Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private Home, with Spa & Game Arcade, ((ASK ABOUT 3 NIGHTS FOR THE PRICE OF 2)

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

Very private rental home but close to everthing.

Nestled on a secluded hillside that overlooks miles of Galena Territory's wildlife preserve, Horizon House offers its guests total privacy, yet the convenience of being only minutes from the area's many popular amenities.

A famous resort and its 4 nationally rated golf courses are just around the corner. The Shenandoah Riding Stable and over 40 miles of trails are equally convenient. The historic town of Galena is only 6 miles to the west, while the Diamond Jo casino and the Dubuque Dog Track and casino are only a little further down the road.

Horizon House is not just another carbon copy resort rental. It is a unique private home that has many features seldom found in vacation rentals, as you will see from the following partial list:

- Four Bedrooms

- Three Full Baths

- Two King Suites with Private Bath

- Four Queen Beds

- One Queen Sleeper Sofa

- One Full Sleeper Sofa

- Central Heat & Air Conditioning

- Wood Burning Fireplace

- Fully Equipped Eat-in Kitchen seats 11

- Microwave oven

- Bar B Que Gas Grill

- Two Spacious Decks

- Large Screened Porch

- Six Person Hot Tub with a Spectacular View

- HD Satellite Dish

- Stereo System with MP3/Ipod Dock

- Phillips Ambi-light flat screen HDTV

- Four bedroom flat screen TV's

- Four DVD & blueray players

- Dolby Home Theater System

- Washer/Dryer

- Its Own Game Arcade Featuring:

Skeeball Alley

Operation Wolf Shooting Game

Electronic Darts

Golf Arcade Game

Fooz-Ball Table

Imagine that you have returned from a full day of golf, tennis, boating, gambling, shopping, skiing or any of the activities that historic Galena has to offer. It's time to sink into the spa on the Horizon House screened porch and enjoy a spectacular view of the unspoiled nature preserve that surrounds you. Watch the colors change as the sun moves over the horizon.

Although the area features some of the most spectacular golf in the country, this is not just a Summer house. In Fall, the changing colors are an attraction in themselves, while in Winter, the Chestnut Mountain Ski Resort is only minutes away and...


Horizon House has been tastefully designed and decorated to comfortably accommodate up to 10 guests of all ages. However, pets are not allowed. There is no smoking, except on the outdoor deck areas.

The availability of rental dates is always at a premium. Please inquire for reservations as soon as your desired dates are determined. Horizon House is located at 243 Blackhawk Trace (between Northridge Lane & Russet Lane) in The Galena Territory, Galena, Illinois. The entrance to the Territory is located on US Route 20 fifty miles west of Freeport in extreme Northwestern Illinois.

Horizon House requires a two night minimum rental. There are discounted rates available for off-season weekday stays. Weekly rates are available and there are sometimes free bonus nights that can be added to you stay. The adjacent four bedroom house can also be booked with Horizon House to easily accommodate up to 20 guests

Keywords: Vacation Rental Home

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

Why The Owner chose Galena

After visiting the Galena area for many years, we decided to purchase our own home there. We have not regretted our decision as we have hundreds of happy memories of our wonderful house and the good time that have been had there by all. We ourselves have rented many vacation homes all over the world and we have tried to give our house everything we thought was missing from the places we have rented.

What makes this house unique

Our house is conveniently located in the center of the Galena Territory/Eagle Ridge Resort complex. It is close to all amenities and on a main road, but it is located down a secluded ridge which gives it complete privacy. It is also adjacent to deep woods hiking trails, which we use quite often for morning nature walks. There have been more than a dozen deer in our backyard at one time and bald eagles have perched right outside our windows.


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Dubuque, Iowa
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Woodstone Restaurant
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Eagle Ridge
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Rt 20
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Woodstone Restaurant
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Chestnut Mountain
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Galena Territory Marina
Car: necessary

Access to Owner's Private Club (indoor/outdoor pool)& Eagle Ridge Resort. Four golf courses next door, 100 stores, two casinos and a Dog Track in the vicinity.


The Galena Territory House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Trash disposal is the guest's responsibility.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (4), Child Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Game Arcade with arcade video games, shuffleboard table, Foosball and Electronic Darts. Three deck areas. Extremely private setting with wilderness forest views, but near all amenities.


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
Private Home, with Spa & Game Arcade, ((ASK ABOUT 3 NIGHTS FOR THE PRICE OF 2)
average rating of 4.111111 based on 9 reviews

Great Labor Day weekend

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time this weekend staying here. The accommodations were very nice and we appreciated the passes to the pool. The deck was great to share conversation and stories at the end of the day. Thank you for sharing your home with us!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
west chicago,il

Kids Loved the Acade Games

  • 5 of 5

The kids made a beeline for the lower level game room and we didn't see much of them after that. Nice relaxing weekend in the forest. We will definitely come back

  • Submitted: May 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
East Moline

Another great Christmas for our family.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great stay again at the Horizon House celebrating Christmas with children and grandchildren. The house is homey, comfortable and room for us all to enjoy time together. The new hot tub was fabulous.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5

We were four couples that stayed at Horizon House this past weekend and had a terrific time. The house had more than we could hope for. We cooked dinner on the BBQ and breakfast every morning in the kitchen, which had everything we needed. The hot tub was great for after golf and shopping and the girls even challenged the guys to a Foosball tournament (the guys won). The house is not brand new, but is well maintained and loaded with character. You can tell a whole lot of people have shared good times here and we wee glad we got the opportunity to do so as well. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Renters beware

  • 2 of 5

We only found two positives – the hot tub and the layout of the bedrooms. The house is in need of a thorough cleaning and painting. The house was dirty and dusty. If a person has allergies, you would need your inhaler for sure! We left the house cleaner than when we arrived. There were several chairs on the deck that are broken. The games in the basement were all broken in some manner. Some more than others (we did NOT break them). The TVs that they advertise in each bedroom all have to be on the same satellite channel. So if they kids were watching cartoon network that is what everyone had to watch if they were wanted to watch satellite TV! But the most disappointing thing was the access to the facilities at the owners club. This house sleeps 10, we had 9 with 5 being children. We went to the owners club pool and was told we only had access for 6 of us. We were told the owners of the property could purchase more access cards but chose not to. We were never told nor does it say anywhere on this website that only 6 can use the amenities. We had 5 kids, and needed more than one adult to supervise them at the pool. We were in bathing suits with no cash. We could buy one day passes for 5.00 each. That wouldn’t have bothered me as much had I known in advance. We were very embarrassed and disappointed to be turned away at the security desk.

We did call and complain to the phone number but were not given any suggestions are answers. I for one would not want someone in the house cleaning with all of our belongings laying around. That is not the answer. The house needs a good spring cleaning.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Beware of Renters Who Cannot Be Pleased This is the first complaint we’ve had about the Owner’s Club pool policy. However, we are not the Owner’s Club, but a private rental home. We offer six free passes to the Club, day fees are only $5 for additional guests. This had been sufficient for all our guests over the past ten years. This guest indicated that she brought no money with her to the Owner’s Club, not a good choice anywhere in Galena. However, our house is only a five minute round trip from the Club. A short drive could have quickly solved the problem of admitting her large group Although we believe the house was clean, we offered to send the maid over at no charge to clean it again while the guest was present. She abruptly refused this offer. As far as broken items, there was one broken deck chair out of fourteen and there were two arcade machine that were out of service, leaving five more that worked fine. Finicky arcade machines seldom all work at the same time, but we do our best with maintenance. Our handy man is only a phone call away if having all seven working is important to you. The satellite system in the house offers independent channel tuning in the living room and one channel of viewing in all the bedrooms and the game room, but there are also 14 other local channels available everywhere in the house independent of satellite viewing. Instructions for tuning these channels appear in each of the six flat screen locations. We can, however, appreciate that this guest liked our brand new seven person hot tub and each of the four bedrooms. At least she and her family seemed to have relieved their stress and then slept well, which is what Galena is all about.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Chicago, illinois

Thanks for a Great weekend!

  • 5 of 5

We had an wonderful weekend at this house! We had our kids and friends in for a weekend getaway. The adults all played cards and games upstairs while the kids were entertained with all the arcade games in the downstairs area. The house had all the amenities we needed for the weekend and took full advantage of the territory offerings. we have rented before in the Territories and have never found a house this well equipped. The Hot Tub was great!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60
Damage Insurance $59

Our normal rates are now $395 per night plus tax with a 2 night minimum. However, each third night is free (some holiday dates might not include free nights or require longer bookings.) There is also a $60 cleaning fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.