Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2 bedroom Oceanfront Condo at Baywatch Resort

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Enjoy incredible panoramic ocean views from the balcony of this vacation rental unit at the Baywatch Resort. This uniquely appointed two bedroom condo sits high above the rest when it comes to cleanliness, amenities, location, and of course – the beach! Guests of Baywatch 1709 can take advantage of unlimited access to all resort amenities such as the on-site restaurant, indoor and outdoor pools and lazy rivers, hot tub, and updated fitness center. The fully equipped kitchen means you can feed the whole family right from the condo. The included washer and dryer make washing those beach towels and bathing suits a breeze. The living room and bedrooms each have a flat panel TV with cable, so no fighting over the remote!

This condo is close to major attractions, shopping, and dining. The House of Blues, Alligator Adventure, Barefoot Landing, and the Tanger Outlet Mall are just minutes away, not to mention countless golf courses and the endless choices of food in Restaurant Row. You’ll automatically have access to our own Endless Fun Club, an exclusive savings program designed to help you get the most out of your North Myrtle Beach vacation. Give us a call to start planning your trip!

*This Baywatch Resort property is available weekly, Saturday - Saturday, during the summer season, Memorial Day to Labor Day. Check the Calendar for Available dates.

Keywords: Baywatch Resort, North Myrtle Beach, Myrtle Beach, 2 bedroom condo, Oceanfront, Crescent Beach

More Details

Property Manager
Owner / Property Manager
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
November 18, 2017

Map

At Baywatch Resort, Close to Barefoot Landing in North Myrtle Beach

Amenities

Crescent Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 17
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Bed (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

3.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
2 bedroom Oceanfront Condo at Baywatch Resort
average rating of 3.4 based on 5 reviews
5

Newly Remodeled Condo

  • 5 of 5

Nicely remodeled condo. Beautiful view from the balcony. Kitchen equipped with the necessities. Beds are comfortable. We stayed for seven days and it was great.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not a good experience

  • 1 of 5

We checked in and were told we were all set

Got to the condo: no cart to unload, key would not work.

Called rental agency: said they would be right over

Went downstairs while waiting and was told Baywatch needed to ok our stay and to remake our keys and we would 'need to check in with them' and our rental agency had given us incorrect info

Went back upstairs to find: old, worn out, dirty, yellow sofas

Lamps did not work

TV in living area didn't work

Called rental office back: they came back, could not fix TV or lamps; had to purchase new ones so we were without lamp and tv in living area

Next day brought new lamp/tv remote. Thought all was going to be ok, only more surprises in store.

When one sat on the sofa, one would fall to the floor as only support was the hard, board right under one's knees. Very uncomfortable as well as very dirty

Took shower: only to find the shower curtain was very moldy and nasty

Called rental company back. They went out and purchased new shower curtain but would not install. Shower curtain laid on counter as I was not about to remove nasty one and install new one. I was am not receiving a paycheck to do this. I was on vacation...or so I though.

Surprises were not over:

2nd Morning turned on washer. Walked away from washer for 5 minutes to come back and find washer was pouring water from back of machine - hall was flooded.

Called rental company-by this time, they are as sick of me as I am this place.

Said 'someone would be right over.'

30 minutes passed. Washer was off, water still pouring out: water now at the front door

Called rental company back

Rental company said 'repair on its way, but most likely looking for place to park.' (yes, parking was that bad)

I said we were leaving, cutting our vaca short by 2 days-rental company refunded me 2 days stay.

I will never go back to Baywatch as it used to be nice, but appears most owners have ridden their units very hard and are in severe need of updating,

Additionally, no way to secure yourself once in the condo as interior locks/chains had been drilled out, replaced and re-drilled out. Two large holes in the front door were reminders of prior locks having been installed but removed by someone.

I am a prior owner of 3 units I rented in Myrtle Beach and my units were never ever allowed to get in this poor condition. People expect to get what they paid for-These owners should be ashamed of themselves.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your stay at Baywatch. Your concerns have been noted and each maintenance and cleaning issue has been corrected since your stay. We continuously work with our owners to create a relaxing atmosphere, and we would appreciate your business in the future. *Update: the condo has since been completely updated with new floors, paint, and furniture.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Fall Get Away

  • 5 of 5

We loved this condo it was very clean and could not ask for a better location. And the view was awesome!!!! Loved waking up every morning and looking out over the ocean and the pool area was also clean and well maintained. we will be staying here again

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean and bright!

  • 4 of 5

This unit was very clean and bright! Lots of windows! Second bedroom has queen bed. Resort has several pools and a large lazy river. Pool bar and restaurant very reasonable. Clean beach! Ocean Drive Beach Rentals (management company) extremely helpful with booking and extending our stay! Special thank you to Kevin for tending to our requests and then some!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
2

Not impressed. Waste of money.

  • 2 of 5

I must say I was very disappointed when I checked into my room. They place was not cleaned very well, cabinets were sticky and there was dried up food on the counter. The sofa had stains on it and the pillows on the sofa were dingy looking. The carpet was coming of around the walls. The cooking utensils were nasty. They had a spatula in there that had rust all over it. I wouldn't want to cook with that. I wouldn't recommend this room to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We are committed to customer service and we would have been glad to immediately rectify all the issues you mentioned. Unfortunately we were not notified about any issues until after the stay. We want all our guests to enjoy their stay at this condo and all problems a guest may experience can be handled right away by our staff.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Notes

  • $545 - $1649 wkly
  • US Dollars
  • *Prices not including tax, cleaning, or admin fees. Call for details.
  • Call for last-minute discounts and seasonal specials!
  • ** A 3% fee will be added for credit card payments.
  • Checks and E-checks are welcome.
  • Indicate in comment box if you will be using a check.
  • VRBO service fee will still be charged to card used to book.

You might like these similar properties