Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Lackawaxen River home - Spring/Summer Fishing with views and hot tub!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 baths, open kitchen and living room - Game Room - Great Views!

Watch eagles soar and trout jump from this one of kind 3,000 sq ft home on one of the Poconos' premier sporting rivers. This house has it all: sun-drenched great room with floor to ceiling windows; an open space floor plan made for family and friends to enjoy together; and an inviting kitchen with modern conveniences. Sit on the screened porch and watch the kids play in the protected backyard or go for a long walk/bike ride along the historic 'Tow Path' road. Within 20 minutes of the house you will find outfitters offering white water rafting, paintball and horse back riding. There is also incredible antique shopping in local towns such as Hawley, Honesdale and Narrowsburg. Skiing at Big Bear is only fifteen minutes away. In the evening, enjoy a meal together seated around a huge wooden table, retire to the entertainment room featuring a 52in high def TV, pool table, ping-pong and high-speed Internet access or relax in well maintained, six person outdoor hot tub.

Fishing Paradise: : This house features 150ft of riverbank property on the majestic Lackawaxen River, voted Pennsylvania's 'River of the Year' for 2010. This is truly a wildlife paradise. As described on fly fishing connection's website: 'Feeding into the Delaware River, the Lackawaxen ... is well known for its population of wild browns and rainbows. This large river consists of beautiful swift pools, followed by short runs, rifts, and pocket water. The good-sized boulders scattered throughout the river, the overhanging trees, and deep pools help provide trout with a comfortable home. This, in turn, provides anglers with a great place to fish. Many anglers are surprised at the number of fish in this river. Fish seem to be located in every rift, run, and pocket; due in part to the wild population and the thousands of fish that are stocked each year. Many people argue that with the exception of the upper Delaware, it is, or could be, the best tail-water in Pennsylvania.

Area Attractions: : In addition to water sports and fishing, there are numerous activities for the whole family, including Costas Family Fun Park; Lake Wallenpaupack; antiquing in nearby Hawley, Honesdale and Narrowsburg; the Zane Grey Museum; eagle watching, the Minisink Revolutionary War Battlegrounds. The slopes at Ski Big Bear resort are only fifteen minutes away. Give us a call and we can provide numerous links to local sights.

More Details

Owner
Michael Cordera
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 14, 2017

About Michael Cordera

We are New Jersey residents living in Randolph township.

Michael Cordera purchased this house in 2007

Why Michael Cordera chose Poconos

The poconos offer year round fun, fishing, hunting, hiking and skiing.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Michael,



I wanted to send you a short note to thank you and your wife for allowing us to spend a great holiday weekend in your home. We had great weather, plenty of food, fun, and beverage. The home and property were exactly what we hoping to find , spacious, quiet, and private. Needless to say, we all enjoyed our stay tremendously. Thank you both again... maybe we can do it again next year ?



Sincerely,



Jack, Karen and family
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Hawley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • River
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
15% Complete
7% Complete
5% Complete
12% Complete
Beautiful Lackawaxen River home - Spring/Summer Fishing with views and hot tub!
average rating of 4.05 based on 41 reviews
5

Relaxing experience

  • 5 of 5

We are from Florida and needed a last minute place to stay to escape from Hurricane Irma. We have a 20 month old little girl, a dog, grandma, my husband and myself. Mike went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable and was super nice and responded quickly to email and text messages while he was out of town for work, that said a lot about him. He was truly concerned we were comfortable. The house had plenty of room for my toddler to play and run around with our dog. There was a baby hate at the top of the stairs that gave me peace of mind while my hisband and I shot a game of pool and played foosball.

The house was well kept and clean, we mever felt we were in top of each other and there was 3 beds we didn't even use. The house is big and open and had huge outdoor space. We grilled and made a firepitt one night while our toddler played on the swing and slide area. During our stay we saw deers while taking a little hike ( just behind the house there's a trail) there were other neighbors hiking and they were very nice people, we even got invited to a birthday party! We couldn't go as we were leaving that day.

Beds were comfortable, there was Wi-Fi, washer dryer and all appliances worked great. There were 2 huge tv's and the couches were comfortable.

We didn't get to use the hot tub but it was clean and ready to go. We loved the screened in area just next to it. There is a riverboat across the road from the house. We enjoyed drinking our coffee from the front of the house and looking out at the river. If you walk just 2 minutes across the road There's a small set up so you can relax or fish from the river.

We bought some groceries, but other than that pots and spices were all there.

We really loved the home because it was private, safe, and clean. Note that your 15 minutes, maybe more form stores and restaurants. Be sure to check the little towns near by, the have cute little shops! Drivimg around didn't bother us one bit as we enjoyed the ride and change of scenery.

We googled farms, waterfalls, and restaurants in the area and were able to do so much. Be sure to do your research while at the house as you may lose signal once out, and just put you destination on you car navigation system.

Also, if you have a Netflix account you may log in and watch movies and play nemo all day like we did :)

Thank you Mike

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Not happy

  • 2 of 5

It's a beautiful property but some of the amenities advertised for the house were not there or did not work. The hot tub never got hot, pots were dirty when we arrived and bed sets were stained, play house needs maintenance, and more.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The vast majority of guests since 2010 have been delighted. Nevertheless, sometimes things do go wrong and we appreciate constructive criticism. Unfortunately, that was not the case hear since most of these comments appear to have been left because of a disagreement regarding this guests failure to follow the house rules. To be clear, the house is professionally cleaned (including linens and kitchen utensils) after each visit. In addition, the hot tub was functioning normally during this guest's stay, but apparently they had difficulty figuring out the controls. We agree, however, that the swing set is beginning to show its age and hope to have a new set installed in the Autumn of 2017. Please don't hesitate to contact us with any questions. Mike & Geraldine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Plenty of room, nice home for a getaway. Plenty to do. Great to work with the owner

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable and well maintained

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lancaster
5

Beautiful home with a awesome view and so many things on property to offer!!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great time at this property!! So much to do around the property and on the property! We have stayed in the Pocono mountains 3 times now and this was by far the best house we've rented! We loved the privacy of the house and the huge yard for the 4 kids and our dogs to play in! The owner was so flexible with us in regards to bringing our dogs and they had a blast as well! We went tubing on the river and saw 3 eagles, one of them was fishing right in front of us :)...so beautiful! Awesome that the owner provided tubes, that was so helpful! We had a blast making s'mores around the fire pit and relaxing in the hot tub after the kids went to bed :). We also went to Lake Wallenpaupack public beach, claws n paws, Bushkill falls, and Camelbeach waterpark--all within reasonable distance from the house! The guys went fishing and caught a bass :). The house was huge and perfect for a large family like ours! Owner was always quick to respond if needed :)! Clean and well cared for property! Thank you for a wonderful vacation!!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

This was truly a home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

This was truly a home away from home! We had a wonderful time staying at this location during our short stay. Wish we could have stayed longer. Very peaceful, very quiet and very homely. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a place to get away

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely and very nicely maintained.

  • 5 of 5

We went with some friends for a golf, buddy weekend. Mr Cordera was extremely helpful, knowledgeable about the area and actually encouraged us to make a nice fire in the backyard and enjoy. The kitchen is great, has everything you want and it's right there in the thick of things so no missing out on the fun while cooking. The property is quite lovely and quiet, nice walks, or just sitting looking out over the river, saw at least 3 eagles (they might have all been the same one but saw it 3 times) and all in all had a great time and would absolutely go back.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties