Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

LONE STAR: Fire pit, Ping Pong, on creek!

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

Lone Star Cabin is located at the end of a private gravel street on a quiet creek feeding into Lake Hartwell in Martin, Georgia. **FEB. 2017--DUE TO A DROUGHT IN GA, OUR COVE HAS DRIED UP WITH ONLY A CREEK RUNNING THROUGH IT. OUR DOCK IS SITTING ON LAND, SO GUESTS MUST ACCESS THE LAKE AT THE NEARBY POPLAR SPRINGS BOAT RAMP, OR TUGALOO STATE PARK.**The cabin itself is still cozy and serene with a great fire pit and an away-from-it-all feel.

The nearby Lake Hartwell is perfect for kids big and small, who want to go boating, fishing, swimming, and exploring. There is room in our driveway to park your boat, if you want to bring a boat and trailer it at the end of your day on the lake. The wood cabin with 3 decks and wood stove surrounded by natural vegetation allow you to get back to nature the old fashioned way. Some other favorite activities we enjoy at the cabin are roasting marshmallows by the fire at night, catching fireflies or baby frogs (which come out by the dozens in springtime), or picking blackberries by the road if in season. If you want a break from your kids saying they are bored, then you have found the right place!

This newer vacation home has 4 bedrooms, and 2.5 baths and boasts many deck areas, indoor and outdoor living areas, granite in all bathrooms, fire pit, and lots of games and activities for adults and little ones.

It has a master on main off the kitchen, with a king bed, and adjoining master bath. Upstairs are 3 bedrooms, and one full bath. The upstairs bedrooms are: one queen bdrm, one bunk bed (twin over full) bdrm., and one bdrm. w/futon/TV/playroom. The house itself if fully equipped with wifi and satellite TV so your vacation stay will be as enjoyable as possible. Some of the extras our home offers are: a ping pong table and dart board (bring your own darts) in the unfinished basement; a game and craft armoire; Little Tykes kitchen & toys; an outside living area on the covered porch, where smoking is welcome; as well as a large fire pit for roasting s'mores outside. Bring your movies and books for a relaxing getaway from everyday life.

Eastanolee Creek, around the bend from our cove, is known for some of the best fishing in the Southeast. Within a 5-10 minute drive, you will find 3 boat launches and Tugaloo State Park on Lake Hartwell. Within a 20 minute drive you will find great antiquing, hiking, waterfalls, shops, restaurants and golf.

Dogs are welcome with prior approval and a pet fee.

Keywords: Cabin, Creek Cabin, Lake Hartwell Lake House,

More Details

Owner
Megan Atherton
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish, Se habla Espanol.
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 24, 2017

About Megan Atherton

Lone Star Family: We are a family of 5 from Alpharetta, GA (Atlanta), about 1.5 hours away. Ed and Megan, originally from Texas, named the house after their home state. We have 3 kids, ages 17, 13, and 7; as well as dogs, so the house is definitely kid and pet friendly.

Megan Atherton purchased this house in 2005

Why Megan Atherton chose Hartwell Lake

We love the North Georgia area and enjoy spending our free weekends on Lake Hartwell. Martin, GA is just far enough away, that we can drive it easily in under 2 hrs. from our home in Alpharetta, but feel like we are really getting away from the city. The house gives us the mountain feel, with the bonus of the nearby lake to enjoy.

What makes this house unique

Two of our favorite things our family enjoys are frog/toad catching and berry picking in the spring, when the tiny frogs are everywhere and the wild blackberries are abundant. The kids love to fish and explore and go on scavenger hunts. Fall is our favorite time to spend up there with cooler weather, bonfires, and the leaves changing colors. For water fun, we enjoy pedal boating, skiing, and wakeboarding, but mostly just tying up to our friends' boats and hanging out/swimming in the water.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Megan,



We LOVED your cabin! The location was absolutely perfect for my 30th birthday weekend-getaway. The back porch was great for drinking coffee and catching up with friends and family. The firepit was just what I was looking for - some warmth on a chilly October night, and a great setting for playing some guitar and singing songs. We played a few good games of ping pong, and had an absolute blast taking the pedal boat out on the water. I don't think we could stop laughing on that pedal boat :) THANK YOU SO MUCH!
Oct 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Martin House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , + adjacent laundry closet with stack washer/dryer
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Bathroom 1 inside master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upstairs bathroom in hallway, shared by all upstairs bdrms
  • 2.5 baths
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master on main
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Upstairs Queen bedroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , The upstairs bunk bedroom has a twin bed over a full bunkbed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Den with TV and double futon
  • King size beds (1) Master, Queen size Beds (1) Upstairs bedroom, Baby Cribs (1) Pack n play, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon in upstairs den bedroom, Bunk Beds (1) Twin over full bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Pedal Boat
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
We are located on the upper quiet end of the Eastanolee Creek, which feeds into Lake Hartwell. Within a short 5-8 minutes drive, you will find 3 separate public access and boat launch areas on Lake Hartwell--Poplar Springs, Holcolm Access, and Bruce Creek. Harbor Light Marina is nearby if you would like to rent a boat for the day. Tugaloo State Park is also within a 10 minute drive of the house, and it has sandy beaches, picnic areas, and swimming areas. Sometimes the water level drops very low, to where you may not be able to get a boat to our dock. Lake Hartwell is not a constant level lake and we cannot guarantee that our dock will have water under it at all times. There have been times that we have little or no water under our dock. Please verify water levels on the Lake Harwell website, if water depth is critical to your vacation, you may want to consider another cabin. Even without water, the cabin is still a quiet, tranquil place to relax.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

LONE STAR: Fire pit, Ping Pong, on creek!
average rating of 4.6538463 based on 27 reviews
1

PROPERTY NOT MAINTAINED/NOT AS ADVERTISED

  • 1 of 5

Property has not been very well kept as the current pictures show. The "well stocked" kitchen is not very well stocked as the pots and pans are very weathered from abuse and need replacing. The housekeeping was terrible! My wife and I had to take a whole day of our vacation to clean old food out of the refrigerator and clean it. The cabinets had old, opened foods that had to be separated from our foods we brought. The bed sheets did not look as if they had been washed. There were clumps of hair on them upon inspection.The outside "screened Porch" is not screened and the shades were not operable. Bore bees and wasps were taking over the porch area. The grills were inoperable, dirty, and weren't kept covered. I had to take time to fix one of the grills in order to attempt to salvage our stay with an operable grill. The overall area on the grounds has much poison ivy and needs to be sprayed asap! Even the smoker next to the firepit has poison ivy growing up the side of it! This house is not very well maintained by the owners. We left early and when unpacking at home, noticed roaches in our bags! We called to get reimbursements on the property which helped, but I still can't believe I spent this amount of money for a busted vacation!! Never again at this property!!!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow John! Thank you for the rudest review ever! Interesting that I have 2 lovely reviews at the end of April, but you claim my house went off the rails 14 days later. My home does not have a screened porch, nor do I advertise it as such. It has a covered front porch and covered back porch, but no screens. It is a challenge to keep carpenter bees off porches during carpenter bee season, but we do try. As we discussed when you called to complain about the fridge, pans (and spatula), my home has a complete set of Calphalon professional grade aluminum pans that any chef would be happy to cook on. My housekeeper did forget to clean out the few things left behind in the fridge from the previous weekend's guests, prior to your arrival, but she is adamant that she cleaned the sheets and the whole house prior to your arrival. I have used her for more than a year and not changing the sheets/not cleaning would be very uncharacteristic of her. She now sends me thorough photos of each room after each make ready to have no room for dispute. I sincerely apologized that you were so dissatisfied the day after check in, & thus, you were given a choice to leave for a full refund. I also told you that if you stayed, I would refund your cleaning fee for the inconvenience, and that I would reimburse you for any items that you felt you needed to make your stay more comfortable like new spatula, a few new pans, etc. You guys then decided to stay if I also refunded one night. You chose to stay, & got your refund, and now I'm not sure why you did if everything was so very bad. We treat the house regularly with pest control and you are the first to complain of roaches. I, myself, certainly would not have chosen to stay in a place that was so overrun with roaches, that they poured out of my bag when I got home.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Magical

  • 5 of 5

The property owner is super nice and thoughtful. The property was even better than the pictures. My stay was short and sweet this time. I will book this property again in the near future 😊

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great, thank you for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Lone Star! We hope you will visit again soon! Many thanks, Megan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great house with all the amenities

  • 4 of 5

The house exceeded expectations, updated, clean and near state park for outdoor activities

Minor challenge was the time of year with pollen. Wood bees and poison oak/ ivy/ sumac made for some setbacks... but that is the great outdoors. House has great two tier deck

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Vincent for your review! We are so glad we exceeded your expectations and hope you will return soon! Sincerely, Megan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice place !!!

  • 4 of 5

It was very nice and my grands enjoyed the play/toy room !!! Would love to go back and stay longer . Thanks,Debbie

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Debbie, So glad you and your grandkids enjoyed your stay! Thank you and we hope you'll return soon! Sincerely, Megan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very cute lakefront home.

  • 5 of 5

We booked this home last minute and Megan was very easy to work with. The directions she provided were spot on. The lake level was really down so we did not get to enjoy the dock. I do know if the water level was at full pull it would have been perfect. The house was really cute and had so much charm. We enjoyed the fire pit. The kids loved the basement with the ping pong table. We brought corn hole and plenty of room to play. Just loved the wrap around deck. Had breakfast and coffee on the back deck, very cozy. May need to replace the mattress in the master and make sure the propane tanks are full. Thanks Megan for letting us enjoy Lone Star. I would recommend!!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Relaxing Labor Day Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Had a very nice Labor Day weekend at the Lone Star Cabin. Plenty of room for our family. Kitchen had everything we needed for cooking large meals. Great open floor plan. Nice secluded area, very peaceful. Megan was so pleasant to work with. Responded immediately when we called. Thank you Megan for sharing your home. PS my aunt loved the N64/James Bond game. Wouldn't let anybody else play :)

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jade, Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay! That is so funny about the video game--it is about as old as video game systems get, yet my kids love to go to the cabin, specifically to play that Nintendo 64! You all were a pleasure to deal with as well! We hope you will return again. Thank you, Megan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Atlanta
Car: necessary

Martin, Hartwell Lake, Northeast Mountains, Georgia, USA (1.5 Hrs. from Atlanta; 3 Hrs. to Charlotte & Asheville, NC) -- Lone Star Cabin is located at the end of a private gravel street on the upper end of the Eastanolee Creek which feeds into Lake Hartwell in North Georgia. The Eastanolee Creek is known for some of the best fishing in the Southeast. Within a 15 minute drive you will find great antiquing, hiking, waterfalls and golf.

Other Activities: boating, kayaking, pedal boat

Photos

Rates & Availability

Martin House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
July 4th
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Columbus Day
Oct 6 2017 - Oct 9 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving '17
Nov 17 2017 - Nov 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
$300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday '17
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$185
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75 + Tax
CleanFee(up to 8 guests) $125 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 7.0%

Wkends in spring/summer have 2 night min. Holiday wkends have 3 nt. min.

Tax is charged on all rates, pet fees, clean fees, & extra person fees. Groups >8 require an extra $50 added to the cleaning fee and may require additional damage deposit. There is an extra charge per extra guest above 8 guests. Minimum age to rent is 25 years old.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties