Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

LABOR DAY SPECIAL - RENT 3 NIGHTS & GET 4TH FOR FREE! walk to beach, restaurants

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 180 nights

Overview

About the property

Spacious, 4 levels, large yard, close to beach, 4 BR + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

This delightful, four-bedroom/three-bath beach home is a fabulous group or family vacation rental! Light, airy, and beautifully decorated, it boasts 2 living rooms and four separate living levels for ample privacy. Perfect for 2 families!

Rental periods are very flexible, with 2 and 3 day weekends offered throughout the season and mid-week 4 and 5 night family getaways. NOTE THAT THERE ARE NO SATURDAY CHECK INS OR CHECK OUTS, allowing you to beat the Saturday traffic. Weekends must include a Friday and a Saturday night stay at $1000 per night, with additional nights available at the midweek rate of $400/night.

The house has a modern, well-appointed kitchen and three refrigerators on various levels -- one small plus two apartment-size. There is off-street parking for four cars.

The house is set back from the street, and has a lovely private yard with a large picnic table and an additional covered, outdoor area. Dine outside under the stars or inside. There is comfortable seating for ten guests both inside and out.

Select your own entertainment from the seven TVs -- all with VCRs! There are two living rooms -- one with a wet bar -- for added privacy and great entertaining options.

Each of the four bedrooms has a either a full or queen-size bed; and one of the living rooms has a queen-size sleep sofa. The bedrooms are located on three separate floors for added privacy.

It's just a short walk to the lovely beach (1.5 blocks). Great local shops and restaurants are also just a short walk away.

Watersport options include water-skiing, sailing, wind-surfing, fishing, and jet-skiing. Golf, tennis, and other recreational options are nearby.

Amenities: Ceiling-Fans

Heating

Patio-Stone/Concrete

Outdoor-Grill-Charcoal

Dishwasher

Microwave

Refrigerator-Mini-Size

Oven

Stove-Top-Burners

Toaster

Coffee-Maker

Blender

Iron

Ironing-Board

Washer

Dryer

TV+Cable

VCR

Phone

Outdoor-Shower

Automobile-Optional

Parking-Off-Street

Central-Air-Conditioning

Area: BR Groceries

Restaurants

Outlet-Shopping

Craft-Shopping

Laundromat

Marina

Beaches

Beachcombing

Surfing

Swimming

Boating

Sailing

Yachting

Water-Skiing

Wind-Surfing

Jet-Skiing

Deep Sea-Fishing

Surf-Fishing

Sound/Bay-Fishing

Golfing

Tennis

Bicycling/Biking

Bird-Watching

Hiking

Scenic-Drives

Ocean

Bay/Sound

Public-Library

Cinemas

Churches

Synagogues

ATM/Bank

Medical-Services

Hospital

Amusement-Parks

Water-Parks

Sight-Seeing

Babysitting

More Details

Owner
Phyllis Martin
Member since: 2000
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

About Phyllis Martin

I've been coming to Dewey beach for over 30 years and love it! After sharing a house with a great group of friends for many years, I purchased my own a few years ago. There is always so much gong on in Dewey and Rehoboth, both in the summer and in the off season when the area hosts numerous festivals such as the Jazz Festival, the Sea Witch Festival,the Film Festival, and the Greyhounds Reach the Beach Weekend to name just a few. The beach is fabulous (and welcomes pets before 9 AM and after 5 PM), casual spots such as the Starboard, Ed's chicken, numerous other Dewey attractions abound, and fine dining can be found at countless Rehoboth locations. It's great for groups of friends getting together and for families that want to be near the beach, shops, and restaurants yet far enough away from the nightlife for quiet relaxation. Dewey truly is :the best of both worlds'.

Phyllis Martin purchased this house in 2007

Why Phyllis Martin chose Dewey Beach

The house is in the heart of everything! It's a short walk to a great beach where we can take our dogs in the mornings and evenings, walk to Ed's chicken (a must for visitors to Dewey), the Starboard, shops, and other restaurants. The nearby Jolly Trolley is a great way to enjoy Rehoboth without the hassle of driving and parking. It's also a pleasant, though longer, walk, bike, or jog into Rehoboth. We also liked the yard and the set back location near the end of the block -- quieter, yet near everything.

What makes this house unique

Quiet location, large private yard, short walk to beach and key locations such as the Starboard, Ed's Chicken & Crabs, Jolley Trolley to Rehoboth. Separate suite with den/bedroom/bathroom and loft make it perfect for a group, 2 families to share, or a family with parents or in-laws wanting a bit of privacy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful time and have already begun discussing next summer.
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 3

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Salisbury, MD
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Starboard
Nearest Ferry
9 Miles
LEWES/CAPE MAY
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
ROUTE 1
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Dewey
Car: not necessary

Fabulous location! Tucked away, yet walk to everything --- beach, shops, restaurants, trolley to Rehoboth!!

Amenities

Rehoboth by the Sea House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , off Den
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , off living room, serves ground floor bedroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Shared by 2 top floor bedrooms
  • Also outside shower!
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 child bed , Ground floor
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , top floor
    Bedroom 6 - 3 twin/ single , Low-ceilnged Loft, Loft Ladder, older children/adults only
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Den w/ Sectional Comfortable Sleep Sofa
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , top floor, skylight, shares bath with Bedroom 2
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , top floor, skylight, shares bath with bedroom 3
  • 6 sleeping areas. Bedrooms have 1 Queen and 3 Full size beds. There is also a Den with sectional sleep sofa and ladder to sleeping loft with 3 singles for overflow sleeping.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 9 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Owner very flexible with dates. 2 and 3 day weekend rentals, 3, 4, and 5 day mid week rentals at discounted prices, groups 25 and under OK with co-signing parent.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

42% Complete
36% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
10% Complete
LABOR DAY SPECIAL - RENT 3 NIGHTS & GET 4TH FOR FREE! walk to beach, restaurants
average rating of 3.9473684 based on 22 reviews
Arlington, Virginia
5

Perfect Memorial Day Beach Weekend

  • 5 of 5

This house was everything we could have asked for and was a perfect fit for 8 guys. The house was spacious and suited our needs very well, and the backyard patio area was perfect for grilling up some food and getting your second wind. In terms of location, hard to beat this spot. 2 blocks from Starboards and 5 blocks from North Beach. The owner, Phyllis, was extremely helping setting everything up and was very responsive with any questions or concerns. Overall, great experience and we will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great Location, Nice Town, Ho Hum House

  • 3 of 5

This rental sleeps many people and is available on a nightly basis, rare for the Jersey/Delaware shore. Phyllis was very easy to communicate with and gave clear directions. The description is basically accurate.

The house has no large dining space, so it is not well suited to an extended family. It has a 1970s vibe. If you are looking for updated elegance, this is not the place for you. It has no views of anything other than driveway. Plus, be aware you need to bring your own sheets and towels. Apparently this is the norm at the Shore, but for anyone coming from elsewhere, it will be a rude surprise.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

The property was run down and dirty.

  • 2 of 5

The overall house was run down. I had to reclean the property when I got there. The box springs were stained and matressess very old.The upstairs area was better. The location was close to beach but had to cross very busy 4 laned road to get there.Although I was not very happy with the property, the owner responded to my concerns quickly and tried to remedy them.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We try very hard to meet the needs of our guests and apologize for any inconvenience and any cleaning issues. Most of our guests have found the property more than satisfactory and we have had several return clients. When you called regarding a couple of items the cleaners had overlooked, we offered to send them back in, and they were ready to return immediately given your OK. We appreciate your willingness to deal with the issues yourself rather than have them return, but they would have gladly come back. We have discussed the items you mentioned with them and they have assured us that they will not be overlooked again. Although Ocean Highway must be crossed to get to the beach, the crossing is at a controlled intersection and the Dewey police do an excellent job in ensuring that speed limits are observed and in enforcing traffic rules to make the crossing safe.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fit our needs and budget!

  • 4 of 5

The house was perfect for a girl's weekend getaway. Plenty of space for all ten of us to sleep and hangout. Owner was very accommodating and easy to work with!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great choice!

  • 5 of 5

Me and my friends group stayed for This last labor day weekend. I spend months looking for the best option and we all have zero regrets on the decision. The house is great, comfortable and very spacious. We're all outgoing people and everything from the bars to the restaurants was really close. The backyard space is great and no doubt is was the best parking considering we were in 10 ppl. A plus is how Phyllis is such a delight to deal with. EXTRA RECOMMEND and can't wait for next summer!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bayside, New York, USA
4

Perfect location for Dewey!

  • 4 of 5

Nice house and perfect location in Dewey! We even had bad weather one day and made fun in the house before heading out! Walkable to the fun bars in the area! Owner easy to work with!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $250
Cleaning $125
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 3.0%

There are no Saturday check-ins or check-outs. Weekend stays have a minimum 2-night Fri/Sat stay; holiday weekends have a 3 night minimum Fri/Sat/Sun stay, mid-week stays have a 3 night minimum. Well behaved dogs on prescription flea control medication considered; $250 pet fee
Winter rental rate does not include utilities.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.