Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

October 2016 new remodeled Single storey on Lake San Marcos Golf Course.

Bedrooms 2
Space 300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Single House , 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

Lovely single story home in pleasant Lake San Marcos neighborhood. Located on the golf course, there is a large patio to enjoy the view. No steps at all. There are two spacious bedrooms and two spacious bathrooms. Living room has large fireplace, new flat screen TV. Lake San Marcos has restaurants, convention center, two golf courses, swimming pool and boating.

Weather is ideal. No coastal dampness or fog. Easy drive to the beach and marina. Close to museums, amusement parks and more. Available $1100,-- weekly or $3100,-- per month. Rates subject to change.

Keywords: Single Family detached home on the golf course. EZ drive to beach. 35 minutes to San Diego Airport Enjoy Lake San Marcos golf courses, clubhouse, swimming pool and tennis courts.

Upgraded in May 2016 with new furniture and new patio in front yard.

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018

About The Owner

We live in Germany. Love to spend our vacations in beautiful Lake San Marcos.

The Owner purchased this house in 1999

Why The Owner chose Lake San Marcos

Everyone loves Lake San Marcos. This neighborhood is well established and every home has great curb appeal. The residents are friendly and from all over the world. They seek the special climate of Lake San Marcos. Lakes are not plentiful in Southern California. This lake is popular with paddle boats and other small boats.

What makes this house unique

Sunshine in the morning, no coastal fog. A little drier climate than the coast. Yet, it is only a 20 minute drive to the ocean and marina.

Guestbook comments from the manager

In short, I LOVED that waterbed, I want to get EXACTLY

the same features as that bed. My back hasn't felt that good when waking

up in many years.
Dec 2010
  • 1 of 2


Lake San Marcos House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 1 bathtub 1 shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1) Queen size Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
October 2016 new remodeled Single storey on Lake San Marcos Golf Course.
average rating of 4.0 based on 7 reviews
Tucson AZ

Holiday Visit

  • 2 of 5

My wife and I spent two weeks here before and during the Christmas holiday visiting our daughter who lives in Lake San Marcos. The location is lovely, on the golf course tucked out of harms way. Very relaxing sitting on the patio watching the golfing world go by.

The house, however, really needs improvements and maintenance. While most everything was functional, virtually the whole house is from the 70's. Also, on arrival, we found many of the lights in the ceiling, table and floor lamps didn't work, and styrofoam inserts in the front window by the door, as well as in the master bedroom, I assume to help insulate the place. A few days into the rental, we had an invasion of ants in one of the bathrooms. The owner had to call the cleaning lady to deal with it.

After that, the rest of the vacation seemed to flow OK. However, after I returned home, I didn't receive my deposit back in a timely manner, and had to call several times to find out where it was. When I did finally receive it, $17 was deducted because we used "excessive electricity" (for 2 weeks). Now we're a couple who are well aware of turning off lights. We keep the nighttime temperature to 67 deg, and generally are environmentally conscious. But, somehow, we used 'excessive electricity". So beware of nitpicking, and I'm guessing you'll have a good visit.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Al, We are very sorry for you being so unhappy about your stay in our house. You probably didn't know that all the houses in Lake San Marcos were built about 40 to 50 years ago. There are houses which are remodeled, some more, some less. The house you stayed in has already been highly upgraded, much more than most others here, and we are still working on it. Our 2nd house is already totally remodeled, but you choose the one which is much cheaper! Our cleaning lady did everything to make you happy, unfortunately this was impossible. By the way, ants come into houses when food is left out. Also due to the present California drought, when floors are wet ants will move in to access water. By Californian law landlords have to pay deposits back within 21 days. Your refund check was sent 01/15/2015 (together with the item you had forgotten in the house), 17 days after you moved out. Absolutely in time! No reason to complain in this regard, but you called already 3 days after moving out for your refund!. We didn't say: Excessive use of electricity, it was only $17 above the cap you accepted by signing the contract. All the driving because of the item you forgot cost us more than $17 in gas. Once again, sorry for having made you so unhappy in our old but cozy house. Birgit Holzhauer-Krupp (owner)
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Hillsboro, Or

March trip

  • 3 of 5

We just spent March in this home. The place was nice but lacked supplies, such as wash clothes, soap. We had read reviews ahead of time so knew to bring soap with us. It was unusually cold for the first week or so. We had to use the heat almost daily, consequently, they deducted $35.00 from our refund. We did enjoy our stay. the house is lovely but does need work done on it. Bring sweaters or sweatshirts to wear so you don't have to use heat.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2014
  • Stayed: February 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In our rentalcontract is a note: " The utility for gas and electricity has a cap of: $ XXX"! Many renting homeowners have such a cap. This is to prevent unnecessary waste of costly energy. By experience of renting this home for more than 10 years we know very well what kind of a cap to assess for the different months. Our contract containing such a cap was signed and therefore accepted by the complaining lady. Other regions of the country were much colder this March. Good for her she was in our house in Southern California (there she had electricity!) We actually provide washclothes. I do not know where they were hiding, but they were there! By us provided soap was rarely used by renters, but leave liquid soap. The rent of the house was calculated for one month. We did not charge for the extra day this party was asking for and was using. One day extra is normally costing $100,00! What a complain and fuzz now because of this deducation of $35,00, but no thank for the extra day (actually a benefit of $65.00 in favor to a complaining lady). Her recommendation for "tourists without car" is total nonsense: no matter what, you need for sure a car.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 2
near Philadelphia, PA

Winter get-away in friendly neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

We recently spent Christmas and more at this cozy home on the golf course. Although we are not golfers, it was relaxing to watch them on the green from the livingroom sofa. The description and photos of this house are accurate, and we found the owners to be lovely people. All rooms are spacious, and the patio was our favorite spot for lunch and reading as we had sun until mid-afternoon. This was one of the coldest winters in San Diego County, but we managed to stay warm here.

The location of this community was perfect for us and provides easy access to Rancho Santa Fe Road, San Marcos Boulevard (Restaurant Row and Las Posas shopping center), Palomar Airport Road (to the Carlsbad Outlets) and the I78. We like to take walks and do mild hiking and discovered that San Marcos has some very nice parks and trails. The neighborhood is great for walking, as many people do. In addition, the planned community of San Elijo Hills is a short distance away with its large park and trail system.

Lake San Marcos is undergoing many improvements now, with a senior living community almost ready to open and the hotel being totally renovated. We can only imagine how lively it will be on that side of the lake in a few months. This neighborhood, however, is behind the lake and consists of older homes that are gradually turning over and being renovated. The owner of this house has long-range plans for improvements, too. All in all, we were happy to have stayed here and met Birgit, Hans and Horst!

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: December 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Pre-Christmas vacation

  • 5 of 5

This place was very nice. Clean, nice furnishings, plenty of kitchen items for cooking. It is not very welcoming, however. I expect basic items like fresh soap and T.P. to be included as part of the rental cost. It was expected that T.P. be replaced. We had to hunt for a hidden bar of used soap. A welcoming binder of information about local attractions, or book for travelers to write about their stay, would make it more appealing. The owner is friendly, but very strict about arrival and departure times! Easier check in would be appreciated as well.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: December 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1
Las Vegas

Clean, Comfy, Quiet, & Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

As promised by the manager, this place was perfect for our family vacation to Northern San Diego. The property was very clean and well maintained. The view of the golf course from the living room is gorgeous. It's only 15 minutes to Legoland and 20 to Carlsbad's beaches. There are several grocery stores nearby and lots of yummy restaurants close too. We would absolutely stay here again! Oh - and the fresh lemons and oranges on the trees out front were delicious!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: July 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. Great! Your deposit check was sent from Germany last Saturday, I've sent the confirmation to you the same day. We hope to see you again as our guest. Best regards Birgit Holzhauer-Krupp
Did you find this review helpful?
4 2


Nearest Airport
39 Miles
San Diego International Airport
Car: necessary

Lake San Marcos is located between Carlsbad and Escondido in Southern California. The lake is a private 80 acre, fishing license is not required.




Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150
booking fee $150
cleaning $130
Refundable damage deposit $850

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties