Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakefront Serenity - Dock, Spa

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,592 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Incredible remodeled lakefront cabin. Upgraded kitchen, appliances, bathrooms,... all upgraded.

Peaceful lakefront location in a quiet cove in Metcalf Bay, with calm water and beautiful views. Boat dock to park your boat at, and swim and fish from.

NOTE: With very low lake levels due to the draught we are currently experiencing, there is NO Water within 100 feet of our Dock. We will be keeping our Winter rates through out the summer until the Lake fills back up and we have water for a usable dock.

We are less than a 5 minute walk (2 minute drive) from Holloways Marina where docks, boats, jets ski's and paddle boards can be rented.

Exceptional location which is quiet and serene and seems isolated, but yet is just minutes away from Big Bear village and the ski slopes.

BEDS for 12 people...

Bdrm 1: Queen bed

Bdrm 2: Queen bed + Twin bed

Bdrm 3: Full/Twin bunk + Twin/Twin bunk

Den/Gameroom: Queen Futon

Keywords: lakefront, spa, dock, cabin, mountains, ski, boating,

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
July 19, 2017

About The Owner

We are a family from San Diego, CA

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2009

Why The Owner chose Big Bear

We had enjoyed renting similar homes for our weeklong vacations and weekend getaways in the Big Bear area for many years. We were going so many times a year, that decided owning a vacation cabin in the Big Bear area would be fun (and it is great).

What makes this cabin unique

We enjoy the lake in the summer, and skiing in the winter, and really like the mild and beautiful spring and fall as well.

NOTE: You can book this property using a Credit Card by contacting Michelle at Big Bear Dream Cabins (909) 366-5555; Michelle@BigBearDreamCabins.com

Amenities

Big Bear Lake Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1592 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , With on-suite bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Large room with extra floor space
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed , One twin/twin bunk, and one full/twin bunk
    Den - 1 queen , Gameroom with queen futon
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Single/Single Bunk Beds (1), Double/Single Bunk Beds (1), Queen Futon (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outdoor Spa, Boat dock, Grass/lawn yard

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
Lakefront Serenity - Dock, Spa
average rating of 4.4375 based on 16 reviews
5

**Amazing Property** Great family vacation over the 4th of July!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I took our 6 young adult children (18-27) for a four day stay in Big Bear. It is true that this cabin is not lakeside because of the drought in California- BUT, there is still an amazing view from the backyard! Big Bear Lake is visible in the distance and it is a quick walk to the marina! The cabin itself is cozy and welcoming. The cabin was clean upon arival and everything worked well (except for our user errors with the coffee pot 😃)! The outdoor deck and jacuzzi were perfect for our quiet morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. We did find that we did not spend much time after dark on the deck because of the flying bugs- haha! There is so much in Big Bear Lake to do! We rented a pontune boat, did the jungle boat, jet skis and even the alpine slide! Two of the nights we drove a quick mile or so into the village for dinner; we loved Fire Rock (burgers etc) and Saucy Mamas Pizza. Francine (the owner of the property) was amazing to work with and we cannot wait to book the next vacation to Big Bear Lake. Also- I accidentally left my wedding rings on the bathroom counter and they were quickly mailed back to me. We did receive our full deposit back within a week of our stay. It was a great vacation and the weather up there in the forest is beautiful!!

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Henderson NV
1

There is no lake.

  • 1 of 5

Rented this property for a 3 night stay. Arrived only to find the lake is appx. .a mile away due to the drought. The owner stated that we would not be able to get a boat to the dock which was fine but never told use there was NO LAKE there anymore. We walked in an went to the back yard and that was it. Tried calling her and she would not return our calls. Spent 3.5 hrs (on hold most of the time) with Home Away customer service. They issued a case # for the deception but still have no word if our money will be returned. We gave the owner plenty of time to call us back as we waited in the car because we were not going to pay for a place that is not on the lake. So we drove 4 hrs back home. She called my husband the next morning and ended up hanging up on him because she seems to believe she told us there is NO WATER at the property. NOT TRUE. we were told that a boat would not make it in due to the low levels. We wasted a whole day, hours on the phone, 8 plus hours in the car and a twisted ankle from all the gopher holes over this supposed Lake front property. Wish I could post photo's so you could see the lake in now just a bunch of tall grass with a bunch of rodents running around. And just received an email from the owner that stated (copied and pasted from her, these are her words) Just so you know I have been working with HomeAway to figure out how to refund your money.

I also spoke to my Husband who agreed with me that we should request a full refund for you through VRBO as long as you agree (in writing) to not write a review on our site.

I NEVER intended to deceive you or your husband, or any of our renters.

Please confirm that you will not write a negative review and I will request your refund today.

Francine XXXXXX (deleted her last name)

If this does not deter you from renting. Good luck with it. Don't know if we will ever get a refund but would hate for someone else to rent this property under the assumption that it is lakefront from the photo's they have posted on their ad.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I wanted to take the opportunity to address this renter’s review. 1. This renter called to rent our home and was told verbally over the phone that there was NO water by our dock just like I have informed all of my renters both by e-mail and over the phone. 2. I did not receive a message from this renter till the day after they left our home and claimed they tried to call us. 3. We informed them that we did not have their money in our bank account since HomeAway payments still had it, thus we could not refund it to them, but I would find out how to refund their money, and would do so. 4. These renters sent several threatening emails that they were going to Sue us for the rental payments, plus an extra $500 for emergency room visits for “lung clots” that could not be caused by a 2 hour drive up and down the mountain. 5. Once the money was deposited into our account I did send them a check for the refund of the rental fees. 6. At the same time they cancelled their credit card charges. Setting them up to get back not only the rental fees but a substantial amount of money they did not pay. 7. These renters have sent several more threatening claims even after they received all of their money back. 8. We believe these people were simply out to get more money from us even before they booked our home. 9. We have never misled our renters or those who have inquired about our home concerning the water by the dock. We cannot help it if the draught has caused the lake to dry up by our home (we are praying for more rain to fill up the lake again). We have lowered our rental fees to those of houses not on the lake, and provide information to all our renters on where to rent a slip closest to our home if they have a boat. 10. Before you take the words of their review to heart, read the other reviews. You will see we are good honest people, who simply rent out a vacation home so others can enjoy Big Bear Lake as we do.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend here! The house was clean and had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable as well. When we first arrived the upstairs had a musty/cat type smell BUT once we opened the windows and had airflow it was gone and didn't smell it again. We couldn't get the DVD player to work but we didn't need it anyways. Our kids loved the bunk beds and games that were provided. We were told about the low water level and it wasn't an issue. The house is in a great location and easy for us to find. We will definitely book here again and look forward to it!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Diego
5

Great Place!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at Lakefront Serenity and it was great. It was very clean, right on the lake and on a really quiet, kind of secluded road. The spa was so nice in the backyard overlooking the lake. We actually rented it through their property manager, Michelle at Big Bear Dream Cabins, and she was so nice to work with. We would love to stay here again.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Average Place, Don't Expect A Lot

  • 3 of 5

Hi - Wish we could submit photos of this house. It was pretty dirty, the couches are really old and almost didnt want to sit on them, there is a massive outlet in the family room with like 40 cables coming out of it which is very ugly. The upstairs bedroom with the full size bed had sand all over it, luckily we brought our own linens. The plastic chairs on the deck are almost all broken. The plates, pots, glasses and pans are all really old and very limited quantity - if you stay here bring your own stuff or eat out.

I have not stayed a lot of places in Big Bear, but I am sure you can find a nicer, cleaner and more updated property than this house. When we stay somewhere want to walk in and be excited, when we walked in here it was underwhelming and a bummer.

Positive; the owners seem extremely nice though! The location of this house is excellent except that the lake is pretty much gone because of the draught.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
Aliso Viejo, CA
5

Big Bear Fourth of July Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We rented this property for two families, each with two adults and two small children between the ages of 6 and 2. And we absolutely enjoyed the Lakefront Serenity property over Fourth of July weekend, 2014. We had an absolute great time at this cabin, and it was exactly what we had been hoping for! Thank you! The kids had so much fun and all 8 of us had a wonderful vacation. We will be in touch again when we are looking for another chance to getaway, and hope to be able to use the cabin.

From the very initial contact with the owners - the experience and process was extremely simple. The owners were easily reachable, the process of reserving the property went smooth. Any questions, no matter how many, or how silly I had were answered promptly. Our families enjoyed the hot tub, fishing off the dock, and playing games in the backyard, and cooking in the large kitchen. We would recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Map

Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Log Cabin Restaurant
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Snow Summit

Alpine slide, Zip line

Photos

Rates & Availability

Big Bear Lake Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jul 5 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,955
 
 
Labor Day holiday
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Summer
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,955
 
 
Fall
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,650
 
 
Thanksgiving week
Nov 23 2017 - Nov 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Winter
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,955
 
 
Winter Holiday rates
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
Winter
Jan 2 2018 - Feb 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,955
 
 
Presidents weekend
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
$550
 
 
Winter
Feb 20 2018 - Mar 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,955
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
House Cleaning $150
Tax Rate 11.0%

Holiday rates of $550 per night apply to the following holidays and a 3 night minimum is also required. Presidents Day, Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas (winter break) and New Years

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable