Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakefront Serenity - Dock, Spa

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,592 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Incredible remodeled lakefront cabin. Upgraded kitchen, appliances, bathrooms,... all upgraded.

Peaceful lakefront location in a quiet cove in Metcalf Bay, with calm water and beautiful views. Boat dock to park your boat at, and swim and fish from.

NOTE: With very low lake levels due to the draught we are currently experiencing, there is NO Water within 100 feet of our Dock. We will be keeping our Winter rates through out the summer until the Lake fills back up and we have water for a usable dock.

We are less than a 5 minute walk (2 minute drive) from Holloways Marina where docks, boats, jets ski's and paddle boards can be rented.

Exceptional location which is quiet and serene and seems isolated, but yet is just minutes away from Big Bear village and the ski slopes.

BEDS for 12 people...

Bdrm 1: Queen bed

Bdrm 2: Queen bed + Twin bed

Bdrm 3: Full/Twin bunk + Twin/Twin bunk

Den/Gameroom: Queen Futon

Keywords: lakefront, spa, dock, cabin, mountains, ski, boating,

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 25, 2017

About The Owner

We are a family from San Diego, CA

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2009

Why The Owner chose Big Bear

We had enjoyed renting similar homes for our weeklong vacations and weekend getaways in the Big Bear area for many years. We were going so many times a year, that decided owning a vacation cabin in the Big Bear area would be fun (and it is great).

What makes this cabin unique

We enjoy the lake in the summer, and skiing in the winter, and really like the mild and beautiful spring and fall as well.

NOTE: You can book this property using a Credit Card by contacting Michelle at Big Bear Dream Cabins (909) 366-5555; Michelle@BigBearDreamCabins.com

Amenities

Big Bear Lake Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1592 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , With on-suite bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Large room with extra floor space
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed , One twin/twin bunk, and one full/twin bunk
    Den - 1 queen , Gameroom with queen futon
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Single/Single Bunk Beds (1), Double/Single Bunk Beds (1), Queen Futon (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outdoor Spa, Boat dock, Grass/lawn yard

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Lakefront Serenity - Dock, Spa
average rating of 4.4 based on 15 reviews
Henderson NV
1

There is no lake.

  • 1 of 5

Rented this property for a 3 night stay. Arrived only to find the lake is appx. .a mile away due to the drought. The owner stated that we would not be able to get a boat to the dock which was fine but never told use there was NO LAKE there anymore. We walked in an went to the back yard and that was it. Tried calling her and she would not return our calls. Spent 3.5 hrs (on hold most of the time) with Home Away customer service. They issued a case # for the deception but still have no word if our money will be returned. We gave the owner plenty of time to call us back as we waited in the car because we were not going to pay for a place that is not on the lake. So we drove 4 hrs back home. She called my husband the next morning and ended up hanging up on him because she seems to believe she told us there is NO WATER at the property. NOT TRUE. we were told that a boat would not make it in due to the low levels. We wasted a whole day, hours on the phone, 8 plus hours in the car and a twisted ankle from all the gopher holes over this supposed Lake front property. Wish I could post photo's so you could see the lake in now just a bunch of tall grass with a bunch of rodents running around. And just received an email from the owner that stated (copied and pasted from her, these are her words) Just so you know I have been working with HomeAway to figure out how to refund your money.

I also spoke to my Husband who agreed with me that we should request a full refund for you through VRBO as long as you agree (in writing) to not write a review on our site.

I NEVER intended to deceive you or your husband, or any of our renters.

Please confirm that you will not write a negative review and I will request your refund today.

Francine XXXXXX (deleted her last name)

If this does not deter you from renting. Good luck with it. Don't know if we will ever get a refund but would hate for someone else to rent this property under the assumption that it is lakefront from the photo's they have posted on their ad.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I wanted to take the opportunity to address this renter’s review. 1. This renter called to rent our home and was told verbally over the phone that there was NO water by our dock just like I have informed all of my renters both by e-mail and over the phone. 2. I did not receive a message from this renter till the day after they left our home and claimed they tried to call us. 3. We informed them that we did not have their money in our bank account since HomeAway payments still had it, thus we could not refund it to them, but I would find out how to refund their money, and would do so. 4. These renters sent several threatening emails that they were going to Sue us for the rental payments, plus an extra $500 for emergency room visits for “lung clots” that could not be caused by a 2 hour drive up and down the mountain. 5. Once the money was deposited into our account I did send them a check for the refund of the rental fees. 6. At the same time they cancelled their credit card charges. Setting them up to get back not only the rental fees but a substantial amount of money they did not pay. 7. These renters have sent several more threatening claims even after they received all of their money back. 8. We believe these people were simply out to get more money from us even before they booked our home. 9. We have never misled our renters or those who have inquired about our home concerning the water by the dock. We cannot help it if the draught has caused the lake to dry up by our home (we are praying for more rain to fill up the lake again). We have lowered our rental fees to those of houses not on the lake, and provide information to all our renters on where to rent a slip closest to our home if they have a boat. 10. Before you take the words of their review to heart, read the other reviews. You will see we are good honest people, who simply rent out a vacation home so others can enjoy Big Bear Lake as we do.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend here! The house was clean and had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable as well. When we first arrived the upstairs had a musty/cat type smell BUT once we opened the windows and had airflow it was gone and didn't smell it again. We couldn't get the DVD player to work but we didn't need it anyways. Our kids loved the bunk beds and games that were provided. We were told about the low water level and it wasn't an issue. The house is in a great location and easy for us to find. We will definitely book here again and look forward to it!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Diego
5

Great Place!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at Lakefront Serenity and it was great. It was very clean, right on the lake and on a really quiet, kind of secluded road. The spa was so nice in the backyard overlooking the lake. We actually rented it through their property manager, Michelle at Big Bear Dream Cabins, and she was so nice to work with. We would love to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Average Place, Don't Expect A Lot

  • 3 of 5

Hi - Wish we could submit photos of this house. It was pretty dirty, the couches are really old and almost didnt want to sit on them, there is a massive outlet in the family room with like 40 cables coming out of it which is very ugly. The upstairs bedroom with the full size bed had sand all over it, luckily we brought our own linens. The plastic chairs on the deck are almost all broken. The plates, pots, glasses and pans are all really old and very limited quantity - if you stay here bring your own stuff or eat out.

I have not stayed a lot of places in Big Bear, but I am sure you can find a nicer, cleaner and more updated property than this house. When we stay somewhere want to walk in and be excited, when we walked in here it was underwhelming and a bummer.

Positive; the owners seem extremely nice though! The location of this house is excellent except that the lake is pretty much gone because of the draught.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
Aliso Viejo, CA
5

Big Bear Fourth of July Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We rented this property for two families, each with two adults and two small children between the ages of 6 and 2. And we absolutely enjoyed the Lakefront Serenity property over Fourth of July weekend, 2014. We had an absolute great time at this cabin, and it was exactly what we had been hoping for! Thank you! The kids had so much fun and all 8 of us had a wonderful vacation. We will be in touch again when we are looking for another chance to getaway, and hope to be able to use the cabin.

From the very initial contact with the owners - the experience and process was extremely simple. The owners were easily reachable, the process of reserving the property went smooth. Any questions, no matter how many, or how silly I had were answered promptly. Our families enjoyed the hot tub, fishing off the dock, and playing games in the backyard, and cooking in the large kitchen. We would recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
2

Not Exactly Paradisiac

  • 2 of 5

We rented this property for two families, each with two adults and two small children between 3 and 5. The description is accurate in that it is on the lake, and the kitchen and bathrooms have been remodeled. There is one bedroom downstairs with a bathroom and two bedrooms upstairs with a bathroom and a sort of "playroom" leading to one of the bedrooms. The house was clean when we arrived.

However, there were a few notable problems with this property: First, while the kitchen and bathrooms have been remodeled, the house itself and the furniture, carpets and contents are pretty old and dirty. The upstairs beams creak loudly every time you walk, so if you are downstairs trying to sleep, you will hear everything that's going on upstairs. Second, you have to drive your own trash away from the property, into some allowed trash areas that they provide you an address for. This became an inconvenience for us. Third, be aware that the yard is not fenced- if you bring a dog, they may escape and they most likely will go swimming in the lake. More importantly, it is not a friendly yard for small kids. There is a ramp that leads to a dock; the railings of the ramp are not safe for small children. Of course, the dock is also a looming danger. Fourth, even though the listing says that it's managed by the owner, there is a management firm in the picture. There appears to be quite a bit lost in translation from the management firm to the owner and back. For example, the oven was not working when we arrived and nobody warned us. We had brought a frozen pizza for dinner, but had to change plans when we realized that the oven wasn't working (not easily achieved with tired & hungry little boys) and then call to report the problem which took a few calls back and forth to arrange for the fix. Lastly and most bothersome, after we left, the management firm "found" one of the bunk beds broken and we were held responsible for the break. They claimed that the kids had been jumping on the bed (which they had not- how do you jump on the bottom of a bunk bed without hitting your head?) and the owners took the money to replace the bed from our security deposit. We had no recourse, even though all of the beds were in pretty sorry state to begin with and we are certain that it wasn't our kids who broke that particular one. Bottom line: don't stay at this house unless you check thoroughly all of the furniture and fixtures upon arrival.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First of all, this renter is upset about being charged for damage caused to the Bunk beds during their stay, as reported by our property manager that lives in Big Bear who is responsible for damage checks, repairs, cleaning and maintenance of our home on Metcalf Bay, as we do not live in Big Bear. Secondly I would like to address some of the items listed in this e-mail. 1. The furniture is several years old and as a result of constant renters it is not in PERFECT condition. It is a rental house after all. 2. Yes, you can hear people walking around upstairs if you are down stairs. In almost all two story houses you can hear noises, even million dollar ones. 3. ALL Rental properties in Big Bear REQUIRE that all trash be taken to one of the two designated trash areas. The closest site to our home is only about a mile from our home. 4. We share the dock with our neighbor, therefore one side of our back yard is not fenced in. The lake is a "fence" to the back yard. It's nice and open which is one of the benefits of being on the lake. We were completely honest with these renters when telling them that it is a fairly open. We have children and a dog of our own, and keep watch on them at all times, just at most parents do. We require all small children to wear a life vest or be accompanied by an adult when going near or on the dock. 5. We did let these renters know that the oven was not working and the part would be installed sometime on that Friday. Our property manager was not sure what time it would be installed and agreed to work these renters to make sure it was done while they were there. WE had no control of the parts delivery or the repair man. The part was replaced and these renters had use of the oven for the rest of their stay. 6. Our property manager does an inspection both before and after renters stay in our home. We always encourage our renters to let us know if something is broken when they arrive so they will not be responsible for the damage. These renters never reported the bunk beds broken when they arrived. My property manager reported it broken after these renters left.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Log Cabin Restaurant
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Snow Summit

Alpine slide, Zip line

Photos

Rates & Availability

Big Bear Lake Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,650
 
 
Memorial Day
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Summer
May 30 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,955
 
 
July 4th holiday
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Summer
Jul 5 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,955
 
 
Labor Day holiday
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Summer
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,955
 
 
Fall
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,650
 
 
Thanksgiving week
Nov 23 2017 - Nov 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Winter
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,955
 
 
Winter Holiday rates
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
Winter
Jan 2 2018 - Feb 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,955
 
 
Presidents weekend
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
Winter
Feb 20 2018 - Mar 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,955
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
House Cleaning $150
Tax Rate 11.0%

Holiday rates of $550 per night apply to the following holidays and a 3 night minimum is also required. Presidents Day, Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas (winter break) and New Years

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable