Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Heart of Hollywood Home near Universal Studios!!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, 1 loft w/ beds, Sleeps 8, heart of Hollywood

You'll feel right at home as soon as you walk into our property. We accommodate small or large groups, and can sleep up to 8 people in beds. We are right at the foot of the Hollywood Hills. Our convenient, urban location and private, gated property offer the perfect combination for travelers.

OUR GREAT LOCATION!

We are located in Hollywood in the popular neighborhood Franklin Village. We are just minutes from Hollywood Blvd, the Walk of Fame, Universal Studios, and the LA Zoo. Griffith Park, with over 4,000 acres of trails and activities, is only a few blocks away. We are close to bus lines, and LA Metro public transportation. Our walk-able neighborhood is full of shops, coffee spots, restaurants and groceries.

HOUSE DETAILS

The house itself is located on a small, gated lot. We have a driveway for two cars or one large SUV or truck. Our outdoor space includes a small side patio and a rooftop deck.

The main living space is on the first floor and includes 3 bedrooms, (2 queen beds, 1 Full bed), 2 bathrooms, living room and kitchen.

Our upstairs loft space includes a sleeping area (2 twin beds), rooftop deck, and ½ bath. Kids and teenagers love this space! Please note that the stairway to this loft is steep, and may not be appropriate for the very young or elderly.

AMENITIES

Laundry facilities, ironing board/iron, dish washer, microwave, full kitchen, Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, Roku digital media players, cable, home phone, portable crib, high chair, keyless entry, gated property, driveway with parking, patio, rooftop deck.

PETS WELCOME!

If you love to travel with your pets like we do, they are welcome here. Downstairs is all hardwood floors and the property is surrounded by ficus trees and fencing for both privacy and to keep doggies safe. We can supply you with a pet bed and food & water bowls. We do not charge a pet fee; we only add a small amount to your security deposit.

Our neighborhood has everything you'll want for your stay, within a couple of blocks. You don't need a car to go to the convenience store, grocery store, coffee shops, doughnut shops, bookstores and restaurants. Our favorite is Cafe 101, an American diner, just a three-block walk from us. We are in the heart of Hollywood... a great central location.

Please contact us with any questions you may have!

More Details

Owner
Stephanie
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 23, 2018

About Stephanie

I am a California native who lived in Los Angeles for 10 years. After relocating to Denver, CO, my husband and I decided to rent out our home to travelers. Our goal is to provide a warm and welcoming place to stay for vacationers and business travelers visiting the LA area. We are pet friendly and we are available to give advice on your stay in Hollywood.

Stephanie purchased this house in 2004

Why Stephanie chose Hollywood

We originally purchased this property because of its central location. It is just 20 minutes from Downtown, and less than 10 minutes from Hollywood Blvd, and Universal Studios. The neighborhood is called Franklin Village, and there are plenty of restaurants, groceries, and coffee shops located with walking distance.

What makes this house unique

Our property is great for larger groups or families traveling together, since we sleep 8 people in beds. Teenagers love our loft area, and everyone loves our rooftop deck with view of the Hollywood Hills. The property is centrally located, making it a convenient place to stay for tourists. We have a keyless entry system, so guests can arrive at their own convenience without having to meet anyone at the property. We also provide a PDF travel guide to all of our guests. It is full of reviews on local restaurants, attractions, and things to do in LA. It also includes driving directions to airports and Disneyland. Our gated lot and driveway add privacy and convenience.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This house was amazing! Perfect location! It really felt like we were at home. It is kind of on a busy street but you wouldn't know it. It's relatively quiet and it's secure. We celebrated my son's birthday in the house and it was great to have a grocery store so close to pick up supplies. It was also a great location for our trip to Universal Studios. I had to contact Stephanie a couple times with questions and she got back to me quickly. I absolutely recommend this home!
Oct 2017
  • 1 of 19

Amenities

Hollywood House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10 ...
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • We require a copy of a government-issued photo ID of the person whose name is on the reservation, and all payments must be by this person.
  • The property owner has no involvement whatsoever with the HomeAway "Service Fee". All questions and refund requests should be directed to HomeAway.
  • Please carefully review all requirements prior to booking the property. We reserve the right to request that you cancel your stay if in violation.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower , Master
    2nd Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Second bath
    Loft Bathroom - toilet , Upstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , loft upstairs
  • - Master Bedroom with queen bed - adjacent to main full bathroom - 2nd Bedroom has full bed, attached full bathroom - 3rd Bedroom has queen bed - A loft area can be accessed through a stairway in the 2nd bedroom. In this loft area are two twin beds, a half bath, and access to the rooftop deck. This loft space is perfect for kids or teenagers. This space is not appropriate for the elderly or very young children due to a steep stairway for access. - A twin air mattress is available upon request. We also have a pack-n-play portable crib.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Patio
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • limited accessibility ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • tennis
Notes:
Free calls anywhere in the US from our land line telephone!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(72 traveler reviews)

59% Complete
30% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
Heart of Hollywood Home near Universal Studios!!
average rating of 4.388889 based on 91 reviews
San antonio, TX
5

Nice place, great location

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay during a quick work trip to LA. While the house is close to a major road we found the stay quiet and peaceful. I would definitely recommend and look forward to staying again.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sacramento,CA
5

Stunning! A hidden oasis!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed here for five nights and six days and had a blast. Our three young boys really enjoyed hanging out in the loft area which granted them space for toys, reading and coloring while my wife and I relaxed in the living room and rooftop deck. This home had plenty of character along with modern amenities. And having a gated, private parking spot was a plus! The location is blocks from major retailers for both food and clothing as well as minutes from The Griffith Observatory, Universal Studios and the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

I highly recommend staying here and we will do so with our next trip to SoCal.

Wherever my family and I travel we look for places like this which allow the freedom, space and access needed to feel at home while on vacation.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scottsdale, AZ
5

The house was so roomy, clean and well-supplied.

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for renting us your property for the week of Christmas. We wanted a place where we could hunker down, cook, take it easy without having to drive any where and that was pet friendly, and this property met that goal perfectly. The house was roomy, clean and well-supplied. Entrance was made easy so that we didn't need to worry about arriving at a specific time. The neighborhood was great with lots of organic groceries and conveniences within easy walking distance. (The home is in walking distance not just to a Gelson's but to an organic convenience mart as well as a Thai restaurant!) Even downtown Hollywood was an easy stroll with of course a ton of great restaurants if you're so inclined. The beds were comfortable. Our pets were made to feel welcome, and it was easy to get off the property and walk them safely day and night. The house was made secure as well.

We wish'd we had access to more cable stations and we didn't want to enter our personal codes into the Roku to get to a selection of movies. But that's a minor criticism.

The view from the rooftop deck was amazing.

We highly recommend that if you're traveling during a cold season, that you check with the owner to see if they have weather-stripped the back patio door on the side of the house and the kitchen window where the AC unit hose is vented (there's a 1-inch gap there and huge gaps in the patio door that just allows all the heat to pour out and the cold to pour in). We were unable to keep the heat in the living room until we plugged the leaks with a lot of paper. The first night, we could not get that room above 57F until we we plugged the leaks. The two bedrooms we used -- the master and guest room with the stair case up to the loft -- were well-sealed and comfy.

The kitchen was well-appointed with supplies, dishes and flatware. While we brought our own towels, sheets, plates, flatware etc as recommended, there was plenty there as well.

We came in a 21-foot van RV that fit in the gated drive with two feet to spare on either side. A full-sized RV will fit tightly. Please know that you should back into the drive because if you do not, you will have to back out onto a street that is high traffic day and night. There is a traffic light just before the house entrance that can help you time backing into the drive, though your travel companions should also help guide you in. Or, you can just park on the street.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston
4

Great location and lots of supplies that you need.

  • 4 of 5

Our only complaint was that the laundry wasn’t working so we couldn’t wash clothes as we had planned. The property mgmt made an effort to fix it after we brought it to their attention but it was too late on a holiday weekend. Next time I recommend getting the cleaning staff to report those types of issues early. Owner offered to pay for laundry service but that was too late also for a holiday. We really liked the neighborhood and the nearby grocery and coffee shop!

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We had the laundry repaired, but unfortunately it was after the guests departed because it was Thanksgiving weekend and a part had to be ordered. We were not aware of the problem until about an hour before their arrival, as our laundry is taken off-site to be done when we have a same-day turn-around. All laundry facilities are now in working order, and we will always do our best to fix problems like this as soon as we can.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Extremely hot. The fans blew hot air and the air conditioners didn't blow cold air.

  • 2 of 5

Uncomfortable sleep due to the house being so hot. Took cold showers to get out just to sweat because of the temperature in the house. Not a lot of towels. Most towels that were there were stained.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that there was unusually high temperature in the area during the first few days of this guest's stay. We provide a permanent air conditioning unit in the loft and a portable unit on the main floor for the very infrequent occasions when they are necessary, as the vast majority of the time the area climate is quite temperate. Regarding the towels, we provide two per guest and a washer/dryer, which is typically more than adequate to accommodate even the largest group staying in our home, but we even gave this guest access on request to our restricted linen storage for additional towels. Furthermore, we do not allow stained linens of any kind to be provided, as we promptly remove any such linens completely from inventory.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute, comfortable, and great location

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay here. As other reviewers mentioned, it is on the corner of 2 busy streets. We had a big SUV and fit perfectly in the driveway but can pose a problem to future guests that bring more than one vehicle. You can park on the street but the neighbors take up the spots by the house. When backing out of the driveway, the driver will need help because of the traffic. The area is relatively safe even though it may not look like it. There are people walking down the neighborhood all the time. The home had everything we needed. We really enjoyed our time there. The amenities states that the house has a/c; it does not. I thought maybe the house had window units; again it does not. The house has a portable a/c that is okay. LA weather gets cool at night so we would open a few windows and turn on ceiling fans and extra fans around the house that made it cool. Most houses in LA don't have a/c anyways. We were pretty much gone all day and come home at night. The house has cable and ROKU. I've never used ROKU before but Stephanie had directions on how to use it. We would be tired at the end of the day that I really didn't bother trying. You really can't beat the location of this house. It's an older home but it has charm. The kids enjoyed staying up in the loft. The stairs to the loft are steep so I would not recommend older folk sleeping upstairs. I had a few questions for Stephenie that she answered promptly. We didn't need to contact the property manager for anything. Stephenie has a binder with helpful tips and a book guests can sign (which I enjoyed reading). Check in and check out instructions were clear. Guests are in charge of putting trash in the trash cans but the property manager will put trash out on trash day. This was our first time booking a house and it went off without a hitch. Would definitely do it again and recommend this house. We were all comfortable here.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Universal Studios
"I love Universal Studios. It is just 10 minutes from our property too! It's the best place t..."
Hollywood Walk of Fame
"It's always fun to see the stars of celebrities, and to stop in the cheapy tourist shops for..."
Griffith Park
"This is just a couple of blocks from our property. A perfect place for hiking trails and a b..."
Los Angeles Zoo and Botanical Gardens
Hollywood & Highland Center
"Lots to do, lots to shop, lots to eat! "
Hollywood Sign
"It's located right up the street from us. It's hard to get to, and you can't get too close t..."
TCL Chinese Theatre
"Also know as Mann's Chinese Theatre, this is where you can look at celebrities handprints in..."
Birds Cafe/Bar
"Within walking distance from our property.Great food, great atmosphere!"
Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Burbank
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
101 Freeway
Nearest Beach
16 Miles
Santa Monica
Car: not necessary

We are Located in Hollywood at the edge of Los Feliz. Griffith Park is a short distance from the property, as is Franklin Village. The Village has restaurants, a supermarket, coffee shops, bookstores, a theatre, etc. We are 10 minutes from Universal Studios and the Hollywood Walk of Fame and shopping on Hollywood Blvd. We are also a short 15 minute drive to shopping on Melrose Ave, and museums in the Wilshire area.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Administration Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Protection Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 14.0%

Please check our calendar for availability. We update with each booking.

We have a minimum night stay requirement that depends on the specific dates of the inquiry. Please inquire about stays that are less than the specified minimum, as we still may be able to accommodate you.

All payments must be made by the person whose name is on the reservation.

Please carefully review all provided and requested information prior to booking the property. We reserve the right to request that you cancel your stay if it is determined that you are in contradiction to any of our requirements.

~ SERVICE FEE line item on the quote – HomeAway/VRBO collects a reservation service fee added to the initial payment. This fee is not collected by the owner of the property, and the owner does not control the amount of the fee. Any refund of this fee due the guest is payable by HomeAway/VRBO, and any questions about this fee should be directed to HomeAway/VRBO.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties