Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 2,326 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

3-5 minute walk to beach. EZ walk to beautiful Marina/ Cape Cod Village.

Lovely Row home in Oceanside's newer area. Three story home has two bedrooms plus an office/loft. Enjoy the ocean breezes from either the patio or roof top balcony (3rd story). The home is located in the million dollar row homes area recently built close to the ocean. Walk to downtown Oceanside where you'll find several fine dining and casual restaurants. Also live theatre productions, surf museum, Museum of Art, Farmer's Market every Thursday and more. Enjoy the longest wooden pier on the west coast: Oceanside Pier, Oceanside's Marina, Cape Cod Village. Catch a half day fishing boat or enjoy the quaint little shops by water's edge. 10 minutes to LEGOLAND; 35 minutes to Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Old Town and Gas Lamp Quarters. Disneyland is an hour away. One and a half hour North to Los Angeles and Hollywood.

Property Manager
Lillian Shine
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 22, 2018

About Lillian Shine

My name is Lillian Shine and I have been managing this row home for the owners since 2011. I have been managing properties for over 30 years in this area.

Lillian Shine purchased this house in 2011

Why Lillian Shine chose Townsite

This property is in a great location to enjoy all that beautiful North San Diego County has to offer. Restaurants, the longest wooden Pier on the West Coast, long sandy beaches, Oceanside's beautiful Marina, Cape Cod Village, Movie Theatres, Live Theatre, Oceanside Museum of Art, Surf Museum and more are all a short walk away. Enjoy Farmer's Market every Thursday.

The train runs behind the home and blows it's horn. Most guests get used to it after a few times. We are working on getting Santa Fe Railroad to minimize the horn blowing. If you can deal with the train, you'll have a wonderful home and location for your beach visit. Please also note: our home does NOT have an air conditioning unit. We do have fans.

What makes this house unique

3 - 5 minute walk to beautiful Pacific Ocean. The train runs behind the home and blows it's horn. Most guests get used to it after a few times. We are working on getting Santa Fe Railroad to minimize the horn blowing. If you can deal with the train, you'll have a wonderful home and location for your beach visit. Please also note: our home does NOT have an air conditioning unit. We do have fans.


Townsite House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Building Type:
  • house
  • Catering available
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2326 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , guest powder room on first floor has toilet and sink
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Master suite dressing area has double sinks
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , double sinks
  • There is a powder room on the main floor/ two full baths on second floor.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single
    LOFT AREA - 2 twin/ single , Loft area has half open wall and no door
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (4), Large sofa in living room, large sofa in family room.
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 3 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Two blocks to beach. We strive to provide a clean, fresh, vacation home for your enjoyment. Walk to Marina and Cape Cod Village. Ideal location for Southern California Vacation. Less than an hour to Disneyland, Knott's Adventure Park, Queen Mary and Acquarium of the Pacific. 35 minutes to San Diego Zoo, Wild Animal Park, Downtown San Diego, 10 minutes to Lego Land. Spacious home with large living room, large dining room, large kitchen/family room combo, huge master suite with soaking tub, loft area with trundle twin beds, computer desk. King Bed in Master Suite. Twin Beds in 2nd bedroom.


3.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

25% Complete
37% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
average rating of 3.625 based on 8 reviews

Great home and Great location

  • 5 of 5

We had the best time at this beautiful, spacious home just a couple of blocks to the beach. Lillian was very accommodating and made sure everything was just perfect for our family. The train was not really a bother...we became used to it and our children loved seeing it. The roof top deck was so enjoyable with tables and chairs and umbrella. We could see the ocean slightly and the ocean air is wonderful. We will surely be back to this wonderful rental.

R.and G.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking such good care of our home. We hope you will come back. You are welcome anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice location and access. Private

  • 4 of 5

Overall the condo needs some work. Cheap blinds fall apart when trying to open and the plumbing fixtures were in need of repair. Master bath sink faucet fell apart in my hand and the kitchen sink was ready to break. All construction quality. Was disappointed that there were no basic spices or sugar or anything. I even had to buy dish soap.

Nice location and would rent again.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Medford, OR

Great Location 3 minute walk to the beach.

  • 4 of 5

We will definitely return to this home for our annual family vacation back to Oceanside. Very clean and well stocked home. Walking distance to countless opportunities, great restaurants, retail shops and everything you need for the beach. A must morning walk to a Quaint pastry shop with great customer service, "Petite Madeline's" pastries are out of this world. After dinner head to Davinas Cabo grill, best drinks west of Vegas.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having you and your family here in Oceanside. Thank you Tyson. We hope to see you again. All the best.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Don't Stay Here

  • 1 of 5

Upon arrival we thought we'd be happy with this house. We were wrong. It was on the newer side, large, clean, and only a few blocks from the beach which are the things that made me choose this house to begin with. Problem #1) The home is situated 25 yards from the train tracks! VERY ACTIVE TRAIN TRACKS that run all day and ALL NIGHT while BLARING the horn right outside the bedroom windows making it impossible to sleep- even while sleeping with boxfans and earplugs in (which we went out and bought first thing the next morning). This relates to problem #2) There is no air conditioner- meaning we had to sleep with the windows wide open making the train noise even more unbearable. These are problems indeed, however nothing compared to Problem #3) The home was broken into in the middle of the night and we were burglarized. The sliding glass door does not latch & lock properly and when I woke up in the morning and came downstairs it was completely wide open and our things were stolen. We didn't hear a thing because we all had earplugs in and boxfans going! I filed a police report and when the police officer arrived he informed us that the area of the home is crime ridden with transients, drugs, and gangs, which is quite apparent when you look around. Needless to say, we did not have a pleasant experience at this house. It was supposed to be a relaxing vacation in sunny San Diego, and it turned out to be nightmare. I guess I can't call it a nightmare, because that insinuates you are asleep... and as you have read- between the train noise and wondering if we were going to get burglarized again- we did not sleep. I hope this review helps you with your decision. I did not read the reviews on this property, I wish I would have- I surely wouldn't have stayed here.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our other guests have been happy with our home. . We did everything possible to satisfy this guest and he still felt a need to punish us by writing the review he did. We do not advertise that we have air conditioning, because we don't. This guest did not research our amenities thoroughly. The train tracks run along the coast of Oceanside and Carlsbad. Other vacation homes have the same issue. All the multi-million dollar homes along the coast of Oceanside have the same issue. The train tracks! Oceanside is working on a plan along with Santa Fe Railroad to eliminate the train whistles but can't say for sure when they will have that completed. We are very disappointed that this guest felt he had to write a bad review. He did mention our home is clean and close to the beach. We strive to make staying at our home a wonderful experience for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Very Nice Home

  • 4 of 5

The property was very nice and clean and they also had a welcome basket full of goodies. Unfortunately we stayed while having a heat wave and with no AC the first night was uncomfortable. We ended up going to the store and buying fans. Thankfully once I let the owner know they were nice enough to drop off 4 fans the very next morning. I thought that was very considerate of them. I'm sure once the heat lets up and the breeze starts again an AC will not be needed. The location is great it is within walking distance to downtown which has a lot of coffee shops, restaurants, beaches, movie theater etc. The ONLY downfall with the home is that it is located right in front of the Train Station. The train runs all night and they blow their horn every time it leaves the station. Its very loud. My 4 year old was scared at first and kept covering her ears when she knew it was coming. That was the ONLY downfall. Other than that I would recommend this property. The price is very fair and again it is a very nice home parking is easy and convenient.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Place was great BUT the train is in your backyard.

  • 3 of 5

Train made it hard to sleep. The first night we all woke every time it passed by, every hour! Had to by ear plugs.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Palomar Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
333 Restaurant Ocean View by the Pier (beautiful)
Nearest Ferry
35 Miles
Coronado Ferry
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Oceanside Municipal Golf Course
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
333 - Ocean View - great atmosphere
Nearest Ski
125 Miles
Big Bear Mountain
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Oceanside Long Sandy Beach
Car: recommended

Great location - 10 minutes to Legoland, 30 minutes to Sea World, 60 minutes to Disneyland. . Google the location. Two blocks to beach. This home is surrounded by million dollar newer homes two blocks to the beach.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $195
Damage Insurance $79
Damage Deposit $500

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties