Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Pristene lakefront property - charming, quiet, and rustic for nature lovers.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 1/2 bathrooms that can accomodate 12 people

Our lakefront property slopes down to the lake, and has a private dock for fishing & boating.It is nestled between three towns - Hinesburg, Bristol & Vergennes. Breathtaking sunsets on the lake are our major attraction all four seasons. Nature and bird watching are few of the highlights of our vacation rental.

Winter: Winter activities on Lake Cedar include ice fishing, skating, snow shoeing, cross country skiing, snowmobiling sledding and hiking. It is a winter wonderland! Nearby ski resorts for alpine skiing include Mad River Glen, Sugarbush, Stowe and Bolton.

Fall: Spectacular and breathtaking foliage with amazing shades of red, orange and yellow attracts folks from all other states and around the world. Other fall activities include fishing, boating, hiking,and apple picking at closeby Norris farm.

Spring / Summer: Paradise on Lake Cedar truly becomes a nature lover's paradise in spring and summer and comes alive with many species of birds, fish, insects and animals. Swimming, boating, fishing, hiking and watching spectacular sunsets on the lake are some of the many activities around this time of year.

More Details

Owner
Shalini Paul
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, Tamil
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 25, 2017

About Shalini Paul

My name is Shalini Paul and my family has owned this property since 1991. We decided to move to New Jersey, but retained the property as a yearly rental all these years. Everyone suggested that it is a beautiful spot for a vacation. My husband and I are both working in the financial industry in NJ, and like to come up on weekends to enjoy the property.

Shalini Paul purchased this house in 1991

Why Shalini Paul chose Monkton

We chose this location because of the property being situated on the lake, and its beautiful surroundings.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Excellent house"



Stayed at this house for a week with the family and could have quite happily stayed for longer.The house is as described and is well equipped.The facilities outside are excellent too with two boats and a lovely dock to sit and watch sunrise/sunsets from aswell as the picnic table and swing bench.

This house is within easy reach of many attractions in Vermont and New York State.

Would definately stay again
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Monkton House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • 1 master bathroom, 1 full bathroom attached to Green bedroom, half bathroom attached to Red & Yellow rooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 (Red) - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 (Blue) - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 3 (Green) - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 (Yellow) - 2 twin/ single , Bunk bed
  • 4 extra rollaway cots are also available.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Pedal Boat
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • 9 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Lakefront, with lake View.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

45% Complete
33% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
14% Complete
Pristene lakefront property - charming, quiet, and rustic for nature lovers.
average rating of 3.9285715 based on 43 reviews
Peabody
1

Avoid this rat infested filthy house

  • 1 of 5

This filthy mice & centipedes infested house had trash piled all around it, and things were much worse inside the house. They have insect repellents in every room, but there were centipedes and mouse droppings everywhere inside the house. Our food left in the kitchen was eaten and ruined by mice at night. Couches in the living room were disgusting and looked like they were picked up from road side. If the mice, spiders and centipedes inside the house won’t terrify you, the bare electrical wires were hanging from the ceiling will.

Boats are had holes in them, and life jackets are disgusting to touch. The swamp is not swimmable, but you can see sun fish from the dock. They charge you hundreds of dollars for cleaning the house, but this house has never been cleaned. The owner is only interested in taking your money, not providing you a clean and safe house. All the positive ratings for this house are fake. This house is uninhabitable for humans, avoid it at any cost.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest, Roshin, was our worst guest ever per our property manager and cleaning crew that we had to retain a portion of the security deposit, and hope no other owner would have to go through this experience- he misused and abused our personal belongings and our personal property - they didn't obey that the fact the property was supposed to have been left "As Is Condition" - just a few to mention like furniture moved around, into different rooms. Board games all mixed up, cots left out, curtain torn down and had to be fixed, took down Christmas and Halloween boxes and lots more. Thank you, Owner.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rochester, NY
5

Great house and property

  • 5 of 5

The house had everything we needed. It sleeps a great number of people and is spacious and comfortable. The outside yard is great too - unfortunately we weren't able to take more advantage of the water activities due to rain. I hope to return at some point in the future!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Good place to be :-)

  • 5 of 5

Good place to be :-)

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mansi, Thank you for your review. You can come back anytime to our place. Thank you for choosing "Paradise on Cedar Lake" for your vacation need. Regards, Shalini (Owner)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lots of room

  • 3 of 5

Was big enough for my family

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great outside and indoor space. Stunning sunsets.

  • 5 of 5

The house was above and beyond. It was fully furnished with bath products, all linens, xtra cots, all paper products. The house was extremely spacious with wonderful views of the lake. We didn't swim or boat but there was that option. The screened in porch was the highlight for evenings. It provided an outside space with wonderful views without the bugs. I would rent this house again! The slope to the water was a bit steep so bring good sneakers and you will be okay! I can only imagine the foliage is stunning in the fall.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, clean and tranquil

  • 5 of 5

Loved the house. It was clean and up to date. Quite and peaceful. The watercraft needs repair. All around great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Monkton is nestled between the towns of Hinesburg, Vergennes, and Bristol.

Other Activities: Shopping, Boating

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Charges $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

50% of total payment due at time of booking + remainder due 30 days prior to occupancy.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties