Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Eleven Feet from the Ocean with Unobstructed Moloka'i View

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 900 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

Condo: 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, Sleeps 4 ADULTS (+2 folding roll-away cots)

Hawaii Tax I.D. W55325517-01

VIDEO:Please go to the photo's. Starting with the view of Molokai picture(DON'T CLICK ON THE PICTURE TO ENLARGE), use the back arrow and at the end of the 25 pictures you will eventually come to the video screen. Click on the arrow in the center of the picture of the "bistro dining shot" and view our unit on the U tube video.

(Quick info bite: Check-in 4PM Check-out 11AM)


A beautiful ocean, beach front location where you can forget all your stresses and be at peace. This two bedroom, one full and half bath, ground floor, corner unit condominium is in a delightful location.

Sleeps 4 adults (queen and twin bedroom) The roll-away cots are ideal for kids and teens.

11 feet from the ocean. Eight paces to the ocean steps & you are on the beach or taking a dip in very swimmable water! You can sit out on your large, semi private travertine tiled lanai sipping your morning coffee or enjoying a romantic dinner with the surf as your back ground music.

This quiet location is ideal for those who want to get away from it all. At the same time, it is wonderful for families that want a more natural environment that is less commercial, but has a convenient location.

The two reefs, off shore, are a great snorkeling location & at low tide a shallow lagoon forms, great for younger children(see photo) who love to find crabs, small trapped fish and have fun in the shallow water. A wider, sandy beach is only 200 feet to your right from the access steps or a short walk on the street to the public park. At the park you will find:grassy areas under shade trees and play structures for little tykes.

The condominium was completely remodeled in November and December of 2010. It is constantly being cared for and replenished (linens, beach gear, etc., and in 2016 a new 48" SMART T.V. Blu-Rey was added. The complex is also under new management. It's a slice of old Hawaii: a quiet, boutique resort with it's classic Maui style and low density population.

A developer/contractor and design team have brought about a design concept that is modern, fresh and has a quiet beauty that reflects the environment. Elegant materials such as travertine, sea glass mosaics, granite, bamboo, brushed steel/nickel and ceramics and a punctuation of rattan and island florals that come together to achieve a wonderful ambience.

Lanai: Travertine tiled, tropical vegetation and full ocean front. Sunsetter blinds on the lanai can be brought down to offer late afternoon shade. A LOW 32" bamboo garden fence (not shown in the video) has been added 3 feet beyond the lanai on the grass, adding to your privacy, but not compromising the beautiful Moloka'i view or the glorious ocean and breaking surf!

The living room: Wall to wall patio slider and louvre windows so that you are never without your ocean view or sounds of the surf or watching the sun set. Furnished with a blend of tropical influences and modern clean lines it is the perfect retreat. We have installed a 48" SMART T.V. and Blu-Ray.

PHONE: Free long distance to the main land & Canada. Hi speed internet available. A.C if desired.

Dining seating: casual bistro set, situated off from the kitchen. The kitchen granite island also offers more seating. Lanai dining: round teak table will seat 4-6 and there are a couple of kitchen stools or additional chairs in the bedrooms if needed.

The kitchen: Beautiful custom bamboo cabinetry, brushed metals and ocean inspired granite:Sea Foam. New stainless appliances, all the utensils, cook ware and dishes you would ever need to make the great ocean front lanai into your private dining room at sun set. Coffee maker, French press, blender, toaster and microwave and George Forman grill.

Basic supplies and seasonings, all there to help. BBQ's available on the grounds at the pool area.

The bedrooms: A queen with its dark rattan, large ceiling fan, louvers and quiet soothing green tones. Vanity area, good closet space & plenty of drawers. The twin with its cute bamboo accents, large ceiling fan and louvres. Beds are side by side, but can easily be pushed together or put in an "L" shape if you have a travel crib and want to sleep three little ones. In case you have two additional in your party, there are two hotel style fold away cots. Both bedrooms have top down bottom up blinds and louvre windows allowing the breezes through.

Bathrooms: The spa influenced full bathroom with it's walk in shower (with granite seat & grab bars for anyone needing extra help) is accented in travertine, sea glass and Sea Foam granite. Vanity drawers & med cabinet to store all your items away. A hair dryer is also included. Half bath adds extra convenience.

Beach towels/chairs/cooler/umbrella/boogie boards and snorkels(may vary)are also available for your convenience and stored away in a large utility closet.

The grounds are lush, established and wonderfully tropical. There is a pool with ice and vending machines, handy for the kids. The open air laundry room operates until late evening. Iron & ironing board supplied in the unit. You will need to save your quarters.

Location, location, location!! 5 minutes from Historic Lahaina and The Cannery Mall and wonderful downtown restaurants. Minutes drive from beautiful Kapalua. Stores, including: a super market in walking(1/10 ml) distance, a farmers market. Other super markets and shopping centers all within a 5-10 minute drive. Casual restaurants are close by too. An 8 minute walk to the right of the complex takes you to 'The Beach Walk'. This is a public walk way that goes along the dunes and through the large resorts on Ka'anapali beach all the way to Black Rock. On the other side of Black Rock you will find more golden beach with activities available.

Between December and April the hump backed whales come through on their way to the Pailolo channel. Whales can be seen from the lanai and it has been reported that calves have been born! Whale watching and boating excursions leave from Lahaina. The double band of reef outside your lanai is habitat to turtles and marine life including rays which glide past. WE have a couple of resident turtles that you may see each day of your visit!

The reef also breaks up the surf so you can enjoy quieter water for swimming and snorkeling . About two hundred feet up from the condo is a wide,r sandy beach with play structures(great for youngsters)grassy areas and shade trees..

We hope you will spend time with us and enjoy "your" little piece of paradise.



Keywords: Ocean Front, Condo, Beach Access

11 feet from water

More Details

Doug Wallway
Member since: 2010
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Doug Wallway

We are a developer/contractor, interior design team. We live in the Truckee, Tahoe area of California. We have built/remodeled high end homes and many condos, including beautiful lake front properties. Our passion is designing and building & we love doing it in beautiful places. We feel very blessed and fortunate to have this opportunity!

Doug Wallway purchased this condo in 2010

Why Doug Wallway chose Lahaina

We were visiting the beautiful island, Maui for a wedding and rented at The Maui Sands. We really enjoyed the location, the low density and the ambience of the Maui Sands resort. While there, we discovered there was a unit for sale & bought it! It is an older two story complex that is right on the water. It is quiet & has a more local feel than the high rises. We really enjoy the uncommercial & quiet beauty of this location.

What makes this condo unique

We love the ocean & its sound! We are only 11 feet from the surf and it is what we have always wanted. It is an older Maui style building with charm and since we don't go to the ocean to hear hotel/pool noise and looking at other guests' balconies this place is perfect. Seeing the wild life in it's natural habitat is wonderful too. Location is central and close enough to the shops & restaurants for when you need them. The setting is so beautiful you will want to stay home for dinner and the sun sets are amazing!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hello Doug & Gay,

Thank you for the well equipped condo, we really enjoyed it

We met and chatted with the lady who does the house keeping, charming and helpful woman!
Dec 2010
  • 1 of 1


Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Owners Cancellation Terms: If you cancel, you will receive 75% of ONLY the RE RENTED nightly fees and 100% of all taxes, deposits and cleaning paid.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom - toilet , Extra half bath w/vanity & large med cabinet for extras.
    Full Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Large walk in twin head shower with granite seat and grab ba
  • 1.5 Main bathroom has a walk in shower with a granite seat, two shower heads & grab bars, ideal for anyone needing a little assistance.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Master - 1 queen
  • Queen size Bed (1) Plenty of fresh cotton linens and pillows. All mattresses are protected and pillows have protector cases. Fold away beds : two twin roll away beds with mattress protectors and linens
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
A few steps (11 feet) from the water, swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, water play in lagoons & WHALE WATCHING right off your lanai!. Short 8 minute walk or two minute drive Ka'anapali Beach and 'beach walk', more beach next to complex. Laundry room on grounds. 2 fold away cots. Ground floor unit with wonderful access to the ocean. Close to the farmer's market & 5 minutes walk(1/10 mile) to a super market.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(69 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
7% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Eleven Feet from the Ocean with Unobstructed Moloka'i View
average rating of 4.7971015 based on 70 reviews
Los Gatos, CA

Exceeded Our Expectations

  • 5 of 5

We cannot say enough about the view. Waking every morning to an unobstructed lapis and turquoise colored sea followed by gorgeous sunsets every evening enhanced the magic. Moreover, it was fabulous to watch the paddlers zip by every morning and evening....a real treat.

I admit I was a bit concerned about the rocky beach. However, we took a quick trip to the store and bought $10 water shoes....and that took care of our trepidation. Although we took a day trip out to Lanai for snorkeling....we all agreed that the snorkeling in front of the condo was just as good. There is a 5 foot green sea turtle that inhabits the waters just beyond the second break and we "adopted" was a real highlight of the trip to swim with her (at a respectful distance) day after day. Another important point about the water in front of the is deceptively shallow. So, even not-so-strong swimmers can stand in the sand .... even if they venture out 50 yards.

Although we opted to eat lunch and dinner out, the kitchen was well stocked for those who chose to cook. Another highlight of the condo is its location. We zipped into Lahaina and Whalers Village for meals, but also went to the up country for horseback riding and to visit the lilac farm - both a change of pace and worthwhile diversions from snorkeling. Also, there are several food stores close by as well as an ABC store.....We failed to bring an underwater camera and were able to buy one just minutes from the condo.

The property was amazingly quiet. Usually, the only sound we heard was the crashing of the waves. Surprisingly, we never went into the pool; there was just no need. We were pleased with how well stocked the condo was with beach towels, snorkeling gear, beach chairs, and paddle boards. (We failed to notice the snorkeling gear and rented some for the, be sure to check out the supplies before investing in anything.)

My only regret is that we booked our stay for one week instead of two. I have no hesitation highly recommending this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mary, Thank you for the fabulous review. It was very detailed and informative. Please do stay longer next time and ask for the returning guest discount. Doug
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0

Maui Sands

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed everything. Just one negative, the oven did not work our whole stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha! Many thanks for visiting us and happy you enjoyed our home. It turns out that we were unfortunately misguided by some previous guests that the baking element wasn't working on the oven. We then mentioned this to the incoming guests. We also mentioned that we didn't want to bother anyone with a repair man. At the first opportunity of an opening, the same day these guests left, we flew out to take care of it (after being let down by two repair companies- such is island life!) only to find that the oven is NOT broken and works fine. We think the guests that reported this many days after they left (which didn't help us and prolonged the process) perhaps didn't understand the pre heat setting!? Sorry that this caused any inconvenience(plumbing, range top, broiler and microwave all work well too!) One mistaken comment has unfortunately carried over to the other guests following them. We care for our home and work hard to keep it in good repair, well appointed, but sometimes things happen that are out of our control.(We are an email/call away and we also have local contacts)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Getaway dream come true!

  • 5 of 5

The owners of this beautiful condo take great care to provide all the information you need to find everything from the parking place to the unit. The condo has so many wonderful upgrades from granite countertops to the tile backsplash. Everything was very clean and worked perfectly. We had no problem with the toilet in the second bathroom. One tip is to press the flush button once and do not hold it down (toilet in main bath operates with a handle you hold down to flush). The main bath has a huge tiled shower. We appreciated having the half bath available. The decorations and bedspreads were lovely. There is a large screen TV with many channels, Netflix, Hulu, and Amazon available. But, who watches TV when you have such an amazing view from the lanai? From the lounge chairs on the lanai we could watch the humpback whales putting on their show, keep an eye on the local sea turtle, and let the sounds of the waves wash away any stress we brought with us. A dip in the ocean is steps away and all the snorkeling gear you need is provided. The pool looked lovely. There are so many great places within walking distance! Don’t miss Baja Fish Tacoes across the street at the Fish Market, happy hour at Duke’s, or breakfast at Hawaiian Village Coffee. For your planning, it cost $3.00 in quarters to wash and completely dry a load of laundry that included denim jeans! We cannot wait to return next year!

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Donna! Huge thanks for your great review! So happy to hear you enjoyed our home and that you appreciated all the care and work that goes in to it! We are constantly working on it and doing maintenance. We are out 2-3 times a year and barely vacation ourselves, there's always something to do! The location for local casual dining, farmers market, super market and much more, can't be beat! Many thanks for visiting us and we hope to see you again and don't forget to remind us and we can offer the return guest discount. Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Truly elevan feet from the ocean!

  • 4 of 5

As advertised this unit is right on the ocean - fantastic view of Molokai (weather permitting) - beautiful blue water - loved the continuous sound of the waves - breaching whales - turtle sightings just over the wall. Access to the water right there - saw many people enjoying the shallow water out front. The grounds are well kept and the pool was never too busy. The unit was as advertised - well stocked kitchen - comfortable living area - did most of our dining on the lanai. Bedrooms are small but cozy - totally functional. Beach gear provided was helpful with many beautiful beaches within close proximity. There are good casual dining options within walking distance; the Farmers Market for fresh fruits, vegetables and more and ABC for all your other needs. If Maui is your thing then this is a lovely spot to stay. To be honest the second bathroom was not really functional for us. We also noticed an odor which we attributed to the fact that is has a different type of toilet. We pretty much did not use it and - given no in suite laundry - would have preferred to see that space utilized for laundry facilities if possible. Maybe for a larger group the current utilization would have been more desirable. The main bathroom did the trick for us. There are coin operated laundry facilities on the grounds that were easy to access on site. The spectacular location did outweigh the couple of negatives for us.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great views and location

  • 4 of 5

This ground level, corner condo, is very well equipped, nicely decorated and provides awesome 180 degree views and whale watching opportunities in the winter. The unit offers very good TV, cable, DVR and Internet connectivity and the location is very convenient to everything that West Maui has to offer.

The two bedrooms would be comfortable for a family of two adults and two children but was a little cramped for four adults and a child. We really appreciated that two roll-away beds are available but found it a little difficult to fit one extra bed into the twin room and there's no option to put one in the queen room. Sleeping six would require beds in the living room.

There were a couple of maintenance issues that I would have expected to be observed by the cleaning staff, reported and resolved prior to our arrival. The oven had no lower heating element so the oven couldn't be used for baking, only broiling. The bathroom light fixture over the shower didn't work, even after changing the light bulbs, so the shower was very dark.

The grounds, pool and laundry areas are very well maintained. Be careful to always display the parking pass (paper with unit number on it) in your vehicle. We received a nasty letter threatening a fine when we forgot to place it on the dash after parking. Even though the manager has the detail of what vehicle is authorized for the spot, he doesn't refer to that form before issuing the nastygram.

Overall, a nice unit that I would recommend for a small family.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful ocean view with whales every day, but condo needs TLC. Communications need improvement

  • 3 of 5

My wife and I stayed for 12 days in 2018, starting the end of January through the first week in February.

The condo is literally right against the ocean and we had great views of whales every day.

We swam in the ocean in front of the condo, but never saw exposed sand the entire stay, so don't expect small children to be building sand castles. My wife and I like to beach walk. We had to travel to other beaches to do that.

The plumbing in the condo needs some work. The 1/2 bath had a bad odor coming from it so we kept its door closed and never used it. The toilet in the main bath produced big air bubbles that splashed the waste out of the toilet each time it was flushed. That indicates a sewer venting problem where the air does not escape out of a vent when flushed so the air has to come our of the toilet to make room for the waste. The adjustable shower head is broken and will not stay in place. There was some electrical tape on the shaft to hold it, but it still moved. We kind of propped it up at a level that was a bit low.

The arrival email from the owner/VRBO arrived two days before our stay. The VRBO web site and iphone app did not have the information referenced in the arrival memo, including the parking pass that needed to be printed prior to departure. The iphone app has the wrong parking spot (#28 vs #75) and we got a warning on our windshield. I messaged the owner the same day the arrival email arrived, requesting the arrival documents. After waiting a day with no response, I called the owner's phone number and left voicemail. We still did not have a response the night before our flight (after two days of trying), so I called VRBO. VRBO was not able to locate the arrival documents and was unsuccessful contacting the owner. I received an email from the owner after I already departed. It had the documents, including the parking pass that needed to be printed, but I had no printer. We were able to get a printed parking pass from the manager of the complex the day after we arrived, after we already got the warning.

In summary, awesome location, nice updates to the condo with appliances, granite counters, trim, furniture, etc., but the unit needs some TLC. Also, the owner should have provided the arrival documents several days prior to check in. The owner said he was traveling and that caused the delayed response. He should have sent the documents prior to travel or included them on the VRBO web site as the web site.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Five 5 star reviews came in between 2 Jan - 5 Feb '18, three of which were the guests visiting just prior to this traveler. We cannot stress enough that if there is ever a problem (and life does happen!) that you contact us straight away by: your reservation page, email, our local contact or phone. We truly want to know if your are experiencing a malfunction or need help! It does not serve you, us or our home to not respond and correct! 1) We do not and never have advertised a walking, sandy beach. All photos from the unit depict, ocean, surf and reef. However, 200 ft. walk up from the condo, there is a sandy beach park and lagoons that form at low tide (great for children to play in). 2a) If we had been contacted by any/all methods about a plumbing issue, we could have had our on site handy-man rectify it. However, we are receiving this news 17 DAYS after departure. We have had guests in since this visit, with no complaints. 2b) The walk-in shower has TWO shower heads, neither are "broken", one head is fixed and the other is a hand held head that can also slide up /down the wall mounted rod. 3) Communication is a two-way street. We had 14 CORRESPONDENCES between us, (more than usual) we were flexible with a request for two more family members to join and to split up payments. The reservation dialogue and Rental Agreement states emphatically that guests are to CONTACT US 14 DAYS PRIOR TO REQUEST THE GUEST INFO IN A PRINTABLE PDF IF THEY CHOOSE TO NOT USE THE APP. We can't keep track of who is using the app. The traveler contacted us re: arrival details 48 HRS BEFORE ARRIVAL. Unfortunately, he was having trouble with the app (we're not responsible for the app's malfunctioning). We responded ASAP with the PDF guest package (which has the correct parking #) AND a written message on his VRBO page containing the correct, updated parking spot number and unit entry code, just in case he couldn't open/print. The traveler did have the correct parking info the DAY BEFORE ARRIVAL. TLC: We visit 2-3 times a year, replenishing, stocking the kitchen, replacing linens, maintaining/detailing, updating and enhancing. Since the remodel 7 years ago, we have: tiled the entry, upgraded the T.V.(twice), re-upholsterd, built closet interiors, painted, replaced lanai furniture (twice)and beach gear to name a few things. Your experience is SO important to us, we want you to have the best we can offer. We feel blessed to be able to share our Maui home with you. Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Kapalua (island flights mainly)Kahului for most
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Kapalua & Ka'anapili
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Sugar Train
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Honoapi'ilan Hwy
Car: recommended

Fantastic whale watching & marine life while you sit on your lanai or look out from the unit. Whales, occasionally dolphins can be seen out further and a couple of resident turtles frequent the reef right in front of the lanai. You really can't get a better spot for viewing nature at it's best!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $140
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 14.25%

For stays over 10 nights, the rate for the 11th and additional nights goes down by $25 per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund