Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakefront Log Cabin with Incredible View

Bedrooms 1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This cabin is located in a historic camp that included visits from Hollywood legends from the 50's! The privacy and beauty is amazing. Fishing is great! Enjoy water sports on the lake that rarely has another boat on it.

Your cabin is a private log cabin with stone fireplace and private lakefront beach. *** We have multiple cabins***

The property is only 5 minutes off the Trans Canada Highway and 45 minutes east of Kenora. (Vermillion Bay) Restaurants, gift stores, grocery, service stations, LCBO, and more are only 10 minutes away. A great family getaway! A great place for a true family getaway.

Only 45 minutes from Lake of the Woods.

Do you need more room? Ask about additional cabins available onsite.

Keywords: Cabin, Log Cabin, Camp, Retreat

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 7, 2017

About The Owner

We have three boys and one daughter.....Three are in college and one in 2nd grade....Mrs. King is stay at home wife and I am a apparel manufacturer.

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2004

Why The Owner chose Vermilion Bay

I bought this property because it is the prettiest property and most peaceful place I have ever seen!

What makes this cabin unique

The uniqueness of this property is simple. Privacy that not many ever enjoy. It's like going back into time with a log cabin with fireplace and an incredible lake view built at the end of World War II.


Vermilion Bay Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Kitchen
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Your cabin is part of a historic camp featuring a private log cabin with stone fireplace and private lakefront beach. Great fishing, hiking, hunting and only 3 other property owners on 25 miles of lakefront. Complete privacy. Perfect for families. Was a Hollywood getaway in the 1950's /1960's!


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
26% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
Lakefront Log Cabin with Incredible View
average rating of 4.2 based on 15 reviews

The best trip my friends have ever had

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I came to the camp and were overwhelmed by the beauty of the surroundings and the kindness of Steven and Larry. Both were very friendly and provided all the necessities we needed such as a barbecue, boats to use, gas, utensils, canoes, firewood for the fireplace and more. Steven and Larry and truly kind-hearted people and we were blessed to have been given the opportunity to experience the camp. The lake is tranquil, the trees are lush and we were lucky enough to catch aurora borealis in the night sky on our final night there. The cabins are very well-maintained and each provide linens as well as all the pots and pans/forks/knives required for cooking. The cabin is clean and there is a full bathroom with shower for us to use, very comfortable. There is even a heater for us to use at night in case it gets cold. My friends can't wait to come back to the camp, we just had so much fun!

  • Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We sure enjoyed having you all and hope you will return again soon! Thank you again! Steven King
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

I had amazing time at this cabin! I am definitively coming back!

  • 5 of 5

Nice staff, nice cabin, and nice view! I had great time! Thank you :)

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Yoora! I am sorry I didn't get a chance to meet you personally but heard you were lovely people! Hope you can come back again next year! Steven King
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely Beautiful! Amazing owners & Staff

  • 5 of 5

The cabins are great with amazing lake views. Camp is beautiful and clean. Stone fireplaces are beautiful. Eric and Andera are fantastic and very helpful and accommodating. Stephen King you have a amazing slice of heaven and we can't wait for our next visit. Look forward to meeting you .. thanks

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Bad Experience

  • 1 of 5

Many of the amenities advertised on the web site when we booked our cabins were either not available or non-functional:

1. Commercial Kitchen (60 year old stove with an oven that the caretaker told us does not work)

2. Water trampoline (broken)

3. Washing Machine (broken)

4. Paddle board (missing)

5. Flat screen TV

During our stay we only asked once about these amenities that we had driven 16 hours to enjoy. We actually tried to avoid the staff once we saw how confrontational they were when we pointed out the missing amenities.

Then on the day before our agreed upon departure date, which was confirmed by the owner via email and text messages, the staff informed us that a wedding party was coming and we had to be packed up (24 people, 3 boats) and gone in 3 hours. This was a very stressful and shocking end to our vacation. The owner attempted to make things right by buying us hotel rooms for the night.

Our decision to write a negative review was made after the owner, even when presented with copies of text messages and email exchanges that confirmed a checkout day of July 23rd (we were forced to leave on July 22nd) and a payment that reflected a week, still refused to admit his mistake. The staff also stated that the owner had overbooked the cabins in the past and that prior guests had complained about the missing amenities. When we originally posted our review the owner responded with outrageous lies - saying that we had trashed the cabins and stolen things. We did not trash the cabins, break dishes, steal soap, break locks, or try to "steal" a day!! It is sad that the owner would lie so outrageously when faced with a negative review. My extended family group is made up of respectful, hardworking people. We teach in our community schools, serve in hospitals, work in farm businesses, and are active members of our local churches. We swept the floors, wiped the tables, vacuumed, took out the trash, washed all of the dishes, and left the cabins in very good condition even after we were only given a few hours of notice to leave.

Since this review doesn't allow us to paste in pictures of the text messages and e-mails to prove the agreed upon checkout date, we will be submitting a complaint with VRBO to show them the pictures.

Vacations are supposed to be a happy time, but we are left with a heavy heart.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ladies and gentlemen, We have had over 2000 guests stay with us over the last 10 years and this group was the first ever to write a negative review. I am a well educated, family man, and business owner who respects every guest, and every person I come across. However, I have never had anyone come to my property and treat my staff and belongings like this deplorable group. The authorities were notified as well as this respected website to warn any property owner in the future never to allow them near their home or properties. Every word in this review is either not true or twisted. What they did to my property is inexcusable. How they treated my staff was despicable! So either every person who has written these incredible reviews for ten years are all wrong or.........THIS family is!! I will let the good people who visit this site decide. Thank you for reading!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Beautiful property, amazing staff, great location!

  • 5 of 5

We had a 5 night stay at this property and couldn’t be happier. The property is beautiful, the lake is huge and impressive, and the privacy is hard to rival. We stayed in the small but charming Lakehouse cabin and we barely saw or heard the other guests. (The property is private but not all individual cabins enjoy the same level of privacy.) You couldn’t get closer to the water without being in it and the view was magnificent! We saw loons, ducks, turtles, and otters from our kitchen table. Even the bad weather was amazing – watching a thunderstorm cross the lake from the comfort of a cozy cabin was exciting and memorable. During the sunny times we really enjoyed the free access to a canoe, motor boat, fire pit, and an amazing wild blueberry patch (fresh picked blueberries for breakfast every morning, yay!). Our well-behaved dog was welcome to roam leash-free (hard to find in the resort cabin world!), and we could leave him in the cabin for an hour or two when we went out on the water.

Not everything was perfect. The paddles for the canoe are in a sorry state. Out of 4 paddles 1 is useable, 2 are broken, and 1 is sized for a child. (This problem was solved when caretaker Doug went above and beyond to offer his personal property – his own paddle – to us.) Also, the otherwise well stocked kitchen includes only table knives, not paring knives suitable for cutting vegetables nor steak knives suited to the T-bones we cooked on the convenient propane BBQ. But these small inconveniences were minor, overall it was pretty awesome.

The best part about this property is the caretaker Doug. He has this magical ability to be completely unobtrusive (most of the time we marveled at the quiet and privacy), while also being there exactly when you need him. We only saw Doug when we needed something. He would appear out of thin air right when we required help dumping rainwater from the canoe or finding more gas for the motorboat. Once we mentioned casually that we planned to roast marshmallows in the outdoor stone stove in a few minutes. 10 minutes later we walked over to find that Doug had lite a fire for us, brought chairs over, and set everything up. It is hard to have privacy and be pampered at the same time, yet Doug manages it.

We also enjoyed the surrounding area – good hiking trails in Blue Lake Provincial Park (6 minutes’ away), and a BBQ joint less than 5 minutes’ drive away. After a long day outside it was great to enjoy BBQ!

K & M Breward

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. As the owner, I read and take every review seriously to better improve our guests experience. Your kind words are very much appreciated and thank you for mentioning our staff as they do an amazing job! Look forward to having you next year and will hold the dates you already requested for 2017!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing View!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the King's Lakefront Log Cabin. Sadly the weather did not cooperate, but we were able to sneak in a canoe trip around the lake before the rain hit. Our cabin was absolutely perfect with an amazing view of the lake! The camp site is very secluded and quiet and the people were very personable and kind. We will definitely be returning for another visit!

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and we hope to see you again very soon! Steven King
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $196.74

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties