Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Recreational Paradise Home

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway in Northern California. Our home is located 15 minutes North of the city of Mount Shasta. It lies equidistant from the Klamath River and the headwaters of the Sacramento River. Lakes in the vicinity include: Shastina, Siskiyou, Klamath, McCloud Reservoir, and Shasta Lake. Ashland Oregon is only 50 minutes to the North and provides great theater and shopping. The Robert Trent Jones designed Lake Shastina Golf Course is only 5 minutes away from the house and offers 18 championship holes, and 9 holes Scottish Links. Mt Shasta Ski Resort is 30 minutes away.

The view from the deck at our home is amazing with 180 degree view of Lake Shastina and a full view of beautiful Mount Shasta. A great place to use the BBQ and enjoy the afterglow of Mount Shasta. Lake Shastina is an agricultural reservoir used for fishing and water sport recreation in the winter, spring and summer months, and is subject to low water levels usually after August or September.

The home is two stories with 2 bedrooms upstairs and 2 bedrooms downstairs. The upper bedrooms have queen beds and the lower rooms have a room with 2 twin beds and the other room/den has a comfortable futon. The den is also great place to read or listen to music and look at the majestic Mount Shasta. This is a wonderful home where you can relax in the peace and quiet, watch the eagles and birds on and around the lake, and enjoy the many other outdoor activities in the area. Your own little get away.

Keywords: House, Home

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2018


Weed House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • put garbage can out to edge of street on thursday mornings for pick up and return to north side of house after pick up.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    den - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Recreational Paradise Home
average rating of 4.8 based on 25 reviews
Apex, NC

What a wonderful place for a retreat!

  • 5 of 5

I rented this house for a retreat I held with 6 others. It was perfect and amazing! The space was very accommodating, and the views were spectacular... every morning, most of us were up to watch the breathtaking sunrise (and of course, take pictures)! I - as my companions in the rooms with windows in the front of the house - even slept with the shades open, because the sheer amount of stars we could see at night were breathtaking.

This house is about a 25-minute ride to downtown Mt Shasta... so we just had to thoroughly plan out our outings and make sure we had everything we needed while we were in town, since it was such a drive. That being said, it was a small thing to have to consider for this perfect location... and it really did make the place great for the intentions of a retreat! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Angela, We are so happy that you had a good and relaxing time at the house. The views from the deck are definitely spectacular and we are glad that you were able to take in the beautiful sunrises and stargazing at night. Hopefully, you were able to use the Rays Market in Weed if you needed something closer and quicker. We look forward to having you for a future visit :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful location

  • 4 of 5

We had great fun staying in this beautiful place with great view of Mountain and lake although it was very foggy.

However some of us were not able to enjoy staying on the patio due to bad smell. It felt like sanitation problem and that was little off.

Other than this nice view, comfortable beds. Kitchen had all the required utensils including food items. Thanks for that.

We had a memorable new year. Thanks

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you were able to spend the new year at the house and were comfortable and had the amenities that you needed. We are sorry about the smell that you experienced. This is the first we have heard about it. We are not sure about the smell as there is no sanitation problem at our house. Our house keeper has not said anything to us regarding a foul smell, nor have there been any other complaints from the other guests that have stayed at the house since then. We do have a lot of wildlife around us, perhaps it was a carcass nearby. If you could call us and give us more information, it will help us to investigate it more. We thank you again for coming to stay and we hope to have you return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful gateaway

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay. The house is clean, spacious and comfortable. Great location and magnificent views! We'll be back! Thank you.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you were able to come stay at the house and enjoyed the wonderful views. We look forward to having you return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Elk Grove, CA

Breathtaking Paradide overlooking Lake Shastina

  • 5 of 5

Perfect trip.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful view

  • 4 of 5

My friend and I had a wonderful stay. Home was clean and everything in working order. The views surrounding this home were amazing. Owners were wonderful to work with. We would stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We are so glad that you were able to stay at our home. We would be happy to have you stay with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Wonderful, peaceful

  • 4 of 5

The home is very comfortable and the owners are very easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Lake Shastina Golf Resort
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Highway 97
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Mount Shasta Ski Resort


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
non refundable cleaning $100
Tax Rate 12.0%

ECheck payment is preferred. Rates change during holiday periods.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.