Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mill Valley Guest Suite - $130 Night, $925 Week

Sleeps3
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 410 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed, 1 Bath Sleeps 2-3)

Quiet detached guest suite on fenced 1/2 acre lot, 15 min. north of San Francisco in the beautiful town of Mill Valley. No pets

Hiking trails 1 block away with direct access to all GGRNA and Marin headlands, 5 min. drive to downtown Mill Valley and Sausalito, 10 min. to Mount Tamalpais, Muir Woods and Muir Beach, 20 min. to Stinson Beach, walking distance to public transportation and restaurants. CA King bed with aerobed available to sleep one more. No door separating the bedroom area from the rest of the unit, there is a room divider / screen that separates . Shower, cable/VHS/DVD/wireless internet. Sunny deck with private garden, small kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker/grinder, toaster oven and panini maker/grill no range/ oven.

No smoking. $130 per weeknight,$150 friday + saturday nights $925 weekly $70 cleaning fee $500 refundable security / damage deposit. 3 night minimum. maximum 3 persons- extra person $50 extra per night. Payment by PayPal or check in advance. PLEASE check calender then reply WITH PHONE NUMBER IF INTERESTED IN BOOKING.

Keywords: detached fully contained guest suite

More Details

Owner
Mark
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, some Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 19, 2017

Why Mark chose San Francisco Bay Area

Iconic Marin county is the best place to live in the US. there is no other location that has the proximity to the best metropolis in the us yet adjacent to national park land. Very high air quality, safety and standard of living with the best year round climate.

What makes this studio unique

Peace and tranquility of Marin with Mill Valley's proximity to open space with abundant wildlife yet minutes from all that San Francisco can offer as well as the famous wine country of Napa/Sonoma

Amenities

Mill Valley Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 410 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • large bathroom with steam shower, no tub
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • studio - 1 king , inflatable aero bed available
  • Cal King size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) for 3rd guest
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
steam shower

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Mill Valley Guest Suite - $130 Night, $925 Week
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 21 reviews
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a place to stay in Mill valley that was comfortable and clean . We found a great place that we Stayed in for 10 days, the hosts were great and made both my wife and I feel very comfortable. The kitchen was great for a light breakfast each morning, big TV with Cable as well as a king size bed made the visit very enjoyable, the washer and dryer works perfect so we came home with all clean clothes, the location was great as we traveled into San Francisco as well as up north on daily trips, highly recommend this home with a great view

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Less than desirable experience

  • 3 of 5

The rental was pretty much as described but our experience was less than desirable. My husband and I stayed 5 nights. On the first morning, we ran out of hot water during the second shower. This could have been due to a learning curve with the shower because we didn't have a problem after the first day. The towels were like sandpaper; Mark explained that his wife is environmentally friendly and doesn’t use dryer sheets, but these towels were way past their prime and should be replaced with newer towels.

That same morning, Mark texted me while we were out letting me know that we left the porch light on “all night”. We shouldn’t have forgotten to turn the light off when we left, but when I use outside lights, they are usually intended for security and are left on all night. However, it was listed in the “house rules” to not leave them on overnight, so “my bad”. But when we arrived back to the rental, we noticed a solar light set on the chair; I assumed it was so we weren’t inclined to turn the porch light on (I don’t think the solar light worked), but 2 nights later, we wanted to turn on the porch light since we had company but found that the light bulb in the porch light had been unscrewed. Well, he made his point, and I promise to never, ever do that again.

When we arrived back to our rental on our last night there, the parking spot we were instructed to use was taken by a permanent tenant of their other unit, so we had to park down the hill. I understood that the tenant has a designated spot and we were instructed to not use that spot; but I noticed the other tenant’s spot was empty. Ok… no big deal. But to top it off, when we walked up after parking, Mark and his wife (I assume) were in the garage. We barely received an acknowledgement from the woman and nothing from Mark… not even an introduction to his wife.

All of these things may seem small, but they all contributed to the less than desirable feeling while we were there.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guests did not arrive until after midnight & therefore neither my husband or I were able to check them in as usual. Guests were given instructions on how to get on the property & into the unit and told to read the house rules. It is explained in the house rules that our hot water tank is 20 gallons. This has been enough for every other guest. Most people are environmentally conscious these days and know enough not to take 20 minute showers. Most people also know not to leave lights on all night but in the past some have left them on so it is clearly stated in the house rules to make sure to turn all outdoor lights off at night as they shine into our home & our neighbors. All motion lights and solar lights on our property are fully functional. We live in the safest urban area in the nation and there is never a 'security' problem as our property is fully fenced and gated and the only gate is locked at all times. When we have sunny days towels are hung outside to dry, however the housecleaners were asked to put towels in dryer while semi damp to prevent them from being like "sandpaper". Apparently the cleaners did not put the towels in the dryer & if we are not told about a problem there is nothing we can do about it. There are several sets of spare towels in the bathroom cabinet which guests are told about & a sign on the cabinet clearly says there are extra towels inside. When the guest called to complain I reminded her again of the dozen spare towels in the bath closet al of which were soft. Even if the two or three parking spots directly in front of our house are taken by other neighbors, the walk to our gate is not more than a few feet, this would only be a problem for someone who is very out of shape. My husband & I were in the garage one day trying to fix a problem with my car & I do recall seeing two people walk past & as I looked up saw a man who I did say hello to but he kept walking. It would have been obvious to anyone who was walking by that we were in the middle of something & not a convenient time to stop & chat, however I did say hello to someone who just kept walking. As this person states her points are 'small' - this is an understatement. Of the hundreds of guests that have stayed in our suite over the years no one has mentioned such nit picky items. Everyone but these guests loves the setting, ideal location and spectacular views of our property.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Very nice location

  • 4 of 5

We were very happy with our time here! But, we left early and moved to a different rental due to some issues. The owners were very accommodating when we asked for a partial refund.

The pros were: convenient location, very pretty setting, nice sized space, great price, lovely views, helpful owners, very large bathroom, very private space.

The cons were: chairs and sofa were uncomfortable, the unit is located below the garage, meaning it's noisy any time a car pulls in or out, there was very noisy weekday construction, and the steam shower was broken (which was the main point that made us select this location over others). To be fair, the construction was obviously not the fault of the owners! But we wanted to sleep in every day on our trip and were unable to do so. We were very much looking forward to the steam shower, and hope it will be fixed for future guests.

We think this spot is definitely worth considering if you are coming to the area!

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Upon check in it was disclosed that there might be some noise in the mornings on weekdays due to a one week county road project. Guests replied "we will be up early in the mornings riding our bikes & it will not be a problem". For two nights it was not an issue but on the third morning an angry email was sent demanding a refund for the last night. Even though our policy is no refunds after check in, we did refund the last night. We were unaware the steam shower was broken & guests did not mention it to us. Since this time we have tried unsuccessfully to have it repaired so it has been taken out of the unit's description. We are sorry the guests found the furniture uncomfortable, no other guest has ever complained. In fact we have received comments about how comfortable the overall unit & bed in particular is. ALL other guests including the hundreds who didn't post reviews love our guest suite. Bottom line is you cannot please everyone & there will always be someone who will look to find fault.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Charles, IL
5

Relax...and enjoy!

  • 5 of 5

My sister-in-law and I were coming to San Francisco to see our daughters and this was a perfect spot for us to stay. The accommodations were great - very clean and comfortable, the view, spectacular! Our host, Mark was great. Super flexible and attentive. My niece is hoping to come back with her husband! This is great spot to stay - highly recommend it!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

Our twelve night stay at this Mill Valley guest house was everything we had hoped for. A clean, well appointed suite provided everything we needed; comfortable king size bed, a small but adequate kitchen, a fabulous bathroom/shower. There was easy access to downtown Mill Valley as well as to San Francisco. We highly recommend it for any length visit.

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent place and hospitality

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a place near to San Francisco and we found this great place. Mar's is great persona and his hospitality is incredible.

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
sfo
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
buckeye roadhuse
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
sausalito or larkspur
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
mill valley cc
Nearest Train
10 Miles
amtrack richmond
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
hwy 1 / us 101
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
frantoio
Nearest Ski
120 Miles
12+ world class tahoe resorts
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
muir beach
Car: recommended

minutes away from Muir Woods, Golden Gate National Wildlife Refuge, Golden gate bridge, Mount Tamalpais and Napa - Sonoma wine country + everything that the vibrant city of San Francisco has to offer

Photos

Rates & Availability

Mill Valley Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$130
From
$150
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $70

check or paypal in advance no credit cards accepted

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties