetooth. It was also convenient to have a small supply of seasonings/oil/tea on hand.

However, there are some opportunity areas for this house. First, it just isn't very comfortable. The mattresses are worn, the kitchen is not well equipped (stove barely works, pans are low quality and without sufficient size choices), and overall the furnishings are sub-standard. The dock is in need of maintenance--do not venture onto it without flip flops--we got several splinters while we were there. The hammock is so worn that it is basically unusable. Decor is largely a matter of taste, but the unmatched curtains, the poor paint job, the towel rack that fell off the wall whenever we hung a towel, and the stained comforter add up to more of a "roughing it" experience than we personally prefer.

All of these things can be easily remedied, and I hope the owners will take this constructive criticism in the spirit in which it is intended.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank Julie. At the end of the season things do get a bit tired. We appreciate the feedback and will remedy whatever we can ... towel rack, stained comforter and gas top issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Great spot!

  • 4 of 5

As others have said, this is a beautiful spot on the lake! The house is close to groceries and Larkins, but feels away from it all. We loved having access to the kayaks, and high jump platform. Julia was quick to reply when we had questions. I would stay again! Note as with most of the houses on this lake, there are many stairs to get to the water. If that doesn't bother you this is a great house.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lake Lure Time

  • 5 of 5

Just got back from our stay at your home and we are already planning our trip next summer. This home is perfect for kids & adults. We had friends staying in town and our place was "the place to hang". Lots of room for entertaining and having fun. The kids had a blast using the kayaks and jumping off the boat house. We could never do a house without it now! Spoiled. The kitchen was well equipped and there was plenty of room for all of us to hang in the living room. Another positive about this property is it is located so close to everything. Ingles is down the street and getting to Chimney Rock is only ten minutes away to enjoy dinner out. It was a perfect vacation.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful views!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our week at Julia's lake cabin! The views were divine of the center of the lake and mountain range. The house was cozy and felt like a true old-fashioned lake home, even though it has been completely updated and modernized. Loved the kitchen/living area with large deck and huge picture window with views the most! Enjoyed the kayaks and jumping off the big boat house... What fun!

Thanks Julia!

Kate and crew from St. Augustine, FL

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Could not be be more delighted that your summer memories will be good. Thank you so much for choosing our simple house in a beautiful spot.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Lake Lure municipal course
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Lake Lure House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
August '17 Special
Aug 27 2017 - Sep 3 2017
8 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Fall 2018
Sep 9 2018 - Sep 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $150
Tax Rate 7.0%

Returning guests please contact Julia before booking to receive a favorable rate.
Each Rental is subject to a $150 Cleaning fee.
Check in as after 2:00pm/Check out is before 11:00am.
Cancellation made within 2 weeks of booking forfeit 100%, 2-4 weeks before booking forfeit 50%. All cancellations made 4 weeks before reservation receive full refund.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties