Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Enjoy Your Own Private Cove on Beautiful Lake Arrowhead

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Come spend your vacation on beautiful Lake Arrowhead, an 1100 acre lake located between Portland, Maine and North Conway, NH, and only two hours north of Boston. Our cottage was built in 2010 on 1.5 acres of beautifully wooded land, is sunny but cozy, child-friendly, and contains all of the comforts of home, such as wireless Internet, in an open floor plan. Two bedrooms, both with queen mattresses, along with a loft area with four twin mattresses, sleep 8 comfortably. Two baths, one on each floor, allow for privacy, and the first-floor bath contains a tub for bathing the little ones! Full-sized washer and dryer are located in the walkout basement.

In the summer, rest on the screened-in porch with water views, sit on the private dock or explore the lake by kayak. Guests can enjoy the indoor and outdoor pools, gym, tennis courts, and playground. An outdoor fire pit allows for building new family memories.

If you are interested, please send us an email. We are old fashioned and like to talk to all of our renters to make sure your and our expectations align. We learned over the years that a short personal conversation makes the difference between a good vacation and a great one. So, please, do not initiate bookings via the VRBO booking feature until we had a chance to talk.

Summer rentals are weekly from Saturday to Saturday. We offer special monthly and seasonal rates for Fall, Winter, and Spring.

You must be 25 years or older to rent this property. A $500 security deposit is required and will be returned if there is no damage or no extra cleaning is needed.

There is NO smoking in the house or around the property. Sorry, no pets allowed.

More Details

Alexander Bender & Patricia Lawrence
Member since: 2010
Speaks: german
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 24, 2018

About Alexander Bender & Patricia Lawrence

We are a busy family of 4 who used to live in the Boston area for many years before moving to Georgia in 2011. Our girls are 10 and 15 and love to swim, play, and explore.

Alexander Bender & Patricia Lawrence purchased this house in 2010

Why Alexander Bender & Patricia Lawrence chose Lake Arrowhead

Lake Arrowhead is a lovely and peaceful area and community. We go up to the lake house at least once a year to start our summer and to get the house ready for our summer guests. In the summer time, we have been swimming in the lake as late as mid-September. In early August, the water was really warm and we stayed for hours in our beach area. The community and the surrounding area have much to offer and we always enjoy going up to the house. Be sure to check out Krista's in Cornish, incredible restaurant!

What makes this house unique

Our lake house is far enough away to find peace and recharge our batteries, but close enough to visit with friends or invite them for a day or two.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you, Alexander and Patricia. It's been a great week and I'd say there is a good chance you will hear from us in the future.
Jul 2017
  • 1 of 1


Lake Arrowhead House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • First Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Second Floor Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Loft - 2 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed , Open area on the second floor, ideal for kids!
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen , Guest bedroom on the first floor
    Bedroom 1 - 2 queen , Master bedroom on the second floor with a great view!
  • The master bedroom on the second floor has plenty of space to allow to set up the baby crib that we have available.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Screened in porch


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
Enjoy Your Own Private Cove on Beautiful Lake Arrowhead
average rating of 4.8 based on 41 reviews

The perfect family vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

You know you've rented the right place when you arrive and it looks EXACTLY like it does in the pictures online! My husband, 8 yo daughter, and I had the BEST 2-week family vacation here! The cottage was beautiful and spacious and clean. The property was wonderful! We fished off the dock at least twice a day - and caught a lot of fish! We used the fire pit at night and made s'mores. We used the kayaks on the beautiful lake. The hammock was delightful! And working with the owner was a breeze! I can't say enough nice things about this property! We greatly appreciate that the owners made this little slice of vacation heaven available to us!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Rockaway, NJ

Great house!

  • 5 of 5

The house was very nice and very clean! It was so nice to be able to view the lake from the house and to go down to the dock as well. Neighborhood was quiet and well kept. Alexander and Patricia were very nice to work with and they and the management company were responsive to our questions. We had a nice quiet family vacation week and we would definitely stay here again if going to Maine again.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great vacation getaway for families!!!

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from our stay here on Lake Arrowhead. Everything about this trip was fantastic. The Benders were wonderful to work with and responded to our questions quickly. The home was very clean when we arrived, and was exactly as described. We spent almost all day everyday in the lake, either swimming or in the boats. Although at first we were concerned about pulling the heavy canoe up the hill every day, it actually served as a great buffer from the lake and provided privacy, and being out on the lake in the canoe was totally worth the trip up and down! The screened in porch was a fantastic place to relax when we weren't out by the fire at night. I would recommend this house for anyone looking for a relaxing and laid-back getaway with family! It was just far enough away from the rest of the world, but still close enough to run out to the grocery store or to the Lakeside Market for a quick meal or essentials. We went out to Ogunquit for a day, which was an easy drive for a day trip, but spent every other day on the lake - the kids had a fantastic time fishing, swimming, jumping off the dock, going out in the canoe, and roasting marshmallows. The atmosphere of the entire community was very welcoming and peaceful, as there were no loud parties, or late night noise that you might expect to hear echoing across a lake. I would return there for vacation again without question!!! Thank you so much to the Benders for allowing us to use their house to make memories and get some family time!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

First let me say dealing with Alex and Patricia was a pleasure and totally professional. They checked in what us to make sure everything for our vacation in the home is going smooth.

The home looks like it was just built. It is SPOTLESS and the furniture and beds are comfortable and clean. We spent most of our time at the fire pit or the screened in porch. By the way I can’t wait to screen in my deck, it was so peaceful sitting out there at night.

Lake Arrowhead is a good size lake for kayaking. The house sits in a small cove that keeps you out of boat traffic, not that there is a lot. It was great for using floats off the dock. This lake is not a tourist destination. It’s mostly local Mainers so come Monday the lake gets quiet which is great for that morning kayak ride. Bring a flashlight for the walk at night from the house to the dock. It’s dark when using the stairs.

This had to be one of the most relaxing vacations we had in a long time. We did get day trips in to Portland and Kennebunkport for shopping and seafood but most of the time was spent at the lake. If you want a week of relaxing and decompressing from your normal routine this is the vacation for you.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
piney flats TN

Best vacation home ever

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay in this home. So clean and peaceful. The fishing was great, and the fire pit was lots of fun with the family. Everywhere we went in Maine, the people were so nice. And, at the end of the day, it was nice to come home to this restful retreat. We hope to come back.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Will not return -

  • 1 of 5

I stayed the Pine Hill Cottage property in 2014. It was a great place, reflecting many of the reviews posted prior to this one. Therefore, my wife and I decided to stay there in 2016 and signed a contract in January (2016). Unfortunately, we had a negative experience dealing with the owner and Management Company as well as the condition of the house that will prevent us from renting here again.

We assumed, incorrectly, that the house would be cleaned by a professional service between each rental, and that cleaning obligations on a list that was posted on the kitchen wall matched the cleaning obligations listed on our original contract. However, the list posted in the kitchen did not include details such vacuuming and mopping. Long story short, we were charged for five or six hours of additional cleaning work because we neglected to mop and vacuum. According to the property owner, the management company doesn’t clean, they merely “check” the property. We certainly would have mopped and vacuumed if it was posted – who remembers the details of rental contract 7 months after the fact – we were supposed to be on vacation!

Here are a few concerns about the condition of the house especially if you have kids-

• A pendant light glass shade was dangling from the light bulb and didn’t work – there was note from the management company to avoid touching it. This was a problem in 2014 and I actually called the owner about it.

• The toilet seat was caked with feces near the hinges from a previous renter(s) and needed to be removed and scrubbed clean, which was quite distressing and disgusting and underscores the owner's reliance on renters to adequately clean (rather than surface-wipe)

• The bathroom door downstairs has been in disrepair (does not lock) since 2014 depriving occupants of any privacy.

• The cushions for the couch in the living room had a strong smell of mildew.

Overall, as beautiful as the layout and location of the home, we could never rent there again because of the owner’s indifference to our concerns, his apparent arrogance in light of these concerns, and his use of a management "company" that appears inept at maintaining the property appropriately (at least to our satisfaction). The owner’s reliance on renters to properly clean the home is disturbingly inadequate, and a fact that was only fully disclosed after a problem arose.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you feel the house was not a good fit for you. However, we do understand that you came to this conclusion when we had to ask you to cover the cost of the clean-up we had to have done after you left the house. Regarding the alleged shortcomings, we feel that you never gave us a chance to correct any of them since you did not mention anything until after your rental even though we asked you (as we ask all our renters) on the day of your arrival to let us know if anything was not to your expectations. In fact, when we called to discuss how you left the house, you were full of praise and wanted to book it right away for next year. Once we learned of the issue with the hanging lights, we replaced all of the lights. Regarding the other items you mentioned, neither our management crew nor any of the renters visiting after you were able to corroborate these shortcomings. We want to believe that you do not make these statements just because you had to pay for the clean-up. We hope you will find another place that is a better fit for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Management Fee $85
Tax Rate 9.0%

We have pre- and post-season rates at $1,000/week. Our Summer rate is $1,500/week.
Payment terms are 50% 60 days prior to rental, the remainder 30 days prior to rental.
To hold a reservation we require a deposit of $500 which becomes your security deposit as you pay the rental fees.
9% Maine Lodging Tax applies to all rentals of less than 30 days.
Guests must bring their own bed linens and towels.
We close down for the Winter but if you are interested in a seasonal rental, please let us know.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties