expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Large 7 bedroom custom home, Private Pool & Spa, Spectacular Ocean views

Kona Palisades, Kailua-Kona, HI, USA
  • House5800 sqft
  • Bedrooms7
  • Sleeps17
  • Bathrooms7
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay3 - 7 nights

7 Bedrooms, 7 Baths, Sleeps 17

Why book individual resorts or condos when your whole group can enjoy a mansion in paradise? Enjoy exceptional panoramic coastal views from the private and quiet custom home at the O’oma Plantation.

This large home is the perfect escape for a large family or group of friends. There are seven bedrooms, each featuring beautiful hardwood floors and updated private bathrooms. This home does not include air conditioning, but the slight elevation of this home allows you to cool the home with natural ocean breezes.

We encourage you to spend time exploring our beautiful island. When you return to the O’oma Plantation at the end of the day, you will find that there are many features to enjoy during your time together at the home. There is an entertainment room for movie night! There is a modern and spacious kitchen equipped with granite counter-tops and new appliances, perfect for home-cooked meals. There are large gathering spaces in and out of the home as well as a beautiful custom wooden staircase that follows the lava rock wall up to the upper viewing deck.

There are 3 spacious decks to enjoy the outdoors and sunny Kona weather. The large infinity pool faces the Kona coastline for a picturesque view and breath taking sunsets. There is also a heated spa, large barbecue and outdoor shower: everything you could need for your gathering. The hot tub will allow for limited hours, but available for spa heating four hours in the morning as well as an additional four hours in the evening. The pool is not heated, but it is perfect for cooling down after a hot day at the beach.

This house sits north of Kona Hills, but hidden away below the highway away from all traffic. There is quick and easy access to downtown Kailua-Kona, Honokohau Harbor, the airport and Kona-Kohala resorts.

If you are seeking local markets and historical context, downtown Kailua-Kona is approximately a 15 minute drive for easy access to shopping, businesses, waterfront restaurants and hotels. Watch the people and the cruise ships come and go from the Kailua Pier. Visit the famous Farmer's Market. Enjoy a shave ice or a cup of Kona coffee, have a light snack or a gourmet meal, buy an inexpensive souvenir or a piece of fine art, book an activity, go for a swim or hang out on the many beautiful beaches.

Up the coast is a busy marina with Hawaii's best scuba diving, big-game fishing, kayaking, dolphin and whale watching and other ocean activities. O’oma is conveniently located, a great home base to explore the many wonders of the Big Island including Volcano National Park, Mauna Kea Observatory, coffee and macadamia nut farms, artist communities, and more!

Click Here for Virtual Tour

HAWAII TAX ID # TA-079-038-8736-01

Property Manager

Boundless Hawaii

Member Since 2001
Premier Partner
This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response rate:
Response time:
within one hour
Calendar last updated:
Apr 20, 2018
About Boundless Hawaii

Boundless Hawaii, a full service property management and luxury vacation rental partner in Hawaii. Whether you plan to vacation, want to protect your investment, or are looking for a long term rental we offer the best options on the Island of Hawaii.


    • Internet
    • Swimming pool
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Hot Tub
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 17
        • 4 King beds, 1 Twin bed, 4 Full beds


        • 7 Bathrooms

            Location Type

              • Ocean View


                  • Clothes Dryer
                  • Hair Dryer
                  • Internet
                  • Iron & Board
                  • Linens Provided
                  • Washing Machine


                      • Dishes & Utensils


                          • Satellite / Cable
                          • Television


                              • Balcony
                              • Deck / Patio
                              • Kayak / Canoe
                              • Tennis

                                Pool / Spa

                                  • Hot Tub
                                  • Private Pool


                                      • cinemas
                                      • library
                                      • live theater
                                      • museums

                                        Leisure Activities

                                          • beachcombing
                                          • boating
                                          • miniature golf
                                          • shopping
                                          • sight seeing
                                          • walking
                                          • whale watching
                                          • wildlife viewing

                                            Local Services & Businesses

                                              • fitness center
                                              • groceries
                                              • medical services

                                                Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                  • deepsea fishing
                                                  • fishing
                                                  • golf
                                                  • hiking
                                                  • jet skiing
                                                  • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                  • surfing
                                                  • swimming
                                                  • tennis

                                                    House Rules

                                                    Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                    Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                                    44 Reviews


                                                    Latest reviews

                                                    Things have slipped

                                                    Rating Details:

                                                    The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

                                                    The vacation rental was clean.

                                                    I was very happy with the location.

                                                    I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                                    Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

                                                    Reviewer Comments:

                                                    This is a beautiful home and the second stay for our family including the two of us our three kids, spouses and grandkids. The first time three years ago was wonderful so we planned and rented it again this year. Unfortunately it wasn’t the same experience. The upkeep has slipped. When we arrived two toilets didn’t work, there were over a dozen lights not working on the main floor, dryer not working and the bbq was absolutely filthy. While it was relatively clean there was soap scum buildup on all the shower doors. We notice the cleaning complaints are mentioned by others in past reviews but nothing has been done. This is too nice a home to be neglected. We were told by the repairman that no one checks up on these rentals. Something is fixed only when those renting complain. The property managers are not doing the owners the proper service. This is expensive to rent and we came away disappointed. Our family loves the home and we would consider returning only if these concerns are addressed.

                                                    Owner's Response:

                                                    Tony, we have made an effort to address all the issues you've mentioned. It seems the list you have compiled of issues either discovered during your stay or upon arrival does not equate to the property slipping over a period of three years, however to each its own. I can assure that constant property inspections are preformed at this home, however given it's size there is always the possibility something goes array prior to check-in, which seems was the case here. The repair technician sent to the home to address the concerns you had mentioned is employed for same day or emergency repairs, therefor would not be aware of the continued upkeep that is done to prevent the home from deteriorating. Either way we encourage you to return so we may leave the same positive lasting impression your first visit to the home had.


                                                    Mike M.,

                                                    Rating Details:

                                                    The property manager was very helpful.

                                                    The vacation rental was spotless.

                                                    I was more than happy with the location.

                                                    I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                                    Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                                    Reviewer Comments:

                                                    Huge -- 7 bedrooms, 7 bath, large living areas, large well-equipped kitchen; large pool, heated spa; endless view of ocean and majestic sunsets. Perfect for 3-week family reunion of 11 adults and four young children. Property manager -- Boundless Hawaii -- was instantly responsive on the few occasions we called. Location was excellent but requires car travel to beaches and to town (and for shopping). A grand property; grand professionalism by Boundless Hawaii; a grand vacation.

                                                    Owner's Response:

                                                    We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us on the Big Island! I sincerely appreciate the kind words about not only the property, but also our management team! We would love for you to return someday soon and in turn we will reward you will a 10% returning client discount!

                                                    Nice but lacking

                                                    Stanley B.

                                                    Our stay with 15 people , 8 Adults and 7 children, was very good. Spacious and lots of room. But as always there is some things not quite right or lacking. over all needs a good cleaning. Beautiful hardwood floors showed scuff an marks that a proper cleaning would make them look much better and a great first impression. Over all outside areas need a good cleaning and some upkeep. Entertainment room pictures look great but is really only a 12x12 room. Kitchen was large but 1 garberator did not work and the other was doubtful so used very little. Dishes and cookware was minimal .

                                                    3 spacious decks were great but as picture shows there is no furniture on two. Only 2 lounge chairs for the pool and one was broken. Other furniture on main pool deck was minimal for a large group with table and chairs that showed the weather and wear. Cushion lounge was good but only for 4 or 5 people. Found out not to expect heated pools in Hawaii, they say they don,t heat them. Which may explain why in two other condos we stayed very few people were in the pool.

                                                    Stan B

                                                    requires some serious updating/attention for the pricetag

                                                    Jenn B.

                                                    Our extended family stayed at the house for Christmas 2016 - 2 grandparents, 3 couples & 7 children ranging in age from 3 - 14 (15 in total). We needed space for a significant group, which was why this one was chosen. Prior to our arrival, the cleaning staff had used some kind of silver polish on the railing and before we knew it the kid's hands were covered in black. The house obviously has a/c but it's turned off, not a huge deal but seriously when you are paying 10k + for a week's accommodation it should include everything imaginable. The pool was freezing cold, even on hot days it wasn't used much. The hot tub is on a timer, so it's only actually "hot" for very specific times of the day. The view is phenomenal but the location is kind of awkward to get to; although this can't really be corrected by the property owners. The neighborhood is relatively quiet. The bathrooms all had serious soap scum built up on all the glass, the fan in our bathroom didn't work at all. There were sections of the second storey patio cut out from below. The second-floor bedroom only has a daybed, which is inconvenient; we ended up setting up sleeping bags for the younger boys to have their own space but this area is completely under utilized and could be another amazing bedroom with full access to the upper decks. The tiles in the bathroom shower need grouting attention. The walls have seen better days with numerous ding marks and could use a fresh coat of paint. The kitchen had most of what we needed, even if it was quite "well used". We did have an amazing trip regardless of all this but when I'm paying a significant amount of $ I would expect the house to be maintained better. I would return to the Big Island in a heartbeat but I can't say I would rent this house again. The only things it had going for it were the view and the amount of space (7 bedrooms) since we did have a very large group.

                                                    chance of a lifetime

                                                    Brad A.Lake Elsinore, CA

                                                    Rating Details:

                                                    The property manager was adequately helpful.

                                                    The vacation rental was very clean.

                                                    I was more than happy with the location.

                                                    I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                                    Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                                    Reviewer Comments:

                                                    We my family (17 members) my children and their children. Such a great opportunity! I give praise to the Lord and thank HIM greatly! We had a wonderful stay and pool was a plus. We all slept comfortably and were comfortable. We especially love the pool and adult time at the Jacuzzi. A few minor things the toaster is a four slot toaster but only two slots work and we needed the four slots to work. Also the rule to throw everything out of the frig (food) but good eggs, good water etc. Thought the rule should be leave what can be salvaged not leftovers but good food eggs, packages that are not opened, perhaps the cleaning staff can make use of it. Frig ice maker didn't work a the bed upstairs needed to be a king bed not twin size. However, all in all we had a great stay and a wonderful time!

                                                    Family reunion on the Big Island

                                                    Joy B.Santa Clarita, California

                                                    Rating Details:

                                                    The property manager was very helpful.

                                                    The vacation rental was spotless.

                                                    I was more than happy with the location.

                                                    I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                                    Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                                    Reviewer Comments:

                                                    We had a great time at this rental, 11 adults and 2 kids. Pros: everyone had own bathroom attached to their room, close to airport and Costco, beautiful ocean view up on a high hill above Kona, and house was clean and spacious. Cons: main con is there is a beautiful pool but it is not heated so we used the hot tub a lot but not the pool. Also, one of the days we were there was fairly warm and a/c would have been nice but we were thankful for the ocean breeze and fans in every room.


                                                    Kona Palisades, Kailua-Kona, HI, USA

                                                    This home tenders the services of a well-known and respected local property manager (Boundless Hawaii) to handle your queries and needs before and during your stay. For immediate assistance please don’t hesitate, email or call one of our reservation specialists for more details.


                                                    Additional information about rental rates

                                                    Rates above do not include taxes, fees or available discounts and are subject to verification at time of booking. Taxes required by the State of Hawaii include the collection of a 9.25% Transient Accommodations Tax and a 4.166% General Excise Tax on all rental and cleaning fees. Taxes are subject to change. Choice between a Vacation Rental Damage protection plan $49.00 or an equivalent deposit. Refundable security deposit and departure cleaning fee may vary. Optional travel insurance is available. Deposit is equivalent to 3 nights rent with balance due 60 days prior to arrival.

                                                    44 Reviews
                                                    Excellent 4.4/5
                                                    Premier Partner
                                                    Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                    Instant Confirmation
                                                    For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                    Property # 315230