Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Glynn Cottage ... a Truly Special Retreat

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 3,400 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

address: 13 Coast Cottage Lane

St Simons Island, GA 31522

size: approximately 3500 square feet

Glynn Cottage is a luxurious new custom beach home located just a few steps from the Atlantic Ocean. It is located in the award winning Coast Cottage neighborhood .... complete with two gated oceanside pools, a pavilion with two baths and a gated boardwalk leading to the wide beach. Glynn Cottage is a spacious three story house equipped with a 4 stop elevator serving ground level to all floors, living room, dining room and separate den/ 5th bedroom, three bedrooms each with a king-sized bed and a private bath. The fourth bedroom has two sets of bunk beds and a private bath that also opens to the hallway. The second level is very open and spacious where the gourmet kitchen opens to the living and dining areas so that everyone can gather in one comfortable space. Our kitchen has KitchenAid appliances with granite counters and maple cabinets. There is also a powder room. The front and back porches on this level are fully furnished with table and chair sets for serving meals.... views are phenomenal!! The master bedroom located on the third level has a stunning four poster bed, private covered balcony for beach and ocean viewing as well as a morning bar, and his and her separate closets. The stunning master bathroom boasts a large footed soaking tub and separate shower as well as two separate vanities with sinks. Each of the four baths are custom with natural stone, granite or marble counter tops and shower seats. A spiral stairway leads from the third level hallway to a roof top deck with panoramic views of the beach, Jekyll, Cumberland and Sea Islands....sunbathing at its best! Beautiful mouldings, high ceilings and dark oak floors complete the Glynn Cottage. In addition, there is an outside shower for rinsing off the sand when you come in from the beach!! Glynn Cottage has a maximum of 4 parking spaces right in front of the cottage. We think you'll love our home as much as we do and will want to return again and again.

Wonderful restaurants, fishing, golfing, biking and sight seeing await you for a truly memorable vacation. There are several parks nearby, including a water park, as well as, the Pier, St. Simons Lighthouse, library and theatre. There is no better place to be!

Bedding includes: 1 king in master with spacious bath, 2 first floor bedrooms with kings and private baths and 1 first floor bedroom with 2 sets of bunk beds and private bath that also opens to the hall. Additional first floor den with sofa bed and doors for privacy. Maximum occupancy is 12. No parties, student groups or wedding events, please.

We abide by the minimum age limit laws.

Location: One hour north of Jacksonville, Florida and one hour south of Savannah, Georgia on I-95.

keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

we enjoyed every day!"
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 20

Amenities

Saint Simons Island Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , custom, natural stone, seat in shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , custom, natural stone, seat in shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , custom, natural stone, seat in shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , tub , shower , custom shower with additional wand and seat, stone
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , powder room off kitchen/dining room
  • 4.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
    Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • 3 King size beds , 2 sets of bunk beds, Sleep Sofa located in Den/5th Bedroom, 1 pack n play
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Volleyball, Light House Museum, Coast Guard Museum, Christ Church,

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Glynn Cottage ... a Truly Special Retreat
average rating of 4.826087 based on 43 reviews
Greensboro,NC
5

Truly Special Spring Break

  • 5 of 5

Our family has vacationed on St. Simon's Island for 20 years. This was the first time that we stayed at Glynn Cottage and we were delighted by the entire experience. The owners were extremely attentive, kind and detailed from beginning to end. I would strongly recommend this property to anyone searching for a Golden Isle Beach Vacation.

To share our degree of appreciation and gratitude to the owners, our daughter left her blanket at the cottage. The owners secured the blanket from the cleaning crew and plan to mail it to us. My daughter was thrilled and I am so appreciative that the owners are so committed to a personalized experience (even after you leave).

We had 12 family members on this trip and we were very comfortable in the cottage. The cottage is steps away from the beach and the pool. The entire Coastal Cottage development is immaculately maintained - clean and well organized.

We plan to return and we will always have positive lasting memories of our Spring Break 2016 experience.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

SSI beach getaway 2017

  • 5 of 5

Another wonderful family vacation at Glynn Cottage on SSI. We have stayed at Glynn Cottage 4 times over the past 4 years and always love being there. Glynn Cottage is a perfect home for our family vacations or quick visits to SSI. The home is very clean, comfortable and easily accommodates our family of five plus. Glynn Cottage is a perfect home in a wonderful, quiet location convenient to the pools, beach, marsh and village. Mealtime is a breeze whether you choose to stay home and cook in the wonderfully laid out & well stocked kitchen or visit one of the many local restaurants. The views and fabulous sun sets from the multiple decks or roof top make for a wonderful end to a great day on SSI. We look forward to our next trip to SSI and Glynn Cottage.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North West Ohio
5

Great House!

  • 5 of 5

This home was perfect for my families needs. Plenty of space to gather as a group and also plenty of privacy available. The pools and beach a very short stroll away. The kitchen is wonderful and the cook isn't isolated from everyone else. We rented bikes, visited the lighthouse and the pier area shops all a quick drive or bike ride away from the house. The multiple decks on the house offer more opportunities for privacy.

We also did the short drive to visit Jekyll Island. This home is in a great location and lovely private neighborhood. The owner was very responsive thru out the entire process. We would not hesitate to rent this home again.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta
5

Glynn Cottage

  • 5 of 5

This was the first time we stayed at Glynn Cottage, and it did not disappoint! It was extremely clean, spacious, and very well-maintained, with excellent furnishings. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to prepare meals during our stay. We even lucked out on the weather and found it warm enough to enjoy both the pool and the beach, despite it being spring break. And, we really enjoyed the peaceful, quiet setting of the street. We will definitely be back. Thank you for a wonderful week!

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Labor Day Weekend

  • 1 of 5

I would like to start by stating when I first sought interest in Glynn Cottage I was questioned by Mrs. McCoy about the number of guests that would be staying. When I mentioned the five people in my family and 4 in another family I was put off by her response to the number of guests. Even though it states in the description this house holds a maximum of 12 guests. Mrs. McCoy did not want to allow my requests for the 3 parking passes.

Less than 24 hours before our anticipated arrival to Glynn Cottage, Mrs. McCoy sent an email cancelling our reservations for the weekend. Stating she could not rent to us due to the impending weather. However, in her rental contract she would not allow her guests to cancel due to weather. We were planning a birthday weekend with our children and were very upset. We were able to find a different cottage and rent from Patrick Anderson who was very accommodating. We sent a check to Mrs. McCoy, per her request, to rent the cottage. However, we have to wait for her to return our money. So we had to rent at the last minuet another cottage and pay an extra $95. We asked Mrs. McCoy to pay the difference since she cancelled our reservations. She was unwilling to pay and spoke rudely to my husband on the phone. I would suggest for anyone thinking about renting the Glynn Cottage from Mrs. McCoy to reconsider. We go to St. Simons every year and have used VRBO on many occasions and have never been treated with so much disrespect by an owner. Call around. Talk to others renting coast cottages. I'm sure you will find a more accommodating owner with southern hospitality that you would expect when renting on St. Simons Island.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dr Scott H, you promised us a bad review...here's our response: We strive to offer a relaxing, peaceful and safe vacation to all our guests. GA Gov Deal had issued a State of Emergency for Hurricane Hermine in 56 counties including St Simons Island and your home area as well, the day before your arrival the next afternoon. When your children's school was cancelled due to the Hurricane, you requested yet another change wanting to arrive in the morning which is when the Hurricane was to hit. We were concerned for your safety. St Simons Island was expecting flooding and high winds....areas lost power. After several discussions with you about weather related to Hurricane Hermine and our inability to accommodate your date and time change requests, we regrettably had no choice but to cancel your reservation. We suggested substitutions but you chose a more expensive Villa when less expensive cottages were available. That was the reason we decided not to pay the extra $95 for you, Dr H. And yes, we did question why you asked for 3 parking passes when you had emailed 2 adults and 3 children were staying. Thankfully, you were able to enjoy a wonderful vacation since other rentals were available.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Atlanta
5

Glynn Cottage

  • 5 of 5

This was our family's second visit to the home and we were again very pleased at the construction,

maintenance and comfort of the property. The vast, elegant kitchen was fully equipped, coffee filters and

other basic necessities were thoughtfully provided, and the location is beyond compare. We had an incredible

view of the Milky Way from the rooftop deck, and enjoyed the private spaces within the home which let

us each have personal space. We will definitely come again.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Housekeeping $175.00

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties