Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

ENJOY OCEAN VIEWS IN PERFECT GETAWAY ACROSS STREET FROM BEACH ACCESS!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Get away from the hustle and bustle and enjoy our comfortable 'House by the Sea' located directly across the street from a beach access. Relax on the screened front porch and catch up on some reading or napping, while enjoying the ocean views and breezes. Visit the restaurants and shops in downtown Folly or simply spend your day saltwater fishing at the 25 foot wide Folly Pier, which is over 1000 feet long! You may never want to leave but Historic Charleston is only 15 minutes away for sightseeing and shopping! Tanger Outlet stores are 30 minutes away for something to do on a rainy day!

The large master bedroom has a king-sized bed with a private bath. The second bedroom has a queen bed, sharing a bath with the third bedroom which has a double/twin loft bunk bed. Linens (sheets and towels) are provided to make your packing light!

Beach chairs and beach towels are provided to take across the street and enjoy a day of fun in the sun! At the end of the day, rinse off the sand and sunscreen in a private heated shower located under the house before grilling dinner on the gas grill located on the oversized deck. You are sure to enjoy every day at the 'Edge of America'!

Keywords: Second row, beach access, ocean views, beach house

More Details

Owner
Rhonda Sheppard
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

About Rhonda Sheppard

I grew up in Charleston, SC, visiting Folly Beach all the time. Before Hurricane Hugo, I remember enjoying the Folly Pier amusement area and watching 'shagging on the beach'. The Atlantic House was a favorite place to eat and enjoy dinner over the ocean. I have always been partial to the ocean and knew that one day I would have a house to enjoy the ocean sounds and breezes.

Rhonda Sheppard purchased this house in 2002

Why Rhonda Sheppard chose Folly Beach

When my boys became interested in surfing, of course they wanted to go to the 'Folly Washout' area where all the surfers go. I would take them and it brought back the childhood memories of staying at Folly Beach. I began to look at the real estate and found a little gem with the Atlantic Ocean on one side and the Folly River on the other. And oh, the ocean breezes...

What makes this house unique

My college roommates and I spend a week every summer at the house, enjoying the charm of undeveloped Folly Beach, the sightseeing of historic Charleston, and of course the shopping! If we aren't on the beach, we spend all of our time on the front porch where we can see the ocean and enjoy the constant breezes, solving the world's problems and reminiscing of the days gone by!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We rarely know how much time we miss with our families. It takes a magical and special place like Folly Beach to show us the time we lose. The House By The Sea is very inviting and welcoming. The breathtaking view from the front balcony is just one of the many aspects of the house I enjoyed. It saddens me to leave and I will never forget my stay. From my family and others, we thank you for a remarkable stay.
May 2011
  • 1 of 3

Amenities

Folly Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Screened Front Porch, Heated Outdoor Shower

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(54 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
ENJOY OCEAN VIEWS IN PERFECT GETAWAY ACROSS STREET FROM BEACH ACCESS!
average rating of 4.962963 based on 57 reviews
5

One of the best on Folly!

  • 5 of 5

Great house for our family of 4! Great location right across from a beach access, away from the crowds of downtown Folly, but a very short bike ride to that area for awesome lunches and dinners out. The house had everything we needed to enjoy a week at the beach, including beach towels, small corn hole game, beach chairs and umbrellas, boogie boards, sand toys, spices for cooking, condiments. The screened in porch was awesome; unfortunately it was too hot and buggy to enjoy the deck in mid-August, but I am sure its wonderful in Fall, Winter, and Spring. The owner was great to work with. We will most certainly be back and I have already given the info of this house to several friends! Hint: Ride bikes to the end of the county park and then onto the beach all the way to the marsh where you can't go any further. Go at low tide. We saw dolphins, tons of hermit crabs, and there was great shell collecting in the tidal pools! Eat at Witch Doctor, Chico Feo, and Taco Boy--all amazing!!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review! I am installing an all natural mosquito misting system soon to eliminate the "buggy" issue. You were there during one of the hottest weeks and sometimes it does become unbearable and only A/C will do! Thanks for being wonderful guests and I would love to have you return in the future! Your referrals are my biggest compliment! Blessings always!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Looking forward to our next stay already

  • 5 of 5

We have had extended stays here since 2012. It just gets better every year. Southern Living beach chic but still cozy enough to be comfortable. The owner has provided everything from beach towels to muffin tins. A short stroll across the street to the beach or a relaxing sit on the deck or screened porch completes the experience.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It doesn't get any better!

  • 5 of 5

This house is cozy, comfortable and complete! The deck and porch gave us a relaxing and enjoyable area for coffee conversations, soaking up the sun's rays and listening to the ocean's tranquility, and basking in the evening sky and a full moon. Kitchen is equipped with all one needs for cooking or entertaining. Bedrooms and baths provided much needed space for rest and rejuvenation. I hope to be in touch soon to book again for my next Charleston visit.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lake Lanier, Georgia
5

Cutest, most comfortable house on Folly!

  • 5 of 5

Rhonda has done an amazing job of making this house feel like a home for your vacation. Best provisioned home I've rented and I've rented lots! Quick walk across to the beach access and the ability to see the waves make it feel like beach front (without the BF price!)

Great deck and also wonderful screen porch. I could not revcommend this enough. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great little house!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four enjoyed this cute house! The rooms were well appointed, the kitchen well stocked with everything we needed and a great front porch. The beach was just across the road and easy to get to. The neighborhood was great and just a short drive into the town of Folly beach. We would stay again!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rock Hill, SC, USA
5

Great Beach House!!!

  • 5 of 5

The house is well maintained and equipped with everything needed to enjoy your vacation, with easy access to the beach. Also, the AC is able to keep up with hot summer days.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
House By the Sea

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning/Linen Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $250

NOTE: I DO NOT ACCEPT PAYMENT THROUGH VRBO (CHECK AND PAYPAL ONLY), THEREFORE THE QUOTED SERVICE FEE WILL BE DEDUCTED FROM YOUR TOTAL COSTS! During peak season, owner will consider shorter term rental of $300/night if house is not rented within 2 weeks of check-in date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.