Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spectacular Ocean View Condo - On the Bluff

Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Space 864 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1.25 Baths, (Sleeps 2)

Come and enjoy this beautiful ocean front condo that will melt you both! Not only do you get an unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean, you will see an unobstructed view of the city lights of La Jolla. Watch the surfers ride the beautiful waves right in front of you. Looking out to the ocean, watching the waves break and frequently seeing the dolphins frolic through the waves and swim with their families. This fabulous setting is hard to beat! Located at Del Mar Shores Terrace in Solana Beach.

This unit in Del Mar Shores is on the bluff in Solana Beach. Stairs down to the beach are adjacent to the complex. Beach chairs and boogie boards await your use! Bicycles are available to rent close by, or simply take a nice walk or jog. Walking distance to great restaurants, the renowned Solana Cedros Design District, Fit gym, Pilates, and of course, the Del Mar Racetrack and KaaBoo. Minutes to Olde Del Mar with more great restaurants and shopping. And, just a few more minutes to the infamous Torrey Pines Golf Course, home of the Farmer's Insurance Open on the PGA Tour and La Jolla.

You will not regret your choice with this splendid condo.

Just to let you know, although we cannot accept pets from our vacationers due to new HOA rules. We do bring our own pets on occasion but don't worry, the condo in impeccably kept!

Keywords: Condo, Del Mar Shores Terrace, ocean views

More Details

Tawne Markley
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2018

Why Tawne Markley chose Solana Beach

This is the best beach vacation location that meets all types of needs.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Tawne,

We wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our recent visit to your condo on the beach. Unlike lots of ads that show views which turn out not to be accurate your view is even better than shown. It is phenomenal and probably one of the best in the complex. We could look out at La Jolla and up the the coast from several windows. We were able to see the fireworks from the window. We loved sitting on the balcony and barbecuing and enjoying the sounds of the ocean and the views. You are so close to the beach that we would do several walks a day on to the beach. The condo has everything anyone would need and is well kept up. This is our second visit and we will be back. Thanks.

Larry and Susan
Jun 2017
  • 1 of 2


Solana Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 864 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 11:00 AM / Check-out: 3:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered ...
  • not suitable for children
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 seperate sinks
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size bed (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
9% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
Spectacular Ocean View Condo - On the Bluff
average rating of 4.5 based on 24 reviews
Minnetonka, Minnesota

Sad To Leave

  • 5 of 5

We are packing up and getting ready to leave Solana Beach. Wish we could stay here longer.

The condo was so nice. We love the location, it's close to lots of restaurants, beaches, area attractions, and shopping.

All the comforts of home were provided. We could have had all our meals here but we didn't because we like going out!

We enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

The view of the ocean was awesome! We saw whales and dolphins and were entertained by all the surfers.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: March 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location and view are the highlights

  • 4 of 5

We have stayed in this condo twice for about 4 weeks each time. I will list the pros and cons.

PROS: This unit is on the corner which gives you additional natural light and a side view of the ocean and coast line. It is the main reason we chose this unit for two years in a row. Telephone land line is a plus because cell phone coverage is spotty in this area. Parking is convenient to the unit, covered and secured with code to gate. Comfortable couch and love seat in the living room.

CONS: As noted in a review posted in 2014, the higher pile carpeting in the living room, bedroom, and mainly bathroom has seen better days. The toilet/tub area is actually darker than other areas; and if cleaned every 3 months as the owner has stated in previous responses, it is still unacceptable in appearance and cleanliness. Step up into deep whirlpool tub (jets do not work), step up area is also carpeted. Fan in bathroom did not work and owner was notified. Paint is peeling in toilet/tub area. Sliding balcony door does not have a locking mechanism of which owner was aware and stated rust, etc. is an issue. Even though on 2nd floor, it should be secured in some way in my opinion. Bedroom has carpet that goes up the headboard and night tables. This is obvious from the photos, but again how clean is this? No stove if you prefer that to a convection microwave oven. I have tried to keep my comments to areas that could be improved should the owner decide to do so. One thing worth noting that could not be changed, is the person above this unit on the 3rd floor is very heavy footed. Even with a sound machine on at night, we were often awoken in the middle of the night. Happened during both of our stays. The chance you take unless you are on the 3rd floor. While we have enjoyed our stays, we have made other arrangements for our next visit to this area. Based on pricing for this unit compared with upgraded choices for the same square footage, 1 bd, 1 bath, etc. we feel our vacation dollars will be better spent next time. It is certainly worth a visit, but felt the items mentioned should be taken into consideration when making that decision.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Breckenridge, Colorado


  • 5 of 5

Awesome views and unbeatable location made this condo amazing!!!! Perfect experience in every way!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful views!

  • 3 of 5

Pros- outstanding ocean views, secure surroundings, private inside garage parking, walking distance to shops and restaurants, comfortable bed and sofas, good value

Cons- could use some updating

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 2 of 5

This condo has really great views, but our stay was marred beginning with a problem in contacting the owner for access information. The info was provided just 48 hours before arrival even though I had attempted to get it by way of phone, text and email for a week prior and it was only provided after I filed a formal complaint with VRBO. The old shag carpet is in need of replacement. The bath light did not work until discovery of an open circuit breaker. We were without lights in the master bedroom for the first 3 nights until discovery of the remote control. Looked everywhere for a can opener but did not fine one. The cheap toaster did not work and the toaster oven was very dirty. The cleaning lady came the last day an hour before checkout time and insisted on cleaning while we were there.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very sorry to hear that Harry had these problems. I am a phone call away and could have remedied the light issue. I did provide instructions prior to their arrival so I am not sure what that problem was. We do not have 'shag' carpet! It is a very high end carpet that is light in color. The carpets are cleaned every 3 months and their visit was at the end of the 3 months. We do have a 'shoes off' policy which helps with the carpet but I'm not sure if people adhere to that request. The toaster works just fine and if the can opener was missing, I'm sorry. I will make sure there is one. I have no problem responding to requests but the vacationer needs to reach out if there is a problem. Our condo is beautiful and as you can see from the other reviews, it's gets five stars! I look forward to our continued excellence!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great property.

  • 5 of 5

Great location. Everything was exactly as represented. Great beach access. Quiet. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Del Mar Racetrack, whale watching, dolphin watching, polo and many more.




Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $200
Tax Rate 13.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is booked. All Credit Card transactions are subject to a 3% charge, which is what they charge us. Thank you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.