Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Cottage on Tropical Flower Farm - Private Hot Tub

Bedrooms 2
Space 750 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

Permit # BBHA 2013/0005, Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Far from the crowds and Condos... Far from the noise and tourist traps... There is the old Hawaii of HANA, a small community overlooking beautiful Hana Bay on the windward east end of Maui. Hana is cooled by the trade winds that blow across the Pacific and nourish us with evening showers that make this part of Maui lush and tropical.

As you travel the magical 'road to Hana' you leave the real world behind and slowly enter the land of old Hawaii, with waterfalls, majestic coastal views and jungle rain forests. By the time you arrive in Hana you will sense a slight change. You will feel a slower pace, more peaceful and quiet.

As you follow the private drive through the tropical flower garden to our secluded Tradewinds Cottage, you will discover the Hawaii that you came to see.

Surrounded by exotic flowers and tropical fruit trees, our two bedroom, one bath cottage has a full kitchen with cable TV, VCR and CD stereo, plus wireless internet access.

The cottage has a queen size bed and two twin beds. You'll enjoy the splendor of the slopes of Haleakala while relaxing in your private hot tub or cooking your favorite island-style feast on the barbeque under your covered lanai.

This vacation rental is fully permitted. Permit #BBHA 2013/0005, SUP2 2012/0034


Keywords: House, Cottage

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 19, 2017

What makes this cottage unique

Our guests have always enjoyed the privacy and the quiet of our little retreat. The private outdoor hot tubs adds to the relaxed and serene feeling of being in a tropical environment where you can unwind from the stress of everyday life. The property is still an operating commercial flower farm where we grow Ginger and Heliconia as well as tropical fruit.


Hāna Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
11% Complete
22% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
Secluded Cottage on Tropical Flower Farm - Private Hot Tub
average rating of 4.111111 based on 9 reviews

Lovely property with cold showers

  • 3 of 5

There were four ladies who stayed on Mother's Day. Lovely property lo with lush tropical flowers. It was on the high side but we wanted to stay Mother's Day and were glad to find this available. We've stayed in Hana numerous times as we live on island.

The reason for the three star rating was because of two issues we had.

One was the toilet which wouldn't flush properly so we just kept the lid off and hand pushed down the flapper each time.

The larger issue was the COLD water in the shower. The sinks had hot water but there was none in the shower. The instructions in the guest binder said that the hot water is "on-demand" but we were not able to get any warm or hot water.

We were tired and it was late so we didn't call the property manager. We tried again in the morning and there was still no hot water.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry to hear on the morning that you were leaving about your problem with the hot water and the plumbing. It is unfortunate that you did not notify us the evening before you checked out because the manager lives next door and could have easily addressed the problems. After you checked out, we realized that due to an unusally windy day the pilot light on the hot water heater had blown out so that was why you did not have hot water for your showers. We addressed the problem with the toilet flushing properly as well. We work very hard to make every guest who stays with us comfortable by maintaining the cottage and staying on top of problems. Our vacation rental is a family business and we take our job seriously so were disappointed to hear that you experienced these issues. We have corrected the problems and we hope that future guests will call upon us right away should there be any issues in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

This place is so comfy and clean and with a great price! It's more like your own personal home with a deck and hot tub I could easily live there. It's quite and maintained very well. It's only a short drive to Hana town but you still have the feeling of being away from it all which is what Hana is all about. It's a no brainer I've stayed in Hana plenty and this spot is golden.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Kansas City, Missouri

Comfortable Cottage Surround by Flowers

  • 4 of 5

We spent two nights here and enjoyed our stay. We found all we needed to prepare our meals. We did not experience any of the problems noted in other reviews regarding ants or geckos. It was only slightly humid but the fans cooled things off and it was comfortable to sleep at night. The only thing this property needs is a load of gravel for the driveway which is difficult to maneuver with the rock we encountered upon arrival.

  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A stay in paradise!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed three nights here for our honeymoon in Maui- while the trip to get to the cottage was a long one (you have to take the road to Hana- 50ish miles up a windy road through the rain forest!) it was well worth it! The drive alone was an excursion with beautiful scenery and little fruit stands and stops along the way. The cottage was located in the midst of beautiful trees and tropical flowers and we enjoyed evenings with wine in the hot tub! Be sure to bring your own groceries and plan on making meals for yourself as the town of Hana does not have reliable restaurant/food truck open times, but definitely an incredible getaway and lovely place to call your home away from home!

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

An honest review

  • 3 of 5

Good things- very pretty setting and charming cottage. As described. It was clean. There was a tropical storm coming on our check in day. The owner generously told us that we could check in early, which we appreciated and accepted.

Things to know- The owner failed to tell the cleaning lady that we were coming early, and she was agitated by our early arrival and we found her hostile. That was our introduction to the house. There is no air conditioning (they do not advertise that they have it) and the place is very humid. The fans do not remediate the humidity. Hana is full of Mosquitos, so they are outside of and inside of the house. There are geckos in the house to help eat them, but if you are not forewarned about the geckos they will startle you. There are ants in the kitchen, we saw them when we arrived, and we kept all food in the refirgerator. Both my husband and I thought that two of the rooms smelled faintly of cat urine. Be aware that there's no dishwasher or washer/dryer (again, in fairness, not advertised to have these) but know that you will be doing dishes and accumulating laundry.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, We do allow guest to use our laundry facilities if they are staying 3 nights or more. If you contact us during your stay we’re happy to accommodate you. I’m not sure what was smelled in the bedroom. There are no feral or domestic cats anywhere on the property, so it was not cat urine. There are many different smells in the rainforest... We did go in each of the bedrooms after receiving this review and we didn’t smell anything. We just purchased a new fan for the living room that works great! We also recently replaced the fan in the master bedroom, and there is already a fan in the 2nd bedroom that works really well.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Duvall, WA

not comparable to other rentals in regards to pricing for the value

  • 2 of 5

We paid over $300 for one night stay for 4 people, 2 adults and 2 kids. We've stayed in Hana before but the value compared to this rental was lacking. There are better, more updated and comfortable houses for rent in Hana - do your research!


birds on property, vegetation lovely

Internet - slow, but not sure it could be faster out here ;)


We arrived, there was no way to know what the Internet password was, we had to drive down the road a few miles until we got reception so we could look up the email with this information

Was prepared with making our meal here, NO OVEN and we planned on crispy potato wedges with our hamburgers, silly me for not noticing under the kitchen amenities that there wasn't one? Thought this was standard and they did advertise 'newly remodeled' - our bad for overlooking NO DISHWASHER either and a sign that says please wash your dishes - fine, but very inconvenient if you're travelling and eating your meals in.

The kitchen cabinets are cheap and already falling apart - very sparce on being 'fully equipped' and no grill spatula to be found for grilling =(

Hot Water - dark when we figured out we needed to turn on the propane hot water switch so we waited until morning to wash our dishes and take showers - another huge disappointment. Crazy setup as we had to stop a shower and go flip the switch again.

Rubbish Bins - not emptied on our arrival, so we were throwing our recyclables in the trash because it was too full to put ours in

Hot Tub - there are a million mosquitoes out and makes it impossible to really enjoy this feature - LoL

Seating - for 4, not very comfy - the coffee table is glass, so it's not like kicking your feet up is enjoyable, there's a couch that is nice but the ends should recline or they should have an ottoman - there's one recliner that is awesome

TV - it was dark between 6:30 and 7 pm so we thought we'd watch a show - the TV is ancient and we couldn't hook our laptop to it as it isn't HD compatible so we tried watching a movie on our laptop but it was a little tough

Beds - two twins were cheap as you can find them and the double was so uncomfortable that my hips actually hurt the whole walk I took in the morning =(

Windows - no locks on some of them - not exactly safe

Bedroom - main - light switch not only controls the light and fan but the switch you plug your phone into by the bed stand - that should have been labeled as such! So when we turned the light out our phone didn't charge.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, Thank you for your feedback. We have/will look into each issue you brought up. We are always trying to improve our cottage to make it as comfortable as we can for our guests. I will try to address some of the issues you brought up: The Tradewinds Cottage is equipped with an on demand hot water heater. When you turn the hot water on you might need to let it run for a minute or so for it to get hot. However, you do NOT need to flip on/off any switch. After you checked out we noticed you had tampered with the hot water system which is located outside the cottage. We ask that if our guests do not have any hot water or gas to PLEASE call the property manager right away. Both myself and the property manager live on site and will gladly come down to switch the tanks. These instructions are located in the binder on the coffee table. We also installed a direct line for internet to the cottage about a year ago and the place does have it’s own router. So, the internet at the cottage is as fast as any other internet in Hana. If crews happen to be working on the cable you may experience periods of time where the internet is slow or not working. However, this is infrequent and just a part of living/staying in Hana. There is no oven or dishwasher and we do not advertise that we have these. There is a toaster oven, microwave, coffee maker, and outdoor gas BBQ. When we remodeled the kitchen a few years ago we installed solid hardwood cabinets in the kitchen! The guests who stayed after you kindly brought to our attention that one of the hinges on one of the cabinet doors was pulling loose. We simply replaced the hinge. The trash is emptied on a weekly basis and was emptied the morning that you checked out. There are mosquitos in Hana and some days there are more then others. We do provide mosquito coils in the unit. We also recommend guests bring mosquito repellent with them as you will likely encounter mosquitos when you’re out hiking/exploring. We have a leather couch and a brand new leather recliner/rocker in the cottage. We will look into replacing the beds. We have had nothing but good comments about the beds in our guestbook, but we will look into this. The cottage is located in a very SAFE residential neighborhood. It's much more comfortable to sleep with the windows open. The bedroom main light switch is clearly labeled “light & fan”. Simply turned off the light and NOT the switch to charge a device.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night

Hawaii State Tax #W67123967-01
B&B Permit #BBHA 2013/0005

$50 cleaning fee for one or two night reservations. No cleaning fee for stays of three nights or more.

Please be aware that if you book directly through VRBO, they will charge you a service fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties