Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront Home with Beautiful Sunset Views

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 4)

The Ideal visitors to 'Casa Roca' are active people looking for adventure while also wanting some creature comforts. Casa Roca is a 5 to 10 minute walk along a stone and crushed shell walkway from the water taxi landing in Bastimentos town. CURRENTLY OUR ROCK WALL DOCK CANNOT BE USED FOR ARRIVALS AND DEPARTURES AS IT IS AWAITING REPAIR, WHICH INVOLVES GETTING PERMITS FROM AUTHORITIES. We believe our home in Bastimentos is located on the best part of the island due to its sunset views and perpetual cool breezes. The home is built at the water's edge and backs up to the jungle. The house is also elevated for maximum breezes off the ocean. The master bedroom is complete with full stone-tile bath and the second bedroom has a half bath with loft access. The second bathroom has easy access to the outdoor shower and a washer and dryer are located in storage area below the house. Our property manager will pick you up at the airport in Bocas Del Toro and take you to 'Casa Roca' about a 10 minute boat ride away. For your convenience, we can also have the kitchen pre-stocked with all of your food and drink needs for your trip as well as provide assistance making day trip arrangements through one of our local providers. Day Trip activities include sightseeing, surfing, snorkeling, fishing, dolphin watching, etc. If you are looking for 'The Ritz', Bastimentos is not for you. That being said, if you would like to explore the real culture of the the Caribbean and Panama... you will see a true slice of it here. The ocean front includes a dipping pool and manmade sandy area.

Keywords: Oceanfront, Bungalow, tropical, island

More Details

Property Manager
Jerry Anders
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

About Jerry Anders

'Casa Roca' is owned by two families from Florida who use the home as much as possible. Our hobbies and sporting interests include surfing, diving, fishing, and hiking.

Jerry Anders purchased this house in 2006

What makes this house unique

The town on Bastimentos is approximately a 5 minute walk from the house and has a few small food markets for basic living supplies and a few restaurants that many call better value than any restaurant you'd find on the surrounding islands. Wildlife is abundant on this island and there is always a possibility of seeing some of the local sloths, red tree frogs, and even a monkey on occassion.

Amenities

Bastimento House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
26% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront Home with Beautiful Sunset Views
average rating of 4.6842103 based on 38 reviews
5

A slice of paradise!!

  • 5 of 5

A friend and I spent 6 weeks at Casa ROCA this winter. Absolutely loved it!! The house was spacious and comfortable. Had everything we needed including the new BBQ Jerry purchased prior to our arrival. Off the beaten track yet, only a 5 minute walk to the boat taxi dock. Path did become a bit treacherous when wet. Our caretaker, Antonio, lived next door. He was always available with a smile to assist us when needed. And the view....GORGEOUS!!! Hope, very much, to go back next year!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Betty, Thanks again for staying with us. We're working on getting the neighbors togerher to improve the walkway for those rainy days. Should be done soon. Jerry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful view, comfy beds, Good communication

  • 4 of 5

You will love waking to the ocean glowing in the morning with the sunrise and at sunset.Very professional contracts who will meet you and even provide a cell phone to contact them. The local people are overly willing to help for a tip or fee.

We were thrilled with the home itself and enjoyed being there but having people waiting to to "help" you book tours was not comfortable. With that said, if they tell you the Jungle Trail is "muddy and slippery" believe them! Take a boat taxi to Red Frog Beach you will not be disappointed.

Great & spendy food was enjoyed at the Firefly served in small bites with a reservation. The trail along the beach is a challenge in the dark or when wet. Overall a beautiful home in a developing country.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Perfect location on the island!

  • 4 of 5

This was a great place for a quiet girl's trip, a couple, or small family. We were three women who wanted a Caribbean vacation AWAY from the resorts and cruise areas. The home was clean, and in a perfect location for the ocean breeze. Travelers should know you must walk along a trail to reach the property, but the view, quiet location, and breeze is worth the walk. The caretakers were very kind, accommodating and helpful...one was even waiting for us with a light when we were not back before dark. The kitchen had basic supplies for cooking, although we had a little trouble with the propane tank. Santiago was quick to get us another one and help us connect it. One air conditioner worked well, but was very noisy. The other didn't work. The property manager quickly sent a repairman, but it was unrepairable. Sleeping was a bit warm in that bedroom! My only suggestion is to provide some sheets with a higher cotton content (I'm being very picky here). If you've looked into this area, you know that this island is still off the beaten path which has advantages, and some disadvantages. The people are extremely kind, but there was a mugging the previous month so be cautious walking at night. We (three women) felt very safe during the day. A local, named Rene', was a good guide if you want to take a day trip or go out at night. There was also quite a bit of trash everywhere, but the area around the home is relatively clean. On a calm day you can snorkel down the path, and the Firefly restaurant was a wonderful place to get a meal. The water taxis are easy to use and can take you anywhere in the area for a low cost. This was a great place for our adventure! Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lisbeth, Glad you enjoyed your stay, sorry for the few problems that you had, The AC is now fixed but I can understand your frustration that it went out while you were there. High quality sheets are hard to find in the area, we will send our agents there on a trip to David to see if there are better choices there. I was really a bit shocked to hear that some was mugged, we have been using our house for 10 years now and never had the slightest problem. My guess is that it was some bad seed passing through the area because the local community is very tight and would not put up with that! Thanks again for staying. Jerry Anders Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Salida, Colorado
4

Fantastic and VERY relaxing!

  • 4 of 5

My Husband & I stayed at Casa Roca for 1 week in April. Our flight was delayed a few hours due to the airport closing, but Chris was there to meet us. Santiago was very helpful with bringing our luggage & some groceries to the house. The house is stocked with kitchen utensils etc. I would recommend leaving coffee filters in the micro, since they wouldn't deteriorate. We had to buy cleaning supplies ( dish soap) & new sponges since there wasn't anything there to clean the dishes. These too could be left under the sink for next visitors. There is a book on the coffee table with great information to help guide your visit. It would be nice if there was a guest book there too, since guests would add their own thoughts & ideas on their visit too.

We absolutely loved being right on the ocean! The breezes, sunsets & sounds were amazing. I loved reading my book with my tea each morning in the hammock! We didn't want to leave. Loved how the doors & the kitchen windows opened up to the amazing views & let the air flow through. The AC in the master bedroom was such a relief! We were close enough to town for our daily excursions to amazing places and for bringing drinking water to the house each day. Jerry was very helpful preparing us for our visit. The people of Old Bank & Bocas were so friendly! We will come back!

  • Submitted: May 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mike, Thanks for the review, I am working with Chris our property manager to make sure your recommendations are implemented. Thanks again for staying. Jerry Anders
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

perfect location in bastimentos

  • 4 of 5

my friend and i stayed at casa roca for 5 nights and it was the perfect location on isla bastimentos : secluded yet close enough to the little town to got out dining or catch a water taxi at the dock for other islands or beaches.

the house is big enough for 4-5 persons and we really enjoyed the view from the balcony, facing the sea (i especially enjoyed the hamoc for my morning tea ;)

the caretakers of the property are living right next door so the place felt really safe.

the only downside were the pillows which were either nonexistant or too big, but for most people, that doesn't really matter i guess.

otherwise i would recommend this place for a real vacations feel.

our fav restaurant was coco hill (25 minutes walk max from the house), a must! one of the best meal we had in all bocas del toro.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Genevieve, Thank you so much for the review, about the pillows, I"M ON IT !!! I'll be there next week and bring some good quality pillows with me. Thanks again for staying with us. Jerry
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Gorgeous place!

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing stay at Casa Roca..All of the staff were extremely accomidating. Our flight into Bocas was delayed by 3 hours but we where still met promptly at the airport and escorted to Bastimentos where Antonio assisted us with our suitcases on a wheelbarrow to the house. The house is about a 10 minute walk down a rocky sandy path along the ocean, so bring good shoes and headlamps if planning on exploring after dark. The house itself is beautiful and looks exactly as decribed and pictured. There are two comfortable size rooms which are both airconditioned which was a blessing! The kitchen is fully stocked with all the cooking equipment needed.. Jerry was kind enough to have our fridge stocked with food that we selected before we got there which was very helpful! The view from the balcony is outstanding and you could spend all day on it but make sure you go out and explore because there are so many things to do on the island! Over all i would definitely recommend staying at Casa Roca and next time I go to Bocas i would love to stay there again :-)

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Bocas Del Toro Airport
Car: not necessary

This is a fully furnished home. We recommend that our guests be in reasonably good health because of the walk to town and due to the fact that all transportation in the area is by boat and water taxi. When the surf is flat, a boat can be used to pick up and drop off guests right in front of the property.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bastimento House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$125
$800
$2,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Service $65

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties