Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Kentucky Lake Cottage-King Creek Resort and Marina

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,005 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Bath, (Maximum 8) beds for 6 adults only

Our cottage is located on Kentucky Lake in Benton, Kentucky. Featuring 3 bedrooms and 2 full baths and can accommodate up to 6 adult guests in beds , small kids on futon. This property is just steps from the water! The cottage features a large, lakefront deck perfect for barbecuing with your family and friends or taking time to relax while taking in the beautiful views! If you are looking for a simple and laid back vacation at the lake - you'll find it here! A sprawling 163,000 acres of water boasts plenty of open water for fishermen and boaters alike. We are excited to announce that for the 2018 season our new 40 slip marina will be opened! All of the slips are covered, have electric, and non ethanol gasoline is available. Not only will your vessel be steps away from your cottage it will be protected from the elements. The cottage has ample parking. Boat trailer parking is available onsite for no additional charge and within view of the cottage. This year we have 5 pontoon boats and 2 Kawasaki jet skis available for rent. Our newest 2018 pontoon features walk-thru style seating and a 115HP Mercury outboard. Our jet skis can accommodate up to two people and have a top speed of 40 mph. We also have 5 Bass Tracker fishing boats and 1 deck boat for water skiing or tubing. We are located within minutes of Land Between the Lakes Recreational Area. Kentucky Lake is known for its crappie and bass fishing. There are a number of restaurants, grocery stores, and a big box store within a short driving distance. Great for families, friends, and fishing buddies. We are also more than happy to accommodate pets for a nominal fee.

There is a beach area with two decks perfect for soaking up the sun or putting your feet up while relaxing at the picnic table. The kids/grandkids could be just steps away playing in the sand or swimming out to the floating dock! :)

If you or your guests want to take a break from the lake we have corn hole/bags, horseshoe pits, play area for the kiddos with swings, slide and a basketball hoop.

Paddle boats and row boats are complimentary for our guests and are available on a first come, first serve basis.

Paducah, Kentucky is approximately 20 miles away. There are many dining options available as well as a shopping mall.

Please see all property photos and if you have any questions, please feel free to ask!

Keywords: Cottage

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 14, 2018

About James

Hi! My name is Jim and I would first like to thank you for taking time to visit our property. I purchased King Creek in early 2010 as a retirement venture to embark on with my son who is also named, Jim. We have put a lot of time and effort into the property to turn it into what we had envisioned. We continue to update season after season with smiles on our faces and sweat on our brows! We consider our resort, simple, and family oriented - with an emphasis on fishing and boating or anyone with a love for the water. Again, thanks for stopping by. We hope to see you soon!

James purchased this cottage in 2010


Benton Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1005 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Water View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • In all three bedrooms, there is a queen bed. In the living/family room area, there is a full bed as well as a twin bunk bed for additional sleeping.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
15% Complete
7% Complete
Kentucky Lake Cottage-King Creek Resort and Marina
average rating of 4.076923 based on 13 reviews

Relaxing weekend with friends.

  • 4 of 5

The property was perfect with a view of the lake. We had a minor problem with one of the showers but the owner came right over. The beds and furniture were comfortable except for the old futon in the living room. It was hard to sit on , don't know how it would be to sleep on. Some hangers in the bedrooms would have been nice too.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Channahon, Il

Laid back camp ground with a very accommodating owner

  • 5 of 5

This is our second year at King Creek for a week over 4th of July. We stayed in cabin 4 both times and enjoyed our stay very much. We cook quite a bit and find the kitchen in cabin 4 to be big enough to feed a crowd. Jim is always very accommodating. His grounds are in a great cove close to other marinas. We usually travel with a group of friends and all our kids. There is something for everyone to do including the Older teens. We also travel with our boats ranging in sizes from 23-27ft and Jim can accommodate them all. He also rents boats if you don’t have one and has some kayaks on site. It’s close to town for shopping or eating out. These cabins are more fishing style so you will need to provide your own provisions but again you are close to stores so you don’t need to travel with everything.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dirty Cabin

  • 1 of 5

This cabin was so dirty. Floors dirty, cutlery had to be washed before we could use it, deck full of debris. I would not rent from here again.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We pride ourselves in having a affordable and valve priced facility. Having a quality experience is our goal. 2018 is now are 9 year here, and every year we grow. I wish you would have expressed your concerns during your stay, so that we would have a opportunity to correct them. We are very responsive to customers needs. The cottage is cleaned everytime someone stays here.We have a staff of 4 who watch over 7 cottages, With me and my son living on site and this is are only job. Denise our cleaning lady is highly respected in the area, who also cleans other homes , and david our maintance guy is a great older guy. We get a total of 4 hours between someone not wanting to leave and someone wanting to start there vacation. Our cottages are designed with less is more. bedrooms are basic with no carpets, kitchens are simple summer kitchens.with all tools needed for a week stay for 8. living rooms are TV's and couch's. But all comforters, beds slide out, couch's moved in that cleaning, and bathrooms completely gone thur. because of time, walls, wood work, and some windows are just a visual check.But all bedding and floors are cleaning or changed. As for the deck, our property is deep in the woods of western Kentucky, each end of this deck as 2 60-80' oak trees which seem to drop stuff daily, All decks are swept and blown off the morning of someone's check in Again thank you for the feedback and we will utlize it to improve future stays thank you for your stay jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not so hot

  • 2 of 5

I will start by saying the cabin is in a great location. But when we arrived and checked in the cabin was dirty. Someone did help clean bathrooms and fridge while I swept and clorox wiped things down . I then had to go buy a swifter and vacuum for all the hair on the floor and rug . Floor vent in the living room is missing peices and my 2 year old got his foot stuck in it. Then the kitchen vent was peeling up so he kept tripping over it . The living room blinds were broke and holes in the walls. I also had to purchase ant spray for inside but I can deal with that since it is camping. There was trash littered about and cans under the playground I cleaned some up just so my kids would stop picking them up.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Great place to stay and fish, awesome staff!

  • 5 of 5

This was the second time we stayed at King Creek Resort and Marina. Both times we found the accommodations to be great and the staff was awesome! We had our family reunion (total 15) this year and had a blast. Ate fish every day, and even made reservations to come back next year. We had family from Georgia and Illinois so it was almost 6 and 1/2 hours from both states. Would highly recommend this to anyone with family or fishing groups. I did not think of it at the time but the noise level was very quite. The Staff is Awesome, everyone there was extremely helpful, and truly wanted you to have a great time. You do not see that these days everywhere you go, but you really see it here. Note this is a fishing resort for families and fishing groups. This is not a 5 star resort, yes you have to wash your dishes by hand so enjoy being together. This is an excellent place to spend time with Family! We had an Awesome family reunion!

Todd M.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2014
  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Lake Station Indiana

Worst vacation ever

  • 2 of 5

Stayed in Lunker Buster...TV was not hooked up & could not get it working, no one would answer my 4 messages till the next day. Not the cleanest....very few pots & pans no dishwasher. Washer & dryer in campers bathroom, 1.50 a load so bring lots of quarters. Fish cleaning station not working, had to clean fish on deck, motion lights on marina pier and they kept going off so kids couldn't fish at night, and that cost 60 extra bucks for boat slip. Tub in bathroom had a crack in it, so was afraid to use it, for our safety! Left wrong keys . And now as I sit here at 3AM I am putting towels and cans down in the kitchen & living room to catch the water POURING from the ceiling during a rain storm . Saved their big screen TV just in time from water damage!!! All in all worst vacation ever and can't wait to more night to go.....won't be coming back, and very disappointed!

  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you weren't pleased, Earl manager and myself use all feedback as a report card on our service and conditions at king creek. We try to accurately portray our cottage's and business as it is. With exact photo's of what you see when you check into cottage, And we believe our pricing reflects that. We do not have a full time clerk in office. Earl manager has his cell # on office door and business cards on counter. He lives and works on site and is always available if needed. Our cleaning staff spends hours in our cottage washing bedding, wiping down walls, and cleaning furniture and march is are first customers of the year. Our 3 bedroom cottage's has service for 8 guest's, plates, bowls cups, etc. and kitchen does have a large supply of frying, sauce and casserole pans and lots of supporting equipment. We have only 30 covered boat slips, First 8 are for cottage guest's, Rest are leased as seasonal boat slips, We have most lights and security camera's on motion sensors, we do not want all lights on customers boats and belongings. Fish cleaning station had no water to it cause of Morning freezing temperature's for 3 days, We tried a electric pump in lake, it did not work. I did check roof on cottage Friday morning after Thursday night storms. Roof is 9 months old, we did a complete tear off, and replacement. I did find some questionable nail heads and rechaulked some of the ridge vent on top of roof. I went into cottage on Saturday at 8.00 am after more storms and rain Friday night, Inspected surface of wood ceiling and walls of cottage, and wood floor, seen no water from Friday night rain. You did get some water from Thursday nights storms. went back into cottage Saturday at noon rained all morning till 11.00 am, inspected floor and walls again seen no water anywhere. Were trying to improve king creek, with just opening the cottage for its first time this year, we did not have water leaks in cottage before this. We work hard to make sure our guest's are happy and content. Earl and mike spoke with you or family daily. Apparently, you were the exception , But certainly not the rule. We would love to have the opportunity to serve you and family again in the future jim
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75

summer rates day $190 weekend $240 week $1100 5/24 -9/5/18 summer/holiday 3 night minimum 6 guest's kids under 3'tall free kids $ 10.00 extra holiday rate may 27,28 july 3,4,and 5 and September 2,3 and 4 $240 stay rate 2018

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.