Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Comfortable bay front with boat slip & lighted fishing pier. Relax and enjoy!

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Three bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bath, sleeps 8. Windows look over bay.

Fish off your own pier or just sit and enjoy the stunning view of the Laguna Madre bay and beautiful sunsets as the sun seems to sink into the water! The living quarters are upstairs. Large family room with wall of windows overlooks the water. Dish TV with DVD and VCR players, wireless internet and fully equipped kitchen. Downstairs are garage with half bath (easy access from the pier), carport, washer & dryer. The pier has partial shade during the day, an overhead light and a large light that shines into the water for night fishing, and lighted fish cleaning table with water faucet. Large driveway accommodates four or more cars and/or boat trailer(s). Public boat ramp nearby. This beach house has a comfortable, relaxing atmosphere and is a great getaway. The bay vista is mesmerizing!

No pets are allowed in the house. We cannot be responsible for items left in the house.

Nearby amenities: Walk or drive 1/2 mile to the other side of the island to enjoy the surf. Chairs for the beach are in the garage. Other amenities within close proximity are the SPI Birding and Nature Center; Sea Turtle, Inc.; the cinema; SPI Convention Center and several great restaurants. Take your boat or paddle your kayak to Ted's or Parrot Eyes restaurants, just around the corner in the neighborhood.

A bus, now called the Island Metro but formerly called The Wave, provides free shuttle transportation up and down the island. For more info about stopes and times see

This property is registered with the City of South Padre Island Permit No. 2015-878335

More Details


South Padre Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • The half bath is in the garage and accessible to the fishing pier and boat slip. There is a toilet and sink.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size sofa sleeper
  • Clean linens and towels are furnished in the house. If you need more during your occupancy, you will need to use the washer and dryer. Likewise, if you run out of supplies initially furnished, for example bath soap, toilet paper, paper towels, etc., you will need to buy more. No one is available to replenish linens or supplies.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 3 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
The living area and bedrooms are upstairs. The washer and dryer and half bath are in the garage downstairs. You might want to bring your own beach towels, but there are lots of towels in the house including beach towels. This house sleeps a maximum of 8 people, adults and/or children. If more than 8 people are staying in the house, and you have not reported that and arranged to pay extra for the additional people, the deposit will be kept by owner and not returned. No pets are allowed.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Comfortable bay front with boat slip & lighted fishing pier. Relax and enjoy!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews
Minden, Nevada

Shangri-La on the Laguna Madre

  • 5 of 5

I have been staying here each spring for the past two decades, and consider it a second home. Nothing fancy but clean and very comfortable, with an outstanding view and direct access off the dock to great fishing and water sports. All this, and the owners are some of the kindest and most accommodating folks I've met. You can't go wrong!

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great property on the Laguna Madre

  • 5 of 5

Susan the owner was very attentive to our arrival and provided nice instructions with directions, key access and she checked in on our family with both email and text to insure that we understood the house. The house is simple and clean, an old school Texas bay house and everything was functioning well. Updated heating and cooling with smart thermostats. We used the laundry in the garage. The green light for fishing on the pier works great and my kids had a grand time fishing at night. The house has a beautiful view of the bay and as we were December guests, we played games and relaxed in front of the big windows and enjoyed the view on the chilly days. The water is fairly deep right off the pier (boat channel) which helped fishing and the boat traffic is light as the home is closer to the edge of town (nearer to wildlife area). My kids walked to some of the shopping we found the neighborhood to be quiet and calm. Kayaking was great from the pier. We had a nice time relaxing and look forward to trying the property again in the summer.

Thanks Susan!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A wonderful house on the Laguna Madre

  • 5 of 5

Year after year we keep returning to this wonderful house. Thank you for sharing!

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great time every time

  • 5 of 5

fabulous place

fabulous owners

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

No AC & no response from owner

  • 2 of 5

A group of friends and I recently stayed here and we wanted to like the house, but after a late afternoon arrival we sat down our bags and adjusted the AC before heading to the beach. When we got back later that night (well after the sun was down), we walked in to discover that the AC only blew cold air in the front part of the house. The "back" of the house, where all the bedrooms are located, never cooled below 80 degrees and the internal temperature quickly rose to the mid-80s with eight of us in the house and moving around.

We were very disappointed in the status of the AC and attempted to contact the owner via message on the HomeAway app, which was our previously established method of communication, and never heard back. Weekend temps on the island reached over 100 degrees, so it's a shame we paid a hefty cost for no AC.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were very sorry to learn of your bad experience. We were out of the country when you tried to contact us but did contact the company who services the air conditioners. When we did not hear anything further we thought the problem had been addressed. However, we have laminated information and instruction pages in the house with the numbers of service providers in case of electrical, plumbing or air conditioning problems. These providers usually respond immediately to any requests for service by us or our renters. Unfortunately, both air conditioning units decided to go out this summer, not too long after your stay, and we ended up replacing them with new units and handlers. There should be no more air conditioning problems.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fifth year. Enjoyed it again.

  • 5 of 5


  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 23, 2018


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Valley International Airport
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
On the bay and 4 blocks from the beach & surf
Car: recommended

Other Activities: Wildlife photography: World Birding Center within one mile and Laguna Atascosa National Wildlife Refuge within 20 miles


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 17.0%

No pets.

This is a private home managed by the owner. Driving directions and information about the house and entry into the house will be emailed to Renter upon receipt of full rental amount prior to arrival date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties