Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Country Home, 32 Acres, Fish Pond, Trails, Streams

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms4
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Chateau / Country House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

This is an owner designed, owner built, wood and stone mountain home. Real wood throughout. Three fireplaces, wood stove, streams on both sides of house. High vaulted ceilings throughout. This is an unusual place. House sits among 150 year old trees. Large, elevated, front stone deck, and stone back patio with outside fireplace. Wood and stone floors throughout. The home is more than a half mile off the main road and is totally secluded. There is a small fish pond on the property along with a number of streams and a waterfall. There are hiking trails on property, hilly terrain.

There are three kayaks and four mountain bikes on the property for you use (all safety equipment is included too). There is a small climbing wall in the barn on the property.

The inside is decorated to suit the location, simple country construction and details, not fancy. Solid wood and rock floors with oriental rugs. There is a game room with poker table and bar. There are two Sony flat screen TVs with directv connection. Bellsouth dsl and wireless. There are two large refrigs and a bar refrig. There is about 4200 total sq ft in the house.

Two of the baths have double showers. There are no neighbors close by. most of the rooms have no curtains or blinds.

the home has three separate zones/thermostats heating and AC. the kitchen has granite countertops and owner built wood center island. large gas cook top and sub zero refrig/freezer. lots of gourmet tools, pots and pans. trash compactor. cabinets are simple, hand made.

the drive from the main road to the house is about 1/2 mile, partly paved and partly loose gravel, mildly steep in a couple places. it is not an interstate highway.

There are iron and stone gates at the head of the main road that allow you to lock the property to prevent access. However in the 30+ years of owning this place, we have never had a single intruder. This is rural farm land. There are houses nearby on the main road, but this is countryside, not downtown.

Maid service is provided every other day. Linens and basic food essentials provided. one load of firewood is provided as part of the rental fee; additional firewood is $25 per quarter face cord.

Skeet shooting can be arranged on site. Guided deer and turkey hunting are also available during season. Proper SC hunting license required. Contact us for more information and pricing.

Property is close to Issaqueena Forest, about 5 miles to Lakes Hartwell and Keowee. the closest landing on Keowee is Gap Hill or Mile Creek, and the closest on Hartwell is Twelve Mile or Lawrence Bridge.

Keywords: secluded, country, farmhouse, cabin, wood, lodge,

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 29, 2017

About The Owner

My father, wife, and I built this home ourselves. It took about 5 years total from wood we had cut locally and on our farm in south Georgia. We raised our two boys on this property until 2006. I work at Clemson and living mostly in MT and a second home in downtown Clemson, when we aren't enjoying this place.

The Owner purchased this chateau / country house in 1980

Why The Owner chose South Carolina

The site is wooded, secluded, quiet, and full of wildlife, deer, turkey, herons, pileated woodpeckers, owls, squirrels, and more. For those who enjoy the outdoors, this home is perfect. It is half a mile off the main road, and there are no neighbors.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Rare chance to enjoy the foothills of SC with plenty of open space, trees, land, and no neighbors. This property is located in the woods.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Is all i can say. we had an amazing time here, for our wedding ceremony and reception! The rain hasn't let up, but its not enough to keep us down.



This house is truly magical! I think every single guests wants to rent it now! Thanks so much for allowing us to use this for our wedding! To Reno, you are amazing!

Many thanks to all for all your help
May 2013
  • 1 of 12

Amenities

Central Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • master bath - toilet , shower , large master, dual sinks, double showers
    second floor - toilet , tub , shower , old claw foot tub, newly remodeled shower
    ground floor - toilet , shower , large shower, two heads, brick floor
    main floor - toilet , shower , main floor full bath with shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Loft - 1 queen , the loft is a full size room, but open to below w/screen
    master - 1 king , large room, vaulted ceiling, fireplace, outside balcony
    second floor - 1 queen , 15 x 15 room on second floor, private
    ground floor - 1 queen , ground floor/open to outside basement, full windows
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
32 acres, secluded, hiking trails, mtn bikes and kayaks avail, fish pond, water fall, streams.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Secluded Country Home, 32 Acres, Fish Pond, Trails, Streams
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 31 reviews
Saint Louis, MO
5

Beautiful and unique home on an amazing property.

  • 5 of 5

Several members of our family stayed here for a few days for our son's graduation at Clemson. It was perfect for our family gathering (4 couplepoiiuiyuiujhyiui. We sat out on the front porch overlooking the pond and woods each evening rocking and talking. We were also able to grill out one night and it was cool enough to use the outdoor fireplace. We sat out all evening catching up and enjoying the nature around us. The owner and caretaker were both great to work with planning our stay and helped us

on arrival. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Just okay

  • 3 of 5

My family including 4 adults and a toddler stayed a week during thanksgiving. We loved he property outside but I must say the house itself is very unkempt. The pictures are outdated online. Furniture needs to be replaced and the entire house needs to be cleaned. This house is not kid friendly (nor stairs outside). The caretaker was nice enough to offer to help us block off stairs inside the home with no railing and a dangerous drop off. The house has some cool features but there are different and odd levels so its its not easy to navigate. The kitchen had really nice pots and pans and even numerous bottles of booze under the island...odd. The weirdest thing was that the owners left piles of their shoes and boots at the downstairs entrance and it STUNK like a boys high locker room. It. was. awful. There was also clothes and shoes in the closet of the room my husband and I stayed in. If you want a clean and relaxing vacation home pick another rental.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: this review is accurate. our place is NOT for everybody. its design, layout, and useability is unusual. we tried to display this in our write up. we do not want anyone to be surprised or disappointed. the house is a long way off the paved road, in fact, and in its design and ability. this is not a millenial type place for people looking to be pampered. regards children, several kids were raised from birth in the house but not without some effort. there are kid fences for those who worry about that. with that said, for crawling babies and parents who want to not watch their kids non-stop, another place is probably better. the mud room is, well, a mud room. there are boots, rain jackets and such along with the bikes, fishing rods, and life jackets intended for guest use; and yes, there are a couple of shirts, and jeans in the walk-in closet. if this bothers you or concerns you, you can move them, call us to have them remove them, or pile them in drawers. the closet even so, has LOT of space. not sure about the cleanliness issue. we have a full time cleaning staff that are widely appreciated by us and other renters for many years. in the fall, the exterior of the home, being in the trees and woods, literally, sometimes has a very natural look. any renter who visits and does not get full enjoyment, we will gladly negotiate a partial or full refund, or offer some other compensation. our goal is to provide a woodsy, natural, but welcoming place. we appreciate this and all other genuine comments on our place. not sure about the photos, but as we look now, the pictures online today are representative of the place as it is today. we do not understand the comment about the pictures or furniture. thanks,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Slice of Paradise

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed in the Tree House in Six Mile for a long weekend. It was used as a base for my 50th Reunion at Clemson University. So very peaceful. Weather was perfect. Planning to take 3 couples back in the Fall for a Football w'end to see the National Champions play in Death Valley!! Thank you Bobby and Valerie McCormack for sharing your Dream with us !!!!

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect holiday spot

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED our holiday at the Treehouse! We rented this place for our annual excursion with our friends, who we consider to be family. The property was perfect for all of our tween boys and the younger kids as well. The hiking trails and streams made for lots of fun! The caretaker was always available - even when we called to ask the simplest question. We loved the record player and the records available! We had a few dance parties in the great room! Plenty of space for all of us in the house on the day we got rained in. Close to some of our favorite spots - Lake Jocasse and Table Rock State Park. Clemson was close for our grocery runs. As others have mentioned, the pictures do not do this place justice. We were amazed at all of the thought that went into this home. Very impressive. We all agreed we will be coming back next year!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wesley Chapel, Florida
5

Amazing Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family and I rented the house for a few days in Janaury and It was beautiful. We arrived very early around 6AM and were greeted in person by the property manager and given a tour of the house. The property manager made sure we were accommodated and asked if there was anything else we needed. My family and I had a great time, taking daily hikes on the property and enjoying the fireplace at night cozy on the couch. This house was even more beautiful than the pictures could possibly show. I highly recommend that any family looking to have a great family vacation to book this house!!! Bobby, the owner is the kindest person and will help make your vacation a GREAT ONE!! Thank You Bobby for sharing your home Lynn

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Cumming Ga.
4

Wedding Party Weekend

  • 4 of 5

What an outstanding place. Large spacious and set WAY back in the woods.

We were in town for a wedding and had plenty of room, 4 couples slept comfortably in their own rooms, and a teenager on one of the couches. we had family come over for large breakfast 14 people and still plenty of cooking/eating room. we were never crowded.

After breakfast we went to the 100 yard shooting range and set up a 100 yard rifle, a 25 yard pistol and they even had a sporting clay thrower for us to use.

this is truly a place for the out doorsy type. tons of stuff to do.

We will be staying there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Our home is convenient to Clemson, which is about 12 miles away and an easy 20 minute drive, except during football weekends!! you should allow at least an hour to get from our home to the stadium on game days.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Central Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
summer
May 24 2017 - Aug 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$495
$3,155
$9,800
 
 
Total Eclipse of the Sun
Aug 18 2017 - Aug 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$950
 
 
Early Clemson Football
Aug 30 2017 - Sep 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
$795
$4,500
$11,500
 
 
Clemson Football
Sep 7 2017 - Nov 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,445
$4,890
$11,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$395
$2,695
$9,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Tax Rate 7.0%

During Clemson football season, the high rate only applies on the weekends.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties