Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Executive Mountain Home on 70 Acres with Spectacular Views

Bedrooms 3
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3 bedroom, 3 bathroom, sleeps 8, 3 king size beds, 1 queen size

This executive home sits atop of seventy beautiful acres. Lots of wild life and mountain views as far as you can see. Very quiet and private location. Great for families with active kids. Wonderful hot tub sits on private deck. Have all the luxuries of home, with high speed Internet, and HDTV. Centrally located to many great tourist destinations. The formal dining area seats 8, or you can enjoy the charming restaurant style booth or patio dining set. Sleeps 8 - 3 King sized beds, 1 queen size bed.

Property Manager
Mike and Maggie Dunton
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2018


Florissant House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathrooms in both the loft and lower levels have shower- tub combs with double sinks. Bathroom on main level has shower stall and single sink.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 1 queen , King and Queen bed in this downstairs room
  • Each bedroom with king size beds and memory foam style mattress. Downstairs bedroom has a king and queen. Each bedroom is on a separate floor with a bathroom on each floor. Master bedroom in loft has TV. Sleeps 8 in beds.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(59 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
8% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Executive Mountain Home on 70 Acres with Spectacular Views
average rating of 4.7118645 based on 59 reviews
Denver, CO

Amazing views and tranquility

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely loved our weekend stay. The set up of a bedroom with a king size bed and bathroom on each level worked perfectly for us (three couples). We had beautiful clear skies during our stay, so the views were incredible. Stars at night while sitting in the hot tub were amazing as well. Only issue: shower on main floor did not work and hot water handle on the sink in the same bathroom came off. I would definitely recommend arriving during daylight hours as the home is located several miles from the main paved road and negotiating the dirt road in the dark (and the various intersections) could be a bit challenging. It would be helpful if the check-in time was a little earlier than 4pm, perhaps 2pm or 3pm.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed stay at the Sangre de Cristo Cabin. In regards to the downstairs shower, it was not in fact broken, the shower handle is just tricky to operate. We have since added written instructions. I apologize for the inconvenience and wish we had known about this during your stay so we could have helped. Replacement parts were actually on the way for the sink handle but didn't arrive prior to your stay. Unfortunately, the temp fix did not last through your stay, but it is repaired correctly now! We do have a 4:00 check in time in order to allow our housekeepers adequate time to prepare the cabin for our arriving guests. However, guests are always welcome to request an earlier check in, and if the cabin was not occupied before them we try our best to accommodate the requests. We hope to host your group again in the near future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Pictures do not do this cabin justice. Yes it is secluded, but that's part of its charm. I do not have 4wheel drive and it rained while we were there, we did not have any problems getting up the road to the cabin. I travel a lot and use HomeAway for most of my stays and this is by far my favorite. Super clean, plenty of kitchen supplies, comfortable, beautiful scenery, amazing hot tub!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

September Visit

  • 3 of 5

House had an incredible view and worked well for 3 couples. There was 5 miles of gravel that was not very fun to drive on with our sports cars. The only complaint we had was there was a lot of mouse droppings and the sheets were very worn and on one bed they were ripped. But overall a very nice house.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for you response. I do want to let you know that we have had the pest control people out, and have not had any more issues since. And we also want to thank you for bringing the sheets issue to our attention. The worn sheets will be disposed of and new ones brought in. Thank You!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cornish, Maine

Gorgeous cabin.

  • 5 of 5

The property is beautiful and I loved the location. I was looking for a quiet, peaceful place and found it. The road going in is dirt and perfect for running with lots of deer and wildlife. The house was exactly as described with a well stocked kitchen and comfortable beds. The view is amazing and we really enjoyed the hot tub. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

J form KS

  • 1 of 5

We rate this property as a 2 on a scale from 1-10. Ingress is easy, the view is a 3 at most. Location is wonderful.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh my goodness.. we are so sorry that you did not find your stay as hoped or expected. We have never had a complaint about the views.. .we usually get reviews that say that the pictures on the website don't even come close to just how beautiful the home or views are. We had a lot of haze/smoke from the fires in MT, which may have been why you missed out on the amazing views!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


  • 5 of 5

The scenery was spectacular and the accommodations were beautiful, clean and comfortable. The place was very well equipped. Four graters! My goodness. There was even some food; we loved the pancake mix. It's remote. You don't just run out for milk. Better bring everything you think you may need for your entire stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: necessary

What a perfect location. In the heart of the mountains, centrally located to:

15 minutes to Cripple Creek known as one of our few Casino Gambling areas, located on top of the world with absolutely beautiful views, minutes to Victor - one of the few and largest Gold Mines in the country. Wonderful restaurants, entertainment and mine tours.

20 minutes to some of the states best fishing. Eleven Mile/Spiney Reservoir, and fly fishing in the Canyon and rivers

40 minutes to Canon City - visit the Royal Gorge, take a white water rafting trip.

30 minutes to Woodland Park - closest for shopping

45 minutes to Colorado Springs and the Airport - Garden of the Gods, Seven Falls, Pikes Peak Cog

Just over an hour to the Ski Resorts (Breckenridge, Keystone, Frisco, Copper)

This area of Colorado is smothered by National Forest/BLM/Wilderness areas. - within 5 minutes.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $175 + Tax
Tax Rate 3.9%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.