Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Renovated Beachfront Ocean View South Maui Condo!

Bedrooms 1
Space 576 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3)


On the sunny side of Maui, our beachfront, one bedroom (sleeps 3), ocean view (From both the lanai and the bedroom) condo is right on the longest stretch of beach on Maui. This is four miles of uninterrupted beach, much of which is undeveloped and borders reserve and turtle nesting areas. There are no scary roads to cross to get there! It is a wonderful beach for walking and mellow for swimming and snorkeling as the reef protects the beach from most surf. A short snorkel out reveals colorful fish and sea turtles. Kihei Kai is a small, intimate complex on a cul de sac. The tropical landscaping is beautiful and the pool remodeled. There is a lovely grass area in front of the beach with grill, dining tables and reclining chairs. This is great for viewing the spectacular sunsets and watching the stars at night. In the winter, this is a whale birthing area, and you can watch whales frolic to your heart’s content!


Kihei Kai offers the ultimate in convenience, just fifteen minutes from the airport and the kite and wind surfing beaches, twelve minutes from Wailea with the famous Shops of Wailea and multiple world class beaches, walking distance to the farmer’s market for your produce (it’s open all day on weekdays and has the yummy tropical fruits) and the ABC store, and a short walk down the beach to Massage Maui, a sandwich bar and general store. Iao Valley with spectacular mountain vistas, whirlpool streams and hiking trails is only fifteen minutes away. In just 25 minutes, you are in the heart of Lahaina galleries and night life. The location also makes the drive up Haleakala Crater and the road to Hana more accessible than if you stayed in West Maui or further south.


Our 2nd floor unit has ocean views from both the large lanai and the bedroom. Mellow, lapping waves will sooth you to sleep in ultimate comfort on the Serta Perfect Sleeper Royal Comfort Plush California King Bed with high thread count sheets. This is the same quality bed the 5 star hotels, including Four Seasons use. It’s not too hard, not too soft—JUST RIGHT! We supply ultra plush towels. The condo is renovated and updated with Medeira Gold granite counter tops and tile flooring in the kichen and bath and high quality carpet in the bedroom and living room. The kitchen has an under mount sink for maximum cleanliness. The fully stocked kitchen has all new stainless steel appliances with a four burner smooth top range, dishwasher & microwave. The living room has a queen sleeper sofa as well as a Tommy Bahama secretary desk. The bedroom set is solid mahogany and you look at the ocean from the bed. With plentiful trade breezes you will rarely need it, yet there is AC in both the bedroom and living room. Laundry is close and Coin Operated. There is a safe for your valuables and laptops.


For your entertainment we have a state of the art Samsung 46” flat screen TV which not only has cable, it has internet video which can access sites such as Netflix and Blockbuster, Facebook, and the Pandora Music site. You can play Blue Ray, DVD’s, CD’s, select your favorite music, even design your own playlists. The unit has phone with free long distance for the US and Canada. There is high speed internet as well.


My husband, Chip, was the general manager of Stag Lodge, a ski in ski out resort in Deer Valley (near Park City Utah) for 12 years. We pay attention to detail and assure the highest standards of cleanliness.


We supply beach towels, a beach umbrella, two sets of adjustable snorkel gear, beach bag, two light weight folding beach chairs, and a portable play pen and baby booster seat and beach toys for your sand castles.

Keywords: Oceanfront, ocean view, ocean, flat, bargain, sunny, Sugar Beach, renovated, new

More Details

Charlotte McLaughlin
Member since: 2010
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 18, 2018

About Charlotte McLaughlin

I have lived on Maui for 21 years and have extensively explored her beaches, hikes and waterfalls. I am an avid snorkeler, Marriage and Family Therapist and a writer. My son, Patri, is a competitive kite boarder, kite board instructor and big wave surfer. He is a full on Maui boy and loving it. My husband, Chip, has a strong background in high end hotel management and also loves snorkeling. He is an art rep for Lahaina Gallery at the Shops of Wailea. We both practice yoga in the Bhakti tradition. We have had a lot of fun completely renovating this condo and making it a special place!

Charlotte McLaughlin purchased this condo in 2010

Why Charlotte McLaughlin chose Kihei

Sugar Beach is a sweet beach, with ample space for long walks, reflection and privacy. I like the intimacy and caring, friendly atmosphere of Kihei Kai.

What makes this condo unique

I love the sound of the ocean from the unit. I also love movies and the entertainment center is better than the one at our house! There's nothing like being able to walk about 50 feet to the beach for a sunrise stroll, a dip, sunset or stars.


Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 576 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • King size beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 beach chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Bath Tub with safety handles


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(54 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
14% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Renovated Beachfront Ocean View South Maui Condo!
average rating of 4.759259 based on 54 reviews

Great location. Beautiful sunsets

  • 5 of 5

This was a great location. Close to shopping and beach. Great street side BBQ within walking distance. Lots of on sight free parking.

We had view of sand and ocean from the lanai and bedroom window.

Unit is a little small but has everything you need. we definitely will be looking to come back soon.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful and Convenient Beachfront Condo

  • 5 of 5

It was a relaxing, peaceful, and convenient condo just steps away from the beach. Everything was clean and the condo was well equipped. We walked to the farmer's market almost every day as well as stopping off at the ABC Store and Ululani's Shave Ice. Times Supermarket provided us with all our grocery needs. The neighbours were all very friendly and had some good suggestions for sightseeing. We will be recommending this place to our friends. Thanks for a great place Chip and Charlotte!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Half truths about views

  • 3 of 5

The condo building sits length wise to the bay so the units face the buildings to each side not the bay. The lanai ONLY has a view of the water if you stand at the railing and lean out and look right. Other option is to sit in the one and only leisure chair and face the mirror on the lanai which reflects the ocean. Yes that is a view but it darn well isn’t what you are led to believe is what you are getting. I never ever pay to stay by the water unless I can sit in a comfy chair with my husband in HIS comfy chair on the balcony or lanai and enjoy the direct full view of the water. As you stroll the beautiful sand 4 mile beach you will see that almost all of them have the arrangement of chairs and tables to enjoy a full front facing view of the bay. The view from the bedroom is partial while sitting up on the one side of the bed. BUT there is a 6 story building right close along the whole side of your building so your open drapes expose you lying on the bed to 4 floors of condos . Nice.. not. Also there are two wall a/c units one right by your head on the lanai as you sit in the only somewhat comfortable chair and one right next to the bed. We needed them our entire stay due to the heat and humidity. Even if you didn’t care if there was a view on the lanai you couldn’t stand to sit out there with the unit running by your head!

I have NO. idea why the reviews don’t mention any of this. One really negative review was posted after I had already paid for the rental. I was hoping they were being super negative. The unit was VERY clean so that was not a problem. The bed is comfortable. The furnishings and linens are the quality of an inexpensive motel. The appliances all work well. The neighbors are ALL very friendly and nice. They are helpful and enjoy their style of life at the condo. It just needs to be made clear to the renters that you will NOT be enjoying your coffee with your partner while seated together in comfy leisure chairs on a quiet ocean view lanai watching for turtles and whales. You can get dressed get your coffee walk downstairs and along the building and out to a beautiful space with tables and chairs aplenty to share the morning with other folks and then walk back for your refill of coffee.. repeat... and again at sunset. Fine if that is what you want but if you don’t then you should know this before renting and make an informed decision.

The location is great. Go to the farmers market they are great ! Definitely eat at Coconuts

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great location

  • 2 of 5

The condo was at an excellent location. Steps out your door to a beautiful nice long beach. Great for walking and swimming. To go anywhere from this condo is so easy and it's central location cuts time from your driving. Conveniences are nearby and it is at the end of the Kihei "beach towns" strip, so it is quiet. The other tenants are mostly retired and are there for longer stays, so they tend to tie up the barbeque and lawn areas but this really didn't matter to us. The lanai is big and you have a small view of the ocean. This is an older condo building in which many of the suites have been renovated well from what we could see. The suite we were staying in is managed and owned by Charlotte & Chip, who seem very nice and are quick to respond to messages, although we never met them. The condo suite has some big pluses and minuses. The suite has been renovated and the small kitchen has everything you need. Appliances are relatively modern stainless steel and the sinks and taps in the kitchen and bathroom are newer and good quality. The granite countertop looks great. The furniture, carpet and sheets are quite old. I would have thrown them out years ago. The biggest minus to us was the suite did not give the impression of being clean. We met the housekeepers when we arrived and when we departed but suspect they are given set chores such as vacuuming the carpet. We could see filth as soon as we arrived, without even looking for it. The tops of the door frames, baseboards and outlet covers had thick dust accumulated that was visible when you walked into a room. The bathtub was old and yellowed and the bathroom window was dirty, as were all the window tracks. There was black dirt(?) on the tub handles. We checked the bed for bedbugs which we always do and there was none, but we again found thick dust along the bed frame and under the bed, along with discarded tissue paper and other stuff. The quilt was very old and smelled bad. We took this up with the owners and I believe they thought we were just being picky. They went into the suite while we were out and reported back to us that they only found one piece of tissue under the bed, and had changed the quilt. Everything else was left as is. The beach stuff was old. The kitchen was infested with small ants and all the food we bought we ended up throwing out because the ants were everywhere. Some good cleaning and a few more upgrades and this could be a nice place to stay.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please check the other fifty reviews before giving too much credence to this review. We're sorry that he is so unhappy and wish him aloha with his new wife.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
McKinney TX

Absolutely amazing! Location was perfect and the condo impeccable. This is where you want to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful 4 night stay in Kihei at Charlottes place. The attention to detail and this comfortable condo was perfect for our stay in Maui. This was our first time to the island and I think we lucked out in booking the best place to stay. Bed was super comfy and it was a great place to look forward to coming home to after long fun filled days in Maui. Location is perfect for just about anything you want to do on the island. Quiet safe area with the beach right at your finger tips. One of the best parts was going to sleep hearing the ocean waves outside the window. We will definitely be coming back and we won't be looking anywhere else to stay. Perfect vacation!

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Cozy place on Sugar Beach

  • 4 of 5

Chip and Charlotte's place was a great location for us. Away from the hustle and bustle of the more populated area of Kihei, Sugar Beach is a lovely stretch of sand with very few accommodations near it. It was nice to walk just a few steps from the condo, take a stroll on the beach and watch the sunset and the end of of lovely day on Maui.

The kitchen is small but well equipped and we enjoyed breakfast and dinner on the balcony.

The cool breezes and ceiling fans kept the condo comfortable at night so there was no need to use the AC.

Charlotte and Chip were quick to respond to any questions I had.


  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Whale Watching, Dolphins


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Housekeeping charge of $100 for stays of less that six days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.