Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Location! Location! Location! Primo Views--Pool--Wifi--Linens-and MORE!!

Bedrooms 2
Space 960 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Located at the north end of Pleasure Island, Surfsound is adjacent to miles and miles of undeveloped shoreline and offers breathtaking views of the ocean from the deck off the living room, the living room window, kitchen window, and guest bedroom window. Every window has an ocean view! We are so close to the water you’ll feel like you’re on the deck of a ship. Imagine the sound of surf lulling you to sleep every night.

Newly refurnished master bedroom features queen size bed, 42"' flat-screen TV with expanded cable and remote control, private bath with oversized walk-in shower with hand-held shower head, walk-in closet and balcony with lounge chairs looking west toward the inrarcoastal waterway.

The fish theme guest bedroom has twin beds and large closet, a pirate wall, and 15' color TV with DVD player (no cable). Your children will feel like they're sleeping in an aquarium!

Living room has queen-size sleeper sofa and leather recliner, 42" electric remote-controlled fireplace that provides a beautiful visual experience as well as heat, new 47"smart TV with expanded cable and remote control and DVD player.

The guest bath off the hall features a tub/shower with hand-held shower head, stack washer/dryer, iron and board, and hair dryer. Central air, dishwasher, ceramic-top stove, microwave, side-by-side full-size refrigerator with filtered drinking water and ice, disposal, all kitchen utensils, dishes and small appliances including a 2 coffeemakers (12-cup and Keurig single-cup), 4-slice toaster, toaster oven, mixmaster, food processor and blender. Filtered water for drinking and cooking.

New carpeting in both bedrooms and new living room drapes in 2014. Ceramic tile in all other rooms.

No booking fees. Sheets, bath towels, blankets, and pillows are included at no extra cost. (A savings of more than $100.) Everything you need for your beach vacation is here including beach towels, umbrella and chairs, boogie boards, beach toys and a large selection of paperbacks, board games and puzzles, dining recommendations and guide books.

If there should be a mandatory evacuation order during your stay, you will receive a credit toward a future rental which is based on the nights you occupied the premises. (We know how hard people work and how special vacations are and we want to do the right thing.)

Just pack your toothbrush, swim suit and a smile! You will love it here . . . we do!

Please check the calendar for availability. It is always up to date.

Keywords: Location, Oceanfront, Condo, Beach Access, View, Fishing Pier, Private, wifi, linens, pool, north end, unique, full kitchen,

More Details

Janet N. Griffin
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 5, 2018

About Janet N. Griffin

Janet and LaVerne live in Portage, Wisconsin. He is a retired Air Force pilot (and still loves to fly); she was a project management consultant for a large midwest insurance company. They currently divide their time between Portage and Carolina Beach.

Janet N. Griffin purchased this condo in 1995

Why Janet N. Griffin chose Carolina Beach

As a realtor, Janet's late husband, Loid, knew the value of location. When buying a place to be near their oldest son and his family, he did not hesitate a second when he saw the views from Surfsound. The friendliness of the area and great restaurants and family-oriented activities were a bonus.

What makes this condo unique

We love watching the activity at the pier and on the beach. We often see dolphins. And people are so friendly here. We go off-season because it seems like we have the whole beach to ourselves! Everything is in place but the crowds and traffic.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have been going to Janet's condo twice a year for 7 years now. Truly our second home! Unsurpassed panoramic view of the ocean, unique decor and spotless. You can't beat this awesome place - we promise! Michaels, Fishy Fishy at Southport and Fish Bites a MUST!
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 1


Carolina Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 960 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Be considerate of others – turn TV/stereo down at 10:00 pm If you are running the air conditioning, keep the windows and outside patio doors CLOSED
  • If state or local authorities order a mandatory evacuation of an area that includes our condo, you must comply with the order. Your safety primary.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , private to master bedroom, oversized shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , off the hall, also stack washer/dryer
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2 lg dressers, walk-in closet, private bath, 42" tv, balcony
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , ocean theme and view, closet, dresser, dvd, new mattresses
    Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen sleeper - new 5" foam mattress
  • Queen size Beds (1) Newer pillowtop mattress--very comfortable, Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen size sleep sofa in living room
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Bedrooms are carpeted; remainder is ceramic tile. Decorated for maximum enjoyment


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(82 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Location! Location! Location! Primo Views--Pool--Wifi--Linens-and MORE!!
average rating of 4.8292685 based on 83 reviews

It was an Amazing view and perfect location.

  • 5 of 5

Ms Janet is awesome to work with and her place is soo clean and u have everything u need. The only thing I would suggest would be to get remotes for DVD and blu ray players. But our stay was Awesoome!! We will definitely be back!!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for those nice comments. We want every vacation to be WAYYYYYYY over the top! About the remotes - we used to have them. Will have to check on that. Strange how things "disappear." Feedback helps keep us on top of things :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonder condo unit close to the pier!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed staying in the unit, it has several flights of steps to access it but this leads to a beautiful view from either of the two balconies!

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, VA

Great location & everything you need!

  • 5 of 5

We had an awesome week at Surfsound! It really was the perfect size for our small family. Comfortable beds with plenty of pillows, a well-supplied kitchen, great entertainment center, and a perfect balcony. This was even closer to the beach than some "oceanfront" properties we've stayed at before - super easy to hop back and forth between the condo and the beach. They were very responsive when the AC presented an issue, and had someone out to fix it in no time. Very affordable, especially considering all the perks. Hope to return!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Disappointing for the cost

  • 2 of 5

I was told by the advertisement and owner that the condo was oceanfront , it was across the street from the ocean. Located next to a very busy bar & grill. There was still sand on the floor when we arrived and also were not told we would have to supply soap and dishwasher detergent . There was one container of soap for 3 sinks. I also had to inquire about my deposit after waiting for two weeks and then a fee was deducted from it for services?!?! I am not hard to please but for the cost I expected higher quality. We will not return.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you were disappointed. I have spoken with the cleaning people about the sand and supplies and have sent you a check to cover your out-of-pocket expenses. I apologize for your inconvenience. As I explained in my email, the VRBO and credit card fees are beyond our control, and I'm sure we all wish they were lower. I hope you have better experiences in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Better than the pictures!!

  • 5 of 5

The place was gorgeous was better than expected! The views are amazing and the beach is right across the street! Watched the sunrise right off the balcony and and easy walk to the pier!! This place is a must plenty of room and the beach was never crowded!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Outstanding Location!

  • 5 of 5

Owner was very responsive if we needed anything. Beach right across the street was perfect, and with limited local parking, was never overcrowded. Angled front deck provided great views, abundant shade from the afternoon sun and a perfect cross breeze. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a relaxing trip to the beach.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Wilmington International Airport (ILM)
Nearest Barpub
High Tide
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
The Cape
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
U.S. 421
Nearest Restaurant
0.9 Miles
Gibby's; Olde Salty's; Britts Donuts; & many more
Nearest Beach
Freemans Park--4-wheel vehicles allowed w/ permit
Car: recommended


May 11-October 4 Farmer’s market Saturdays

May 20-August Family night at the boardwalk Tuesdays

May 20-August Bingo at the boardwalk Wednesdays

June-August Family movies at the lake Sundays

June-August fireworks on the beach Thursdays

June-August Boardwalk music Thursdays

Mid-May thru Mid-Sep - Music Live at SeaWitch Café & Tiki Bar

October 14-15 – annual Seafood Blues and Jazz Festival

October 20-22 – annual Surf Fishing Challenge

Island of Lights lighting at the lake – November 24

Jazz at Bellamy Mansion June 6, July 4, Aug 1, Aug 29

Paddle boats at the lake; boardwalk activities; crabbing. At the condo: bocci ball set provided; weights for lifting provided; beach chairs provided. Jigsaw puzzles, cards, videos, DVDs and CDs available in case you encounter a rainy day


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Deposit $300

* NO PETS. Many people have allergies (like us). By not allowing pets, we offer them an environment as free from irritants as possible. If the cleaning people find any evidence that an animal has been in the condo, the cost of the extra cleaning and fumigation will be deducted from your security deposit. No exceptions.
* ABSOLUTELY NO SMOKING INSIDE THE CONDO. If there is evidence of smoking inside, the cost of the extra cleaning and fumigation will be deducted from your security deposit. Any damage to the carpet will result in all the carpet being replaced at the renter’s expense.
SECURITY DEPOSIT: Any damages, missing items, or failure to comply with rental policies and regulations will result in deductions from the security deposit. Once the cleaning crew has inspected the premises after check out and confirmed everything is in order, owner will return the deposit (always within 14 days).
Rates are subject to change until confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties