Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Log Cabin-Trout Stocked Creek on 23 Acres Forest. Book 6 nts 7th free

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Cabin ,2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Carolina Mountains are unlike any other.Whether you're looking for a relaxing vacation or an adventurous one, this beautiful cabin covers it all. Stay at this secluded mountain retreat with a trout-filled creek snuggled in the Western North Carolina Smokey Mountains in Bryson City.

Log cabin with 2 bedrooms downstairs with queen beds in each and a loft upstairs that has a full bed and two twins , 2 baths (one upstairs and one downstairs) on 23 acres with a rushing creek that borders the U.S. Forest Service. You'll love the huge rock fireplace, wood floors, majestic woodwork throughout, cathedral ceiling, gourmet kitchen, french doors open to the large deck. On warm days, enjoy the cool breeze from the swing on the covered porch that is outfitted with ceiling fans. Savor the comfort of a rocking chair with a cup of coffee or tea, while experiencing the serenity of the sound of the rushing creek from the large open deck.

Test your luck with a fishing pole in the trout stocked creek. Hike the forest filled 23 acres, or hike less than a mile down the road to the waterfalls. The kids will enjoy their hours of freedom exploring the forest, playing hide and seek and wading through the creek.

When ready to relax, snuggle up in front of the huge hand-crafted, stone fireplace and enjoy the view through the double french doors. Our cabin is secluded and remains free of cable and outside interferences to interupt your vacation. The kids will enjoy the foosball table and assorited games in the spacious loft which contains a full size bed and two twin beds. After a day of playing in the creek, enjoy the outdoor fire pit while roasting marshmallows. Our cabin is outfitted for those who want a mountain side retreat or an adventure filled destination.

We are centrally located for ALL of the Smokey Mountain activities!!

Just a few minutes away from Bryson City you can rent a tube for a couple of bucks and exciting ride down Deep Creek.

Take a ride on the Smoky Mountain Railroad Train through tunnels carved out of mountains to the Nantahala Gorge for white water rafting or kayaking and enjoy lunch or dinner overlooking the Nantahala Gorge.

Other excursions include Day Out with Thomas the Tank, Polar Express, Mystery Dinner Theater Train and other themed events.

Shop on an old -timey main street with coffee shops & country stores.

In the Area!

Tsali- World class mountain biking- 30 mins

Nantahala River is just 20 mins. down the road and is one of the nation's most popular white-water rafting & kayaking areas in the South East. rom Class I to Class V rapids, offers great options for kayak instruction for all skill levels.

Strike it rich and pan for gold!

Lake Fontana- fishing, swiming, skiing, go boating, tubing, rafting and kayaking

Cherokee Indian Reservation - experience the rich cultural heritage of the Cherokee Indians and Harrah’s Casino

Ashville - Biltmore House -Old Vanderbilt Mansion - just 1 hour away

Pigeon Forge, Gatlinburg, Tennessee and Dollywood


* Check-In after 3:00 pm and Check-Out by 10:00 am.

* Signed Rental Agreement Required

* No smoking

* No pets

Keywords: Mountain Cabin

More Details

Alarka Creek Mountain Cabin
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

About Alarka Creek Mountain Cabin

Growing up in Florida, my family loved our vacations to the mountains of North Carolina. Once I married,my husband and kids continued the tradition and have made more wonderful memories of our own. We vacationed in many places in North Carolina until we visited a friend in Bryson City and fell in love with it. We bought the perfect piece of property with a creek and camped on it for a few years until we built our cabin. Just walking along the creek listening and enjoying nature is a gift. We enjoy having so many things to do in one area. We love the small town feel and yet so close to Cherokee, Smokey Mountains, Blue Ridge parkway, Asheville, Nantahala George, too many to list. We are sure you will love it as much as we do.

Alarka Creek Mountain Cabin purchased this cabin in 2004

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have new beautiful log queen beds and a new leather couch for your enjoyment!
Apr 2015
  • 1 of 3


Bryson City Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 1 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single
  • Downstairs are two bedrooms with a Queen Bed in each, upstairs in the loft is a full bed and twoTwin beds
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Enjoy the quiet setting, beautiful living area with wood burning fireplace. Fantastic porch with swing, seating, picnic table to melt the stress away.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Beautiful Log Cabin-Trout Stocked Creek on 23 Acres Forest. Book 6 nts 7th free
average rating of 4.3428574 based on 38 reviews
Baton Rouge Louisiana

Nice Experience

  • 4 of 5

There were three of us for a three night stay on the last weekend of October (2016).

We simply enjoyed our stay. We had excursions planned for half of the day Saturday then Sunday, but the rest of the time was spent at the cabin. It was quiet peaceful and very relaxing. We hiked up the mountain behind the cabin, we had a fire outside, we relaxed in the living room, we walked the little creek and we slept very well. I’ve already referred this spot to friends.

The area at this time of the year is beautiful! The colors of the trees is a sight to see, even at this cabin. The wifi was nice to have since cell coverage was bad. We cooked outside, on the stove, in the oven and washed our close.

The place was clean and nearly everything worked. The only issue is the upstairs tub, the shower nob did not allow the tub to be used as a shower, I think it’s broken. But, if that’s my only complaint I did well.

FYI, this cabin is on the northwest side of one of the Cowee mountains about an elevation of 3000 feet. The Alarka mountains are west of the cabin. The drive up to the cabin is very scenic (if you aren’t driving) and there is a shortcut (Deep Gap Road) that will save you about five minutes. Clingman’s dome is about an hour away driving the speed limit early in the morning.

We’ll be back.

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Wonderful vacation stay!

  • 5 of 5

Completely enjoyed our time at this cabin. It was well kept and clean. The road to the cabin is quite steep at one point but not too bad that a SUV could make it. Great memories had by my family and lots of room.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Our family had a wonderful time...Great cabin would love to go back and rent it again !

  • 5 of 5

We visited and ate in Byrson City, had a picnic on Deep Creek. Rode to the Nantahala Gorge and ate at Rivers End and to Fontana Dam. Saturday we rode the Train to the Pumpkin Patch which we all loved ! Good shopping and wonderful coffee shops. Had a wonderful time ,we come up every year in October, the leaves were turning colors it was a beautiful time to visit !

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Great peaceful location!

  • 4 of 5

Our 3 families really enjoyed our stay at Alarka cabin . Very peaceful location, you could hear the stream while sitting out by the campfire. Whitewater rafting , deep creek tubing and picnicking were all within 30 min. Cherokee about 45 min away . A lot to do and beautiful place!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Unpleasant erperience

  • 1 of 5

We arrived to find the property with dirty floors and overall not what we expected. I would not personally recommend this property to anyone. It has been over 30 days and we still have not received our deposit back. I spoke with the owner about the cleanliness of the property and she said the stove top was cracked its possible but not by my family. We only stayed there 2 of the 3 nights as we were in the mountains to take our daughter to enroll in college. We did not even use the stove as we did absolutely no cooking. Bad experience.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure talking with you. Please know that we have taken action to assure our guest are pleased with their stay at the cabin. We like to remind our guest that the security deposits are refunded to the same account the reservation was made under.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


  • 1 of 5

Our family has vacationed in the Bryson City area many times. This was our first, and and will be our last, time staying at this particular property. While the Alarka Creek cabin has many desirable features, there is room for improvement, and the owner's description on the VRBO website is misleading in some areas.

I received the exact address and directions from the owner 15 days prior to our arrival, although I booked the rental over three months in advance. “Just a few minutes away from Bryson City” – subject to interpretation. While the drive from Hwy 74 to the cabin on Alarka Road is very scenic, it is also very twisty and narrow in places, which is to be expected – you are in the mountains. I have lived in the NC Mountains and I am an experienced driver. In planning your day, I suggest you allow a minimum of 20 minutes to reach the juncture of Alarka Road and Hwy 74 from the cabin.

Bring a kitchen chair if there are more than five in your party. The table seats six, but there are only five chairs. (Look at picture number 6, and read previous reviews).

“Gourmet Kitchen” – subject to interpretation. I would suggest you bring utensils if you do not want to run the dishwasher after every meal. There is no disposal in the kitchen sink.

The upstairs loft area sleeps up to four people, yet the bathroom has no fan.

Under the heading of “Location Type", it says “Mountain View”, and “Waterfront”. There is a nice view of the mountain opposite the cabin, and the property is bordered by a short section of Alarka Creek. But you cannot see the creek from the cabin; it is close by and you can indeed hear it.

If you have young children, advise them not to lean on the railing in the loft where the foosball table is located. Several bannisters are loose. The same is true of the railings on some of the deck stairs. Some of the rocking chairs on the deck need repair, use with caution.

The owner advises that you should use their directions, and not to rely on GPS. I would recommend that you do use GPS, which directed me to turn onto Deep Gap Road from Alarka Road. Deep Gap Road reconnects with Alarka Road near the cabin. This route will avoid a single lane section of Alarka Road.

Lastly, although I have rented many vacation properties and have never felt the need to do so before, I would advise you to have the caretaker meet you upon arrival, do a walk through, photograph and document any existing damage.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your ideas on ways to better accommodate our guest. We were very disappointed to find the damaged stove top after your stay. It was unfortunate we found it necessary to retain your security deposit to cover the damage. Our guests are responsible for any serious damage caused during their stay. We take pride in offering a beautiful, clean and relaxing place to vacation .
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Bryson City Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jul 9 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Deposit $250

10% military discount-

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties