check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Rates Slashed For December, CALL TODAY

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8

When you drive in to 'The Rookery Cottages' you know that you have come to a place that is void of traffic, crowded beaches and high rise condos.

Take the walk on the boardwalk to your secluded front yard. As you step on the screened in front porch you know that it is inviting you to a cup of coffee, a good book or some needed relaxation.

The cottage has 3 nice bedrooms with 2 baths. Each bathroom has a tub and shower combination. The living, dining and kitchen area offer a large space for watching movies, playing games or enjoying a meal together. When you arrive at the pool you are greeted with a large pool area with lounge chairs, tables and a zero entry pool.

A large Jacuzzi and Lani are at the pool for you and your group to enjoy. Maybe you will cook up a few steaks or burgers on the grill. If you like to fish, bring your boat and fishing equipment and enjoy some of the best fishing on the Gulf Coast. The boat launch is only 2 miles away.

Now that you have been swimming, gone fishing and watched a few movies you can head to the beach. Go .04 miles across the street to Morgantown where there is a parking area and a boardwalk to our famous white sugar sand beaches. Plan a picnic while you watch the sunset.

Now how long has it been since you had a day like that?

More Details

Property Manager
Paula Segal & Sundai Rockwell
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
December 13, 2016

About Paula Segal & Sundai Rockwell

Our family lives in Baldwin County Alabama, and all of us love to go to the beach. We never tire of our special spot. Everyone has something to do.

Why Paula Segal & Sundai Rockwell chose Alabama

Living in the area it made sense to us to purchase a property in Gulf Shores. We chose to buy at 'The Rookery' because it reminded us of the beach, the way it was. We are away from all the traffic and crowded beaches. The best part is that when we want to go in to Gulf Shores, we are only a few minutes away. What more could we ask for.

While staying on the property you have the benefit of going two miles down the road and learning the history of the area while you visit Fort Morgan. The ferry is next to the fort and offers you a ride to Dauphin Island where you can visit the Dauphin Island Sea Lab and Fort Gaines. Go over the Dauphin Island Bridge and tour the beautiful grounds of Bellingrath Gardens. Oh yes, and this is a short cut to I-10 and Mobile.

What makes this cottage unique

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

Rates Slashed For December, CALL TODAY
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews

Very clean and acoimodating

  • 4 of 5

Great for our two families and young kids. Would be better if there was a more up to date information book in the cottage with information about beach access, how to get the DVD player to work and maybe local restaurants or markets (the first two were our actual needs). Also, bring a cutting board! There wasn't one in the cottage and it was a pain. Overall, great experience!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Rachael, we are pleased that the cottage was very clean and you had such a great overall experience. A cutting board has been purchased and we are sorry that you did not have one during your stay. Updating all info is in the works and we greatly appreciate your input. Striving to please our guest is what matters! Thanks The Gulf 2 beach Team, Sundai, Paula, Troy, Nancy and Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5


  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for sharing your experience at The Rookery Cottage. We take all of our reviews very personal and having you share such a positive review makes all of us smile. Come on back, there is More fun waiting for your arrival. The Gulf2Beach Team Paula, Sundai, Troy, Nancy and Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Woodstock, NY

Privacy and quiet on the outside, worn out on the inside

  • 2 of 5

We found a place not quite clean, some dishes, pots, etc. put away dirty, towels with big holes and big stains in them, no kitchen towels or hangers, lots of dust. After a couple days, the management company sent someone out who cleaned what we didn't and brought some supplies. The second bedroom had no dresser nor tv (hole in the wall where maybe cable was) and a bunch of broken stuff in the closet (and a bucket full of I don't know what). The walls in that room and esp the second bathroom needed plaster and paint: had major scuffs and dings and stains and tub didn't drain; the porch screen door wouldn't close all the way--and the biggest problem: no lighting along the uneven and winding, narrow boardwalk that led to this way in the back property. It's really dark at night--nice, generally. The management company did not respond to an email and a phone call about it. It doesn't get much sunlight on the porch in the winter, by the way, so you trade private for sun.

The condition was a surprise since the photos looked so nice.

We met other vacationers and saw some of the other cottage/condo interiors, all of which were in much better repair inside--and had newer, nicer furnishings (we had one nice set of towels and sheets and the others were pretty bad).

The manager at the complex (not the company we rented from) was great and tried to help us all he could with various issues but turned out the lighting was the owner/rental company's responsibility, so the condo association couldn't install solar lights as the others had... (ours were all lying down and dead)

  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Liz, I am extremely shocked to receive this review one year after your stay. When you booked the unit you stated that you were very ill and needed to be in the warmer area. We discounted your rate and tried very hard to accommodate all of your needs, especially with your illness. We responded immediately when you called and sent someone to the cottage to make sure you were taken care of. I am sorry that the lighting at the cottage did not meet your standards but the lighting is part of the grounds at The Rookery. I am not sure who you spoke to since there is not a manager on the property. Hopefully you are feeling better. The Gulf2Beach Team Paula, Sundai, Nancy, Troy, Judy and Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Tulsa, Oklahoma


  • 5 of 5

My family was impressed with this place, furnished very nicely and very clean, very quiet and we enjoyed the wild life in the swampy area. The kids loved the pool and the hot tub and could not get enough of the beach. We will be back.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sharon, Thanks so much for such a nice response. We are so glad that you were able to relax, hit the beach, use the hot tub and pool. Walking in to a clean and comfortable unit is our goal. Please come back for some more R & R. Paula, Sundai and Judy
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Fantastic "Get Away"

  • 5 of 5

My family and I recently spent a week at this unit and found it to be the most relaxing get away we have had in years. It is very spacious with 3 bedrooms and 2 full baths and very comfortable. The zero entry pool is quite large and inviting to all guests. My children loved the pool and enjoyed swimming while we grilled nearby. The scenery is also very beautiful as it is located on a wildlife perserve -- this makes for a very quiet, tranquil setting, avoiding the crowds of a high rise and the hustle and bustle of people moving in and out of buildings. The beach is nearby, with just a short drive across the street. No crowds were to be found and we enjoyed having the beach to ourselves. Overall, I found this unit to be extremely relaxing, accomodating and possessing all amenities as decribed. We did buy groceries before arriving at the unit and I found this to be very helpful. We also had dinner one night at the Beach Club nearby and found it to be delicious. We will be returning next year!!!

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Casey, Thanks so much for such a wonderful review. Glad that you and your family had such a nice time. The Rookery is really a hidden gem for a family friendly visit. Knowing that you will return again is what we strive for. We look forward to your next "Get Away" Paula and Sundai
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Saratoga Springs

Wonderful Seaside Community

  • 5 of 5

The Rookery was a sweet little place to stay with a nice pool and hottub. The unit was just as the pictures indicate, and I really enjoyed the seaside color schemes. It should be clear that this unit is part of a community and the pool/hot tub is shared. It should also be clear that you cannot see the ocean from here. You could walk to the beach, but it would be a huge pain considering the heat and the stuff you might want to carry. There is a parking area at the beach, but it's pretty small. Visitors should also know that it's very easy to get stuck in the sand. This particular unit backs right up to a swamp. I was hoping to see some wildlife, but mostly just heard frogs and whip-poor-wills. The most fun we had was getting up early and seeing a school of dolphins near the shore. This is away from the main tourist attractions, which is what I wanted, but I was looking for something a little bit closer to the beach. I wanted to be able to just walk out the front door and hit the beach. If that's what you're looking for, this is not the place for you.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Paula, I appreciate your response and hope that you were able to enjoy. I am sorry if you did not understand that the pool was a shared pool. We do try to state all of our features and ammenities on the site as clearly as possible and it does show that it is a shared pool. We do have units that are directly on the beach and would love to have you return and stay in one of them. Paula
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


The Rookery is a unique spot on The Fort Morgan Peninsula with a Wild Life Refuge. Fort Morgan is only 1 mile away with a Ferry to take you over to Dauphin Island. Visit the Dauphin Island Sea Lab and enjoy the Ferry ride. Gulf Shores is full of Water Parks, Zoo, The Track amusement parks, restaurants and more.


Rates & Availability


  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
  • 'From $100/nt to $1100/wk
  • US Dollars
  • Mar 01-May 14..$150/night..$945/week..$1800/month
  • May 15-Jul 31..$175/night..$1100/week..$3000/month
  • Aug 1-Oct 31..$120/night..$756/week..$1500/month
  • Nov 1-Feb 28..$100/night..$500/week..$800/month
  • Cleaning Fee: $120
  • Lodging Tax: 6%
  • $300 Reservation Fee applied to rental; $40 Booking Fee; $45 Rental Damage Ins.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Gulf Shores Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Catering available
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 1 Queen bed, 2 Twin beds, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 1 Full bed
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Located Across the street from the Gulf of Mexico. Beach access with parking and a boardwalk. Bay Access is less than 2 miles down the street.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers