Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

OceanView! Watch Sunset from your Lanai!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Villa, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Our Premium Ocean-View villa has sweeping views of the Waikoloa Beach golf course and the magnificent Pacific Ocean. The sunsets from our lanai are breathtaking. Building 8 is considered by many to be the best building at Hali'i Kai due to the way it is angled, to take advantage of the golf course and ocean view.

The villa is a 2 bedroom, 2 full bath ground floor unit which sleeps up to 4 comfortably.

If you're considering the Golf Villas, Waikoloa Colony Villas, The Shores, Vista Waikoloa, Kolea, Fairway Villas or anything in Mauna Lani, make sure to look at Hali'i Kai.

You'll get use of the beautiful Hali'i Kai Beach Club with a gorgeous pool (small children will love the shallow pool play area), fitness room, lounge area, restaurant and bar--all with a cliff-side view of the ocean. One of the most beautiful places on earth! You may never want to leave the resort.

The Ocean Club resort is a members-only bar/restaurant available only to owners/renters of Hali'i Kai.

Hali'i Kai is located next to the famous Waikoloa golf course with the Hilton Waikoloa just across the golf course. The King's Shops and Queen's Shops provide restaurants and shopping within the resort area. There are many beaches close by to enjoy. Hali'i Kai is approximately 20 minutes from the Kona airport.

We are on the Kohala Coast, the sunniest of all the Hawaiian islands with 350+ days of sun per year.

Our Villa includes:

-High-quality furnishings.

-42-inch flat screen TVs/DVD players in the main room as well as each of the bedrooms.

-King bed in Master Bedroom with a great ocean view.

-King bed in 2nd bedroom that can convert to 2 Twin XL beds.

-High Quality King Micro-fiber Sofa Sleeper in main room.

-The kitchen has granite counter-tops with new appliances and all you need to either cook your own meals or enjoy take-out on the lanai (this is where we eat most of our meals).

-A laundry room with a washer and dryer are also available in the unit.

-Weber BBQ on the Lanai.

-Free Wireless Internet.

-Telephone: Free calls to Mainland USA and Canada. Save on roaming charges.

-Beach chairs, Boogie boards, beach towels, snorkeling equipment and other amenities are provided for your convenience.

The Tennis Courts and Basketball Court are located in the resort as well, so bring your rackets!

During whale season (December-April) it's easy to see humpbacks swimming directly off the coast from the Ocean Club.

With sunsets off the horizon and the sounds of waves crashing in the background; it truly creates a pleasing and therapeutic environment for all to enjoy.

There is so much to do within just a few minutes (helicopter rides, beaches, luau's, shopping, fishing, golf, Whale-watching, Scuba, Snorkeling, incredible restaurants and so much more). The area and resort are truly ''hidden gems.'' Hali'i Kai provides a luxurious home base from which you can explore the entire Big Island and its many picturesque beaches. We will give guests great tips on where to eat, play and shop!

Sorry, no smoking or pets allowed. Smoking in resort is allowed in designated areas only.

Be advised, Hali'i Kai Resort collects a check-in fee of $10/day + tax (changing on 4/1/18 to $20/day + tax) for each reservation regardless of whom the reservation is booked through. The check-in fee allows guests access to the property and Ocean Club facilities and includes electronic entry gate key card.

Please Note: No reservation dates are placed on hold until a Rental Contract is requested. Deposits are due within 24 hours after a Rental Contract is sent to Renter. Dates and Rates are not guaranteed until the rental contract is signed and the deposit is received. Credit cards (Visa/MC/AMEX/Discover) are accepted.

Keywords: Condo, Villa

More Details

Jim and Debbie Stofer
Member since: 2008
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018

About Jim and Debbie Stofer

Owner has two units at Hali'i Kai (5F and 8C). We have designed each unit with top-quality furnishings/linens for a luxurious and relaxing vacation for our guests. We have on-site help should you need anything and we value great communication with our guests.

Jim and Debbie Stofer purchased this villa in 2010

Why Jim and Debbie Stofer chose Waikoloa Village

When looking to buy rental property, no other resort offered what Hali'i Kai does. No wonder it's rated #1 on Indepedent Travel sites. Halii Kai's pool/bar/restaurant combo is not offered at any other condo establishment. We often hear renters tell us that they have stayed other places on the Big Island but once they got to Hali'i Kai they realized they would no longer stay anywhere else.

What makes this villa unique

We furnish beach towels, chairs, boogie boards, snorkel equipment and much more so you don't have to pack it and get extra airline charges (most can carry-on luggage and save a lot of money). We also have a stroller and high-chair for those families with infants.

We will give our guests great tips for sightseeing, restaurants and beaches...we come to the property 3-4 times per year and have tried most of things we recommend (sometimes we hear from other guests/owners and are happy to share the 'hole in the wall' places as well that you'll never find in a guidebook).

Guestbook comments from the owner

The Big Island is so beautiful. The condo was perfect for us! It was the right amount of room for my husband, son, and I. Loved the decor and location. My little quiet time was on the patio with the view of the golf course, palm trees, and the ocean. I went for morning walks and it was a perfect location to try different areas...around the resort area, along the ocean with lava rocks and paths along all the resorts and hotels, or just down to the sandy beach couple miles away for a nice morning walk. The condo had great amenities.....cable, wifi, nice furnishings, updated kitchen, amazing beds, plenty of bathroom space, laundry, parking, and a gas grill. Just a short walk away we could be at the pool with a bar and restaurant, and amazing sunset views. This rental surpassed all my expectations! The only negative.....that I actually have to go back home!!! Thanks so much Jim and Debbie!!!!
Sep 2017
  • 1 of 3


Waikoloa Village Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Can be converted to 2 Twin XL beds!
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , High Quality King Sofa Sleeper (flat, no bars)
  • King size beds (2), One King can be converted to 2 Twin XL beds, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
We supply Snorkel equipment, Boogie Boards, Beach Towels, Beach Chairs and Beach Toys for guests usage. Telephone: Free calls to Mainland USA and Canada. Save on roaming charges! Hali'i Kai does charge a $10/day resort fee.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
6% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
OceanView! Watch Sunset from your Lanai!
average rating of 4.878788 based on 36 reviews

Nice location, great owners, great ocean view with whales floating by once in a while.

  • 5 of 5

Ocean club was friendly place to meet new people with small bar. Did not have any food.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Beautiful decor, lovely ocean & golf course views, opens to spacious lawn, 2 minute walk to one of the most stunning oceanfront (not beachfront) clubs on the Kohala Coast

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lacey, WA

5 Star all the way!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

This place is great!!!! Everything you could ask for.... clean rooms.. spacious as well... beautiful property... unit was fully stocked.... as advertised .. as a golfer very close proximity to playing.. great walking areas .. close to very nice public beach... A real Gem.. Owners were prompt... responsive.. easy to work with.. I would stay here again and again... Thank you for the opportunity to share your Getaway!!! PS... also many restaurants nearby and shopping...

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sparks, NV

Perfect spot for a special occasion

  • 5 of 5

Great 2 bedroom with a view. 3rd time at the complex and we love it. Quiet and relaxing but close to restaurants and shopping if you want it. Highly recommend 8c!

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A wonderful villa in a spectacular location.

  • 5 of 5

Our first time at Hali'i Kai and first impressions don't get any better. The location of our villa ,8C, could not be better with the views of the ocean and the golf course. Every possible amenity is provided in an immaculate interior. Great space and the option of twin beds in th second bedroom was appreciated. We felt at home straight away as everything we could have wished for was provided. I would recommend using the excellent grocery store KTA at Waikoloa Village a 15 minute drive away and Beach 69 just up the coast got our vote for snorkelling and swimming. From the start the owners communication was superb with perfect instructions and check-in staff were very helpful too. We would love to return and would highly recommended this villa.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver WA

Beautiful home, good location, not the most comfortable for us, and had trouble with cleaning

  • 3 of 5

The home is in a great location, is very nice and has a covered carport for parking. Not too far to walk from the pool. The pool was great, a little heavy-handed on rules with kids though. Not a good location for kids to really let loose and play (I suppose due to the fact that this resort is on a golf course). We didn't have much trouble, but we saw many others who did. The bar, bartenders and food are great at the on-site restaurant. We ate there a lot! Beautiful sunsets for sure, from the pool or your lanai.

The home is well furnished with comfy couch. We found the dining area to be uncomfortable just because everything is too tight (big), but that is a small thing. The kitchen isn't the most well equipped, but it had everything we needed and it's certainly not bad. Our big issue was the housekeeping. The owners were very responsive, took care of us the best they could and said they normally have no issues, so I'm not sure if it's a one-off issue. The outdoor furniture really needs new cushions to enjoy those sunsets. It would be nice to have somewhere to hang wet clothes and suits in a bathroom.

It was nice to have a BBQ onsite. The boogie boards and gear in the closet were useful!

It was disappointing to have the housekeeping issues, but I believe the owners care about the home and their guests and that says something!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Tia, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As I stated when you called, I was very surprised that you didn't find our home to be clean enough. We have worked with our house cleaner for well over a year and other owners have worked with her for much longer. We haven't had any complaints. I offered to have her return as quickly as possible and also refunded half your cleaning deposit as compensation. We always want our home to be beautiful for our guests. We think our kitchen is well equipped, including a brand new dishwasher. We will look into replacing the outdoor cushions. We're glad you enjoyed the Ocean Club. Mahalo, Debbie and Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Kona (KOA
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Ocean Club
Nearest Golf
0.3 Miles
Queen's Course
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Ocean Club
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
A Bay
Car: necessary

Helicopter Tours, Scuba Diving, Dolphin Adventures and much much more. We can give you tips on places to make your vacation truly memorable.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $199
Tax Rate 14.42%

Rates vary depending on date of stay/length of stay/number in party
Christmas/New Year's has a 120 cancellation policy
Tax ID: TA-089-554-3296-01, GE-089-554-3296-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.