Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beech Mountain....SkiBeech and Sugar are Open...Perfect Couple Getaway w/Wifi

Bedrooms 1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Winter in the Mountains! Looking for that perfect winter getaway weekend in the mountains? You've found it!

Beech Cabin is on Beech Mountain in Banner Elk NC. Easy access to skiing and snowboarding on Beech and Sugar Mountains. The cabin is less than 10 mins from Grandfather Mountain. At an elevation of 4,650 feet, the cabin is less than a mile drive to the top of Beech and the ski resort on Beech, and nearby Sugar is only a few minutes away. Beech Cabin is ideal for a couple looking for that perfect winter retreat getaway in the Blue Ridge Mountains. This Non Smoking, pet-friendly cabin has many special features such as authentic stone walls, hardwood floors, covered front and back decks and a rushing stream outback. After a day of hitting the slopes, you can unwind in the jetted tub. With cable lcd tv, wifi, and a full kitchen you can enjoy the comforts of home while tucked away in the perfect little cabin on Beech Mountain. The cabin, built in 2006, is very attractive with vaulted cedar wood ceilings and a king size sleigh bed. Enjoy the highlands cool mountain air on the front deck or listen to the stream and enjoy the scenic nature on the smaller back deck. Either way, relaxing and unwinding is easy.

The kitchen is fully equipped with stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, coffeemaker, and toaster. Or you can prepare those steaks or hamburgers on the gas grill on the covered back deck.

Head up the mountain to the mountain top shops and activity of Beech Mountain, including Fred's Mercantile Store, a personal favorite. Or head down the mountain to quaint shops and great restaurants in downtown Banner Elk, such as Louisiana Purchase New Orleans style restaurant, Stonewalls Steakhouse or Banner Elk Winery. Sugar Mountain is only a few miles away if you prefer the slopes on Sugar.

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 10, 2017

Why Mike chose Beech Mountain

We love the mountains and actually rented this unit in 2005 for a Thanksgiving holiday. We found the unit for sale the following year and made an offer promptly. The cabin is on Beech Mountain so its very close to skiing Beech and and a short drive to Sugar Mountain, Grandfather Mountain, and Blowing Rock.

What makes this cabin unique

The property is centrally located. We enjoy the full kitchen and the covered decks, especially the back deck, because you can hear the creek that runs through the property's back yard.


Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
StoneWalls in Banner Elk
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Beech Mountain
Car: recommended


Beech Mountain Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

65% Complete
26% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
Beech Mountain....SkiBeech and Sugar are Open...Perfect Couple Getaway w/Wifi
average rating of 4.4565215 based on 46 reviews

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just recently stayed at your cabin for a long weekend getaway. It was just the right size for the two of us and our stay was very comfortable. We found plenty of things to get out and do. Grandfather Mtn, Blowing Rock, and Linville Falls were the highlights of our stay. The kitchen was fully stocked and we cooked breakfast every morning and even baked a Moravian pie we bought at a roadside market one evening.

Again.. thanks for letting us stay at your cabin! We will definitely be coming back!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

I would certainly go back!

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I loved the place. We found the place cozy and invinting. On the down side, the floor was dirty, TV was not working and no instructions on how to tune the channels properly and although was cold and a very invinting weather for a glass of wine, there isn’t a single wine glass in the place. We bought some bottles of wine and had to drink it in water glasses. Not as fun ;)

However, I would like to highlight that Mike provided all the good tips and made us feel comfortable. If you ever go to Banner Elk, you must go to teo places: Banner Elk Winery - spend the afternoon there and the Luisiana Purchase restaurant. You will not regret it!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful cozy cottage

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I enjoyed our stay. Great dinning recommendations. It was the perfect space to return to after eventful day of hiking and taking in the local flavors. We especially enjoyed the stone walls and exposed wood ceilings.

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing Cabin

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is the perfect getaway for a couple. We spent our 10 year Anniversary here and it was perfect. Close to everyrhing you need. You really dont even need food, just go enjoy Beech Mountain Cafe. We will definitely be returning. Mike, the owner always got back to me wirh any questions i had quickly. Again. AMAZING.....

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC

We had a fantastic stay! We can't wait to come back!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this Cottage. It was the perfect studio space for my husband and I and our two pups. We were a little bummed that the jacuzzi didn't work for us, but everything else was great! The bed is comfy, the kitchen has everything you need to cook, and the host sent a list of awesome restaurant recommendations that are nearby. It made our stay go by wonderfully not having to spend so much time researching things to do. We spent our time doing lots of hiking with our dogs. The leaves are beautiful this time of year! We also went horseback riding at Dutch Creek trails. Overall, we had a fantastic weekend and we thank Mike for allowing us to stay so last minute. We cannot wait to come back for another visit!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Carolina

Don't go there

  • 1 of 5

With the amount of money they charge for cleaning, the space was far from being clean, windows, floors and shelves were so dusty, my wife had to spend 45 minutes of our vacation time cleaning the only shelf We could use for our clothes.

The worst problem was Not having toilet paper, hand soap. How much would it cost to leave toilet paper in the place? That was cheap and I'd never go back to that place. I don't see any thing good about it comparing to any other cabin we rented before.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Akmed, Please let me start by saying that our guest's satisfaction is the #1 priority for us. We understand how precious vacation time is and we value every moment. Good evidence of this is our VRBO/Homeaway 4.5 star rating out of 5 possible stars. (39 positive reviews out of 42). A close second to our guest's satisfaction, is feedback. Feedback, both positive and negative, offers us the opportunity to react quickly to issues, and ultimately it offers us the opportunity to get better at offering the best possible accommodations. That being said, we are truly sorry that you were unable to locate the toilet paper and that you found the cleaning fee too high. The toilet paper was inside the bathroom vanity. There was also one 1/2 roll on the holder. This has been our standard for several years of renting the cabin. I'm not sure which shelf you had to clean for 45 minutes, but if you would have just called me, we would have sent the cleaning person over immediately to resolve this or any other cleanliness issue. She could have also pointed you to the toilet paper. As far as our cleaning fee, we believe $65 is more than reasonable to clean the cabin. In fact you agreed to the cleaning fee amount when you booked the cabin. The cleaning company actually charged us an additional $20 to clean the cabin upon your departure on 8/14. Moving forward, we sincerely hope that you are able to find the ideal rental on the next vacation. Please take this advice and give the rental owner the opportunity to correct an issue if one should exist. That is all that we would have asked in this exchange. We truly wish that you would have found Beech Cabin as satisfying as the 39 other positive reviews that we have received recently. Thanks again for choosing Beech Cabin We hope to have you back in the future. Mike and Missy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Booking Fee $18
Cleaning Fee $65

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties