Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Pristine Lake Front Property with Many Outdoor Opportunities

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Our Family Cottage has been tastefully updated as a four season weekend and vacation rental destination. The cottage is in a family oriented, private community with a noise ordinance in effect from 9PM to 7AM. We cater to families who want to enjoy the outdoors and lake. This is not a "party house". The Lake is known locally as Summit Lake, is approximately 45 acres in size, has less than 25 cottages on it. Approximately 45% of the shoreline is and will stay undeveloped via an easement held by the Delaware River Conservancy.

Upon arrival you will find off street parking for up to three cars. Motion detection security lighting illuminates the parking area, steps and deck. The deck wraps around the front of the cottage to provide a covered porch with comfortable seating and a great view of the Lake. Once inside, we provide a Visitors Guide that includes menus from most of the local restaurants and brochures for local activities.

The kitchen is fully equipped and includes a family size electric griddle and waffle iron for breakfast. Depending on the season, dining can be at the kitchen table or outside on the deck. The lower level includes a covered patio with table and a hammock nearby. In the unfinished basement we store 2 mountain bikes, men's and women's golf clubs and 2 sets of aluminum frame snowshoes for guest use. Adult and children's life vests are also available for using the canoe and row boat.

Summertime sunsets are special and can be followed by a lakeside campfire and marshmallow toasting at the outdoor fire pit. Whether its the fire pit in the Summertime or wood stove in the Winter, we provide a supply of firewood.

Keywords: fishing, skiing, canoeing, kayaking, paddle boating, swimming, mountain biking, golfing

More Details

Owner
Jim
Member since: 2010
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2017

About Jim

My wife Carrie and I bought our family cottage and updated it as a 4 season weekend and vacation destination. We live approximately 20 minutes from the Cottage and are active in its operation and maintenance. For guests with specific interests, we are long time residents and can provide advice on the many activities available in Northeast Pennsylvania. During 2013, we purchased and now operate The Lakewood Lodge and Restaurant, which is 3 miles from the cottage. We offer full breakfasts to our cottage guests, as well as lunch and dinners, either eat in or take outs. We also offer takeout beer in many flavors.

Jim purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Jim chose Lakewood

When we toured the Cottage for the first time, it was love at first site. It's in a great location that's accessible from all directions. Scranton and Binghamton are an hour away. NYC and Philadelphia are under three hours away and accessible via the major interstates (80/380, 81 and 84)and Pennsylvania Turnpike. As built, the cottage was primarily used in the summer. We updated and modernized the kitchen and bathroom, added new docks (shore based and floating), then began adding toys for our customers to enjoy the great outdoors of our northern Poconos region. These include 2 mountain bikes, 2 sets of golf clubs, 2 sets of snow shoes, 3 kayaks, a canoe, a rowboat and paddle boat.

What makes this cottage unique

As a family of four, we enjoy swimming, hiking, moutain biking, fishing and campfires in the Summer, the beautiful sunsets and Fall foliage. Once the Lake is frozen solid, hiking around it on snowshoes or cross country skis are favorite activities. The Cottage is a 20 minutes drive to the Elk Mountain Ski Resort, which is has a 1,000 ft. vertical drop and offers 27 trails at all skill levels...'like skiing Vermont without the drive'. We are a short hike from the local Rails-to-Trails system, which doubles as part of the 200+ mile NEP Snow Trails trail system for snowmobiling, so there's something for everyone, year round. Lakefront adirondack chairs, fire pit with firewood provided, a ground level, covered patio, covered porch with furniture, and a shaded hammock provide different relaxation environments.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank You for a wonderful stay and we hope to revisit in the Fall.
May 2012
  • 1 of 11

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Scranton / Wilkes-Barre / Avoca
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Lakewood Lodge and Restaurant
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Lake Loraine Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Lakewood Lodge and Restaurant
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Elk Mountain Ski Resort

We are a 15 to 20 minutes drive from the Elk Mountain Ski Resort and the Northeast PA Rails-to-Trails System for hiking and mountain biking. Trophy Trout Fishing on the acclaimed West Branch of Delaware River, Seasonal Eagle Watching and Snow Shoeing.

Amenities

Lakewood Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , First Floor
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , First Floor
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double , First Floor
    Loft - 2 twin/ single
  • Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
2 mountain bikes, men's and women's golf clubs, snowshoes, outdoor fire pit, firewood for camfires and woodstove provided, outdoor dining, hammock and outdoor security lighting.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
7% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Pristine Lake Front Property with Many Outdoor Opportunities
average rating of 4.8 based on 51 reviews
5

Great cabin.

  • 5 of 5

We went to Lakewood from NYC and stayed Friday to Monday. We are two adults and two kids, 14 and 12. The lakeside location is perfect and there is everything on hand for your stay. We fished, went out on the boats, had a BBQ, sat around the fire pit at night. We loved the cabin.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to relax!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend at the cottage. It was warm, cozy and had everything we needed to make our weekend memorable. Already planning our next visit!

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Chester, PA
5

Charming cottage on a beautiful lake!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year staying at the cottage and it was as wonderful as we remembered. The lake is beautiful and the cottage has everything you need. We had fun with the kayaks and boats. The dogs loved swimming in the lake to retrieve tennis balls. The wood burning stove in the cottage added a cozy touch in the evenings. Love this place and can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Ultimate Relaxation

  • 5 of 5

My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. The kids and I had an amazing time swimming and daydreaming on the hammock. My husband stayed in the yard and relaxed with our newborn. We played a game every night and enjoyed meals together on the deck. I cant wait to come back next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not worth the money

  • 2 of 5

Cabin was filthy, Cobb webs everywhere, dirty couch and curtains, musty smell throughout. Owner makes "occupancy checks" and harassed other guests about how many people in house. Not worth the money😝�

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's unfortunate that you chose to invite more guests to our cottage than you made your reservation for. Since we are trying to maintain a pristine setting in a quiet, private community, violating our house rule on unplanned/unauthorized guests and more vehicles than your reservation permitted is something we or our neighbors cannot tolerate, and why you were charged an additional guest fee. Our housekeeping service thoroughly cleans the cottage after each stay, and our impression of this review is that it adds no value to the guest review process. Breaking house rules then retaliating with a poor review for the consequences makes that obvious to us and hopefully others.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Peaceful

  • 5 of 5

Great spot on the lake. Used the canoe and enjoyed the peacefulness.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties