Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Located on the Folly River, 6 Blocks to the Atlantic Ocean

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 1,336 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

2BR/2½BA Condo

Located on the Folly River six blocks from the Atlantic Ocean. Living room / dining room combo with wet bar and half bath on first floor with enclosed deck overlooking the river. Two bedrooms and two baths on the second floor with enclosed deck off of master bedroom overlooking the river.

Amenities: Fireplace & fully equipped kitchen. Central heat and air, ceiling fans, and washer / dryer combination. 2 televisions, microwave, direct TV, grill, etc.

Activities: Complex has swimming pool, tennis court, club house and marina.

Beach is within walking distance.

More Details

Glenda Hauge
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2018

About Glenda Hauge

As of June this year I have been renting this condo out for 15 years now and have enjoyed meeting people from over the country.

Glenda Hauge purchased this condo in 2001

Why Glenda Hauge chose Folly Beach

Condo is located on the Folly River six blocks from the Atlantic Ocean so it is within walking distance to the beach. Also my rates are much lower than other units in

Mariners Cay. I bought this property for my son but sadly he passed away six years ago. He stayed there doing the winter months and I rented it out spring, summer

and the first part of fall. I now have someone who rents it during the winter months.


Folly Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Floor Area:
  • 1336 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • fax
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Half Bath - toilet
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • master - 1 king
    2nd - 1 queen , 1 double
  • 2 bedrooms King size in master bedroom, queen in other bedroom and foldaway double bed.
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Bicycles
  • Gated Community
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing


Very Good! 4/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
20% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
10% Complete
Located on the Folly River, 6 Blocks to the Atlantic Ocean
average rating of 4.034483 based on 29 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Mariner's cay is a wonderful community to stay in and Glenda is a sweet host! The property is an upper condo so there are stairs. Walking in, there is a half bath and just past it is a stocked kitchen and washer/dryer. The dining room and living room are decorated so that you feel at home. Out from the living room there is a wonderful screen porch where we saw dolphins playing. Upstairs has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, the master bed was extremely comfortable. The condo had starter items and plenty of towels. The only thing this place could use is a deep cleaning but whose house couldn't. Also beware booking thru VRBO, hackers tried to scam me upon booking by requesting an Amazon gift card but I called Glenda and she explained how she wanted payment. I will definitely check Glenda's rental for vacancy first before I book another Folly rental. Staying in this very reasonably priced, centrally located condo and having such a sweet host makes a vacation so enjoyable! Thank you Glenda!

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy..close to everything...very comfortable...

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed the gated location, the size of the facility, had lots of room, and we were very comfortable...we recommend this place to everybody...

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for your good review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Condo was very nice! View from the balcony of the master bedroom and off the living room was great!

  • 5 of 5

Condo was very nice. Very nice area. Convenient to both downtown Charleston, Folly Beach, James Island and much more. Pool area is very easily accessible from the condo. We watched the dolphins my husband even spotted a sea lion (at least thats what the downstairs neighbors said it was). Will definitely stay again if or when we return to Charleston. The owner was very nice and easy to deal with.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for the nice review. Look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Anderson, South Carolina

Quiet place, great pool, nice owner, rental needs work

  • 3 of 5

I've waited over a year and a half before writing my review. I decided originally that I wouldn't leave any feedback. I now realize it is necessary since I based my vacation here on prior reviews. The reviews were mixed. My husband and I agreed that the negative reviews were of those who were hard to please. On the first day, I contacted the owner and told her how upset I was that the upstairs was dirty. Popcorn and bags of chips were underneath the beds in the guest room. Both large pictures above the beds had cracked glass, one missing a chunk. Thankfully my child wasn't tall enough to reach it and cut himself. I noticed what smelled like mold coming from that area or the a/c unit area beside it. I could never confirm my suspicion though. I did worry about leaving my two year old near something that I couldn't pinpoint. Feeling uneasy and looking forward to a great week, I spent my first day cleaning the upstairs myself. Washed all bedding, vacuumed everything, etc. (while being 8 months pregnant). Glenda was quick to respond and apologized saying she was having some health issues and wasn't able to deep clean as she had hoped. Working full time in a pharmacy, I sympathized with her as I do with many of my patients. She immediately refunded me on my cleaning fee. The layout of the condo is nice and the balcony on the main level was very inviting. We would love to stay here again, but only if the unit has been inspected/cleared of any possible mold and cleaned well.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


  • 1 of 5

VERY DIRTY and Run down. The sheets had hair and black particles were on mattress pad. Comforters were stuffed in closets. All appliance and counters were dirty. Pots were all scratched making unsafe for cooking. Stairs are creaking and molding is parting from sheet rock. The ceiling in dining room was leaking water and ceiling was falling down on table. The air vent in LR was dripping water down on the couch. Tubs were dirty, with hair around spouts. Electrical wires just all exposed behind TV cabinet. I had to get my young grandchildren out of this situation. Owner notified however she hung up on me 5 times. We left on the 3rd. The owner wrote me an email and told me she could have rented this to someone else instead of me????? The onsite maintenance man came in and said he has dealt with many issues on this place before however could not help me or get involved.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest wrote a complaint to Homeaway with the same information on it and when I answered it the complaint was closed. I have been renting this condo out for 14 years now and have had four complaints out of all the people who have stayed there. I have a business license with Folly Beach, Charleston and South Carolina. So far this year I have had 23 guests of which 4 were returned customers who rent from me every year. None of these guests had a problem with honoring the contract and stayed the full time which was agreed in the contract.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Ideal but needs professional cleaning

  • 3 of 5

The condo had a great setup and Glenda is the perfect hostess. However, whenever we entered the condo, night or day, it had a horrible odor. The very first night, I went out and purchased bathroom cleaner, Lysol, Clorox cleanup, and febreeze. After doing a deep clean, the odor was still there, like an overwhelming scent of urine. Again, Glenda is amazing to work with, but the bathrooms were very dirty when we arrived, there was sand all over the foyer entering the condo, a used bathroom towel and bathing suit were hanging in the guest bathroom.... The sheets, pillows and towels were clean. The condo is well-equipped. But, please hire professional cleaners to do a deep clean after each renter. C. Williams

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I guess I do not see what some people see. I was in the guest bathroom and did not see a dirty towel and bathing suit. Nor did I notice any bad scent. The foyer was swept of the sand.I will be glad to hire a professional to do a deep clean but my guests must realize that they are the ones paying for the professional cleaners which cost anywhere from $100.00 up and only four hours to work with. If Carol did some cleaning it saved her some money in place of me hiring a professional for her to pay for it. Also I only rent by the week in the summertime. I reduced her rent because she only wanted to stay six days by $110.00 when after I sent the contract I had other people who wanted to stay the week and might not have complained on the internet provider which does hurt my business. She stayed at my condo for six nights with a total of four people costing her 127.50 a night without the taxes. The condo is on a river within walking distance of the ocean. She did not leave at the 10:00am check out time as it was about 30 minutes after I arrived before she finally left. Also check in time is 2:00pm and she arrived closer to 8:00pm. If I was so easy to work with why was any problems she had spoken with me and not put on the internet. Thanks. Glenda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Charleston municipal

No boats, jet ski, or motorcycles are allowed on the property.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $85
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 14.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.