Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Enchanted Forest!! Now doing long term rentals!!

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 30 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths

Welcome to 'The Enchanted Forest!"

Come enjoy Lake Bob Sandlin, the pine trees, unparalleled views and serenity in this wonderful waterfront lake house! You have excellent views of the lake from the living room, the master bedroom, and of course from the wrap around deck. You can supervise your children swimming while you sunbathe or grill steaks on the deck!

We are located only minutes from Mount Vernon and Mount Pleasant where you can find shopping, restaurants and a movie theater. You are close enough to Canton and First Monday Trade Days if you’d like to spend a day there! We are just around the corner from Vaughan’s Catfish Cabin (all you can eat of course!) and from Lake Bob Sandlin State Park. Other attractions include: Old Train Depot Museum , Franklin County Historical Society Museum, Majors-Parchman House Museum, Franklin County Arts Alliance Museum/Gallery, Franklin County Farmers Market, Cypress Springs Berry/Tree Farm and a driving tour of 50 historical homes/buildings.

This lake home is only minutes away from Bob Sandlin State Park where you can find a boat ramp. You can even fish off your own private pier in our back yard! (The boat house belongs to the neighbor so please stay away from that.) We also have a fire pit by the lake if you’d like to sit around the campfire and roast marshmallows in the evening. Please note this is not a constant level lake. During periods of little or no rain, the lake waters may recede substantially.

Sleeping arrangements include one bedroom down with one queen bed and one futon that makes into a double bed. There is one bedroom upstairs with one queen bed, one double bed and one futon that makes into a double bed. There is one bathroom upstairs and one bathroom downstairs.

The kitchen is fully equipped with pots and pans and cooking utensils. It has an electric stove with a range and oven, a dishwasher, microwave and all the comforts of home! Central A/C and ceiling fans throughout. The living room has a large screen TV, DVD player and a fireplace.

Linens provided but please bring your own towels for the lake.

Cable service can be unreliable. We are sorry that we will be unable to guarantee that these amenities will be working during your stay and are unable to offer refunds for disruption of these services.

Rates may not be loaded for future years at any given time. Please contact owner for a quote.

Be sure to check out our Galveston Beach House for rent on VRBO #227918!!

We also have an ocean front beach house in Galveston (Jamaica Beach) for rent on VRBO #558739!!

And another ocean front beach house in Galveston (Bermuda Beach) for rent on VRBO #508219!!

Plus a new Canal front home in Galveston (Sea Isle) on VRBO #472258!

And our latest ocean front beach home in Galveston (Terramar Beach) for rent on VRBO #503387!!

Plus a home in a retirement community in the Rio Grande Valley (Weslaco) on VRBO #750559!!

The 'Enchanted Forest' reserves the right to refuse service to anyone. Rates are subject to change without notice.

Keywords: Cabin, Lakehouse, Lake, Fishing, Retreat, Bob Sandlin

More Details

John and Deidre Stephenson
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 23, 2017


Pittsburg House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen pillowtop w/memory foam topper + double bed + futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen pillowtop with memory foam topper + full size futon
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Private pier, private fire pit, boat ramp at nearby State Park


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

54% Complete
27% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Enchanted Forest!! Now doing long term rentals!!
average rating of 4.3636365 based on 11 reviews

Nice Cabin

  • 3 of 5

Very nicely equipped cabin at a fair price and easy to locate. Due to lake level dock was non functioning but location next to Lake Cypress Springs made up for that. If we travel to this area again will definitely check on availability.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

nice getaway

  • 4 of 5

very comfortable, out of the way, easy access(except drive way needs grading), beautiful setting.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A very nice and relaxing get away! Clean, adorable and quiet home on the lake.

  • 4 of 5

Thank you Deidre and John! My parents and I enjoyed our stay at The Enchanted Forest. It was quiet, clean, and just what we needed for a relaxing 3 days away from the big DFW area. We will definitely recommend the house and will be back ourselves in the future.

Sammy and Ginger Green

Michelle Green Dearing

Arlington, TX

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Quiet, relaxing getaway

  • 5 of 5

The cabin provided everything we needed, with a nice deck and spacious backyard. The breeze from the lake made for a pleasant evening sitting around the fire pit. There was a leak from the air conditioner, and the owner was quick to respond. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 3 of 5

Very nice and quite. Enjoyed our stay however, Upon arrival I had to clean the deck and table. Hasn't been cleaned in some time. The ad stated that the kiddos could be supervised from deck while swimming. This ad was the selling point of the property unfortunately, we had to go to state park and pay an extra 48.00 for access to the park so the kids could swim. The property actually sits on the edge of the lake and even with high tide there is too much growth around pier to swim or fish. I suggest google earth the property before renting. I didn't but if I had I would not have rented it.

The house was in excellent condition. Very clean with everything you need to enjoy your stay with exception of what is stated in the ad. If you don't mind paying extra to swim, I would recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We clean the deck and the table frequently, however they are outside so one night can make them look dirty again. We have a current picture of the lake posted on our website. The lake changes frequently and there is currently a growth of some kind of vines around our dock. We pull up whatever we can reach every time we are there but they are very aggressive in growing back! Thank you for your comments and we will continue to do what we can to get the lake swimmable again. We are very fortunate that the state park is only three minutes away.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Relaxing and enjoyable weekend

  • 4 of 5

Our family recently stayed at this lovely lake home over Memorial weekend. We had a great experience. The home owners were helpful in advance and prepared for our arrival. This home is a short five minute drive from the state park. We went every day and had no difficulty going back and forth. We did not have a boat but used our kayaks all weekend on the lake. Lake access from the house would be difficult with a boat but we had no problems with the kayaks. We had plenty of space for all eight of us. The kids loved playing on the large yard. It was just the weekend we needed!

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


Fishing Guides, Canoe/Pontoon/Ski Boat Rentals


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning $95
Refundable damage deposit $1,000

At any point in time, rates may not be loaded for future years. Please contact the owner for a quote.
Prices are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties