check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

THE ORIGINAL SUWANNEE RIVER HIDEAWAY! Where the River Runs Wide & Deep!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Bunk Room, 2 Baths. MAX GUESTS 4.

CALENDAR ON WEBSITE IS UP-TO-DATE! CHECK OUR WINTER SPECIAL!

email suwannee_river at att.net

This Modern Suwannee Riverfront home has 2 bedrooms and 2 baths and sleeps 4 MAX; is 45 minutes from Gainesville, and is very close to 2 springs. It has awesome river views and a 2-level river deck with floating dock. It is located in the country yet close to town. All water activities are possible, including motor boating, jet skiing, canoeing and kayaking. Bring your watercraft, launch at the nearby ramp and tie up at our floating dock, or use one of our kayak or canoe. Go snorkeling in 72 degree water at nearby Pot Hole Spring or Rock Bluff Spring. And don’t forget Bob’s Place, a water park close by. The many activities available here should appeal to an active family with teenagers.

The quiet wooded location will also make for a perfect couple's getaway. It is NOT recommended for very young children (toddlers) or a party crowd.

Star watching from the dock is amazing. Wildlife in the area includes deer, owls, turkey, numerous birds and an occasional jumping sturgeon.

The house has a great room with fireplace and a modern kitchen. The master bedroom has a king bed, Jacuzzi tub and oversized shower with 2 shower heads. The 2 riverside porches have great views.

The house is equipped with Wi-Fi, Satellite TVs, VCR and DVD.

CARGO LIFT for luggage and groceries.

Parking is available underneath the house.

Other amenities include a fire ring with bench seating, picnic table, gas grill and hammock.

Must see or visit:

Ichetucknee Springs State Park: 15 miles; tubing on a crystal clear river;

High Springs: 20 miles; shopping and antiques; The Great Outdoors Restaurant, 4 stars;

Gainesville: Butterfly Gardens; Florida Museum of Natural History;

Trenton: 19 miles; Quilt Shop with Suwannee River Rose Cafe - open till 4PM (decadent deserts), Antique Gallery, Stained Glass Studio, Cross Stitch Shop and Frame Shop; Rails to Trails;

Bell: 8.5 miles; nearest town, Akins Barbeque Restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner;

Rock Bluff General Store: 3 miles; great sandwiches, gas (Gilchrist County);

349 Express: 3 miles; Convenient store and service station (Dixie County);

Cedar Key: 50 miles; on the gulf - restaurants (must visit Tom's Seafood restaurant and have their award winning clam chowder), gift shops, art galleries;

Steinhatchee: 35 miles; scalloping in the Gulf of Mexico;

Suwannee: 40 miles; Lower Suwannee National Wildlife Refuge;

Chiefland: 25 miles; Wal-Mart, restaurants, stores; Levy County Quilt Museum; Manatee Springs State Park.

White Springs: 50 miles; Skunkie Acres, trail horses and animal shelter.

Nearby springs:

Pot Hole: 600ft up river on west side - boat access only.

Rock Bluff: 1 mile down river on east side – boat access only.

Ichetucknee Springs State Park (tubing and kayaking)

Troy Springs State Park (sunken paddlewheel boat)

Fanning Springs State Park.

Manatee Springs State Park.

Ginnie Springs Outdoors.

Little River Springs State Park north of Branford.

And last but not least:

Bob’s Place: River Water Park at Rock Bluff, 1/2 mile south of the bridge (access by land or water).

Keywords: Suwannee Riverfront House, Rent by Owner, in the Country, near Springs

More Details

Owner
Peter
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 15, 2017

About Peter

We built this retirement house in 2006 but we are not quite ready to retire. In the meantime we would like others to see the beauty of north Florida and its rivers.

Peter purchased this house in 2006

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear "River Hidaway" folks,



We had a wonderful several days at your lovely retirement home in the idyllic setting of the Suwannee River. We hope to be able to go back. It was probably the most relaxing several days we have ever had. The internet pictures do not do it justice.



The rainy Sunday was spent on the porch reading, relaxing and watching the rain on the river. We loved fishing from the dock and enjoying all the decks.



We have told several others of your wonderful getaway and we hope to be back soon.



Thank you.
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

THE ORIGINAL SUWANNEE RIVER HIDEAWAY! Where the River Runs Wide & Deep!
average rating of 4.918919 based on 38 reviews
4

Great place to stay

  • 4 of 5

Home was very clean and everything needed was supplied. The home was far better than the listing described and our stay was relaxing and enjoyable. Owner's communication was outstanding and location was quiet and beautiful. I have recommended this site to my family and friends and I entend on staying again at a later date if available. Did not reach out to the local restaurants and businesses very much for I was visiting my family most of the time during the eating hours. However, I did bring my boat and we had several good hours fishing and traveling the river. Only reason I did not give 5 stars was that the WiFi was a little slow and I had much work to do on my computer during my visit. Unfortunately, I my line of business I can not escape work when on vacation.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love reviews and thank you for the positive comments and your four star review. Your problem with the wifi being "a little slow" has been corrected and could have been corrected if you had let us know. Wifi service at the Original Suwannee River Hideaway has its limitations and is provided via Dish rural satellite service due to the fact that the house is in the country and cable wifi or Uverse service is not available. Weather and excessive data usage by guests such as playing games & video downloads will also affect the wifi speed. We provide wifi as a convenience to guests who wish to check emails and keep in touch with family & friends. It is probably not as fast as you have at home or work place. Most people visit the Original Suwannee River Hideaway to escape work & daily pressures at home and to enjoy the simple pleasures of our home and its location on the beautiful Suwannee River. We also have a landline for local service & 911 emergencies. Two flat screen TVs with Dish network channels are available for guests who like the great indoors. We are glad you were able to spend some time playing on the river and not just working ... you can do that at your home. To future guests: if you need fast wifi for a working vacation then the Original Suwannee River Hideaway may not be the place for you ... However if you want to relax and get away from it all then the Original Suwannee River Hideaway in real Florida is the place for your family's vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

End of Summer Vacation

  • 5 of 5

The pictures on VRBO, don't do the home and property justice. We couldn't have ask for more. The floating dock made river access very easy when putting our kayaks in the water. Pot Hole Springs is a very short ride away; we went everyday. We will definitely go back again. Thanks for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this 5 star review. Bring your boat & tie up to our floating dock or use our kayaks & canoe. You can enjoy Florida's natural springs. There are 2 springs closeby, accessible only by boat. Don't forget Bob's Place, a local water park everyone loves. We look forward to your return visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Homosassa, Florida
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

Everything that is listed in the description is exactly as it should be. The property is very well maintained and in an excellent, easy to get to location. This is a quiet relaxing atmosphere that will satisfy most everyone seeking to "get away from it all". We had the pleasure of a busy 4th of July weekend on the river and it was great to watch all of the activity on the river. Also saw a fantastic fireworks display that was a great surprise. Did not get a chance to use the fire pit outside because it was just too warm. I would however recommend leveling the fire pit. Great place that we would love to go back to when it is cooler.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

HEAVEN ON THE RIVER

  • 5 of 5

First, let me start by saying I was "thrilled and speechless" upon my arrival. I indeed had arrived at "heaven on the river". The house was just fabulous!! Everything I needed was there. The porches/decks overlooking the river were simply amazing! Master bathroom was phenomenal! The entire set-up in the house was just as it should be. It was very, very spacious. The outside grounds and outdoor fire pit were very nice. The tri- level boat decks right on the river were unbelievable!! From the outdoor grill, to the canoe, to the two kayaks provided what more does a man or woman want. The river was beautiful and very peaceful. Food? Everything was as Mr. P described and more. We went 10 minutes down the road and ate at Akins BBQ. Excellent! Don't be fooled they have plenty of great seafood and prime rib there if you are not in to BBQ. I am a "big foodie" so take my word for it. It was so good we ended up eating there twice. We also visited the Great Outdoors restaurant in High Springs. It was excellent! What a great place to eat and have a drink. Get there early though as it is a popular place. I used the small convenience store about a mile form the house (only one around for miles) to get bait and drinks. Very nice when you get up at 5:00 AM and need bait and are looking to throw a pole in the water. We also had lunch there.....and yes the sandwiches were super there also cooked on the grill they have inside!! We did go to Bob's Place (old fashioned water park) to swim. It also is less than a mile. When we pulled in there we had nothing but smiles on our faces. Everything we were told was right on the money. My wife and I (55 and 60 years old respectively) had a blast with the swinging ropes into the river and the old schoolyard type metal slides that jettisoned you in to the river. My daughter thought we had gone nuts. What a great place for a family to have a picnic or just go for a few hours. Very cheap at $20 a car load. I have so many more great things to say about Mr. P's and Ms.M's place but don't have enough time in the day. All I can says is that I will definitely be back. WHAT A PLACE!! Thanks for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this 5 star review. It sounds like you really enjoyed your time at the Original Suwannee River Hideaway and some of our favorite places. At the Hideaway you can have peace and quiet. You can also find some wonderful local restaurants and places to explore. As your daughter found out, even adults are allowed to have fun at Bob's Place. Looking forward to your return. Peter & Willie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I were looking for a place to relax and we found it at the Suwannee River Hideaway. The house was immaculate and had everything we needed. Our favorite place was the porch. It was so peaceful we took several naps on the porch. We can't wait to return!!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful "Get-Away" Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I searched for a place to celebrate our 42nd anniversary and wanted to return to the Suwannee River that, through the years, holds so many wonderful memories for us. The Original SR Hideaway is wonderful and fulfilled every expectation that we had. It is very well kept, has everything needed right on the property and is just a beautiful home to enjoy peace, quietness and have a lot of fun!! We brought our own boat and traveled on the river to many of the numerous springs on the river. One of the many amenities of this home was the numerous brochures and maps of the area, especially of the river. So helpful!! The view of the river from this home is outstanding! The home is very comfortable and anything you need for a river vacation is available on spot. The local people are so helpful and friendly. There are numerous sightseeing opportunities so close by. Our stay was wonderful, so "fun" and so relaxing. We can't hardly wait to return! What a wonderful experience!!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the 5 star review and for celebrating your anniversary at the Original Suwannee River Hideaway. We look forward to your return. Your hosts, Peter & Willie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Jacksonville
Nearest Motorway
30 Miles
I-75
Nearest Restaurant
8.5 Miles
Bell
Car: necessary

Outdoor Firepit with Seating Bench.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Branford House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter Rate
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$700
$1,800
 
 
Easter
Apr 16 2017 - Apr 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
Memorial Day
May 28 2017 - May 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
Independence Day
Jul 3 2017 - Jul 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 3 2017 - Sep 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 23 2017 - Nov 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
Christmas
Dec 24 2017 - Dec 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$120
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$850
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 9.0%

************WEB CALCULATED RATES ARE NOT ALWAYS CORRECT!************

Security deposit is $250 (not part of rental rate)
All prices are for 4 guests; MAX OCCUPANCY 4 GUESTS!
HOLIDAYS will be charged at weekend rate (Easter, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Eve)
============================
NO PETS - NO SMOKING (You will loose your security deposit)
============================

Signed lease agreement required.

Cancellation policy is in lease agreement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Branford House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1450 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • River ...
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bunk Room - 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties