Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Large Cabin/Fantastic View/10 Min. to Hood River/Hot Tub/Pet friendly

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps max of 14 adults.)

Riordan Hill Retreat is a beautiful 2700 s.f. 4 bedroom, 3 bathroom cabin, with a fantastic view of the Columbia River. It is a one of a kind property. The cabin was built with fir, maple & oak lumber milled right on the tree farm. The cabin has a huge wrap around deck on three sides. Spectacular sunrises & sunsets are the norm at this very private cabin.

Riordan Hills Retreat is a 10 minute drive from the city of Hood River, on the west side of the valley and is immediately adjacent to a recreation paradise of over ½ million acres of public land. World-class windsurfing, kite sailing, kayaking, mountain biking, sailing, downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, hiking, fishing and hunting are all available within an hours drive. An extensive mountain biking and hiking trail system can be found right out the back door.

Keywords: Riordan Hill Retreat,Vacation Cabin,fantastic Columbia River View, 10 minutes from downtown Hood River, unbelievable sunrises & sunsets, wine tour destination site, borders on Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area, family retreat site, church retreat site, access to hiking & mountain biking trails right out the back door ,snowmobiling & cross country skiing from Nov until April, world class hunting/fishing destination site, Hood River is listed as the #11 National Geographic Adventure destination in the World

More Details

Owner
Paul Mansur, Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
88%
Calendar last updated:
May 11, 2017

About Paul Mansur, Owner

I am a graduate forester who bought this 25 acre treefarm back in 1982. The tree farm is managed under the American Tree Farm System with the goal of providing sustainable, multiple use crops of wood, water, wildlife and recreation. I love this Columbia Gorge/Hood River area and want to share this beautiful piece of God's creation with those who share a similar love of the natural world. It is my hope that everyone who stays at Riordan Hill Retreat will have the best vacation of their lives.

Paul Mansur, Owner purchased this cabin in 1982

Why Paul Mansur, Owner chose Mt. Hood, The Gorge

I bought this property because it borders on 1/2 million acres of public land & yet is only 10 minutes from downtown Hood River. Building a cabin in the woods had been a dream of mine ever since I was a small boy. I love the beauty, the peace & the solitude that this property provides. It is my desire to share this special place with others.

What makes this cabin unique

Nature, scenic beauty, wildlife encounters, solitude, peace, restoration of the spirit, adventure, the visit of friends are just a few of the feelings & emotions that come to mind when I think about time spent in this cabin by myself or with my family & friends.

Amenities

Hood River Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Double sinks.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Game room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , There is a Hide a Bed Couch in the game room.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 child bed
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2), Child foldout bed (1) Queen hide-a-bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Large Cabin/Fantastic View/10 Min. to Hood River/Hot Tub/Pet friendly
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
Tacoma, WA
5

Spectacular place and setting for you and your canine companions!!

  • 5 of 5

What a spectacular place, with a spectacular view, and in a spectacular setting to enjoy what the Columbia River, the Gorge and Mt. Hood areas have to offer - all with your canine companions!!! We travel as much as possible with our dogs because they are part of the “family”, and as good “canine citizens” they appreciate when someone, like Paul, opens up their accommodations to well behaved and well mannered pets. For people Riordan Hill Retreat is fabulous, very close to Hood River (as stated) as well as many of the areas’ activities that folks enjoy. However, moreover the cabin itself ,including the great wrap-around deck, is ideal for dogs as is the property as a whole, which boarders miles and miles of trails in the adjacent recreational area.

We HIGHLY and enthusiastically recommend Riordan Hill Retreat for you and your canine companions!! We also encourage those smaller groups like us (we stayed in the cabin as just a couple) to check it out because Paul was more than willing to work with us and was incredibly accommodating.

Happy “tails”!!! (pun intended)

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As a responsibe dog owner who does a lot of traveling with my dog I have always been dismayed at how many folks will not allow pets on their properties. When I built Riordan Hill Retreat I was determined to make it pet friendly. I am always happy to hear my guests report how well they & their pets enjoyed their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Portland, OR
1

Feces on the toilet seat and splattered around the bowl at check-in, dog owners beware

  • 1 of 5

The view is great, and the space is adequate for large groups. We were a group of 8 adults, 1 infant, and 5 dogs.

WiFi didn't work, a large burner on the 1970's stove was broken, TV should be updated

The owner's response to our valid complaint about the cleanliness of the cabin upon arrival was disappointing. When my mom used the main floor bathroom after she arrived, she discovered feces smeared on the toilet seat and splattered all over the toilet bowl. There was also hair all over the counter, which clearly meant this bathroom wasn't cleaned at all. My mom was a housekeeper for 25 years and was dismayed that the cleaning staff missed what should be an essential part of the cabin to clean between guests. She cleaned the toilet immediately, there was a toilet brush right there to use, but it is disappointing to discover the bathrooms aren't clean when you check in! The upstairs bathroom had evidence that it wasn't cleaned between guests, toothpaste on the mirror, hair in the shower drain, etc. When we gave Paul, the owner, constructive criticism about the cleanliness of the bathrooms, he responded defensively and didn't even have the level of professionalism to apologize for the state of the bathroom, his response was "Your dogs created quite a mess. For someone who seemed to be so interested in cleanliness we were surprised how dirty you left it. There were dog messes in a couple places and hair all over the place. (We have photo’s.) Because of the extra cleaning inside & out I am going to have to charge you $75, as spelled out in the contract, for extra cleaning." The extra cleaning fee spelled out in the contract is "You are not expected to do any cleaning but if the cabin is left excessively dirty with stains on the furniture, beds etc. or muddy prints on the deck (human or pet) you may be assessed a $50 extra cleaning charge."

How surprising to be charged $75 for what should be considered the normal level of cleaning after guests with 5 dogs stay there. We had swept the kitchen a couple of times during our stay because we realize dog fur builds up, maybe the cleaning staff doesn't realize that dog fur happens and thinks having to sweep up fur (pictures were a pile of fur and that same pile of fur in one dustpan) is excess cleaning. Paul replied that the cleaning staff had to disinfect and wash all floors and walls, but we find it hard to believe that the cleaning staff that didn't clean the bathrooms took time to disinfect the house after our dogs.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is always discouraging to have a guest put in a report such as this one. My staff & I work hard at providing a high quality experience for all of our guests. Being a dog lover myself I built the cabin to be dog friendly. We have had many guests that stayed at the cabin with pets that gave us rave reviews. We do, however, expect our guests with pets to be responsible. These folks had one or more dogs out of the 5 that were not potty trained and they left messes and dog hair all over all three levels. My cleaning crew had to vacuum & disinfect the floors on all three levels. We want the cabin to always be spic and span for our guests that don't have pets and may be allergic to pet hair. For this extra cleaning I charged them $75. This upset them and they insisted I drop the $75 in extra charges but my policy is to pay my help for any extra cleaning they have to do. I might add this is the first cleaning complaint we have had in the in the 5 years I have been with VRBO. One of the burners in the 4 burner stove was out of order but we could find no problem with the WIFI. We will continue to try and provide a safe & exceptionally clean facility.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Cabin!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cabin and location. Lots of room for our family get together. It snowed a few times during our stay, so the kids made snowmen. Very comfortable and owner was in touch the whole time. Thanks for sharing your cabin!

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salem, OR
5

A Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I, our 3 kids and their spouses, 3 young grandkids and dog came here for a family time together. We had a great experience here. The house was well equipped with any and every thing we needed. The house worked well for everyone, including the youngest child (18 months old). The beds were comfortable. The view is gorgeous-we spent a lot of time on the deck admiring the view. The owner, Paul, was very helpful and very responsive to all my emails and questions.

It is so quiet and peaceful there-very relaxing. There is a lot to do in the area At the cabin, we enjoyed playing ping pong and just spending time together. We never did use the hot tub though. I guess we will try that out next time as we all want to come back.

Thank you, Paul!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is always gratifying to get a favorable review. Cindy's group were very responsible & easy to work with. I hope to see them again someday.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Keizer, Or
5

Wonderful Retreat Home!

  • 5 of 5

This home is amazing! It is beautiful, rustic, and spacious! Not to mention, it has a great view with huge windows and a large deck! I have rented this home three different times. With the hot tub, ping pong table, hiking, and more; this is a restful and fun place to stay! It has been such a great place to get away from the busyness and go to a cozy, safe place in the woods! Also, the owner has been GREAT to work with!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is always gratifying to get positive reviews, especially from repeat guests. Riordan Hill Retreat is a unique place in a beautiful part of Oregon right on the boundary of the Columbia Gorge National Scenic Area. Everyone should try to see this part of the country. It is spectacular.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Unsafe experience

  • 1 of 5

We stayed in this house for just 2 nights. It's a lovely place indeed. Hood River is a calm beautiful area and the house faces a gorgeous view to the Columbia River. However, the living experience was not great and unsafe, especially with little kids.

First off, the owner hasn’t been responsive to any of my communication attempts (emails, a phone call) referring to the fact that I am a guest in the contract, not a signer; therefore with no legitimate rights for proper communication!

Second, here is a list of safety concerns in the house (we stayed in winter):

1. The porch stairs were covered with ice. No any sand/de-icer were provided or used on the porch. My 4-year old got a big hit on it.

2. The stove was releasing a smoke when in use due to old grease inside. Being a clean person I couldn't put food into the stove. It is really antique, rusty and needs to be replaced.

3. We couldn’t find any smoke detectors around the house, just some wires in a place where it is supposed to be, which made me worry at night in a 100% wood house.

4. The burner bowls were covered with dirty foil full of old grease. We'd got fire a few times while cooking burning my hand.

5. The floors downstairs are just concrete basement floors right on the ground and were freezing cold. If you are planning to occupy more than 2 bedrooms, you would have to use downstairs bedrooms which aren't the best in winter. Need some carpeting. I understand the cold temperature outside in winter, but the "play" area downstairs with a pool table doesn't have any heater either; although, the pool table was part of the contract.

5. The wall thermometer/heater in one of downstairs bedrooms doesn't control room's temperature (we with the kids were almost overheated at night).

Third, there was a hot tub issue. The owner accused us of overusing it (leaving it dirty) and charged extra. That was totally unexpected; we disagree with that as it was used no more than 30-40 mins a day, and it looks like just a trick to cut some extra money. In our case, we used it not more that allowed time limit a day leaving it with clear water (also shown in our personal pictures). However, the owner claimed "we left it dirty from top to bottom so he wasn't able to see the bottom of it at all" (how is that even possible, we are not dirty people) charging us the extra. I believe the Jacuzzi just has some filtering issues as I have never heard or seen anything like that in other houses we had rented before.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a response, not by the renters who actually signed the contract, but by a guest of theirs. The contract signer was Olga Kashirina. Anna, the complainant, objected to being charged $45 for an emergency cleaning of the hot tub that was left in a very unsanitary condition. (I have pictures that show how dirty it was should anyone like to see them.) The actual contract signer Olga accepted the extra charges when I explained it would have been a health violation had I left the hot tub in that condition for the next group of renters who checked in that same day. Apparently Anna did not agree & sent this scathing review. Note: Anna never mentioned any of these items during her stay or immediately after her stay & did not fill out one of my guest reports which I ask each group to do. It was not until I told Olga I would be charging her $45 for the hot tub cleaning that I heard from Anna. The weather was bitter cold during their stay, never coming above freezing. I put salt on all the steps prior to their arrival & a coffee can full of salt was left just inside the door. People using the hot tub did not wipe off properly & the floor was covered with ice. Also there was a trail of ice from the hot tub building to the cabin, probably created by lots of trips of little children in & out of the cabin. The hot tub rules require wiping off & adult supervision for any child under 18. This was New Year's Eve. I doubt these rules were followed. All the electric heaters in the 2 basement rooms have thermostatically controlled switches. I checked them after their rental & they all worked fine. The oven was a little dirty but I don't know who was responsible. Was it Olga's & Anna's group or previous renters? That I do not know. I do know my cleaning people check it every cleaning. Anna sent a complaint letter to VRBO & I answered it. The VRBO person resolving this case said in her response to me "Your very thorough written response is sufficient information, and we do require all communication regarding complaints to be in writing for accurate documentation. We are grateful for your cooperation in resolving this issue & now consider this case closed." As the owner I try my best to provide a facility that is clean & safe & want the renters to have the best vacation of their lives. I do not believe there was enough truthful information for this review to be posted, however I found out VRBO will publish anything a guest puts in writing.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 5

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Portland (PDX)
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Hood River
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Indian Creek/Hood River Golf Courses
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I-84
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Divots (Indian Creek Golf Course)
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Cooper Spur/Mt Hood Meadows Ski Area
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Hood River (Downtown event site on Columbia River)
Car: necessary

Hood River is a recreation paradise. Situated on the Columbia River with Mt. Hood less than 60 minutes drive there is an unlimited amount of year round recreational activities. Windsurfing, kite sailing, hiking, mountain biking, swimming, fishing, hunting, kyaking wine tasting, beer tasting, down hill & crosscountry skiing to name just a few.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hood River Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
summer
May 26 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$325
$2,275
$9,750
 
 
winter
Sep 6 2017 - May 17 2018
2 night minimum stay
$325
$2,275
$9,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$325
$2,275
$9,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

One time cleaning fee $125
Pet Fee $10

Rates vary by number of guests. 4 or less adult guests(age 16 or older) $175 per night, if you use upper 2 levels only. 5 to 8 guests $250 per night. 9 to 12 guests $325 per night. Over 12 adults $400 per night with 14 being the MAX. (Note there are comfortable beds for only 8 adults (3 queens & 1 king), however there is plenty of room for air mattresses & sleeping bags.)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties