Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gorgeous Log Chalet with Amazing Views - Must See!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,300 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This log chalet was designed and built by Reggie, Rick, and Spencer Luedtke in 2010. The white pines used in the construction of the log walls were cut, peeled and transported to the site by the builder. The unique floors and trim throughout the house originated from the black walnut trees growing on the property. The log chalet is located on 8.5 acres - half of the property is wooded and half is open. Located on a hilltop outside of Mount Horeb, the chalet boasts amazing views from each of the 3 deck levels of the home.

Hilly local terrain, abandoned railroad trails and off road trails in the state park provide opportunity for all levels of biking enthusiasts. Mount Horeb has an 18 hole golf course, Cave of the Mounds State Park, public pool and almost weekly organized events within a 1-2 mile drive. The radiant floor heating system and wood burning fireplace together with the proximity to downhill skiing (Tyrol Basin) and cross country trails make this chalet an ideal winter retreat.

Keywords: Log Home, Log House, Log Cabin, Cabin, Chateau, Country Home, House, Lodge

More Details

Owner
Reggie Luedtke
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2017

About Reggie Luedtke

Grew up in Clintonville, Wisconsin (45 min west of Green Bay)

Enjoy traveling (art and pictures in the house from Brazil, Nepal and Europe)

Co-Owner of Bluetree Network and Founder of Branch2, both Madison-based companies.

The chalet is my favorite place to be but a 3 bedroom house is too big for a single person. Feel free to contact our property manager, Jeff, at 608-279-3421.

Thanks!

Reggie

Reggie Luedtke purchased this chalet in 2010

Why Reggie Luedtke chose South Central

Construction began in 2007, the home was completed in 2010.

I fell in love with general feeling of the property, views and surrounding area.

What makes this chalet unique

8.5 acres of land provides large open space for outdoor games and walks in the woods.

A 40x80 foot natural swimming pool / pond, 60 foot stream, and 3 raised bed garden areas are the newest additions to the property. Finished landscaping is also complete. Overall this makes for a wonderful outdoor space.

Late Spring, Summer and early Fall bring beautiful sunsets and unusual cloud formations. The views of falling snow from the hilltop are a site to see in the winter.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Reggie,

We had a wonderful time-

Place is gorgeous

Sunday snow was amazing-

Thanks for the memories



Ron & Mary Keenen



Reggie,

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful views, quietness, and cozy warmth of the fireplace! We shared the cabin with our best friends and had a great time relaxing and visiting!



John & Pat O'Donnell
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 72

Map

Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
The Grumpy Troll
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Norsk Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
The Grumpy Troll
Nearest Ski
9 Miles
Tyrol Basin
Car: necessary

Bike Trails, Little Norway, Cave of the Mounds, Norsk bowling and golf, American Players Theater Spring Green, State Park, Tyrol Basin ski resort, 30 minutes from downtown Madison

Amenities

Mount Horeb Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (3) Queen Beds in all 3 bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
29% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Gorgeous Log Chalet with Amazing Views - Must See!
average rating of 4.5405407 based on 109 reviews
Madison, WI
5

Great getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful location for our annual golf tournament - 6 friends from high school; secluded place to relax and use as home base to golf 3 of the top courses in the Madison area, all within 20 minute drive - U-Ridge; Bergamont & Hawk's Landing. We'll be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property, peaceful, secluded, lovely home.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Black Walnut Chalet while I was competing at the CrossFit Games in Madison. It was the perfect getaway after grueling days of competition. The decks overlooking the pond and scenery were beautiful day and night. They were our favorite place to hang out and relax. There was plenty of hot, soft water and we took advantage of the spa tub in the main bathroom.

We found the property to be clean and in good condition. The property manager was especially nice, and immediately responsive to inquiries.

We would definitely consider staying again.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Chalet - nice location, needs some attention

  • 3 of 5

The place has potential and could be really nice but needs some TLC and overall cleaning. The owner should invest a little money for new sheets for two downstairs bedrooms, towels and potholders. The refrigerator does not keep ice cream frozen, the dishwasher doesn't work well, there was a lot of dirt, dust, some bugs and cobwebs in the place. The windows could really use some blinds to control the sunlight on the 2nd floor in the livingroom. The landscaping was overgrown with weeds. Sleeps 6 people - 3 beds, the site indicates 8 but that means sleeping on the couches. The kitchen has the basic necessities and salt/pepper - could use a few more dinner plates since dishwasher doesn't work well and we washed all dishes by hand. The grill was not usable and quite a distance from the house.

The "pond" is not a place to swim, it is shallow with a lot of frogs and pond scum.

But....the frogs were very enjoyable to listen to at night.

It is not a bad place to stay, just request that they actually clean it before you arrive.

The owner/manager was quick to respond to messages and was easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The property and cabin were great! Loved the location!

  • 5 of 5

Very quiet and secluded. Decks are great overlooking property.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Radcliffe, Iowa
3

Beautiful scenery

  • 3 of 5

The Log Chalet is very beautiful. It was very easy to get to and from our wedding site nearby. I hate to be negative but we did have a few glitches along the way. I did have to get a hotel room for 2 of the guests that I thought could stay here as it was billed as 8 could stay. However, the extra space for 2 just didn't work for us. One was a leather sectional and the other a very small couch. Rollaways would be a nice addition. The freezer did not work and our ice cream melted. The air conditioner just couldn't keep up and the remote was difficult for us to operate. One must also be careful on the stairs to the 3rd level. For children, I would be concerned about falling as the first step doesn't have a rail.

The gas grill is very far from the chalet, down by the water. We also had trouble with the batteries in the remotes. I think the Chalet would benefit with a more hands on caretaker.

For 6 or less visitors on cool days, it is a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. We apologize that you weren't all able to sleep at the chalet, but hope you all enjoyed the property while you were there. We have acquired more additional bedding to better accommodate larger groups and tended to the issues you discussed. We are hopeful that you'll consider a stay in the future. Thanks! -Jeff Peterson
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Warrenville, IL
5

Already looking forward to our next stay!

  • 5 of 5

This house is lovely, and there is something new to look at, at every turn. We enjoyed the well-stocked kitchen! There were only two things to note: one is the need for more waste baskets throughout the home. The only waste basket for the two downstairs bedrooms is in the bathroom. A minor inconvenience, but definitely noticeable. The other thing to note is that there was no rug inside, at the front door. It had been raining a lot before and during our stay. Every time we walked in, we felt badly about bringing in dirt and sand.

Other than those minor things, this is an absolutely stunning property, inside and out. We loved it and can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Cleaning $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 5.5%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Children 2 years old and younger should be entered as children (and are free). Children 3 and over should be counted as adults.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties