Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Creekside Getaway, Beautiful Cabin, near Nantahala Lake & Gorge

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,440 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Beautiful cabin with gourmet kitchen. . Can accommodate four to six people.

Located on pristine rural secluded creek in Lake Nantahala area of North Carolina, this cabin is just a few minutes from Nantahala Lake, Gorge, and River. Rent a pontoon boat, canoe or kayak at the nearby marina and cruise the lake. Beautiful area for fishing, cruising, whitewater rafting, swimming, and hiking. Premier golf courses, attractions and gourmet restaurants near by. 45 minutes from Bryson City and the Cherokee Casino is less than an hour away.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Terry Turner
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 12, 2017

About Terry Turner

My wife, Kathy and I bought this lovely cabin in 2003. We had searched southwestern North Carolina and east Tennessee for 10 years. We fell in love with this area and hope you will too. It's a great change for us from the heat of central Florida and we spend as much time here as possible.We truly enjoy boating and fishing on the lake as well as rafting the river.

Terry Turner purchased this cabin in 2003

Why Terry Turner chose Smoky Mountains

We chose this location after 10 years of looking. It offers everything we were looking for and then some. Boating, fishing, rafting and yet a short drive to Bryson City, Cherokee and the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. The Appalachian Trail is nearby and the Bartram Trail is less than a 1/4 mile away.

What makes this cabin unique

We love sitting on the porch in the morning with a cup of coffee, listening to the sounds of the creek and watching all the bird and other wild life. The cabin offers relief from our every day hectic world and provides the opportunity for you and your family to truly enjoy the great outdoors. There is level parking in front of the cabin for your boat, camper or RV and if you can't get away from it, wi-fi is available.


Topton Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1440 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Shower in the master bath and full tub and shower in second full bath.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting


Good! 3.9/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Creekside Getaway, Beautiful Cabin, near Nantahala Lake & Gorge
average rating of 3.9166667 based on 12 reviews

Easy access to this spacious two bedroom home

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much in this spacious two bedroom, two bath home. We had plenty of room for the 5 adults in our party. We had one person sleeping on the hide-a-bed sofa. The home was clean when we arrived. We had to clean the porch but not a big deal. The kitchen was well stocked with just about everything we needed to prepare two meals a day for the entire week of our stay. The home is tastefully furnished for a mountain retreat. The beds were comfortable.

The gravel access road is not too far from the highway and fairly level. It was no problem for our Toyota Camry. Watch out for the pot holes, but not unexpected for these mountain roads. We have rented other cabins in the area where you just about need a 4 wheel drive vehicle to make a steep climb up a gravel road. This one was easy by comparison.

If you plan to raft down the Nantahala River, be sure to take a right when you get back out to the highway instead of going left through Andrews. This saves about 20 minutes of driving to reach NOC.

Relaxing on the upper porch while listening to the creek across the road is very therapeutic. The lower porch you see in the photo is not in use and closed off as far as we could tell. We replaced the food in the 4 or 5 hummingbird feeders hanging from the porch and had hummingbirds all week long on the feeders.

Be sure to contact the owner in advance of your travel date for the correct lockbox code. The code provided at the VRBO app was not correct as of the date of our trip and there is no mobile phone coverage in the immediate area. It took a little electrical know-how to get the dryer and hot water going because we discovered the circuit breakers were off.

Overall, a very nice property.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your informative review of our property. We strive to provide a clean and comfortable setting that allows our guests of all ages to have a most enjoyable experience. We take pleasure in being able to share our little slice of paradise with others who enjoy it as much as we do. I would add that the lower porch is open and a ping pong table is available for use by guests. Also information on-line has been updated.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The lockbox code was incorrect and with no service there we had to go to the rescue squad for a l

  • 1 of 5

A land line. The house was not cleaned prior to our stay. The floor had dead insects on it. The furniture was ripped and stained as well as the rugs. The outside porch was disgusting and hadn't been cleaned in years. There was years of poop on the porch and one of the rocking chairs was broken . The toilet seat was not attached to the toilet in the master bath. The internet password was also incorrrct and we didn't get the right one until the second day. And there wasn't a hot tub that was advertised.

I believe we should get a refund .

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, I did not accept your reservation until the morning of your check in date, having received the request the night before. I did not receive conformation of your cc payment so I assumed you had changed your plans and therefore I did not contact you with the correct pass codes. The info online is outdated and incorrect. I spoke with you the night of your arrival, gave you the entry code and was to call you later with the wifi password. I called the house twice that evening but got no answer. It wasn't until the next day that I received an email which I responded immediately with the wifi code. I spoke to my housekeeper of 5 years, prior to your arrival and she assured me the cabin was clean and ready for guests. In regard to the hot tub, we've never had one nor advertised that we have one. I will look into the other areas you described and make sure they are corrected as needed. We're very sorry you did not enjoy your stay, as we constantly strive to provide a clean comfortable cabin in the western North Carolina mountains that is enjoyable for guests of all ages.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend, and we absolutely did not want to leave!

The house is on a very quite dirt road...with the doors and windows open, you can easily hear the creek across the street. Our children (14 and 15) loved the collection of movies and games, and of course the wi-fi. We loved sitting out on the porch, drinking coffee in the morning, and planning our day. We took our 2 dogs on several walks down to the watering hole right near the entrance to Bartram Trail...they LOVED getting in the water!

The house is incredibly well stocked...all you need is you, your loved ones, and some food....everything else you could possibly need is there!

I wish we could have stayed longer...but at least we got to stay at all!

Thanks Terry and Kathy for allowing us to enjoy your little paradise in the mountains!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Novi, Michigan

Not as expected

  • 1 of 5

When we arrived, the condition of the cabin was not as was described. The owner agreed to a partial refund, but this did not compensate us for the inconvenience of having to find new accommodations during the middle of our vacation. Recommend to carefully consider whether you want to rent this property

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The conditions mentioned regard communication issues of phone and internet connections. Our cabin is not located in a gated resort community. We are located in a pristine rural area and sometimes these issues occur. Corrective action by our service provider is not always available immediately. We make every effort to provide our guests with these services, however at times it is is out of our control. When advised of the problem we make every effort to resolve the problem as quickly as possible. We're sorry that your timely refund was not to your satisfaction.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great location and very nice home! Everything was perfect!

  • 5 of 5

I was extremely pleased with my stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Creekside Getaway

  • 4 of 5

Tidy and clean. The description was accurate. Well equipped with everything one needs. Definitely no cell service. A nice getaway from the real world. Our family enjoyed rafting and zipline which were close by. Mr and Mrs Turner had a wonderful caretaker for their property who saved the day for us by coming an unlocking cabin for us when we locked the keys inside. Yes I would recommend this to family and friends

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review of our property. We strive to make the stay at our cabin as enjoyable and comfortable for all our guests. Our local contact person does a great job and we appreciate everything she does.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Whitewater Rafting, Golf Courses


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Damage Insurance $59

Taxes are included.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties