Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled


Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Luxurious and spacious mountain cabin in peaceful wooded setting--plenty of room for family and friends to gather and enjoy a true retreat. Soaring great room, wood floors, 2 stone gas fireplaces, antler chandeliers, beautiful furnishings and room for up to 10 people with comfortable accommodations for all! A Forest Hideaway offers 4 spacious bedrooms plus a loft with 2 twins, king master suite on main level with jetted tub, heated floors, tile shower, granite counters, upstairs bedroom with queen bed and clawfoot tub plus tile shower and upstairs covered deck, and a lower level with two king bedrooms, separate den w/ fireplace, pool room, and compartmentalized bath.

The kitchen is a dream with granite countertops and upscale appliances plus a bar that seats 4 and two sinks. The paneled dining room seats 6 plus another 4 at the game table. There are a total of 6 flat screen Satellite TVs, 2 laundry rooms and WIFI throughout.

Outdoor living space is ample and varied, with a covered porch, open and covered decks and a brand new hot tub off the lower level. Just 5 miles from the village and close to BR Parkway, Price Lake, Grandfather Mountain. PARKING FOR FOUR CARS ONLY. NON SMOKING AND NO PETS


Keywords: mountain cabin, log cabin, get-a-way retreat

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 22, 2017


Collettsville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5 master has heated tile floors, jetted tub, tile shower upstairs bath has clawfoot tub, tile shower lower level full bath has tub/shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (3) Three King Beds, Queen size Beds (1) One Queen Bed, Twin or Single Beds (1) 2 Twins in Loft Area
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
This home is close to hiking and canoeing at Price Lake, the town of Blowing Rock, Bass Lake, Trout Pond, Julian Price Park, Cone Manor, Grandfather Mountain. Tweetsie Railroad


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

54% Complete
27% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
average rating of 4.090909 based on 11 reviews

Amazing Cabin, great stay

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful stay. The cabin was beautiful, clean, in a great location, and had everything we could ask for.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Stay!!

  • 4 of 5

we had a group of 10 people and were initially a little concerned about space. Once we arrived, we realized we had plenty of space and the accomodations were fantastic. I would definitely recommend this cabin and will stay here again!

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte nc

A little frustrated

  • 2 of 5

We loved the space as far as the bedrooms. However, when it came to meal times which is a big thing for 6 adults and 3 children to sit around the kitchen table it became frustrating. There were not enough chairs nor space because the room was so small to get in and out of. We also thought there would be a view from the house of the mountains, but instead was just trees. We made the most of our time tho.

Also, the master tub when turning the jets on shot out black gunk so we never used it. And the master toilet very slow to flush. We won't go back to that property due to the space for meals.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lisa, we have never had any complaints at all about the dining room, which is a good size rectangular room with a dining table that seats 6 comfortably as well as a game table which seats 4 that is also in this room and so it can comfortably seat 10 adults. If everyone tried to crowd around the dining table, perhaps it was a bit crowded, but again, it is set up so that at least 10 grown ups can dine. Not to mention the eating bar in the kitchen. The dining room is a separate room off the kitchen, not in the kitchen. We are sorry you were frustrated--we also feel that way when we get hard to fathom complaints. If there were a problem with the master bathtub and toilet, we would have tried to remedy it had you let us know during your stay. It is hard to provide excellent service when we only hear of problems "after the fact." The property is described as "in the woods" and we do not claim that it has a big view, although some folks love the wooded setting and consider that a lovely view.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

This home was perfect for our family. 8 adults and 1 child. We had everything we needed and enjoyed the Hot Tub and pool table. We were close to thing we wanted to do. I recommend this property!!! We did the Biltmore, Grandfather Mountain, Blowing Rock and Crossnore. Horse back riding was also something some of us did in Blowing Rock along with Gem Mining.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Donna, we agree that this home is most accomodating for a family group, with lots of room to gather together and also plenty of space for privacy when wanted. Sounds like you enjoyed quite a bit of what the high country has to offer from this secluded yet convenient location. Thanks for the 5 stars and you are welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC

Will not be staying here again

  • 1 of 5

This house looked great from the pictures on the internet but once we arrived it was a different story. It was dirty and unkept, there was mouse poop in the house along with potato chips and wrappers from previous renters, worms in various areas. The house was thick with dust as well and one of the bathtubs was unusable it was so dirty. There was a strong smell of mold in the master bedroom also (probably from the washer/dryer closet in the master).

There were no large pans to cook breakfast in as the one in the cabinet was gross and unusable and the coffee pot leaked scalding hot coffee. We kindly brought all of these issues to Blowing Rock Properties attention and they really just didn't care and just made excuses rather than try to fix them (I see previous reviews on here complained of the leaking coffee pot and no pans and still nothing was done to correct these same issues).

There was also no working internet or cell phone service up here either. It would be so much better if they simply cleaned and maintained this house, it is a shame.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jennifer, we appreciate all guest comments and especially your taking the time out on the last day of the year to review your stay of over two months ago. Fortunately, with modern technology, we have a record of our many, many phone calls back and forth with you trying to alleiviate and address your many concerns. You may have forgotten that we sent a maid out within 2 hours to clean whatever you had found to be unacceptable, and that included vacuuming up your children's food crumbs from the carpet, etc. I assume you do realize that we have absolutely no control over whether your cell phone works in our area and the home did have a land line for your use if needed. As far as the internet, AT&T cannot instantly replace a modem--a new one was ordered and there in place for the next tenant. We even called to warn you about the weather forecast as I believe that was the weekend that hurricane Sandy's winds came through and I think you chose to leave early because of that. We do try to maintain our properties and the overwhelming majority of our reviews are positive for this home and the others we manage.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
Brevard, NC

Great with Some Caveats

  • 5 of 5

We had a large group - kids, grandkids, friends staying with us for the Highland Games at Grandfather Mountain. Everyone had a great time and with the hot tub, pool table and TV in every room, the kids were especially happy. No doubt about it, the house is lovely. Here are the caveats: 1) The weirdest is no closet in the master bedroom! What was a closet is converted into a second laundry room. There still are some half length rods but you've got to wash off the sticky laundry detergent on the shelf before you use the top rod. You can't use the bottom rod cause stuff is stored underneath. I had to hang my pants on the towel rack in the bathroom. 2) The second table in the dining room is a high bar height game table but had desks chairs that wouldn't nearly go high enough to be able to eat at that table, especially for kids. We moved the counter chairs at the kitchen bar into the dining room to be able to use this table to eat, so all of us could be together. Then we had to move everything back before we left. 3) The kitchen is not that well equipped. The two largest frying pans (needed for 9 people) frankly were disgusting - crusted and no longer "non-stick". No blender, so forget fancy drinks. Not a full set of measuring spoons and the coffee pot leaked around the rim, so you had to pour over the sink or get coffee all over the counter. Next time I will know to bring some of my own kitchen equipment. But it is a fantastic kitchen for multiple chefs/cooks preparing meals. 4) While the rule prohibiting more than three cars is clearly stated (I'm not arguing that), it makes no sense. There is plenty of room for 4 cars without parking in front of any other property. If we've got the extended family next year for the Games, we will want to come back even with these caveats. It is beautiful and so close to Blowing Rock, that was a bonus.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carol, thanks for the 5 star review and we look forward to your return to Forest Hideaway next year. Have never had anyone mention a problem with the combo closet/utility room in the master, but sorry you had trouble finding a place to hang your pants. Most people love having two utility rooms, especially if staying longer and they have many people. As far as the dining area, the main dining table has a bench seat that works well for little kids. We will definitely take a look at the kitchen and replace anything that needs to be replaced or make additions. Sorry about the parking but, as you say, it clearly states 3 cars only. . .
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Collettsville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Peak Summer
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
Peak Fall
Sep 30 2017 - Oct 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
MLK Weekend
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
President's Weekend
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 19 2018
2 night minimum stay
Mar 1 2018 - Jun 14 2018
2 night minimum stay
Peak Summer
Jun 15 2018 - Sep 3 2018
7 night minimum stay
Peak Fall
Sep 28 2018 - Oct 28 2018
3 night minimum stay
Oct 29 2018 - Nov 17 2018
2 night minimum stay
Nov 18 2018 - Nov 25 2018
7 night minimum stay
Nov 26 2018 - Dec 19 2018
2 night minimum stay
Dec 20 2018 - Jan 6 2019
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $135 + Tax
Processing $35 + Tax
Rental Damage Insurance $39
Tax Rate 9.75%

Minimum stays do apply and vary throughout the year

WEEKLY RATES AVAILABLE: Stay 6 nights get the 7th free. Also, ask about our Monthly rates!!!

50% deposit is required to book with the balance due 30 days prior to check in

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties