Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Unique Apartment - Rare Montmartre Location -Views Over Paris

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

This unique apartment (6 guests, 2 bedrooms, 75 m2) is in a Montmartre 19th century building. It is in the district of the old Montmartre village quiet street featuring many romantic artists studios. Visit the famous place du bateau Lavoir. This is where many famous artists lived, PICASSO, MODIGLIANI, Albert CAMUS, Max JACOB.

The owner has completely redesigned the apartment. On access to the apt by one flight of stairs.

The architect played with the former apartment decoration: he selected some of the valuable antique wooden furniture, re-used some stained-glass doors, and kept the “tapisserie” on some of the living room walls as well as the full white marble bathroom. Alternatively he created a contrast by designing a modern kitchen with bright colors which links the living room, one of the bedroom and the bathroom.

• Entering the apartment, the first glimpse is the view over Paris through the large left window. The light sprinkles over the stained-glass doors of the bedroom which is on the right.

• The bedroom offers a queen size bed. It is equipped with large bookshelves. The bedroom window has a view over the calm rue d’Orchamps (semi pedestrian). When stained glass doors are slid open, light comes from both sides of the bed.

• After entrance, one steps in the exceptionally large living room. It has 3 tall windows. It is furnished with a large antique wooden table, and a sofa corner with armchairs and extra chairs (on photos the sofa has not been delivered yet). The sofa will be a comfortable convertible sofa (may sleep to adults for short stay).

• The kitchen is a separate room, fully equipped including dishwasher and washer drier. It is brand new and colorful modern designs. One walks through the kitchen from the living room to reach the master bedroom and the bathroom.

• The master bedroom offers a queen size bed. It has 2 windows with view over Paris. It is equipped with a wooden (& valuable) wardrobe close to the bathroom. Toilets are inside the bathroom.

• The original white marble of the bathroom and the faucets were kept. The look is art déco type. It is equipped with a bath with shower, and has a high window.

As a bonus, Phone calls to land lines in France, and to US, Canada and Australia are generally free. It is also true for more than 50 countries. More over, calls to cell phones towards specific countries (often US & Canada) may also be free. Ask us for detail as it may vary with time and policies of operators.

SACRE COEUR church is 3 minute walking distance. Les abbesses, the trendy part of Montmartre is close : many restaurants, shops and nice café terraces. The ABBESSES SUBWAY station is 2 minute walk. PIGALLES & BLANCHE stations are only 3 minute away. This location is a perfect base to visit Paris. It stays 15 minute by subway to most interesting Paris locations AND is a very charming & restful area to be appreciated after a whole day shopping and walking through museums...

Last point, we are staying 1 block away. We are here if you need help

E-mail Strongly Preferred - Fast & Detailed answer - Click on 'Submit'

Keywords: Montmartre, view over Paris, sacre-coeur, family, design, 2 bedrooms, flat, apartment, Paris, location, best, price, comfortable, perfect, light, calm, unique, charming, value for money, affordable, Moulin rouge, gazette, safe, painters, artists, Picasso, garden

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 22, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

We just wanted to thank you for our wonderful accommodation on Paris . Your apartment really was exactly as described and had everything we could of needed!

Montmartre was a fantastic area and we loved every minute we were there. We will recommend it to everyone we know!
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 3

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Sacre Coeur church
Nearest Point of Interest
Rue Due Poteau Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Jules Joffrin Subway
Nearest Point of Interest
The Vines of Montmartre
Nearest Point of Interest
Lamarck Caulaincourt Subway
Nearest Point of Interest
The Abbesses district
Nearest Point of Interest
Picasso Studio
Nearest Point of Interest
Chateau des brouillards
Nearest Point of Interest
Sacre Coeur garden
Nearest Point of Interest
Subway Abbesses

Amenities

Grandes-Carrières Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
25% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
6% Complete
Unique Apartment - Rare Montmartre Location -Views Over Paris
average rating of 4.322581 based on 34 reviews
5

Wonderful stay in Montmartre

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay in the apartment in Montmartre. The arrangements to pick up the keys were easy to follow. The apartment itself was very comfortable, and would easily accommodate two adult couples (we were a couple with one child); it is well furnished and the beds were clean and comfortable. The kitchen is well appointed and has a filter coffee maker which we really appreciated. The shower in the bathroom has plenty of hot water and great water pressure. You should mention in your description that there is a hairdryer - always of interest to women travellers!

One of the highlights for us was the view from the main bedroom window - at night especially- there is a great view of the Paris skyline, including the Eiffel Tower and the Arc de Triomphe. It was beautiful all lit up at night.

The apartment is really well situated, with brilliant local shops and restaurants practically on the doorstep, and the Abbesses Metro a 5 minute walk away (slightly longer to walk back as it is all uphill!) There is a real neighbourhood feel to Montmartre and having travelled extensively in Paris on this trip, I don't think there is anywhere I'd rather stay for a feel of 'real Paris'.

We would recommend the apartment and location, and would definitely use InBeauParis as the descriptions were honest, the communications good and the service excellent.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clovis, CA
4

Wonderful location close to Sacre-Coeur

  • 4 of 5

Loved staying in this convenient little apartment close to Sacre-Coeur. I've stayed in the neighborhood before and is is my favorite. There are several bakeries and fruit stand close by. It is close to Sacre-Coeur, but not in a really touristy area. Close to the Metro, so it's easy to get to the sights. Lot of local shops. The furniture is a bit shabby and the interior could use a bit of updating, however, the beds are comfortable and the kitchen is very usable. The bathroom has a tub with a hand held shower. There is no way to really take a standing shower easily. The water is very hot, which is great. I would recommend it for a good place to stay. Also, I let the owner know that a few light bulbs needed replacing and they fixed it immediately.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

A great disappointment for first trip to Paris

  • 1 of 5

Well, if one wants to stay in a Bohemian apt. in the Montmartre District of Paris and enjoy

a case of bedbugs

finding dead bugs in bedroom drawers

having bedroom lights not work due to faulty electrical outlets

having drapes that either do not open or do not close - necessitating dressing in the dark

having sheer drapes that were once white showing a dark gray color with odor of must

having a clothes dryer that did not provide heat

having to twist and turn body in order to sit on toilet - toilet below the marble sink

having to use 2 stools pushed against refrigerator door to keep it shut

shower curtain too short - causing water to leak on floor, also very dirty

no place to hang shower head for a proper shower

Then this is the place for you.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Charles, Thank you for your review. Although it is not positive we do appreciate as it helps us to improve your service. We are very surprised you mention bed bugs. They are very rare in France. This happens from time to time as those bugs come from the suitcases of some guests who are not even aware they bring any. We received you review 4 weeks after your stay. Since your departure, we had 4 other guests staying who did not complain. We work with a specialized company and have sent them. They did not find any bed bugs. It must have been another kind of bugs. In any case beds were cleaned as a precaution. Had you called us during your stay they would have been sent urgently. The fridge was already fixed. We have sent a technician check the dryer, fix the curtains, wash the sheer curtains and change the bathroom curtain. We are sorry if it was faulty. It will be repaired. We also could have fixed some of this issue quickly during your stay. Some of this issues should have been reported to us by the cleaning company. We have informed them of the mistake so that the cleaners could be trained better to report issues. We agree that this were too many issues a the same time and will do our best so that it never happens again. This apt is actually a charming apt that has been renewed partly in modern standard ( kitchen ) and partly maintained in its former decoration , wooden pieces of furniture, marble bathroom, old style drapes, colored stain glass… That may create inconveniences for guests looking for fully modern decoration and confort, we understand it may not be a your tastes. Would you come back in Paris, we would be happy to offer a modern style apt. Sincerely, Jean
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chicago IL
4

Terrific Location in Montmartre

  • 4 of 5

Very Nice , very "French" apartment on the hill in Montmartre. Very near shops and restaurants and very near to the Moulin Gallette of the famous painting. The views were spectacular and the apartment was spacious for 4 people. It is a beautiful area with lots of local flavor on the other side of the hill, however there is TONS of tourist traffic around the church and in the place du Tertre. This apartment requires a bit of stamina if you are sight-seeing. The Metro stops are either at the bottom of the hill or at Abbesses it is a long stair climb in addition to the walk up the hill. This apartment has frequent tourist group stops right in front of the apartment, so the windows have to remain closed because of the noise. There is also a playground on the opposite side of the apartment in the courtyard. This can be noisy as well during daylight hours. There was also construction going on in the building that we were not notified of. So while the management company stresses how you should have some consideration and be quiet for the neighbors, the surrounding neighborhood is certainly not quiet. Its a great place overall, but be prepared for early mornings and late nights.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Adam, Thanks you for your review . This apt is indeed very French and our guest appreciate its view over paris and the square and its charm a lot. As far as the noise of the playground, it should be mentioned that the play ground is a square that opens at 10 am and closes at 7 pm in winter, 8 pm in summer. If the windows are closed the sound is barely audible. It is audible in summer. We never had complaints. The 3 days works happened to be repainting the windows from outside. Unfortunately in Paris it is impossible to plan when the works will exactly start. We have offered a compensation for this inconvenience and one can be sure it will not happen in the next 10 years. Hope to host you again in Paris. Sincerely, Jean
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Apartment

  • 5 of 5

We rented this apartment and another apartment in the same building for a family trip. We loved this apartment. There is a great open living room/dining room area for hanging out and the kitchen is small but pretty large for a city apartment. There is a washer and dryer as well which we used to keep our bags small. The neighborhood is great. You really get the living in Paris experience in this apartment. There is a good amount of natural light and great views of Paris from the apartment. Shops and restaurants are very close and its about a 10 minute walk up to Sacre Couer. The apartment is short uphill walk from the subway, but we didn't mind it too much since we were walking all day. I would recommend this apartment to anyone!

  • Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Lovely location and stay.

  • 4 of 5

Our stay in Montmartre:

The apartment was lovely - sunny, spacious, with most all the amenities that you would have at home. The beds were very comfortable and it was so nice to have a place to lay out the plans for the day to come at the dining room table and a place to lay out the cheese, baguette, and wine in the living room to plan out the evening while relaxing on the couch or numerous armchairs. Plenty of shopping and restaurants near by and the neighborhood is interesting and safe. It would be nice if there were some basic things in the kitchen like salt, pepper and oil. The only downside was that the toilet was not very strong and took a long time to fill which could be problematic for multiple people staying. Check in was easy enough and the communication from the staff was great.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning & Linen $128.78 + Tax
Tax Rate 3.9%

- We may accept 3 days stays : simply send us a mail for 4 days and add actual dates in the comment.

-Additionally, we would like to mention:
• Electricity, heating is included (not included only in case of monthly rental).
• Internet is included
• Phone is free to many destinations (US, Canada landlines & cells please ask for details)
• Full end of stay cleaning is mandatory and is included (includes Linen&Towels)
• Paris City tax of 0,83€/day/guest charged on behalf of Paris City is included

- Tax/Handling charges will depend on payment way

- Rates may change at any time. Rates vary depending on season, nbr of guests if applicable, occupation & owner.

- The quote is for 4 guests : a 25€/day/extra guest fee will be required for additionnal guests. It is capped to a max of 250 €/stay. Unfortunlately, the site system does not enable capping the extra guest fee.

- Damage protection will be requested with 2nd and last payment

- Note that this site automatic estimated quote system calculates rents in a basic way : it may result in higher quote for 6 days than for 7 days or other discrepancies. Therefore, we may resend a detailed quote with description, & process via mail.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties