Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Dates still available in December. Book now!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

'Gemstone' is a one-of-a-kind vacation home! It is professionally decorated with a large great room (17 x 17), two spacious bedrooms, two sleeper sofas (king, queen), two full baths and all of the comforts of home! The house has over 1700 square feet of living space.

Located in the beautiful, Emerald Shores subdivision, this home sits across from the community pool and only a short stroll from the gulf. Access is provided to a private beach pavilion available only to the residents and guests of Emerald Shores. Located off of Scenic Highway 98, this home allows for peaceful relaxation with the convenience of nearby shopping (Destin Commons and Silver Sands Outlet Mall) and restaurants (Pompano Joe's and Captain Dave's).

Keywords: house, villa, vacation home, gated community, near beach, near pool

More Details

Owner
Christopher Diver
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
November 11, 2017

About Christopher Diver

I reside in Cincinnati, OH with my wife, Leslie. We have been married over 20 years and love visiting our vacation home in Destin. As you can see, I have a healthy appetite for the local cuisine in FL.

Christopher Diver purchased this house in 2001

Why Christopher Diver chose Miramar Beach

Why not? We have always enjoyed our vacations, especially now that we have our own place in paradise. I knew other people who had purchased property in the Destin area and became intrigued at the prospect of someday owning a vacation home.

What makes this house unique

We love the fact that our house is peacefully secluded, yet in the middle of everything that the area has to offer in terms of shopping, restaurants, sight-seeing, and recreation.

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Fort Walton Beach Airport (code: VPS)
Nearest Restaurant
350 Metres
Captain Dave's on the Beach
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
One block from the beach (5 minute walk)
Car: recommended

Walk to Captain Dave's Restaurant on the Gulf

Walk to Pompano Joe's

Amenities

Miramar Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Two (2) sleeper sofas
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Custom plantation shutters thoughout the house. Ceramic tile in every room, except for both bedrooms.

Reviews

4.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Dates still available in December. Book now!
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely home. It was well-equipped and beautifully decorated. Everything was spotless upon our arrival, and all was in good working order. It's a short distance from the private beach, in a gated community. We definitely recommend it, and hope to return in the future.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cincinnati, OH
5

Great home, great location

  • 5 of 5

We spent a lovely week in the home. The beds are comfy, the A/C keeps the house cold, it's nice enough to not feel like a beach dive, but not so nice that we were afraid to touch anything. We would recommend this house to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking good care of our vacation home!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Wilmington (Carolina Beach), NC
5

Perfect Getaway Home

  • 5 of 5

We had the opportunity to stay at this lovely home for 2-1/2 months. It is the perfect home for your getaway. The home is located within a short stroll to the most beautiful beaches in the Panhandle. Situated between Pompano Joe's and Captain Daves. Life doesn't get better than that!!!!

The home itself is "lovely". Very Comfortable. Professionally Decorated. Such a delight to have had the opportunity to spend time here.

We will be leaving this lovely home in a few days. The time spent here has been nothing less than Wonderful!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
52 0
Central Florida
5

Love this place

  • 5 of 5

My family has stayed at the Destin Gemstone several times over the last ten years and have only good things to say about it. It is located within 50 feet of the community pool and within a 5 minute walk of the beach. It has always been well-maintained, and we have always found it comfortable and clean. Last time we visited, there was new carpet. The owner has always been very responsive and helpful. We will continue to visit and call this place our home away from home!

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words!
Did you find this review helpful?
52 0
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

This listing seemed so promising! In fact the house itself was nice. However, during our week long stay (Sat-Sat) we were WITHOUT AC until the Friday before we left!! We called the owner the first night we were there with concerns about the tempature - at first he seem sincere about aiding to our concern - and called for an AC guy to come out that night. The AC repair guy told us it needed to be replaced, as it was an old unit and the owner was aware it needed to be replaced. The Owner did call us back until Monday and informed us the earliest he could get it replace was Friday! Are you kidding me?? I have a 1yr and he was trying to tell us NO ONE could replace the AC for 5 days?!? We had to go over to other family members condos because this house was so hot in the house. We had donuts one day and the icing was melting off - when they were just sitting out on the kitchen counter!! I don't recommend this property solely because of the awful customer service and lack of concern for the renters this owner showed. My family and I have been vacationing in Destin for over 20yrs and never been so rudely treated!!! I have contacted him about some sort of compensation and he ignores me....

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: All I can say is that I did the best I could to arrange for the AC unit to be replaced.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 55

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 11.0%

An additional fee of $49 is added to the total cost of the rental for Damage Insurance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.