Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spectacular Ocean View Condo - On the Bluff

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 864 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1.25 Baths, (Sleeps 2)

Come and enjoy this beautiful ocean front condo that will melt you both! Not only do you get an unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean, you will see an unobstructed view of the city lights of La Jolla. Watch the surfers ride the beautiful waves right in front of you. Looking out to the ocean, watching the waves break and frequently seeing the dolphins frolic through the waves and swim with their families. This fabulous setting is hard to beat! Located at Del Mar Shores Terrace in Solana Beach.

This unit in Del Mar Shores is on the bluff in Solana Beach. Stairs down to the beach are adjacent to the complex. Beach chairs and boogie boards await your use! Bicycles are available to rent close by, or simply take a nice walk or jog. Walking distance to great restaurants, the renowned Solana Cedros Design District, Fit gym, Pilates, and of course, the Del Mar Racetrack and KaaBoo. Minutes to Olde Del Mar with more great restaurants and shopping. And, just a few more minutes to the infamous Torrey Pines Golf Course, home of the Farmer's Insurance Open on the PGA Tour and La Jolla.

You will not regret your choice with this splendid condo.

Just to let you know, although we cannot accept pets from our vacationers due to new HOA rules. We do bring our own pets on occasion but don't worry, the condo in impeccably kept!

Keywords: Condo, Del Mar Shores Terrace, ocean views

More Details

Owner
Tawne Markley
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017

Why Tawne Markley chose San Diego County

This is the best beach vacation location that meets all types of needs.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Tawne,



We wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our recent visit to your condo on the beach. Unlike lots of ads that show views which turn out not to be accurate your view is even better than shown. It is phenomenal and probably one of the best in the complex. We could look out at La Jolla and up the the coast from several windows. We were able to see the fireworks from the window. We loved sitting on the balcony and barbecuing and enjoying the sounds of the ocean and the views. You are so close to the beach that we would do several walks a day on to the beach. The condo has everything anyone would need and is well kept up. This is our second visit and we will be back. Thanks.



Larry and Susan
Jun 2017
  • 1 of 2

Map

Del Mar Racetrack, whale watching, dolphin watching, polo and many more.

Amenities

Solana Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 864 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 11:00 AM / Check-out: 3:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered ...
  • not suitable for children
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 seperate sinks
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
Spectacular Ocean View Condo - On the Bluff
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 21 reviews
Minnetonka, Minnesota
5

Sad To Leave

  • 5 of 5

We are packing up and getting ready to leave Solana Beach. Wish we could stay here longer.

The condo was so nice. We love the location, it's close to lots of restaurants, beaches, area attractions, and shopping.

All the comforts of home were provided. We could have had all our meals here but we didn't because we like going out!

We enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

The view of the ocean was awesome! We saw whales and dolphins and were entertained by all the surfers.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

problems

  • 2 of 5

This condo has really great views, but our stay was marred beginning with a problem in contacting the owner for access information. The info was provided just 48 hours before arrival even though I had attempted to get it by way of phone, text and email for a week prior and it was only provided after I filed a formal complaint with VRBO. The old shag carpet is in need of replacement. The bath light did not work until discovery of an open circuit breaker. We were without lights in the master bedroom for the first 3 nights until discovery of the remote control. Looked everywhere for a can opener but did not fine one. The cheap toaster did not work and the toaster oven was very dirty. The cleaning lady came the last day an hour before checkout time and insisted on cleaning while we were there.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very sorry to hear that Harry had these problems. I am a phone call away and could have remedied the light issue. I did provide instructions prior to their arrival so I am not sure what that problem was. We do not have 'shag' carpet! It is a very high end carpet that is light in color. The carpets are cleaned every 3 months and their visit was at the end of the 3 months. We do have a 'shoes off' policy which helps with the carpet but I'm not sure if people adhere to that request. The toaster works just fine and if the can opener was missing, I'm sorry. I will make sure there is one. I have no problem responding to requests but the vacationer needs to reach out if there is a problem. Our condo is beautiful and as you can see from the other reviews, it's gets five stars! I look forward to our continued excellence!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great property.

  • 5 of 5

Great location. Everything was exactly as represented. Great beach access. Quiet. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
5

Great Ocean-side Condo!

  • 5 of 5

The first day we stepped around the corner from the doorway and saw the ocean and sunshine, it was breath-taking! This is truly a beach-side condo with 7 floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the cliffs to the beach. Watching surfers outside our window almost any time of day was a treat. For prairie-folk, the non-stop sound of waves was a wonderful bonus. The stairs down to the beach (and up again!) are quite spectacular. You can walk the gorgeous beach for miles in each direction... at low tide.

The condo is clean, comfortable and very well-stocked. The photos are accurate, but don't really show how spacious and lovely the condo is. It exceeded our expectations!

The layout, size, colors, lighting and decor are all top-notch. The only questionable feature of the condo is the carpet at the shower entrance.

There are at least 5 great restaurants within walking distance. Brigantine's, California Pizza Kitchen, Alphonso's and Parioli's are all very good. And for Thai food, the Bangkok Bay Thai restaurant is phenomenal. It's always packed and we could see why. Reservations or good luck are needed.

The condo owner replied to our emails and provided detailed instructions.

Overall, it was a fabulous stay and we would definitely return here if/when we come back to Solana Beach.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Aurora, CO
5

PHENOMENAL OCEAN VIEWS *** ALMOST PERFECT

  • 5 of 5

PROS:

Views of ocean absolutely amazing, breathtaking & blissful!

6 huge floor-to-ceiling windows (including sliding-glass door)

Blinds allow ocean view even shut

Excellent layout with great use of space & tons of storage

Owner called back promptly when we couldn't access pedestrian entrance at arrival

Low-tide & high-tide booklet SUPER helpful to choose best beach times

Lovely ocean-themed decorations

Very comfortable furniture, bed & soft carpet

Efficient SMALL dishwasher, clothes washer & dryer

Bathroom has 2 separate sink areas

Big jetted tub & tall height-adjustable shower

Lots of paper towels, tissue, trash bags

Many bath towels, washcloths, & beach towels

Huge granite kitchen counter & space for meal prep & serving

Slide-out trash drawer

Nice big refrigerator (freezer on left, fridge on right)

Large smooth-top stove with combo microwave & convection oven

Keurig coffee machine

Plenty of plates, dishes, cookware, utensils

Small dining table with 3 comfortable chairs & 2 place mats

Large flat-screen TV & DVD player in living room

Spacious bedroom with very comfy King bed

Beautiful ocean-themed decorations and nightlights in bedroom

Flat-screen TV in bedroom

Sliding door in bedroom to get air & ocean sounds (with tiny BACK patio)

Electric BBQ grill on patio worked well

Patio table & 2 chairs with comfortable cushions

Stairs to beach conveniently located; used walkway above ocean to pool & out gate

Keys provided for gate to beach access (125 stairs down!)

Gate openers for access to convenient underground parking

We bought & left a blender & crock pot

Exquisite beach

CONS:

Communication with owner was not prompt, especially early emails & phone calls

Instructions were vague or outdated (said that stairs to ocean were closed, but had opened Oct 2014)

Difficult to get in lockbox to get condo key, poorly lit at night

Beach access information not well explained

Less than 1/3 of a roll of toilet paper

Only 1 inch of hand dish soap

No liquid clothes washing detergent

Tiny dishwasher located in awkward location

Ice maker & water dispenser on refrigerator not working

DVD player didn't work; reported day 3 and fixed on day 5

Carpeted bathroom, including carpeted step to get into high tub

Carpeted headboard and side tables in bedroom

Bedroom located in back of condo, away from ocean view (ocean sounds came thru open patio door)

No conventional oven

LOVELY PLACE, WOULD LOVE TO STAY AGAIN

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Aurora, CO
5

PHENOMENAL OCEAN VIEWS, 98% PERFECT

  • 5 of 5

PROS:

Views of ocean absolutely amazing, breathtaking & blissful!

6 huge floor-to-ceiling windows (including sliding-glass door)

Blinds allow ocean view even shut

Excellent layout with great use of space & tons of storage

Owner called back promptly when we couldn't access pedestrian entrance at arrival

Low-tide & high-tide booklet SUPER helpful to choose best beach times

Lovely ocean-themed decorations

Very comfortable furniture, bed & soft carpet

Efficient SMALL dishwasher, clothes washer & dryer

Bathroom has 2 separate sink areas

Big jetted tub & tall height-adjustable shower

Lots of paper towels, tissue, trash bags

Many bath towels, washcloths, & beach towels

Huge granite kitchen counter & space for meal prep & serving

Slide-out trash drawer

Nice big refrigerator (freezer on left, fridge on right)

Large smooth-top stove with combo microwave & convection oven

Keurig coffee machine

Plenty of plates, dishes, cookware, utensils

Small dining table with 3 comfortable chairs & 2 place mats

Large flat-screen TV & DVD player in living room

Spacious bedroom with very comfy King bed

Beautiful ocean-themed decorations and nightlights in bedroom

Flat-screen TV in bedroom

Sliding door in bedroom to get air & ocean sounds (with tiny BACK patio)

Electric BBQ grill on patio worked well

Patio table & 2 chairs with comfortable cushions

Stairs to beach conveniently located; use walkway above ocean to pool & out gate

Keys provided for gate to beach access (125 stairs down!)

Gate openers for access to convenient underground parking

We bought & left a blender & crock pot

Exquisite beach

CONS:

Communication with owner was not prompt, especially early emails & phone calls

Instructions were vague or outdated (said that stairs to ocean were closed, but had opened Oct 2014)

Difficult to get in lockbox to get condo key, poorly lit at night

Beach access information not well explained

Less than 1/3 of a roll of toilet paper (housekeeping issue)

Only 1 inch of hand dish soap (housekeeping issue)

No liquid clothes washing detergent (housekeeping issue)

Tiny dishwasher located in awkward location

Ice maker & water dispenser on refrigerator not working

DVD player didn't work; reported day 3 and fixed on day 5

Carpeted bathroom, including carpeted step to get into high tub

Carpeted headboard and side tables in bedroom

Bedroom located in back of condo, away from ocean view (ocean sounds came thru open patio door)

No conventional oven

LOVED LOTS, DEFINITELY WILL STAY AGAIN

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $120
Damage Insurance $59

Rates are subject to change until reservation is booked. All Credit Card transactions are subject to a 3% charge, which is what they charge us. Thank you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties